Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,244 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Mar 022015


  • 85,000 miles


There is a bad weld on the ac condenser/ transmission cooler estimated cost $800. If not replaced transmission will fail. Found multiple complaints.

- Arvada , CO, USA

problem #23

Oct 012014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 28,311 miles
The condenser is combined with power steering and transmission. This vehicle should not of had a leak as it only has 28311 miles on it. This is bad for ground water as fluid leaks goes on street and into storm drains. Cost to fix is about $700.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #22

Apr 082014

Escape 6-cyl

  • 75,975 miles
I left the Ford dealer's service center after having my car exhaust repaired and less than a quarter mile down the road I suddenly lost all power to the car and could no longer accelerate when I stepped on the gas pedal. I was traveling on a very busy road and I was extremely fortunate to roll into a parking lot without getting hit by another vehicle or causing a major accident. The Ford dealer ship found that the throttle body malfunctioned. I found that Ford is extending the warranty on this defective part for certain model years under a "customer satisfaction program". I contacted Ford and they are refusing to extend the warranty on the throttle body for my car. I would like to find out why my car is excluded from this program. The part is obviously defective and should be replaced by Ford per this program.

- North Dighton, MA, USA

problem #21

Feb 112014


  • 160,000 miles


I was driving down the highway slowing down to make a left hand turn and was unable to turn wheel. After researching it found out if you have the heat on it will cause the sensor to over heat. This is unacceptable.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #20

Aug 012008

Escape 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
My vehicle would cut off when I stopped for red lights or stop signs. After taking it to the dealer multiple times they said the ac condenser was bad. It was replaced because it was covered by warranty. In 2009 at approximately 25000 miles. I began having the same problem. The dealer said that I was no longer covered by warranty and it would cost $800 to replace the ac condenser again. I purchased an ac condenser from the internet and had someone outside the dealer replace. Now February 2014, I noticed a puddle under my vehicle and it was determined that once again my ac condenser needs to be repaired. Once again I have had to replace this item. I currently have 150000 miles on my vehicle.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #19

Jun 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 67,838 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the stop safely now warning message displayed as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic cooling pump needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 67,838 and the current mileage was unknown. Updated 01/23/2014

- Robbinsdale , MN, USA

problem #18

May 302013


  • 59,000 miles


Ac started blowing hot air. Called dealership. When I took it there, started blowing cold again. Has blown hot air for 30-40 minutes 2 more times then blow cold and act fine. Monday, dropped off at dealership, they kept overnight, fixed moisture packs or something they called them. Picked up car day before yesterday. Yesterday, blew hot air again. Went back to dealership, it was blowing cold again. They don't know what else to do and they are a Ford dealership!!!

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #17

Mar 162010

Escape 4WD 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape. Consumer states vehicle loss all power while driving when the mechanic opened the hood, he discovered the engine was covered in fluid. The transmission cooler was leaking, as well as the coolant.

- Harrisville, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 072011


  • miles
Transmission defect on 2008 Ford Escapes.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 302011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Purchased 2008 Ford Escape in June 2007. After around 25K miles the transmission was leaking fluid according to the Ford service center we took it to. They repaired this at no cost since this was under the 3 year/36,000 mile warranty. Had a minor issue back in August with the air fan not blowing air properly. The fan had to be placed on high before it would blow out any air. This was fixed and cost approx. 200 dollars since the warranty was out in June 2007. No big deal. Then on October 30, around 73K miles on the car, it started stalling while driving and shaking violently. Put on brakes it would start to stall and when giving gas it would shake and then stall. Took it to the Ford service shop which is also the dealer where we have purchased around 5 or 6 vehicles and who has always serviced our Ford vehicles and were told that it needed a brand new transmission and since it is out of warranty this will cost $4,900. Have checked on numerous websites and this is a common issue with Ford Escapes. I actually know someone who bought her vehicle at the same dealer, the same year vehicle and had the same exact problem with around the same mileage when her transmission went out as well as the fan problem. I do not feel that I should have to pay for this since we had the same issue back when the car only had 25K miles on it. This car is only 3 1/2 years old and we should not have these many issues with this car. I cannot afford to have it fixed so it will sit in my driveway.

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #14

Sep 042011


  • 59,500 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the transmission fuel was leaking through the cooling system. The vehicle was parked when the contact noticed the leakage. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who replaced the transmission cooling system. The manufacturer was notified who advised that the vehicle was not covered under any recalls. They offered no further assistance. The failure mileage was 59,500. Updated 10/04/11 updated 3/30/12

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #13

Aug 172011

Escape 4-cyl

  • 68,100 miles
2008 Ford Escape has 68,000 miles on it, the transmission is jerking when shifting into first and second gear. It is really bad shifting to second, it's almost like the motor is dropping. My A/C also just started having issues, the fan only works on high.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #12

Jan 052011


  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving approximately 65-70 mph, the engine stalled and there was a beeping chime heard in the vehicle followed by a message displayed on the instrument panel instructing the contact to stop and pull over safely. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road and the engine was restarted. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the electronic cooling pump was being replaced. The failure mileage was 51,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #11

Mar 012011


  • 38,900 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The vehicle would exhibit an abnormal squealing when first starting. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who advised that the alternator belt bracket pulley was defective and would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The current mileage was approximately 39,000. The failure mileage was approximately 38,900.

- Bessemer, AL, USA

problem #10

Dec 012010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
A/C condenser-transmission cooler leak. Trans. Oil all over engine bay which is a fire hazard. Car wants to take off on it's own which is caused when trans. Fluid gets low. Part needs to be replaced. There's hundreds of complaints on line of this particular problem and Ford is yet to do a recall.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 232010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 46,843 miles
Car burned down to the frame. Turned the car on it started to smell like something was burning. Smoke and fire started coming out of the A/C vents. The contact left the vehicle immediately and it went up in flames. After speaking with the police and firemen and they had a chance to look at the remains of the car once the fire was put out, the best conclusion they could come up with as to what happened was some sort of electrical fuse malfunction. Updated 12/20/10 * bf the fire originated within the passenger compartment and then advanced into the engine compartment. The exact cause of the fire could not be determined. Updated 12/27/10

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #8

Mar 292010

Escape 4-cyl

  • 350,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that when stopped at a stop light, the accelerator pedal became stuck and would not move unless the consumers wife pressed on the bottom of the pedal firmly. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where he was informed that there was a clogged intake valve which would not allow the pressure in the pedal release. The vehicle had been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current and failure mileages were approximately 35,000. Updated 06/02/10. Updated 05/11/10. Updated 08/18/10

- Atco, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 102010


  • 58,000 miles
The car started to drive sluggish and hesitated in the middle of the street. After checking the transmission fluid I found that I was nearly empty. I refilled the tranny with about 3 quarts of fluid. The next day I checked it again and there was no fluid on the stick. I looked at the right passenger front side of the vehicle and saw were fluid was leaking from under the radiator. After having this checked out I am told that this is the transmission cooler and lines and there is no fix for the problem. It can be replaced but it will happen again according to the dealer. Now, I have to put a quart or more in every day. There is no recall and the warranty does not cover this repair. This fluid leak could possible cause a fire under the hood and by dripping out so fast it could cause the vehicle to stop in traffic without warning.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #6

Mar 012010


  • 40,000 miles
Car started jerking (or stopping) when stopped at stop signs/stop lights. I took to the dealer and they had to replace transmission cooler / A/C combo.

- Hoboken, NJ, USA

problem #5

Feb 032010


  • 38,000 miles
I bought a 2008 Ford Escape (used) and approximately 6 months after I bought it and 38,000 miles, I noticed the vehicle would lurch forward when I pressed on the accelerator. I started doing research and found that it may be a problem with the transmission and sure enough, found a large puddle of transmission fluid on the floor of my garage. I have to refill the transmission fluid weekly due to the massive amounts its leaking and am looking into getting this fixed now.

- Island Lake, IL, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?