ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2013 Nissan Rogue transmission problems: loss of acceleration

Loss Of Acceleration

2013 Nissan Rogue (Page 1 of 3)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Nissan dealer.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,540
Average Mileage:
67,200 miles
Total Complaints:
46 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (21 reports)
  2. replace cvt transmission (16 reports)
  3. replace transmission and add external cooler (3 reports)
  4. cvt transmission flush (2 reports)
  5. replace r&r valve body (2 reports)
  6. added a transmission cooler to prevent overheat (1 reports)
2013 Nissan Rogue transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #46

Apr 122018

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My daughter drives approximately 75 miles to school twice a week. Starting last week, after driving for approximately 1 hour, without warning, the car will not accelerate. She pressed pedal all the way down and still nothing. She was in the left lane traveling 65 mph. Thank GOD she was able to get over without harming herself or anyone else. We immediately took the vehicle to the dealership. They test drove and had a tech drive the vehicle home (he lived approximately 30 minutes away) - UNABLE TO DUPLICATE.

Contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs - their response, SORRY nothing we can do until a tech can identify the problem. Am I the only one - no!! Have they received multiple complaints - YES.

I will not be letting my daughter drive this vehicle on the highway. Oh, they did suggest that the next time it happens she should immediately find a Nissan dealership, perhaps the codes will come up then.

WHAT THE HELLLLLLLLL!!!!!

- Cheryl G., Richmond, VA, US

problem #45

Jul 202018

Rogue S V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,205 miles

Myself and my 6 year old daughter were driving from New Haven, CT to Fitchburg, MA. About 1 hour into the drive, my 2013 Nissan Rogue would not accelerate beyond 60mph!!! We were in heavy traffic on a hot July 20th, 2018 afternoon, heatwave weather! I had to get off the highway and make it to the nearest gas station.

After several frantic calls to family members trying to figure out what to do, I decided to add engine oil, anti-freeze, gas and water hoping something would help. After sitting for an hour, I drove on the local roads to try out the car again but realized I had to get back on the highway and try to accelerate above 60mph again!!!! We made it to our 3 hour trip destination.

The next day on the way back, the same problem happened and this time after stopping for a while my car still would not accelerate. We had to use all local roads to get back home and that took double the time!!!! It is too expensive to fix right now!!! I'm so disgusted with this car and cannot wait to get rid of it!!!!

- Renee C., West Haven, CT, US

problem #44

Dec 212014

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

I bought the 2013 Nissan Rouge brand new and around 40,000 miles the vehicle started slowing down after being driven on the highway a few hours into a trip. Within the next six months the problem got even worse, happening after only 1 1/2 hours on the highway. By the October 2015, just after 60,000 miles, it barely made it home from a 5 hour trip. I was told it would cost at least $2500 to fix, so I traded it for another vehicle, taking a significant loss towards my trade.

- mcsc, Mobile, US

problem #43

Jul 042017

Rogue Automatic 2.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I will never buy another Nisan Rogue, it is a garbage car. I paid $1,500 insurance to cover the car. I went to dealer where I bought the car from. They do not care at all, I am so disappointed. I recommend that you do not purchase a Nissan Rogue.

- Isa S., WINTERSVILLE, OH, US

problem #42

Jun 232018

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

I purchased a new 2013 Nissan Rogue from Scott Clark Nissan in Charlotte, NC right after New Years Day in 2014 (obviously they were trying to get last year's model off the lot). I purchased a 3-year service package and have kept up with all recommended services and oil changes perfectly. I work from home so there is very little wear and tear on my car and I currently have 66,000 miles on it from weekend trips. I was driving up I-26 to Asheville, NC (in the Blue Ridge Mountains) in June when suddenly my car stopped accelerating an hour and a half into the trip. I was going about 65mph and the car slowed down to 35mph, not able to go over 3,000 rpm, on a major interstate going around a curve in the Mountains. Thank goodness there was a shoulder and I was able to pull off safely. I let the car rest for a few minutes (while panicking of course) and my boyfriend jumped out to check for any fluids leaking. We didn't notice anything except a rattling noise from the engine before I turned the car off. I let the car sit for about 20 minutes, we turned it back on and everything seemed fine. We continued our trip with no more problems but I knew something was very wrong.

I took the car to the Nissan dealership the next day and after inspection, they told me that basically the transmission fluid was getting so hot it was boiling and had damaged the valve body. There is currently a service bulletin out for the 2013 Rogues describing this exact problem: loss of acceleration after traveling at a high rmp (interstate driving), on a hot day, at increasing grade or high altitude (mountains), and a rattling can be heard/felt from the engine. I was told that I needed to replace the valve body ($903) and have an external radiator coolant valve put in ($1500), so to properly repair and prevent the problem from happening again, it would cost me roughly $2500. Of course, I only had a 5 year or 60,000 mile warranty on the transmission so I'm 6,000 miles out of luck.

The service manager I have been working with gave me the information for Nissan consumer affairs and told me to file a claim with them to see if they would cover any of the repair costs, as this is clearly an issue of a faulty transmission and not due to negligence or extensive driving on my part. They politely told me that I was 6,000 miles over warranty and there was nothing they would do. Admittedly, I don't know much about cars, but how is this not a defect of the transmission??? As there is a service bulletin out about this problem, it is obviously happening to many people. Does anyone know if this could potentially become a recall? If so, would I be reimbursed for the service charges? I have not liked this car from the beginning, it is not a smooth drive, it doesn't feel sturdy compared to other, and it is not a car I would recommend to others. I was simply lured in by the inexpensive price for a new small SUV; it is true that you definitely get what you pay for and I would gladly take my old 2005 BWM 325i back over a new Nissan any day.The trade in value for this POS is probably only around 8-9,000 so I really hate spending almost 1/3 of its value to have a problem repaired that I didn't cause.

I am very disappointed in Nissan and will look into filing a class action lawsuit against them as this seems to be a common problem with 2013 Rogues.

- Madison P., Huntersville, US

problem #41

May 282018

Rogue S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,900 miles

I purchased my 2013 Nissan Rogue S in 2016. The car has always ran good but I noticed that when I went on long trips my car would slow down to anywhere from 50 to 60 miles and I couldn't go any faster. I would always be doing about 70 and this would happen after about an hour or two of driving on a highway, also, check engine light came on. I was concerned and took the car to a place that does only transmissions. The transmission guy called and said they had check the transmission and the torque converter, and it was running fine. I would still have a problem where the car would slow down on the highway with long drives but only to about 60.

This last trip, coming home from Memphis, TN to Atlanta, GA, my car seemed to be doing ok and no slowdown. Then my car decelerated, I was getting no speed and had to pull over. From that point, I was never able to drive that car again. Had to pay $440, which my car club paid $100 of this to tow the care back to Memphis, TN, since we were on the way back home to Atlanta, GA. The next day I paid to have the car towed to the same transmission specialist and was told that the transmission had gone out. I was also told that this car has a CVT transmission and this was common with my type of car even for people with lower mileage on their cars.

My car had just under 114,000 miles and I didn't drive the car lot because I work from home. Never had any trouble with my car slowing down when driving on the highway anywhere around town, only happened when I went out of town and this was maybe 4 or 5 times since I bought the car in May 2016 and it is now June 2018. I was told that I need to replace the transmission and still have the car sitting and paying notes on it but right now, just can't afford to get the transmission replace. I have been quoted between $3000 to $4500 to replace it.

- Janice B., Atlanta, GA, US

problem #40

Jul 052018

Rogue Limited Edition

  • CVT transmission
  • 82,566 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On vacation with family. Not knowing where I was going I was following family at 75 to 80 miles per hour. After 1 hour and 30 minutes lost acceleration and could not catch up to family. I called them to tell them what was going on. I had my pedal to the floor, but my SUV would not go any faster than 60. They said they would pull over and wait for me at a certain area.

I finally found them and we did not know what to do so we sat there for around 30 minutes and drove off again. My SUV then seemed ok until we go another hour and half it starts again. Called them again and we pulled off again to let my SUV rest or cool off. Finally made it to our vacation spot where we did not know what to do about my SUV so we borrowed another ride for the sight seeing we were trying to have.

We dove back home the same way stopping and letting SUV cool off or resting which ever was best but made it home after one stop at a red light almost getting rear ended because I started to take off when light turned green and my SUV would not move even when I pushed my gas pedal. I had to turn my SUV off and restart to go but cars behind me blowing horn and very upset that we had to sit through another red light.

I am very disappointed with my Nissan Rogue they need to fix their cvt transmissions or recall them and they pay for it. My vacation was a total nightmare worrying if I was going to make it home.

- Tina P., newbern, TN, US

problem #39

Jun 242018

Rogue S

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

After the car runs 1 to 1-1/2 on highway, it seems to go to limp mode, can barely do 70 mph speed limit on freeway. This could cause accident as you can't accelerate if needed. Causes traffic to back up behind you as on hills it loses speed down to more than 20 under the limit. Nissan needs to fix this crap transmission and cover for more model yrs than currently doing.

Update from Jul 2, 2018: per service bulletin transmission cooler needed. They should have notified all owners this is needed if you are going to drive it on highway for more than 1-1/2 hrs above 75 degrees. Who would buy a vehicle that can not do that without it

- John W., North Prairie, US

problem #38

May 252018

Rogue S

  • CVT transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Good afternoon,

I am writing to you about my 2013 rogue with 67,000 miles. We were on our way from Connecticut to Maryland when the car suddenly lost power and would not accelerate. My husband luckily was able to pull it off the road as it was not rush hour.

The car ended up smoking and smelled like something was burning. We had to get towed off the highway. 2 Hours later the car seems fine and we are on our way. I bring the car to the dealership and they say I need a new transmission. How can a car with low miles need a new transmission. I have seen tons of complaints online regarding the same issue in the same suv year. Yet Nissan does not do a recall on this? That is just ridiculous. We paid a lot of money for a new suv and of course the warranty expired at 60,000 miles and all these SUV’s seem to be having issues around the same mileage.

I feel there should be a recall on these transmissions as they are a safety danger on the road.

Nissan will only give me $500 towards this fix, they quoted me $5200.

- Rosa G., Trumbull, CT, US

problem #37

May 112018

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,800 miles

This is my 3rd occurrence where I was driving to Charlotte Airport going 75-80 and then the speed dropped to 55-60 after driving for about 1 1/2 hours both ways on my trip, I had to stop in traffic at one point for an accident and when I went to accelerate the car would barely move, then picked up some speed and I was able to continue, check engine light on. Again took to dealership. They inform me that it is a torc converter clutch code and I have to take it to the Nissan dealership for repair, as they do not have the software for this and it should be covered under my extended warranty. It better be because this is costly and apparently an issue with these cars, it could cause a serious accident when the car does this and you have traffic on you and this happens so unexpectedly. Nissan needs to look into this issue before someone is killed.

Update from Jun 9, 2018: My entire transmission had to be replaced per the dealership, My cost guard covered most of it but the dealership stated it took more hours to fix than the cost guard allowed and I would have to pay up to $400. If this is a problem Nissan needs to recall not make people have to go thru there extended warranty it is a manufacture issue not the customers.

- Hannah E., Axton, VA, US

problem #36

Apr 132018

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,390 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was the second occurrence 4/13/2018, driving for about 1 1/2 hours with traffic at speed of 75-80 and then the acceleration on the car stopped car slowed down to 55-60 unable to get it back up to speed. Check engine light came on and the next day was off.

- Hannah E., Axton, VA, US

problem #35

Jun 262017

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,995 miles

This happened to me on the way to the beach with my grandchildren, and then did not happen again until April 13 of 2018 and May 11 of 2018 and both these times the check engine light came on and went off the next day. I was traveling on the highway all 3 times this happened doing 80 mph with the flow of traffic and each time the cars acceleration went to 60 mph or below, and each time I was driving for atl east 1 1/2 hours before this occurred, and then once I had to stop in traffic and pushed the gas and the car hesitated and then finally got gas to go.

Took it to the dealership today and the engine code was for torch converter clutch code. It will be taken to the Nissan dealership in town because the Toyota Dealership says they have to fix it because they have the software and they do not. Hopefully this will be covered under my extended warranty, that I purchased. This can cause a serious issue when the car slows this much as I almost got ran over and people were flipping me off.

- Hannah E., Axton, VA, US

problem #34

May 182018

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

The same thing happened to our 2014 Nissan Rogue 10,000 miles earlier then on the 2013...That is 100% transmission failures on all the Nissan Rogues we have owned! It can't be a coincidence. They have a major transmission issue in the Rogue and they need to own up to it! We bought two...won't be a third and won't replace it with another Nissan! I love the way the car drives and their service department but I don't have confidence in their product! Thank goodness we bought the extended warranty because both cars were just out of the regular warranty coverage!

- Katharine S., Wetumpka, AL, US

problem #33

Sep 052017

Rogue ES

  • CVT transmission
  • 58,000 miles

Driving at approximately 65 miles per hour at a certain point it loses acceleration and I am forced to pull over until it cools down. Nissan is aware of this serious problem but refuses to issue a recall in order not to pay for fixing the problem. Shame on Nissan. I have always trusted Nissan but going forward, if they refuse to do good on this problem I will never ever consider in buying another Nissan. I hope others experiencing the same issue will not ever buy a Nissan again.

- Jay B., Farmingdale, NY, US

problem #32

Nov 192016

Rogue 2.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 65,000 miles

I was driving to the desert for a Bridal Shower with a car full of passengers and all of a sudden my car went from 60mph to 40mph, my car started to decelerate on it's own. I had the gas petal all the way down to the floor. I was panicking. This happened going up a hill on a two lane highway, diesels were honking at me and there was no where for me to pull over. I thought we were going to die. My car then started to decelerate even more, all the way down to 20mph. I thought I was going to die of a heart attack from the stress. I was finally able to pull over and wait it out because there was no sign of my car overheating or anything. After about 1/2 waiting on the side of the highway I was brave enough to get back on the highway and my car allowed me to go 60mph again. That is until I had to stop at a stop light. When the light turned green I then pushed all the way down on the gas petal and then slowly I made my way through the intersection (felt like crossing 2 football fields), the car only allowed me to accelerate slowly from 5mph, 10mph, 12mph, 13mph,... until I reached 40mph which was the fastest my car allowed me to go. When it was time to head home my car did fine....

- Valerie R., Moreno Valley, US

problem #31

Jun 012015

Rogue Special Edition

  • CVT transmission
  • 62,145 miles

Bought the 2013 Nissan Rogue new. Fine the first year. Not long afterwards transmission reduced power significantly (dropping in speed from 70 mph to 35-40 mph) without warning. Then it limps down the road waiting to be rear ended. Nice design there Nissan! Then if you encounter a red light or sign and it's your turn to proceed across the intersection: no NO power! Another chance to get rear ended or T-boned. Then the transmission "chugs" or "farts" or "belches" jumping down the road unless you can get it up to 50-55 mph and it smooths out somewhat. SOOOOOOO if Nissan replaces your transmission, guess what you get? Another sh*tty transmission waiting to break in before IT starts having problems. I called Nissan and told them I want my money back for designing, building, and selling me a defective vehicle. Or let me apply what I still owe on this piece of crap to a non-Nissan vehicle on a Nissan car lot. Got a response from a ditsy airhead regional manager who couldn't give a damn and had already rehearsed her "we don't do that, sorry." Go figure. Build a defective product, never fix or correct the problem from year to year, still expect people to fall for buying a sh*t product and never issue a recall. I hate this car so bad. I hate Nissan more. You can't sell these faulty vehicles because every car dealer out there knows it's being traded because it's junk. Nissan even toyed with the consumer by coming close to calling their product Junk by introducing the Juke. Tee hee hee. This company needs to be shut down permanently or stop, regroup, redesign, and reimburse the consumer for every penny paid to Nissan through buying their products or services.

- Rod C., Artesia, NM, US

problem #30

Aug 242017

Rogue Special Edition 2.5L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,961 miles

When driving up the hill, the engine lost power while foot pedal is floored. After the hill, it picks up speed again. On highway, sometimes 60mph is maximum speed it can go.

Update from Sep 7, 2017: The cause of the transmission failure and damage are due to boiling coolant. The boiling coolant is caused by the coolant system that can not cool the coolant liquid fast enough. This only happens if you are driving on highway for a very long hours and you do this very often. When you are replacing the CVT transmission ($4000), Nissan advices to add a second external CVT oil cooler kit ($900) to prevent coolant liquid from boiling and to protect the transmission.

Update from Sep 7, 2017: If you have Extended Warranty, they will not cover this issue. It's a known issue and it's Nissan's design flaw. Warranty companies know about it and they will not cover for this particular issue despite of their contract says transmission is covered.

- Rav N., Orange, CT, US

problem #29

Aug 152017

Rogue

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,000 miles

Transmission problems seem to be common in the 2013 model from talking to service manager. There is no warranty or recall.

- Tricia R., Brookhaven, US

problem #28

Jul 122017

Rogue AWD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Last month, when we were driving between Houston and Austin, our Rogue suddenly lost speed. Speed limit was 75 mph and it slowed down to 60 mph and sometimes 50 mph. We noticed after we stopped to refuel, it worked fine again until about 30 minutes later, then repeated the slowing down. I tested the fuel injectors and they were fine. It feels like the transmission may be overheating and some safety device is kicking in to deliberately slow the car.

Update from May 4, 2018: Took the Rogue to Nissan Dealer Cedar Park, Texas for a diagnostics test. They said we needed a new transmission. I asked them why since the car and transmission seem to be running fine while the temperature outside is below 84 deg. F. Their response is that there are some parts inside that have failed and it is too expensive to replace them. When asked if it was an overheading solenoid causing the problem, they admitted it. However, they would still replace the transmission. We have approx. 94,000 miles on this vehicle and it is a 2013 model. I have learned from other mechanics that Nissan has replaced this faulty design with a tested solenoid part which does not overheat. Why has Nissan not factory recalled this since it is definitely a design flaw?

Update from May 25, 2018: Nissan dealer added a transmission cooler and charged us $1700. Nissan USA refused to refund our money.

- Wayne W., Lago Vista, US

problem #27

Jun 172017

Rogue

  • CVT transmission
  • 98,600 miles

I bought a 2013 Nissan Rogue new, from the dealership. At 60,400 miles, I started having a problem where, after driving for a period of time, the engine would rev up, but no acceleration. I took the car into the dealer and they knew immediately what it was, and what the solution was....to the tune of $500! I asked why, if they know about this problem, is it not a recall? And received no answer. I paid for the repair and got my car. All worked well for a while, until last week, when at 99,000 miles, I started having the problem again. Back to the shop, for what I assumed was going to be another $500 repair bill. I was shocked when Apple Nissan called me back and told me this time I would need to replace the transmission, for $3900! I had to ask the service agent to repeat himself. I can't get over the fact that a $20,000 not-quite-four year old car is now useless. Even more frustrating is that Nissan is well-aware of the problem with their CVT yet they continue to use it.

- John H., York, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?