Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 19
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,261 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Ford Escape brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Feb 022012


  • miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that there was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock: Control unit/ module ); however the part was unavailable to perform the recall remedy repair. The contact was displeased to know the dealer and manufacturer were unable to state when the part would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure related to the recall, although there was concern of the safety issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Temple Hills , MD, USA

problem #38

Dec 122011


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph on an icy surface, the driver applied the brakes and the anti lock braking system did not engage. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the anti lock brake module had burned. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was previously repaired under the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). No further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Schererville, IN, USA

problem #37

Nov 012011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Vehicle was parked in yard when smoke started coming out from under the hood. We raised hood and saw wires on fire under the master cylinder. We put the fire out. Wires from ABS system caught on fire

- Pendergrass, GA, USA

problem #36

Aug 042011


  • 147,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. While parked the contact noticed the vehicle was engulfed in flames. The fire department reported to the scene and a report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated an inspector would go out to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed. The cause of the fire had not been determined. The contact stated the vehicle was included in the recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:antilock:control unit/module). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs but the technicians stated repairs were not needed. The contact stated the fire began where the ABS module was located and believed the fire was caused by the ABS module. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000.

- La Habra, CA, USA

problem #35

Jul 292011


  • 153,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated the vehicle was parked for approximately one hour when it caught fire. The fire department arrive and extinguished the fire. An independent mechanic examined the vehicle and stated that the anti lock brake module caused the fire. The vehicle was not repaired and had not been moved since the fire. The failure and current mileage was 153,000.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

problem #34

Jul 292011


  • 124,000 miles
The contact owns 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated while driving 35 mph the brake warning light illuminated on the instrument panel and the contact smelled something burning. The contact drove the vehicle to a local mechanic who stated the wires that were connected to the brakes master cylinder had melted. The mechanic also informed the contact of NHTSA recall number 07E023000 (service brakes, hydraulic:foundation components:master cylinder) and the contact called the manufacturer. The manufacturer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in the recall. The contact stated this was a manufacturers defect that could have resulted in a crash. The failure mileage was 124,000.

- Alvin, TX, USA

problem #33

Jun 172011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles


On or about June 17, 2011, my 2002 Ford Escape was parked and the ignitition was in the off position when my car alarm went off. When I looked outside I observed smoke bellowing out from under the hood. The next day, I was able to get my vehicle to dealer, where they diagnosed the ABS module has overheated and needs to be replaced. I was given an estimate of $720 to repair the problem. Upon further investigation I have discovered that the service brakes, hydraulic: Antilock; control unit module was recalled by Ford (#07S51)on April 23, 2007 and continues to be open. I was in contact with service manager for dealer on or about June 30th to follow up on the work they had done in May 2007 concerning this problem. He informed me that when they inspected the vehicle in 5/07, there was no problem and that it was properly inspected, and they placed grease on it, and are not willing to pay for this repair. On or about July 1, 2011, submitted a claim to the Ford Motor Co. Regarding this repair at no cost to me. Upon further inspection, has also discovered another recall problem (NHTSA #07E023000)service brakes, hydraulic: Foundation components: Master cylinder and that brake fluid has leaked from the rear of master cylinder and has leaked on the vehicle into the power brake booster. I have been experiencing no brakes when I put my foot on the brake pedel. Despite these recall problems being invesitgated, neither Ford Motor Company feel that they are not responsible for the repairs and have told me I must bare the enormous costs for these repairs on my own and/or drive the vehicle unsafely. I have been stranded in prescott, AZ for over 3 weeks, and am tired of wrangling with all three dealership/companies and need your help in investigating this situation! thank you!

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #32

Jun 182011


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that vehicle caught on fire. The fire was extinguished by the local fire department and a fire report was filed. The vehicle was towed to a local repair facility where the vehicle was ruled as destroyed. The failure was contributed to the ABS module. The contact stated that the ABS module was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 07V156000 (service brakes: Hydraulic: Antilock: Control unit module) July 7, 2007. The failure and current mileage was 130,000.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #31

Dec 142010


  • miles
In December 2010 took my Ford Escape into my service center to have the brakes looked at when the ABS light came on and the brake pressure felt sluggish. They found and replaced a bad tone ring on the left front axle. Now six months later June 2011 the ABS light comes on again with the brake pedal pulsating at times. I took it back to the service center again and they had to do the same thing on the right side front. I feel that this is a safety issue. If someone would stop short in front of me or cut me off and I would have to slam on my brakes, I feel that someone could be seriously hurt. I feel that Ford should recall the 2002 Escape for this reason.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #30

Apr 122011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 34,886 miles
My ABS system was coming on while stopping for no apparent reason. When I took vehicle to dealer, they said I had a cracked tone ring. I had the same tone ring replaced 4 years ago. Of course it wasn't under warranty. $400 later, it is fixed...

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #29

May 302011


  • 160,000 miles


I drove my vehicle home from work (less than 5 miles). When I pulled into my driveway and parked my vehicle, smoke began to pour out from the engine compartment. When I opened the hood there were flames directly in front of the driver side near the fire wall. These flames were originating from the ABS module location.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #28

May 252011


  • 96,505 miles
While accelerating on an on-ramp entering a state highway, traffic ahead of me came to a stop. I went from applying pressure on the gas pedal to immediately moving my right foot to the brake pedal to apply pressure. The brake pedal gave very little resistance. I depressed the pedal all the way to the floor of the vehicle. My vehicle came to a very slow stop as if I was only lightly depressing the brake. My tires did not skid as I would expect and the vehicle took several seconds to finally come to a very slow and gradual stop. The stop was so slow and gradual that I could not even feel momentum pushing my body forward as usually experienced when suddenly braking.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #27

May 232011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 68,100 miles
Brakes would feel like they were fading and then ABS felt like it was working. No warning lights would come on. Dealer found cracked ABS tone rings. An 800 dollar repair.

- Coom Rapids, MN, USA

problem #26

May 162011


  • miles
ABS module connector caught fire while car was parked. Recall for ABS module connector inspection was completed 7/6/2007. Brought vehicle back in 1/7/2008 due to ABS light remaining on. No mention of ABS, noted rotors below specs and brake pads need replacing.

- Livingston, LA, USA

problem #25

Mar 102011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
ABS light came on as did the brake service light. Found a recall notice and called Ford. They stated my vehicle was not part of the notice and it did not matter if my vehicle had the identical issues with the ABS module. They basically said they would do nothing unless a new recall notice was issued for the same problem from others whose vehicles were not included in the first recall! never again Ford. Never.

- Ajax, 00, USA

problem #24

Feb 182011


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when the ABS light waning illuminated and the contact detected an abnormal burning odor. The failure recurred sporadically but was not taken to the dealer or a mechanic for the failure. She referenced the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number: 07V156000 (service brakes, hydraulic:anti lock:control unit/module) and contacted the manufacturer who advised that her vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 105,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 152010


  • 75,000 miles
After reading the below report, we took our 2002 Ford Escape to golden circle Ford in jackson tn. We were informed that they had never heard of this report. Our master cylinder has brake fluid leaking all around it and even leaves spots in the garage. My complaint is that it seems one hand has no idea what the other is doing. These reports need to also go to the dealership service departments so they can be familiar with problems with their products. To date, our problem still has not been resolved. Component: Service brakes, hydraulic:foundation components:master cylinder details: Certain cardone master cylinders with date codes lower than dca7078 sold as replacement equipment for use on the vehicles listed above. The seal on master cylinder can fail and leak brake fluid. Consequence: Loss of brake fluid can result in poor braking performance, possibly resulting in a vehicle crash.

- Bells , TN, USA

problem #22

Jan 242011


  • 103,689 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the brakes failed while he was driving 15 mph. The brake light illuminated at the time of the failure. The contact had the emergency brake service six months prior to the failure but the ABS light illuminated the day before the failure. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who replaced the master cylinder and brake booster. The VIN was unavailable. The current and failure mileages were 103,689.

- East Windsor, NJ, USA

problem #21

Jan 112011


  • 220,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Escape. When the contact applied the brakes at a traffic light, the brake pedal extended to floor causing the contact to crash into a light pole at 25 mph. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was towed to the contacts home. The vehicle had not been inspected, but the contact was certain that the vehicle was destroyed. The contact referenced NHTSA recall campaign 07V156000, service brakes unit control module; however, the recall repair was performed two years prior to the crash and the repair caused the crash to occur. The failure and current mileages were 220,000. Updated 3/8/11 updated 12/14/11

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #20

Apr 152010


  • 116,000 miles
ABS connector melted and Ford cant fix problem because parts are not available {wire loom} this car was part of a recall for this same problem in 2007 but recall was just a visual inspection.

- Ofallon, MO, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?