Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
35 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
30 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,699 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #116

Oct 032015

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While the vehicle was in park, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unsure of the failure, but stated that a module may need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #115

Jul 162016

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,020 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving 45 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into another vehicle. The air bags deployed. The contact sustained burns from the air bag deployment. The passenger sustained a broken nose, broken thumb, and head injuries. Medical attention was required. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 10/18/16 updated 10/19/16.

- Pouding Mill, VA, USA

problem #114

Mar 292016

Cobalt

  • 64,320 miles
Our car was involved in an accident on March 29, 2016. It was declared totaled. Our Chevy colbalt had the ignition switch replaced and the air bag did not deploy! our car was turning left on a city street when it hit another car.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #113

Oct 262015

Cobalt

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While making a right turn, the power steering suddenly malfunctioned and caused the steering wheel to become very difficult to turn. The vehicle crashed into a utility pole. The air bags deployed approximately 5 minutes after impact and the steering column caught fire. The driver suffered left knee, back, neck, and hand injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 154,000.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #112

Jul 222015

Cobalt

  • 70,000 miles
Key was stuck in ignition and was unable to start. Replaced body module control and now the check engine light wont go off, says air bags need service, radio is locked out, with a slew of other problems. Took it car to the dealership to find no resolution. My car also lost power steering briefly after only driving about 15 minutes.

- Belmont, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #111

Feb 142014

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the key was difficult to remove from the ignition. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact also stated that the vehicle failed to start. After several attempts, the vehicle was able to start. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V047000 (air bags, electrical system) however, the failure recurred. While driving approximately 20 mph and making a right turn, the vehicle stalled and the contact crashed into a curb. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #110

Dec 122014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since December 2014, my car started flashing the airbag light. The dealer says that airbag is coiled and to replace is $1,600. I can't afford that. The airbag light is now on all the time (no more flashing). I looked up online and there were a lot of complaint on Chevrolet cars and airbag problems. Now the recall for it is out but my car is not on the list. I do believe this is a recall problem and I would like some help to know to get my airbag problem fixed through the recall. I will really appreciate your help. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #109

May 252014

Cobalt

  • 82,659 miles
Service air bag displayed on dash. Passenger air bag remains off when passengers are seated. Both issues have been present since puchase date. Ignition switch recall did not fix the issues,

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #108

Nov 132012

Cobalt

  • 56,000 miles
I was on the lodge freeway, highway 10, heading East when I loss control by 7 me rd, skinned out, hit the wall on the rear left fender and bumper.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #107

Jan 052015

Cobalt

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The contact also mentioned that the Chevrolet emblem on the steering wheel was sunken in. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Elyria, OH, USA

problem #106

Jun 242015

Cobalt

  • 126,627 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I believe the problem im having with my vehicle may perhaps be due to a defective issue..my car has not been involved in an accident and I now have an my (service air bag) light always on. I no longer feel sage in this car I also had another issue with ti today with my power steering I recently had my car recently serviced and was not told anything when serviced. Please investigate this issue and notify me as soon as this has been investigated.

- Bakersfield , CA, USA

problem #105

Jun 152015

Cobalt

  • 1,400,000 miles
Went over pothole at 15 miles an hour and both air bags inflated. One passenger went to hospital with injuries. Also the windshield was broken from impact of air bags

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #104

Jun 122013

Cobalt

  • 45,000 miles
A wire harness failed in the passenger side air bag/seat belt which would leave the air bag disabled. When taken to a mechanic to get fixed we were informed a whole new seat belt assembly which included the harness had to be ordered from a dealer to be replaced to fix the problem. He then informed us the new factory oem harness and assembly was delivered with new routing instructions to prevent the harness from being damaged again. Then indicates to me the company knows of the potentionally deadly issue yet fails to recall it.

- Stronghurst, IL, USA

problem #103

Mar 302015

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 100,279 miles
The airbag maintenance light came on in the car, took car to GM dealer and stated that there was broken wire in the passenger side seatbelt retractor. Dealer had to replace retractor and clear code. Having hard time understanding how this is not safety related and why I am having to pay out of pocket to fix this. This part does not hardly move and should be designed to move so many revolutions. My opinion this is a flaw in the design and should be covered by GM.

- Raymond, OH, USA

problem #102

Feb 012011

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Once in a while the sign check the air bag showed up, but now it stays on all the time. Car never was involved in any crash. The sensor or the air bug must be faulty from the beginning.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #101

Jun 012014

Cobalt

  • miles
I had my ignition switch replaced by a GM dealer, now the airbag light is on. I noticed on the ignition recall it mentioned the airbag. So I'm wondering if this airbag light is on due to something with the switch replacement.

- Lordsburg, NM, USA

problem #100

Dec 102014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Several months ago got notice that ignition lock was "recalled" by GM. Shortly after that I noted the "service air bag" light was on periodically. Stopped at GM dealer and was advised that parts would not be available until Oct 2014. Got another notice that it was time to get recall fixed. I took my vehicle in for replacement of ignition lock, which was done on 12/10/2014, got home and saw "service air bag" light was on. Called dealer and was advised that "air bag" light was not part of the recall. Have another appointment for 17th to get it checked. Recall 14V047000 is "airbag and electrical" but it doesn't cover airbag "?" I had trouble with this dealer years ago but he is the closest (within 30 miles) to me so I use him.

- Mill Hall, PA, USA

problem #99

Oct 162014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 98,700 miles
I was getting in my car to go home, and the service air bag soon appeared on the screen where the odometer is. It went off for about 5 to 7 days, then came on again. I went to jon hall cheverlot in daytona beach to look up recalls. I was told all were taken care of. In and around November 12th, 2014, it came on, and on November 21st, 2014, it has come on again. I am leasing this car from drive time. I have contacted their lease warranty department, and they said it was my responsibility to take care of this. I want to know what I should do, cause it seems like I'm going to the right resources, but given the run around about what to do. Is there any help for me in my situation? thank you, jean turner

- Daytona Beach, FL, USA

problem #98

Nov 212014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 220,000 miles
Car was totaled following a loss of steering and power brakes- crashing into a guardrail the airbags failed to deploy.

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #97

May 292014

Cobalt

  • 89,000 miles
My speakers on the front of the car go on and off as well as my inside turn signals. Now it has progressed to the check air bag indicator going on and off while starting and during driving. I have informed the dealership and was told it was several electrical problems. The airbag portion of it scares me as I am only 5 ft tall and sit close to the wheel. I don't want to fork over more money than the car is worth especially since I know there are several complaints for the same problem. Why not have a recall on at least the airbag part of the problem.

- Park City, KS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?