Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Cobalt was introduced to replace two of Chevy’s smaller cars, the Cavalier and Prizm. But the compact’s fresh start that Chevy was hoping for was riddled with issues, most notably widespread power steering failure.

The power steering failed so often that GM was forced to issue a recall in March, 2010. Great, but what about other problems like the key getting stuck in the ignition or all the other electrical demons this car possesses?

And, oh yes — then there’s the terribly dangerous issue where the Cobalt randomly shuts off while driving. As it turns out, that problem is related to GM’s massive 2014 recall for a dangerous ignition switch defect. A recall that eventually ballooned to 2.6 million vehicles in one of the automotive industry’s biggest scandals.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
45 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
27 / 5
Average Mileage:
62,463 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 11 of 51)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #802

Sep 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 17,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This incident occurred at about 9:30pm on the night of 9/21/11. The failure of the air bags and steering occurred on NJ state route 78 West, about 50 feet before the ramp to route 31. There was no traffic congestion on the road, and visibility was good. I was fully awake, and was familiar with driving this route on a daily basis. While I was driving my 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt home from college, my vehicle lost power steering right before I got onto the ramp. Keep in mind that my vehicle was traveling completely straight at the time when the power steering light came on, and about half a second later my vehicle began spinning to the right. Before I could slow down or straighten the car, my vehicle had rotated almost a full 90 degrees to the right. At this point the ramp had started, and thus to avoid hitting the guard rail on the right side of the road I made a strong effort to turn the wheel to the left and straighten my car. I succeeded in turning the wheel to the left, and thus straightened my car out until my car then started to spin to the left, and bounced off of the guard rail on the left side of the ramp at approximately 40mph. A couple seconds elapsed from when the power steering light came on, to when my car hit the guard rail. After the car bounced off of the guard rail, it continued to spin for another 270 degrees, and came to rest on the narrow shoulder, parallel to the road. The air bag did not deploy, and after I shut the car off and turned it back on, the power steering warning light had disappeared entirely. Although I drove the car off of the ramp, as I was instructed to by police, the car was totaled due to significant damage to the front of the body and frame of the vehicle. After the incident I discovered the previous recall on the power steering motor, however when I checked with the dealer, their records indicated that the recall was fulfilled.

- Milford, NJ, USA

problem #801

Jun 192011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the power steering warning light would illuminate and the steering wheel would seize while driving at various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the electronic power steering motor needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,000. Updated 10/04/11 the consumer referenced recall # 10V073000. Updated 11/02/11

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #800

Jul 142010

Cobalt

  • miles
I bought the Chevy Cobalt (2005) in the fall of 2009. The next summer I was notified of the recall on the power steering. I have since brought my car in twice because the electric power steering has shut off while driving. Today, for the third time since the car was supposedly fixed by Chevy the power steering shut off again while I was driving in heavy traffic. This is a serious safety concern and it seems like Chevy is just replacing with the same defective parts. The whole system needs to be replaced or a different motor needs to be used for the electric power steering.

- Hull, MA, USA

problem #799

Sep 012011

Cobalt

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was experiencing a recurring failure in which the power steering would fail and cause the steering wheel to seize. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was initially repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 89,000.

- 1077 Peak Circle , FL, USA

problem #798

Jan 202011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 75,500 miles
Loss of power steering, multiple warning lights appeared. Recall was done 1/24/11. Loss of power steering and warning lights August 3, 2011. Dealer unable to find problem. Loss of power steering and warning lights August 31. Again, dealer unable to find problem.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #797

Sep 022011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My 05 Chevy Cobalt was driving on the high way going about 70mph switch lanes and my power steering got out of control and got into a wreck hit some one beside me.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #796

Aug 182011

Cobalt

  • 41,581 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought the car on 08/03/2011 with 40,933 miles on it. The steering column was defective at the time of purchase (found out after the fact). Had that repaired at local Chevy dealership between 8/13/2011 and 8/16/2011(I can't find the receipt for the mileage at time of repair). On 8/18/2011, recall replaced steering motor failed. The only reason we made it home without a wreck was that we were exiting the heavily traffic urban area heading for our rural home. Am currently refusing to drive the car again and seeking resolution tomorrow morning. It is my opinion that the steering in this vehicle will never be reliable. Total of 3 steering fails on this car in 41,581 total miles.

- Clarks Hill, SC, USA

problem #795

Aug 182011

Cobalt

  • 41,581 miles
Bought the car on 08/03/2011 with 40,933 miles on it. The steering column was defective at the time of purchase (found out after the fact). Had that repaired at local Chevy dealership between 8/13/2011 and 8/16/2011(I can't find the receipt for the mileage at time of repair). On 8/18/2011, recall replaced steering motor failed. The only reason we made it home without a wreck was that we were exiting the heavily traffic urban area heading for our rural home. Am currently refusing to drive the car again and seeking resolution tomorrow morning. It is my opinion that the steering in this vehicle will never be reliable. Total of 3 steering fails on this car in 41,581 total miles.

- Clarks Hill, SC, USA

problem #794

Aug 182011

Cobalt

  • 41,581 miles
Bought the car on 08/03/2011 with 40,933 miles on it. The steering column was defective at the time of purchase (found out after the fact). Had that repaired at local Chevy dealership between 8/13/2011 and 8/16/2011(I can't find the receipt for the mileage at time of repair). On 8/18/2011, recall replaced steering motor failed. The only reason we made it home without a wreck was that we were exiting the heavily traffic urban area heading for our rural home. Am currently refusing to drive the car again and seeking resolution tomorrow morning. It is my opinion that the steering in this vehicle will never be reliable. Total of 3 steering fails on this car in 41,581 total miles.

- Clarks Hill, SC, USA

problem #793

Aug 122011

Cobalt

  • 60,300 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact was unable to maneuver the vehicle due to power steering failure. The contact crashed into a guard rail and the air bag did not deploy. The contact suffered facial lacerations and bruises. The contact was transported to the hospital by ambulance for treatment. After the crash, the contact received a NHTSA recall notice id number: 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard where the vehicle was destroyed. The approximate mileage was 60,300. Updated 10/12/11 updated 3/27/12

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #792

Aug 102011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chevy Cobalt have had power steering motor replaced twice, still no power steering, now dealership says it needs a new steering column for $1000, which I cant afford, have had to replace computer module for motor, replace rims that were out of round, head lights bulbs come loose and don't work, loses power and the car feels like it has run into a wall it jerks so hard, steering locks up without notice, key gets stuck in ignition. All of these have happened to my fine Chevy product, when is Chevy going to do something about it.

- Alabama, AL, USA

problem #791

Jun 102011

Cobalt

  • 128,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving, the power steering lamp illuminated, the steering failure, and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 128,000 and the current mileage was 130,000.

- Crowley , LA, USA

problem #790

Jan 012011

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired for the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system). The failure recurred approximately six months later. When approaching an intersection and depressing the brakes, all of the warning lights started to illuminate on the instrumental panel. The power steering suddenly failed and she was unable to manuever the vehicle. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where they did not offer any assitance because the vehicle was already repaired under the recall. The failure and current mileages were approximately 75,000.

- Palo Cedro, CA, USA

problem #789

Jun 102011

Cobalt

  • 119,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving, the contact stated that the power steering would fail sporadically, making it difficult to control the vehicle. Neither the dealer nor manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who inspected the vehicle and informed the contact that she needed to add power steering fluid to the vehicle. No repairs were performed. The current and failure mileage was 119,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #788

May 242011

Cobalt

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving 5 mph when the power steering began to malfunction. The power steering light flashed while the contact was attempting a turn as the power steering system fully failed. The contact stated that the power steering was no longer operational. The contact had not taken the vehicle to the dealer for diagnosis or repairs. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Mckeesport, PA, USA

problem #787

Jun 152010

Cobalt

  • 30 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 10V073000 (steering:electric power assist system) and was repaired. After the repairs were performed, the contact stated that the steering wheel tightened while driving approximately 25 mph and the vehicle became difficult to maneuver. After restarting the vehicle, the power steering would function properly. The failure was ongoing for one year following the recall repairs. The vehicle was taken to the dealer six different times. The technicians replaced the power steering connector each time the vehicle was taken to the dealer yet the failure continued after repairs. The approximate failure mileage was 30. Updated 07-06/11 updated 3/1/12

- Lake High Water, NJ, USA

problem #786

May 112011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 90,650 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Cobalt. I was driving and all of a sudden my steering wheel wouldn't turn back. I took it to my mechanic and he told me that it was the power steering module...there was no power going to it. I took the car in last June because I got a recall letter for the electric power steering module. I was told to take it to the Chevrolet dealer. So I did. I told them it was the power steering module not getting power. They took the car replaced the electric module..told me they took it for ride and the power steering module burned out the power steering electric module and that I would need another $800 some odd dollars. I told them I don't have that kind of money. They said then there was nothing they could do. They charged me $363 and told me the car was very very unsafe to drive..but yet they let me drive it off of the lot like that in the same condition. They said they did not connect the power steering module back to the power electric steering module so it wouldn't burn it out. I told them maybe that wasn't the problem. If the electric power steering module was replaced in June..it wasn't even a year before it was no good. Of course the warranty was over. I called the customer service office and demanded my money back. I'm out $363 and nothing is fixed. I have the same problem. I told them they need to do a recall on the power steering modules. I wish that you would investigate this problem. As I was reading on the autoguide.com..there are alot of people out there with the same problem. They didn't care that I could have an accident or kill someone else. All that mattered is that I did not have the money. By the way the part was supposedly $140 but the labor was $230. I will never by another GM car. I don't trust them or the dealers. Please do a recall before someone gets seriously hurt.

- Brentwood , NY, USA

problem #785

Apr 202011

Cobalt

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 45 mph, the power steering failed. The contact noticed the power steering warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Sallisaw, OR, USA

problem #784

Apr 282011

Cobalt

  • 46,000 miles
Last year, my 05 Cobalt experienced power steering failure and concurrent hard shifting between gears upon power steering notice of failure. I took my car in to the dealer to be fixed in accordance with the associated recall. Last week, one year later, I have experienced the same exact problems again. The car will chime and report "power steering failure". if driving above 15 mph, there isn't much to notice regarding power steering, however, if changing speed requires your car to shift up or down to a different gear, the car will jerk ("hiccup") heavily, as if an inexperienced driver was trying to drive a car with a manual transmission. The car has 46,000 miles on it and this is clearly not my problem. Please insist that GM issue a recall with a real remedy for this issue.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #783

Mar 102009

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Power steering assembly was "replaced" under the recall, but still continually goes out off and on. Very unsafe!!

- Katy, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?