ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

Audi recalls 10,100 vehicles as Takata expands its recalls of deadly airbag inflators.

Posted in Recalls

Audi Recalls A4, A6, S4 and S6 For Takata Airbags
Audi recalls 10,100 vehicles as Takata expands its recalls of deadly airbag inflators.

— Audi is recalling more than 10,100 vehicles as part of a Takata airbag recall expansion of 3.3 million airbag inflators. The passenger airbag inflators are at risk of exploding when they deploy, even in a minor crash.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) breaks down different parts of the country into "Zones."

  • 2010-2011 Audi A6 Avant
  • 2010-2011 A6 Sedan
  • 2010-2011 S6 Sedan

The above vehicles are recalled if they were sold or ever registered in these "Zone B" states: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Additionally, unless included in "Zone B" above, these vehicles are recalled if ever sold or registered in Zone C states:

  • 2009 Audi A4 Cabriolet
  • 2009 Audi S4 Cabriolet
  • 2009-2011 Audi A6 Avant
  • 2009-2011 A6 Sedan
  • 2009-2011 S6 Sedan

"Zone C" states include: Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

Audi expects to start contacting owners on March 3, 2018, but with questions or concerns please contact the automaker at 800-253-2834.

Keep up with the latest airbag news by checking out the Takata consumer guide.