Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,073 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Nov 212013

Escape

  • 99,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down interstate red exclamation inside triangle illuminated and vehicle cut off. Had to pull over to side of road. Repaired at Ford dealer on 4/3/14 rivertown Ford in columbus ga. Received recall notice 14S19/ NHTSA 14V-526 and they keep giving me run around on returning my money.

- Waverly Hall, GA, USA

problem #37

Aug 282010

Escape

  • 95,200 miles
I own a 2008 Ford Escape, in August 28th, 2014 as I was coming off the highway and stopped at a light my vehicles wrench symbol came on and as I tried accelerating my vehicle went up to 45 RPM before changing gear into second. Since this day, I tried taking my car into repair services but I am very limited, as a full time student and a father at the moment I was not working and relying on my school income which was not a lot to repair my car. The car has gotten worse since then, instant of going up to 45 RPM in order to change into second gear it sometimes goes up to 60 RPM before changing, not only that but as I slowly break my car suddenly speeds up forward, like a boost which I need to firmly apply my breaks again. I've tried taking it to Ford, but so much for help or willing to work with me, it is disappointing when we purchase our favorite vehicles and get turned down by the company knowing we are in need of help. My car consumes gas, every other day I have to fill up it to keep it from completely running low, in a day it consumes half the tank, with the second day my gas is nearly done. I went from spending 120-30 biweekly on gas to 120 every two days, add it up especially as a full time student. I am a father of two in which I freak out when I have them in my car. I've came to realize I am not the only one that has this issue, I've seen a serious amount of complaints about 05 to 13 Ford Escape models. There is no recall for fixing the problem which leaves many of us helpless. Ford does not treat their customers well. Ford is the definition of poor customer service. The transmission is going out, if that is the case how the hell do I and others come up with $4200 to replace my transmission having two children. I am pinned against the wall and there isn't anything I can do, if this isn't a cry for help, then I don't know what to do, please help.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #36

Sep 202014

Escape

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. When the contact started the vehicle, the ABS, traction control, brake, and service engine warning lights illuminated. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) and felt that the recall remedy was the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Rehoboth Beach, DE, USA

problem #35

Oct 222014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 60,328 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After years (since early on in the ownership of the vehicle purchased new from the dealer) of intermittent problems with my gas pedal sticking (mostly in colder weather), the most recent incident was by far the worst and, like many other 2008 Ford Escape owners with the same issue, I am very lucky that it occurred in an area where I was not in immediate danger from other cars. I was stopped at a stop sign and when I pressed the gas pedal to move forward the pedal started to respond then fell to the floor with no further response. There was no power to move forward and no warning lights came on. I lifted the pedal to make sure that it was not stuck on anything and it just fell limply back to the floor. I manipulated the arm under the pedal with my hand until it loosened up and the pedal was able to engage again. I then drove to my destination without further incident. This is not the first time this has happened and if my car does not become part of the "customer satisfaction program, " I am sure that it will not be the last. The NHTSA investigation of alleged throttle body failures in 2005-2012 Ford Escape vehicles sharing the same or substantially similar part, did not result in enough vehicles being included in the resulting Ford "customer satisfaction program, " which only included cars from 2009-2012, when it should have included many more cars. The complaint forums are filled with many complaints regarding the same issue from at least 2008 Ford Escape owners. To not include everyone from the initial investigation is doing a disservice and it will be sad day when the rest of the car owners are included only because somebody has died!

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #34

Nov 112014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 155,900 miles
Driving down the road the power cut out to the vehicle, and the throttle stopped responding, the engine continued to run but very labored. At the same time the wrench light lit up on the dash. Using the forward momentum I was able to pull the vehicle over, where it stalled. I was able to re-tart the engine where it ran labored again, and stalled out, the throttle was not responsive during this time at all. After approximately 10 re-starts with the last coming after the vehicle sat awhile, I was able to re-start it and drive it normal. Throttle response returned, and the wrench light was off. This issue occurred for my wife again on 11/12 with a similar result.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #33

Feb 042014

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
Throttle sticks shut, especially when vehicle is cold. Applying pressure to the throttle will sometimes snap the throttle open, causing the vehicle to surge. Sometimes the throttle will not move until the vehicle is warm. Throttle pedal assembly and cable appear to be free moving and not sticking. When moving throttle body shaft by hand (vehicle cold, not running), the throttle body sticks shut but can be freed with some effort. Once moved from the shut position, the throttle body shaft moves freely against the return spring. Cables attached to throttle body shaft are not under stress and do not appear to be impeding throttle body movement. Lubricant applied to cabling pivots and attachment points have minimal if any effect.

- Grosse Pointe Woods, MI, USA

problem #32

Jul 112012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle needs a second motor replacement. It breaks down with no warning prior to doing so, causing great danger on the road for driver and passengers as well as other drivers on the road. Both times the car broke down on my there was no indication on the dashboard, no audible warning and it shuts down in a fashion where there is little control of the car. I've also recently had the throttle recall addressed. The first motor died at 65K in 2012 and this motor has now died at 35K in 2014. Clearly there is something dangerously wrong with the hybrid motor and/or the load of the other hybrid components.

- Ewing, NJ, USA

problem #31

Oct 102014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
"stuck gas pedal": as I was driving to work in moderately heavy traffic on us 127 in Michigan at approximately 8 a.M., on 10 October 2014, the gas pedal froze on my (manual transmission) 2008 Ford Escape and I began to lose speed quickly from the 70 mph I had been traveling. The pedal would not move up or down no matter how hard I pushed or pulled at it. I tried kicking it as best as I could but it would not budge, and the floor mat was not near the pedal at all. I had to maneuver to the shoulder of the road and continued 'coasting' while I tried to get the pedal to move. The area I was at was not conducive to a full stop unless absolutely necessary due to the clearance on the side of the road and the curve I was on. My speed had dropped to less than 55 mph when the gas pedal finally released and I was able to push it down to increase my speed again and eventually work back into traffic, though with caution in case it happened again as I was still not in an area safe for a full stop. The temperature at that time was around freezing. I took the Escape to the Ford dealer and they said no codes appeared when scanned so there was nothing to indicate it had happened. They also told me that neither my vehicle, nor the throttle assembly in it are listed as part of the recall for "sticky accelerator pedal" for Ford Escapes. This is a 2008 manual transmission, 4 cy., 4-door, 2wd Escape. Why was it not included in the recall? I've had problems with the gas pedal 'catching' and then immediately releasing since we bought it (at about 16000 miles), but the dealer could never duplicate the problem and thus did nothing about it. My online research indicates this "frozen" or "stuck" pedal (where the pedal will not depress at all) is not a new issue and across all model years, yet nothing has been done by Ford and they refuse to acknowledge it.

- Leslie, MI, USA

problem #30

Jul 232014

Escape 4-cyl

  • 116,000 miles
The transmission went out and had to be replaced. Vehicle has been well maintained and this should not have happened.

- Smithfield , NC, USA

problem #29

Aug 012014

Escape

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 60 mph, the air bag and check engine warning lights illuminated continuously. In addition, the vehicle began shaking. The failure recurred on multiple occasions. The contact stated that the vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V284000 (steering) and after the recall repair, the failures occurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000.

- Brooklyn Park, MN, USA

problem #28

Jul 102013

Escape

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at 55 mph, the check engine warning indicator was illuminated and the electrical system failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the egr valve needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #27

Nov 192013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Wrench light came on and I immediately took my vehicle to john bleakley Ford for a diagnostic test to see what was going on. I noticed that the vehicle was stalling while going uphill and sometimes would not go more than 20. Then when driving in the city the vehicle would sometimes jerk. This is a very nervous feeling!!! I was told that it is a factory problem & told to continue driving it. I was told by the service mgr to contact them in January after he contacts Ford. I called and emailed often ad it is a nervous feeling to drive a car like this. I finally was able to follow up with the service mgr who avoided me until May 2014, and he only spoke to me after I contacted mr bleakley! I have quoted prices for a rebuilt transmission and a new transmission which is very expensive. I am still trying to figure out what happens when Ford customers do not find the money to make expensive repairs. The mileage is too low to need a transmission. Also I have maintained my car good. This is dangerous & unbelievable!!!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #26

Jun 052014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
When I am stopped at a stop-sign, I go to accelerate and the vehicle does not go. After about 2-3 seconds of pressing the accelerator pedal to turn onto a street, the vehicle will then surge picking up a little speed. I have almost been hit by traffic when turning onto a street numerous times. It does not happen when driving at higher speeds only when I accelerate from a complete stop. This is very dangerous because when I need to accelerate, the vehicle will not let me. So basically there is a delay from the time I press the accelerator, to the time the vehicle actually kicks in and goes. Extremely dangerous!

- Monroe, OH, USA

problem #25

May 262014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving through a crowded neighborhood with many people crossing the roads with the weather being warm. All of a sudden, the engine light and other dashboard lights came on, and the car stalled. The brakes would not work, so I turned on my hazard lights, held the horn down and waved frantically through my open window. Luckily I had enough space in front of me so I could allow the car to cruise to a halt. I unfortunately had to roll through a stop sign where the people were aware that I was having an issue with the car. Upon stopping the car and turning it off, I got out and looked under the hood for any smoke or other issues. I let the car sit on the side of the road for about 5-10 minutes, and then started it up again. I was within 2 minutes of my residence so I rolled the car all the way home with my hazards on. This could have been a serious situation with multiple injuries and/or fatalities (small children in area). Ford needs to fix this issue as soon as possible.

- Markham, NY, USA

problem #24

May 122014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
My car isn't working properly due to defective Ford throttle body.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #23

Dec 102013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
I bought my 2008 Ford Escape used in November 2013. In December 2013 the gas pedal started sticking each time I went to accelerate. It gets stuck "up", meaning I have to pound my foot on the gas pedal in order for it to accelerate forward. My Ford is a manual transmission and this makes it not only dangerous on the road but almost impossible to not stall out all the time. Called dealership and they were of no help. Said car was used and it is what it is. It is now May 2014 and it my family and I can hardly get anywhere. Car is very dangerous. Took car to midas for a tune up and an estimate. Midas stated my car needs a brand new throttle unit, throttle cable and a 3 part fuel kit. This will cost roughly $1000 midas stated. We don't have that kind of money. I don't feel safe driving my children around and come to find out that Ford extended a warranty for Ford Escapes 2009-2012 for this same exact fuel kit and throttle issues. 2008 Ford Escapes are having the same issue for many consumers. Please help me. My family and I can't afford to get this repaired and my 6 and 8 year old (and my fiancé) can't be driven around in this car. My own safety is one thing and I will ensure I get to work everyday, but someone is going to get hurt if this is warranty isn't extended or recalled for Ford 2008 Escapes as well. I have all midas service paperwork and documentation if needed. Please help us. We are in danger each time I drive this car and we need a car to drive. Thank you-cincinnati, Ohio/ May 2014.

- Maineville, OH, USA

problem #22

Apr 282014

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
While turning the wheels the ABS light blinks on and off and the car seemed to be slowly losing power. When wheels were straightened again it ran as normal. This happened three times on the drive home from the grocery store, each time when I was turning, the electrical panel was dimming and the gas pedal lost ability to propel car.

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #21

Mar 102011

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
I own a 2008 Ford Escape XLT, V6 3.0 engine. At about 49,000 miles, it started having acceleration issues. This has been an on going problem, but never trips any service lights. I go down the drive way pretty good, but when I get on the highway, I have to hammer on the gas pedal to get it to go and the rpms go way up. The Ford dealers can't find anything wrong with it. We know that it's fuel related and have cleaned the throttle body and several sensors. It helped for a short time, several thousand dollars later. But its right back to stalling out. I've never received any recall notices at all. This vehicle is a coffin on wheels ! P.S. this is in regard to the electrical throttle body.

- Clayton, WI, USA

problem #20

May 042011

Escape

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 100,000 and the current mileage was 209,000.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 282014

Escape

  • 82,000 miles
I was at a stop sign, at a complete stop. When I accelerated, the car felt and sounded like it was going to stall and the gas pedal did not work--then the car surged forward. The ABS light and traction control lights then came on and would not go off. This is the 2nd time I have had an issue with the throttle body--I had it replaced at a Ford dealer 3 years ago, and now it is being replaced again. I have had the car since 2008, and I'm on my 3rd throttle body--the original one, the one replaced at the Ford dealer, and now this one. The financial burden is stressful enough, but then add on the fact that, at any time, the throttle can freeze up and stop working which can cause a serious accident.

- Woodland Park, NJ, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?