10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
17 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
15 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,260 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Volkswagen Passat seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Volkswagen Passat:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Volkswagen Passat Owner Comments (Page 2 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #217

Jun 262017

Passat

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. While driving 20 mph on a four way lane going North, the contact's vehicle was struck on the passenger side by another vehicle. The impact caused the contact's vehicle to cross into the South bound lane where it crashed into another vehicle from the driver side front end to the driver's side. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). A police report was filed. The contact sustained a fractured nose that required surgery, cuts to the right and left hands, and a burning sensation to his feet that has yet to be diagnosed. The vehicle was towed to a collision center and was deemed destroyed by the insurance company. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but no additional information was provided. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #216

Aug 092017

Passat

  • 75,000 miles
I received a written notification that my car was covered under a recall for the defective airbag. When I tried to make an appointment with priority Volkswagen chester va. They refused to make an appointment to fix the car stating that the parts were not available and they would not make an appointment or tell me when the part would be available. The written notice says to schedule the repair immediately and I am trying to do this but the dealer refuses to assist. I tried to contact volkswgen directly but got a recording stating that due to high call volumes I should go to their web site. What a crock. So who is responsible if the airbag injures or kills someone when there is an active safety recall and the manufacturer refuses to even schedule the repair? how do you suggest I proceed from here.

- Burgess, VA, USA

problem #215

Aug 062017

Passat

  • 124,021 miles
When I started turning the steering wheel a few days ago I would hear something kinda ticking like something was caught between the steering and column section. Today after I started my car and the steering wheel air bag came and has stayed on. Thus my horn and buttons to control my instrument panel no longer work.

- Staunton, VA, USA

problem #214

Aug 042017

Passat

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, I have been calling for months the dealership to schedule an appointment, specifically: Serramonte VW located at: 711 serramonte blvd, colma, ca 94014. They never get me through to service, and every time I leave my name and number they never call me back. How to I schedule the repair!

- Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #213

Mar 082017

Passat

  • 46,000 miles
The vehicle steering wheel clock spring was repaired under recall from VW in Jan 2016 at 42000 miles and failed again at around 46000 miles, leaving my car without driver side airbags. It is quite unsafe to have such a crucial safety part to fail so regularly and unexpectedly. I believed that the recalled clock spring that got installed in my car is also defective.

- Apo, AE, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #212

Jul 312017

Passat

  • miles
I have had 2 recalls. I live on an outer island in Hawaii. In order to get a repair I am being told I will have to ship, via ocean barge, my car to oahu.. I think if VW sells to outer islands they at least need to have an authorized service rep on that island. I am not able to afford to ship a car to oahu from kauai and back. When I purchased the car the shipping to my island was included in the price. Please advise

- Kilauea, HI, USA

problem #211

Jul 282017

Passat

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Because the vehicle also was tdi, VW bought the vehicle back from me on 21 December 2016, I.e., I no longer own the vehicle. I received a recall notice for the this car a few months ago and filled out the form telling addressee (VW) that they had bought my vehicle and I should not receive any more notices. I called VW this morning (28 July 2017) to get them to stop sending me recall notices. They told me they did not send it you did. They suggested that I contact the Florida dmv, but that is more than useless: They do not send the notices and know that I know longer own the vehicle in question. Since VW was kind enough to sell me a replacement VW Passat for less money than they paid me for the 2013 Passat, I bought it. So, when I get a VW recall notice I think it is for the new one not the old one. This is very unpleasant, since we were on pins and needles from September 2015 until December 2016 wondering if the air bag was going to blow up in our faces. Can you find a way to stop sending me recall notices for this vehicle, please? it would be appreciated greatly. I will fill out the form again telling VW that I do not own the car, but having done that before and given that the told me today they had no way to stop the flow of notices from their end, I am asking you to please close the file on this vehicle as far as I am concerned. You need to send this notice to VW to tell them to fix the air bag in the car they bought back from me. Your help and cooperation in this regard would be appreciated greatly, thanks in advance in case you can do this for us.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #210

May 052017

Passat

  • 109,294 miles
Takata recall after having my air bags replaced on 5/5/2017 I discovered my horn will not function. When I called the dealership who installed the replacement takata airbag they told me I would be charged for the repair. I told them they failed in their air bag replacement repair work. I did not make an appointment. So now my car is unsafe as I do not have a horn. The Volkswagen dealership is Volkswagen of murrieta, 41300 date street, murrieta, ca 92562, 951-894-6555.

- Fallbrook, CA, USA

problem #209

Dec 162016

Passat

  • miles
Clock spring recall. Was fixed in 2016 but is again broken and VW refuses to reimburse the dealer or cover the cost of the repair. Due to this recalled part not being repaired properly, my airbag light is on, I do not have a horn, cruise control, not have the ability to use my steering wheel controls. This, I feel is also relevant to the airbag recall. I cannot sell my car with this issue, nor do I have the $ to fix it. It is dangerous to drive it, as it already has an airbag not working, the airbag light on and no horn. I have contacted both the dealership and VW and they refuse to cover the cost of this recalled part.

- Danbury, CT, USA

problem #208

May 272016

Passat

  • miles
"takata recall date 2/9/2016. And in May 2016 informed by VW of high risks. And imminent danger...no further response to inquiries...as of July 14,2017 no remedy available...concerned for safety of occupants and other drivers...suggest VW live up to their acknowledged responsibility and provide equitable and safe car to drive or otherwise compensate so that I can replace their dangerous vehicle. Appreciate your attention to my "at -risk: Situation dennis ellsworth 607 846 3333 dresje2@gmail.com

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #207

Jul 052017

Passat

  • 51,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The repaired clock spring failed again per dealer. So the air bag doesn't work and neither does the horn or any other steering wheel controls. She was driving and turned the steering wheel and heard a pop !

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #206

Jun 102016

Passat

  • miles
I have owned my 2013 Volkswagen Passat 3.6 sel premium since 6/10/16, and Volkswagen North America has not officially sent me documentation to replace my defective takata airbags.

- Nashville, NC, USA

problem #205

Jul 072017

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The dealer refuses to repair my recalled airbags even after 2 years of concern. I have asked since notified of the recall for the airbags to be fixed and always get the same aanswer that the parts are not available. I can not drive the car due to the safety and can not sell the car because there is an outstanding recall. What can be done?

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #204

Feb 152016

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact spoke to hallmark Volkswagen at cool springs (620 bakers bridge ave, franklin, tn 37067) and the manufacturer who stated that "it was up to the federal government" and they could not assist. The manufacturer also stated that parts would possibly be available in September. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #203

Jun 222017

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (checkered flag located at 3033 Virginia beach blvd, Virginia beach, va 23452 877-863-8193) who stated that the recall remedy parts were on backorder. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #202

Jun 092017

Passat

  • 96,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle was rear ended and then crashed into the preceding vehicle. A police report was filed. There were a total of four vehicles in the crash. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries reported. The insurance company retrieved the vehicle for evaluation and the dealer was not contacted. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 96,500.

- Milford, NH, USA

problem #201

Apr 012016

Passat 5-cyl

  • miles
Letter regarding safety recall 69M9 - takata sdi driver frontal airbag. The consumer stated the vehicle has not been in use due to the airbag not being replaced. Updated 06/14/2017

- Lancaster, CA, USA

problem #200

Apr 182016

Passat 5-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (wallace automotive Volkswagen in stuart, Florida) confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect....updated 07/11/17 the consumer stated 07/12/2017

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #199

Jun 052017

Passat

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2013 Volkswagen Passat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V078000 (air bags); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The contact reached out to the dealer (Volkswagen in lynbrook). The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #198

May 172017

Passat

  • miles
I received a letter notifying me of the recall over a year ago and still the dealership where I service my car is unable to help with the recall and they say they have no direction and are waiting for further details from VW in terms of how to address the recall. I have contacted the dealership several times and they just say they can't do anything about it.

- Cranston, RI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?