Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
28,319 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Escape wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #14

Apr 172012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Ford Escape. The contact stated that abnormal fumes emitted into the interior of the vehicle when the air conditioning unit was activated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 83,000. Updated 10/10/12 the consumer stated when the ac was on, there were fumes emitting from the vehicle and coming inside of the vehicle. Also, the tires were bad and the frame was bent. Updated 10/17/12

- Long View, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 082011


  • 30,000 miles
2008 Ford Escape XLT 4WD, excessive tire noise on Continental Contitrac tires, size 235/70/R16. Rotated at proper mileage throughout the lifetime of the car, now has 35000K on it. This should be a tire recall do to the amount of people that seem to have this same issue.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #12

Dec 222010


  • 43,000 miles
Own a Ford Escape 2008 with 43,000 miles and original Continental tires. At my last oil change I requested a tire rotation an found out that one tire was defective (failure of one steel band) and was causing significant noise and vibration at 60 mph and above. Tire thread gage indicated 10/32". it seems the tire has failed to perform when significant life was still available.

- Cape Charles, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012009

Escape 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles


2008 Ford Escape XLT V6 33,000 miles Continental conitrac tires wearing very uneven causing excessive road noise. Company will not stand behind their product even though there is still tread left on tire and they have been rotated 4 times. Have contacted twice, and they have offered no assistance.

- Saint Joseph, MI, USA

problem #10

Sep 062010


  • 29,950 miles
I own a 2008 Ford Escape XLT with 29,950 miles on the original Continental Contitrac SUV tires. In the past 6 weeks, I have had 2 of the tires blow out while I was driving on the interstate. The tires appear to be in excellent condition. The 1st incident occurred on 7/26/10, when the right front tire blew. The tire technician who examined and replaced the tire (with a comparable Continental tire) said that the tire failed due to belt/tread separation. The 2nd incident occurred on 9/6/10, when the left front tire blew out. We haven't replaced it yet, but the tire tech said it looked identical to the 1st tire, and had failed due to belt/ tread separation. I've contacted both Ford Motor Comp. And Continental tires. I want them to replace all 4 tires with a different brand. Considering that I was driving at 75mph when both tires blew, it's a miracle that I didn't wreck.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #9

Aug 202010


  • 29,598 miles
Tire stem failure on Continental Contitrac P235/70R16 104T caused tire to loose pressure and made a roadside assistance call necessary and side trip to repair tire. Second tire to have this failure this month.

- Bloomsburg, PA, USA

problem #8

Oct 282008


  • 20,000 miles


June 2008 I purchased a used 2008 Ford Escape. The tires are the same Continental tires that were on there when I bought it. The insides of all 4 tires are wearing faster than the rest of the tread. Sounds like I have "mud" tires/aggressive tread. When the noise first started Nov.2008 I thought it sounded like a wheel bearing, but those checked out fine. It wasn't until July 2009 that I figured out it was the tires making noise. I am guessing it is a problem with the tires as no mechanical problem can be found.

- Plainfield, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 152009


  • 20,000 miles
On 1/1/09, 5/24/09, 5/29/09, 7/27/09, 8/15/090, inside panel lit up with "low tire pressure" message and tire was dangerously low within 15 minutes. These various events occurred on major highways with children in the vehicle and in heavy traffic, no safe place to pull over. Cracked tire stem valve each time.this presents a serious hazard to drivers who are alone, on dark highways, etc.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 282009


  • 43,000 miles
The stock tires provided with the 2008 Ford Escape models have defective valve stems. The cracked rubber can either cause a blow out or slow leak. On my Escape, 3 out of 4 valve stems were defective and showing multiple cracks. This is on a "courtesy recall?". the dealership I had my vehicle serviced at recommended replacement. Since the NHTSA has not proactively recalled these tires, knowing full well there were millions of defective valve stems sent from china, the only way I was informed there was a serious safety issue with my vehicle was by having another mechanical problem. Please officially recall these before people start dying to blowouts.

- Algonquin, IL, USA

problem #5

Apr 042008


  • 22,100 miles
2008 Ford Escape XLT. Tire valve was cracked and caused a flat that triggered TPMS air, at inspection tire shop found all tire valves were cracked the vehicle has 22K miles and was first dolt to me on May 2007.

- Campbell, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 272008


  • miles


The tire (front driver side) on my 2008 Ford Escape hybrid (which I purchased in June 2007) keeps losing air pressure and I get a warning light on my dash about every two to three weeks. I recently read about the valve stem recall but I never received a recall notice from Ford. I am getting very concerned about this particular issue as well as the bigger issue of using sub-standard parts in american cars. I contacted my Ford dealer today and they asked me to give them my VIN number. After I gave them my VIN they told me that my vehicle was not on the recall list. I believe I am being snubbed here and that Ford should replace all four valve stems as a precautionary measure.

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 042008


  • miles
Special ordered a 2008 Ford Escape limited. Kept hearing slight noise sounded like wheel bearings to me. Rotated tires at 7500 miles as per my owners manual.took to dealership at 10,839 miles. They said they had not rotated my tires so no service. Noise so loud now cannot hear radio. Cupping on inside of all tires. Took back to dealership. They said I cannot rotate my own tires and keep my warranty. So my warranty claim is denied.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #2

Aug 082008


  • 26,819 miles
Replaced all valve stems on tires.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #1

May 022008


  • 19,000 miles
First of all, I cannot say with any certainty weather the issue is with the automobile or the factory original tires. I can only suspect it is with the automobile based on 30 years of experience of owning and operating automobiles. 1. excessively loud noise from the factory original tires. 2. after 19,000 miles all 4 factory original tires are wearing down on the inside of the tread only. 3. I was offered a new set of tires from the dealer service center at a reduced cost.

- Castalia, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?