More Lexus, Pontiac, Scion and Toyota vehicles fall victim to defective Takata airbag inflators.

Posted in Recalls

Toyota Recalls 543,000 Vehicles to Replace Takata Airbag Inflators
More Lexus, Pontiac, Scion and Toyota vehicles fall victim to defective Takata airbag inflators.

Editor's note: You can find information on the latest Ford, Lincoln and Mercury Takata recall here.

Toyota says about 543,000 vehicles are recalled to replace front passenger-side Takata airbag inflators, but owners should pay close attention because the recall involves only certain vehicles in certain "zones."

  • 2012 Toyota 4Runner
  • 2012 Toyota Corolla
  • 2012 Toyota Corolla Matrix
  • 2012 Toyota Sienna
  • 2012 Toyota Yaris
  • 2012 Scion xB
  • 2012 Lexus ES 350
  • 2012 Lexus GX 460
  • 2012 Lexus IS-F
  • 2012 Lexus IS 250
  • 2012 Lexus IS 350
  • 2012 Lexus IS 250C
  • 2012 Lexus IS 350C
  • 2012 Lexus LFA

Those vehicles are recalled in what the government calls "Zone A" that includes vehicles originally sold or ever registered in the following locations:

Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan) and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Next up are vehicles originally sold or ever registered in "Zone B" areas:

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Recalled vehicles in Zone B include the following:

  • 2009 Toyota Corolla
  • 2009 Toyota Corolla Matrix
  • 2009 Toyota Yaris
  • 2009 Toyota Yaris HB
  • 2009 Scion xB
  • 2009 Pontiac Vibe
  • 2009 Lexus ES 350
  • 2009 Lexus IS 250
  • 2009 Toyota IS 350
  • 2009 Toyota IS-F

Additionally, unless included in Zone A or Zone B above, Toyota is recalling the following vehicles:

  • 2006-2008 Lexus IS 250 and IS 350
  • 2007-2008 Lexus ES 350
  • 2007-2008 Toyota Yaris
  • 2007-2008 Toyota Yaris HB
  • 2008 Lexus IS-F
  • 2008 Scion xB

Those Toyota, Lexus and Scion vehicles will need repaired if they were originally sold or ever registered in:

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Toyota says replacement airbag parts aren't available, so initial recall notices will be mailed January 30, 2017, then owners will receive second notices when parts are available.

Dealers will replace the passenger frontal airbag inflators or the entire airbag assemblies, depending on the model.

Use these phone numbers and recall numbers to contact your automaker if needed.

Toyota/Lexus/Scion customer service: 800-331-4331
Pontiac customer service: 800-762-2737

Toyota's numbers for interim notification for this campaign are:

  • G1P (Toyota Zone A)
  • G1R (Toyota Zone B)
  • H1A (Toyota Zone C)
  • G2G (Lexus Zone A)
  • G2H (Lexus Zone B)
  • H2A (Lexus Zone C)

Toyota's numbers for final remedy for this campaign are:

  • G0P (Toyota Zone A)
  • G0R (Toyota Zone B)
  • H0A (Toyota Zone C)
  • GLG (Lexus Zone A)
  • GLH (Lexus Zone B)
  • HLA (Lexus Zone C)


Become a Fan & Spread the Word