Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,523 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #36

Aug 102016

Cobalt

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact constantly noticed a fuel odor in the vehicle. Also, the vehicle had trouble starting. The contact diagnosed that the fuel pump module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V459000 (fuel pump). The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Rossford, OH, USA

problem #35

Jul 012014

Cobalt

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 10 mph, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was unable to restart. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where the technician diagnosed that the ignition and the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number 14V171000 (electrical system). The vehicle was towed to another dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact stated that a few days after the repairs while driving at 55 mph, the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel was difficult to turn. As a result, the contact veered to the left into a ditch. In addition, the contact stated that the left turning signal did not function properly and remained on after turning. The contact had to manually push the lever to stop it from flickering. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,000. Djr

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #34

Jul 292014

Cobalt

  • 111,936 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 38 mph, the contact smelled fuel inside the vehicle and the fuel indicator on the instrument panel illuminated. The dealer stated that the fuel pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,936.

- Coolridge, WV, USA

problem #33

Sep 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer requests reimbursement for fuel pump module recall notice repairs.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #32

Oct 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to fuel pump recall notice. The consumer stated he had trouble starting the vehicle. He took the vehicle to the dealer, where they informed him, the fuel pump had no pressure. The consumer then took the vehicle to a repair shop, where they discovered a problem with the gas tank, which was leaking. The leak was where the fuel pump was connected to the gas tank. The consumer notified Chevrolet and they denied there was a problem with the gas tank. A month later, the consumer received a recall, regarding a problem with the fuel pump.

- Valley Village, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #31

Sep 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the she smelled gasoline inside the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be inspected and they stated there was a leak in the fuel pump and it needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 112,000. Updated 12/21/12 the consumer stated after having the entire fuel system replaced gas could still be smelled in the vehicle. The consumer was then advised that the tank was damaged as well, due to factory defaulted gas tank. The dealer and manufacturer refused assistance. The consumer would like to be completely compensated for all expenses pertaining to the failure. Updated 1/4/2013

- Monroe, LA, USA

problem #30

Aug 232012

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on this issue but only in certain states, Delaware is not one of them. (NHTSA campaign id number:09V419000) I had to have the fuel pump replaced because it leaked fuel which is the same issue under the recall. If the problem is the fuel pump why would it matter what state your vehicle is registered in? I'm sure there are many more complaints on this and I hope that you will look into it further. I spoke with GM and they will not cover my expenses.

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #29

Aug 132012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
There is a strong smell of leaking gasoline. There is an existing recall for a fuel leak on this make, model and year, but not in Virginia!? NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump the dealer refuses to fix this problem under recall, saying it does not apply to my VIN. My car is affected by this problem, and what state I am in should not exclude them from responsibility. This recall must be extended to all affected owners in every state.

- Manquin, VA, USA

problem #28

Aug 082012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a mechanic fo routine maintenance. The mechanic inspected the vehicle and discovered a fuel leak. The mechanic advised that he would have to drop the fuel tank in order to repair the leak. The fuel pump module was replaced. The dealer was notified who stated that there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump) but the VIN was not included. M M the manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000...updated 09-26-12 updated 10/1/2012

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #27

Jul 302012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 59,900 miles
Started to notice difficulty when trying to start my car and the very strong odor of gasoline when the car was in operation and for a period after. I had an inspection done at a GM dealership where they confirmed that the problem was the same fuel pump cracking. Despite recall 09V419000, was told that my vehicle's VIN didn't qualify for any recalls.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #26

Jun 232012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated she smelled fuel coming from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and it was determined that there was a leak in the fuel pump module, which was cracked and needed to be replaced. The mechanic informed the contact of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery: Fuel pump). The manufacturer was notified and stated that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 57,000... updated 08-30-12 the consumer stated one of the ports on the modular reservoir assembly was cracked. Updated 09/10/12

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #25

Jun 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer states strong fuel odor the consumer stated GM refused to reconize the problem with no restitution for the repair he had done at a non-GM dealer. After the repair was made, he received a service bulletin from the dealer, which stated the fuel pump was re-designed due to potential cracks in the fule lines.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #24

Jun 182012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 80,100 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline: Delivery fuel pump). The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was told that the fuel system did not exhibit signs of leaking and that the vehicle should be brought back after the contact started to smell gasoline fuel. The vehicle was not serviced per the recall. The dealer advised the contact that they were advised by the manufacturer not to make any repairs on the recalled vehicles if there were no fuel leaks discovered. The vehicle was not repaired. Updated 07/25/12 the power steering motor was replaced. Updated 07/30/12

- Otto, NC, USA

problem #23

Jun 152012

Cobalt

  • miles
Smelled gasoline, noted gasoline dripping from the car. Pulled into an auto parts, the attendant stated thought gas was leaking from around the top of gas tank. The fuel filter and hoses were dry, thus suspected leak on tank top area. I immediately parked my car and was able to google to see if there was others experiencing similar problem. Yes, saw the following: NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 NHTSA action number: N/a component: Fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump though when I called the closest Chevy dealer service dept.... service said that my VIN was in the not in the number range for the manufacturer's recall for this very fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump known defective part.... my car was well under the age and mileage, just that my VIN was newer thus a few thousands higher than the recall VIN range! well, still this defective part could lead to my car property and more importantly my life and or anyone else in it operating this serious gas tank leaking problem!!!!!! I just received in the mail about recall notice 10023 for loss of power steering assist - replace electric power steering motor. The dealer service will perform the above power steering part replacement, though the defective gasoline pump module would not be covered.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #22

Apr 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 115,419 miles
Fuel pump and lines are leaking. Purchased car new in 2007 in mo.. was told it is not covered under recall notices #09V419000.

- Warrenton, MO, USA

problem #21

Mar 012012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt super sport. The contact stated the smell of fuel emitted from outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic where it was confirmed that there was a crack in the fuel line. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the VIN failed to qualify for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was repaired at the contact's expense. The failure mileage was 61,000 and the current mileage was 61,100. Updated 6/20/12 updated 06/22/12

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #20

Sep 122011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to a major crack in the plastic where the fuel pump is connected to the gas tank. There was also a crack developing in the line from the fuel pump the repair required replacing the fuel tank and the fuel pump. The consumer stated he was denied assistance because, he was told repeatedly, there was no recall for his model year. However, his vehicle had the exact defect for which a recall was issued, just not his specific VIN.

- Maryville, IL, USA

problem #19

Aug 312011

Cobalt

  • 57,468 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated while driving fuel fumes emitted into the vehicle. The contact mentioned stopped the vehicle to inspect it and noticed there was fuel leaking out of the fuel tank. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure; however, they did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included on recall NHTSA campaign id number:09V419000(fuel system, gasoline:delivery:fuel pump). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 57,468. Rvk

- Rosepine, LA, USA

problem #18

Aug 182011

Cobalt

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet colbalt. The contact stated that the airbag warning light was illuminated and the fuel pump was leaking fuel onto the exhaust pipe. A local mechanic diagnosed that a replacement pump was necessary. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 88,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Odon, IN, USA

problem #17

Jul 212011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
I began to smell a strong odor of gasoline from time to time when driving my car. Over time, the smell became stronger and I noticed I was having to fill my tank more frequently. It got to the point where I could actually see a leak underneath of my car. I took it to an autoshop to be looked at and they mentioned work needing to be done on my fuel pump, but I found out about a recall on 2007 and 2006 Chevrolet Cobalts (I drive a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt). The recall mentioned a leak, an odor and a problem with the fuel pump. I contacted Chevrolet and was told that the recall didn't concern my specific VIN. I'm still extremely concerned, seeing as the problems I'm having with my Chevrolet Cobalt sound identical to the issues raised in the recall of these other Chevrolet Cobalts. I've already had to take my Cobalt to the dealership because of the power steering recall. Fyi, see below. Thank you! recall date: Oct 29, 2009 model affected: 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Summary: General Motors is recalling certain model year 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt and Saturn ion vehicles originally sold in or currently registered in the states of Arizona and Nevada; and model year 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, Pontiac G5 and Saturn ion vehicles originally sold in or currently registered in the states of Arizona, California, Florida, Nevada and Texas. The plastic supply or return port on the modular reservoir assembly may crack. If either of these ports develops a crack, fuel will leak from the area. If the crack becomes large enough, fuel may be observed dripping onto the ground and vehicle performance may be affected. Consequence: Fuel leakage, in the presence of an ignition source, could result in a fire.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?