Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
66,529 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #100

Mar 062015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that strong fuel fumes emitted outside of the vehicle. The contact noticed fuel leaking from the top of the fuel tank onto the ground. The contact experienced the same failure as mentioned in NHTSA campaign number: 09V419000 (fuel system, gasoline); however, the VIN was not included. Additionally, the vehicle was not registered in any of the states listed in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 4/20/15

- Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #99

Feb 212013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 125,714 miles
My family and I were riding in the car, when suddenly there was a awful gas odor. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where I was told my life was in danger and they did not want me to drive the car. The fuel pump had to be ordered. Also, the ignition lock cylinder was replaced, due to the vehicle not starting at times....updated 01/29/15

- Hampton, SC, USA

problem #98

Jul 192014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
My 2007 Cobalt first showed signs of leaking fuel in the summer of 2014. I took it to get inspected and was told I needed my fuel line purge solenoid replaced. I did so, but the leaking did not stop. Then, on 30 December 2014 I got it reinspected and was told there is actually a crack in my fuel tank and that the tank needs to be replaced. There is currently a recall for my make and model of vehicle, but it is only for vehicles manufactured in certain states. I looked up my VIN and my vehicle was not made in any of the states listed, but the conditions match the recall details exactly. I believe my tank should be replaced as part of the existing recall.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #97

Nov 202014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 140,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After driving my car it had a strong smell of gas so I parked in my driveway and found a puddle of gas in front of the rear driver side tire. I looked under the car and saw that the gas line coming from the fuel filter was corroded and leaking from a strap. I was very concerned because the exhaust is about 2 inches away from this fuel leak. My fuel efficiency went from 34mpg highway to 26mpg highway so I know I was leaking fuel while driving. I took my Cobalt to the dealership and they said that it will cost $750 to fix the gas line. My flex tube on the exhaust system also broke around 130000 miles. It's the part in between the exhaust manifold and the cat converter.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #96

Nov 032014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Daughter drives vehicle to college. Smelling gas and noticed drops underneath car. Per mechanic it looked like coming from fuel pump and was told to take to dealer for extended safety bulletin 09226, cracked plastic supply port fuel pump. Dealer states that is not it and it is the filler neck of fuel tank. Needs to be replace )its plastic"?"!!!) $1500. This car is getting out of control expensive and this problems is also a well known issue that is not addressed by GM. Online there are scores of people with same issue. A fuel tank should not break, period. Car is worthless to sell after ignition recall anyway.

- Palm Harbor, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #95

Dec 092008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 17,940 miles
Car has a hard yank after coming to a stop and starting off. Knocking noise coming from rear of car since day one of purchase. Vibration in accelerator and gear shifter. Lights on interior of car dashboard goes on and off. Problem still happening today and the tsm was replaced as well, as they always say they cannot duplicate the problem. Check engine light has never came on at anytime the problem happened. It happens after car is driven and heated up. Only happened when long trip over 50 miles, now since ignition has been changed on call back. Problems has worsened lights on and off, transmission hard shift when driving short trips as well as a constant vibration. Knocking coming from gas tank side of car was mainly during cooler weather now happened when day was above 90 degrees. Electrical problem with vehicle I think and has caused many problems and even deaths. Do not think it was keys ignition. I seriously think is in the entire electrical system. Problem should of been fixed when 1st reported, but they only reset the trans computer.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #94

Aug 152014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 82,370 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crack on my fuel tank crack causing gasoline to leak out and fumes to enter my car.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #93

Jun 112014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 63,881 miles
I take the car to camino real Chevrolet to do the recall for ignition key on 6/9/2014, I get back my car on the same day and go home. I feel that there is some problem on control of speed. On 6/11/2014, I went out with the car for a few mile, the car began lost power and slow down. So I called aaa to tow my car back to the dealer for investigate, they ask me for a checking fee of $300 and told me that they have changed the part, it will be other problem. So I searched the internet there is more recall on that model on the fuel pump and other, but they refuse to replace for me. So I called GM, they said there is no recall on my car, I don't know why" information I searched from the internet said that the wrong computer program, connection, coded keys anti-theft function will affect the car from starting. They never check that and told me to paid for changing the fuel pump. What should I do" I have no car to use over one week.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #92

May 052014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 1,110,000 miles
I was driving at about 35mp and it felt like my right rear brakes was sticking like they where stuck, then I was driving and it the car didn't want to move I push all the way to the floor with the gas pedal and it still wouldn't move, so I put it back into park, try again the it went in reverse.but it moved really slow, the key wouldn't turn most of the time had to keep turning it also took car to dealer to have key ignition fix said they don't know how long it would take to fix, then I get on internet and see there are up to six recalls on this car but how do I find out if I can have them fix them too. Only got one letter which was for the ignition switch.

- Ironton, OH, USA

problem #91

Apr 222013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Started smelling a strong odor of gas inside and out of my car to where I would smell of gas when I drove my car, looked on line for any problems concerning this issue and saw that their had been a recall on the fuel pump in 2012 I believe it was, anyway I did not receive a notice for called GM explained what was going on they made arrangements to have my car towed to a dealership to be repaired which it was well, a day in a half later my check engine light comes on which it hasn't in the past I try to call GM numerous times and leave messages no one returns my calls. I take it back to dealer they put it on machine come out say your tank is filling up with a vapor your going to have to leave it we have to remove the tank. I get a call couple days later they replaced my recalled ignition switch but my gas tank has a crack. I go up there with my sister and after lengthy discussion I was told that the crack was a defect on the manufacturer end, it's up to me to get it fixed so, I point blank asked shouldn't they be recalled if it's a defect and I was told yes they should but they won't because they have to much going on right now with everything else. My opinion I just think it's just sad that someone has to get hurt before anyone will take responsibility for their mistake.

- Sharpsburg, GA, USA

problem #90

Apr 012014

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Consumer writes in regards to ignition switch recall. The consumer stated the current actions being taken to remedy the situation were inadequate at best. The consumer did not feel safe driving the vehicle. Also, the gas tank had to be replaced due to a leak caused by a defective seal, that was recalled. The consumer had the seal replaced, prior to the recall. However she was denied reimbursement, because the work was not performed at a GM dealership. The blower motor was replaced multiple times, due to it causing a leak on the passenger side of the vehicle.

- Middletown, IN, USA

problem #89

Apr 292014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 116,509 miles
The car had the fuel module and tank replaced in October 2012 they said it was not a recall and covered it under my powertrain 3 days before it went out. I just got the car back from the ignition recall and the air bag on passenger doesn't work they claim its something different, the gas is draining from the car again, it smells like gas. I am assuming that the fuel line again has broke, and the fuel module and tank will be soon behind it. Last time they told me the car had the potential to blow up.the door electrical switches go on and off by themselves.the turn signals work when they want to too.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #88

May 052010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I have had problems from beginning. We never received recall notice. Not two months after having purchased this vehicle the power steering started to fail (our son was a little over 2-1/2 years old. I had to pull over as fast as I could to keep us from crashing. I was never notified of a recall on this vehicle by notice only by the failure of this vehicle. The car was brought in and serviced. Hence bulletin #10023 (power steering motor) performed on 5/25/2010. Problem 2 I have had with this vehicle: The mechanic told me where I get my oil changed that there was a recall on Cobalt for that problem, so I researched it only to be told there was "no recall" so to speak on my VIN#- -my mother was told there was again no recall that matched my VIN number the Chevy Cobalt had to have the fuel pump replaced because it was leaking gas. Additionally, the fuel injector was replaced as well because it's also part of that recall and the one that was on the car was cracked and leaking. This could have caused more than a fire--it could have blown up while I was driving. Yet again the liaison provided me with this: #12191 (fuel tank module) performed on 10/10/2012. On to the third recall- low the current recall, 13454, is now showing for your VIN and we are sending out notices this week with more specific information. The door handle on the driver side has all but fallen off, out of warranty again the dealer and was told there were no recalls, so around turns and corners my car gets loud. Don't even let me get started the upholstery in this vehicle because water alone stains it. Along with the struts making noises when the car turns, the A/C issue having that replaced, the breaks, the rotors turned when does it stop. I also found that it was very possible the airbag situation was due to the electrical problems as well (hence the faulty ignition kill switch).

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #87

Jun 042012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I first started noticing a strong smell of gasoline when I filled my car up and parked it in my garage. I look under the vehicle to see if there was a fuel leak because of how strong the smell was. I didn't see anything so I was thinking maybe it was a one time thing like I had spilled some gas on the car when I filled up. I again noticed the same thing two weeks later when I filled up. It happens every time I fill up the car. I can even smell gas order in a open air parking lot when I walk by my car. I took the car into the Chevy dealer I bought if from because of a service bulletin csc-10051936-8902 where the plastic supply or return port on the fuel pump cracks and leaks fuel or fuel vapors. Fuel vapors, in the presence of an ignition source, could potentially cause a vehicle fire. So since this is my only source of transportation I took if in to get looked. The dealership said that this repair was already done to my vehicle before they sold it to me. I told them that the smell is so bad that I have to air out my garage before I started my car because I'm worried out it. The dealer service rep. Told me that I would have to pay to fix the part that was replaced if it was cracked again! I don't see why it's my fault that the part that they replaced may still be defective and I have to pay out of my pocket. The guy really didn't seem to care that this is a safety related condition that could cause a possible fire. I just spoke to GM about it and was told yes that I would have to pay to have my car inspected and if the same fuel line is cracked that I would have to pay. No help, but I shouldn't have to air out my garage every time I fill up before I start it because of a possible fire hazard. The GM rep. I spoke to on the phone said that when I get the letter for the ignition recall I should mention it to them again.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #86

Oct 192013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 20,310 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was refueling the vehicle and noticed that once the fuel tank became half full, the fuel began to spill. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was informed the fill hose fitting that was welded/sealed to the plastic gas tank separated causing spillage. The vehicle was repaired. A 30% discount was negotiated on a new gas tank. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 203,010...updated 12-05-13

- Clearwater , FL, USA

problem #85

Sep 162013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Car smelled of gas so I had it checked out and found out that it was a gas leak. I went online to see how much it would cost to repair. As I typed in gas leak in car of 2007 Cobalt how much to fix, a page came up on about how much it would cost and then a it also and questions and answer on the website. One of the question was the same exact question I wanted to ask so I opened it and found out that it was a recall on the gas leak issue. I then called the chevey customer service line to inquire about the recall. They said they was no gas leakeage recall for the 2007 Chevy Cobalt. I explained to him the issue I had with my car and he wanted to transfere me to the dealer. I told him I spoke with him already and he said it would cost me anywhere from 80-1400 dollars depending on was the issue. I said online said there was a recall on the gas leak issue and since I brought my car used I don't know if it was brought in the states that had the recall. He asked me for a recall number which at the time I didn't have. I then went back on line to do more research and found out that it did have a recall and it said the Chevy would fix the fuel pump module free of charge. The NHTSA campaign id # is 09V149000 and the recall number is 090226. How do I get them to fix my car without a charge since there was a recall on fuel pump module or reinburst me for the 550 I had to pay a mechanic to fix the gas leak. I did call them first, explained and let them know there was a recall on the gas leakage issue but was told there was none and the diagnostic to check where the leak is would be $116. Can you please help me!

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #84

Sep 182013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I can smell a strong gasoline odor while driving and even when the car is parked. I called GM and they said to take it to the nearest GM dealer to have it looked at as there might be something cracked and it would be fixed free of charge. I took it to our nearest GM dealer and they checked it out but said there is no recall on it for this car. I am scared the car is going to start on fire because no one can figure out where the smell is coming from. Or worse yet get carbon monoxide poisoning!

- Poplar, MT, USA

problem #83

Sep 062013

Cobalt

  • 61,000 miles
The fuel module return fuel line as referenced in the recall numbered 12V459000 had broken off the module and leaked fuel at the some point on my way home from work in the St louis metro area. I live in belleville, il.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #82

Aug 072013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
I am writing about the recall for the 2007 Chevy Cobalt that I own. Plastic parts connected to the fuel pump, could crack especially if exposed to high temperatures, and if the crack gets large enough, fuel could leak out of the vehicle and cause a fire. I am concerned because this is a regional recall, and only covers 07 Cobalt"S originally sold, or currently registered in AZ, ca, fl, nv, or tx, because GM says its warranty data indicates that the problem is far more common in hot-weather states. I bought my Cobalt brand new in 07 from a mi dealer and immediately drove it to edwards air force base ca, in the mojave desert. This is one of the hottest places in America. My plastic fuel pump has been exposed to higher temperatures than most Cobalt?S anywhere, yet I am not eligible for the safety recall because it was not originally sold or registered in ca. This is a serious and dangerous oversight. With the safety recall, all recalled vehicles must be repaired, regardless of whether a problem has appeared, and there is no time limit on the repair, and that is what I should be entitled to. If I take my Cobalt to the dealer under the ?special coverage? letter that I received, I may not leave with a replacement fuel pump, and they may charge me for the inspection. Plus, this ?special coverage? is only good for a limited time, so if my car survives, I will have to pay for the repairs myself. Why would you give a free replacement fuel pump to a person who bought a Cobalt in ca and moved to mi, where they are probably not in any danger of a fire. But not to a person who bought in mi, now lives in ca and has the danger of a fire. Don"T allow GM to ignore vehicles like mine when they get these selective geographical recalls. I called GM customer service twice, but they don't seem very interested in this predicament. For my safety, I want my fuel pump replaced for free.

- Rosamond, CA, USA

problem #81

Jul 152013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 81,768 miles
Fuel tank cracked, damaged, and tampered with, stated from service department at dealer.I bought it brand new and never had any fuel system work done. Leaks large amounts of fuel on the ground and in passenger cabin, causing a odor of fuel inside the car.

- Jenkinsburg, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?