Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,174 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 5 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #183

Sep 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles


While traveling in heavy traffic the engine seemed to quit. A "wrench" icon light came on and the car came to a stop. I was unable to pull to the side of the rode and remained in the middle lane of an interstate highway until I managed to restart the car, approximately 5 minutes. The car ran normally for about 10 minutes and stopped again this time in the middle of an intersection. Research confirms this problem is common for my model, code P2111. This failure mode is a safety issue and the frequency of failure is evidenced by the throttle body being on factory back order for and extended period. Ford should issue a recall to replace the faulty modules and pay for the modules people like me were forced to purchase.

- Cape Canaveral, FL, USA

problem #182

Sep 302013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
While driving the Ford Escape under normal driving and road conditions at 60 mph, I lost complete acceleration and had to steer the vehicle to the shoulder off the freeway to avoid traffic trailing behind and beside me. It was a dangerous situation to say the least. The engine was still running but I had no power to accelerate. I turned off the vehicle and restarted it. I was able to drive the vehicle slowly off the freeway with intermittent loss of acceleration and into a parking area. I was able to drive the vehicle to my home slowly with intermittent losses of acceleration, having to stop multiple times to turn off and restart my engine. I attempted to drive the vehicle from my home to an auto mechanic shop and the same situation occurred on the way to the shop. The engine check light and the wrench light was on the dashboard. The mechanic performed a computer diagnostics and it indicated a dirty or damaged throttle body. The mechanic cleaned the throttle, and I test drove the vehicle again. Within a short time of driving the vehicle the loss of complete acceleration occurred multiple times again. At that point the mechanic indicated that I would need to replace the throttle body. I called the Ford dealership and explained my situation, whereby they responded that they could examine my vehicle to determine the cause of the problem. They also indicated that the throttle body is not under the powertrain warranty. I strongly feel that this defect which poses a life threatening situation for owners, should be under recall as it has become a common problem with this make & model of Ford vehicle. I have read many on-line testimonials of other owners having the same problem and even some that had serious auto incidents.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #181

Sep 282013


  • 64,123 miles
I would like to preface that this vehicle is not driven every day. Starting in July I had started experiencing drops/spikes in the RPM's. I would be pulling into my garage and the truck would suddenly lunge forward. Thankfully already having my foot on the brake; I could stop the truck before causing any damage to items in the garage. Then I started to noticed while sitting at traffic lights the RPM's would drop and it would run a little ruff for a sec or 2 then balance back out - this was very random. - next, while stopped at a traffic light it stalled completely on 2 separate occasions with in the same day. At first we thought maybe some bad gas, so we ran it almost out and filled up with premium. The truck was then better for a few days. The final incident was when I was taking my son to soccer. I backed out of the driveway and put the truck into drive, stepped on the gas, and it would not go. The RPM's would not go above 1000. Then the little wrench came on in the lower left of the dash. I quickly put on the 4-ways as I now was blocking the busy street for which we live on; and was able to limp the truck into a neighbor's driveway. Had it towed up to the local dealership and they said it was the throttle body. I could not believe the initial quote from the dealership - and we had purchased the extended care pkg with the vehicle - yeah so much for that. I started looking it up and found that Ford has acknowledged that there were production issues of the throttle body for this make/model/yr causing faulty parts to be installed - but yet will not take full responsibility, issue a recall and truly fix the issue. At least a service issue warranty- only if you have these issues and the diagnoses is the throttle body(code: P2111 or P2112) for this make/model/yr - it will be covered by Ford.

- Howell, MI, USA

problem #180

Jul 112013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


Car seems to loose power. Although the engine is still running it seems to not be able to accelerate or move. I have to turn on my blinkers and coast to a safe place and stop and restart my engine.

- The Colony, TX, USA

problem #179

Sep 252013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 102,800 miles
Throttle body malfunction. This is the second Ford Escape 2009 that I have had this issue. Both issues occurred within a month of each other. Vehicle stalls out while driving resulting in loss of all acceleration. Wrench symbol comes on and have to put car in emergency lane. I can turn it off and then it restarts. This has happened multiple times and is very dangerous especially at high speeds with no emergency lane available. Currently in shop replacing throttle body at Ford dealer today 9/30 and cost is $400. Its not worth risking my life or my wife's life. Issued consumer complaint with Ford. Ford will not do anything to help regardless of the risk.

- Whitefish Bay, WI, USA

problem #178

Aug 082013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
Identified as throttle bottle malfunction. Driving in cruise control at 70mph and car stalls out. Wrench symbol comes up and car looses all acceleration. Almost had an accident and had to safely get on the curb. Car continues to rev. Turn car off and then restart and everything is fine. Also took video of incident. This had occurred multiple times. Had Ford install new throttle body for $400 on 8/10/13. No more issues and Ford verbally acknowledged that this was the issue. Own two 2009 Escapes and both have had the same issue and both have replaced throttle body. Called Ford consumer service and they stated they could not do anything to help the situation.

- Whitefish Bay, WI, USA

problem #177

Sep 052013


  • 94,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the mechanic stated that the throttle body had to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure and current mileage was 94,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #176

Sep 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,700 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the dealer but no failures were found. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 89,700. Updated 12/20/13 the throttle body was replaced. Updated 12/26/13

- Teutopolis, IL, USA

problem #175

Sep 072013


  • 59,613 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, there was a sudden loss of engine power as the wrench warning icon illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic throttle body needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 59,613.

- Erwin , PA, USA

problem #174

Sep 202013


  • 78,000 miles
Several times, driving at high speeds, lost complete control of acceleration. Engine throttle revved but pushing pedal made no difference. One occasion we almost wrecked at high speed. The car remains on, but acceleration pedal does nothing. Turn car off, turn back on and it works fine. Has happened in park, slow speeds and high speeds. Ford won't do anything. Please help!

- Rockwall, TX, USA

problem #173

Sep 192013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 106,000 miles


My wife was driving on the highway when the vehicle abruptly shut down in a high traffic metro area as an orange wrench light appeared on the dash. After resting on the shoulder for a minute and speaking with me (her husband), I asked her to try and start the vehicle again. It started back up as normal with the orange wrench light now not showing. The car ran as normal for about 10 minutes and then it happened again. She was able to get the car home safely. The next day I took a look at the car, did some research, and drove it around for awhile. The car ran fine for about 15 minutes until it occurred again. Apparently the orange wrench light means there is an issue with either the power train or the throttle box. The vehicle shifts gears as normal so I am left to believe there is an issue with the throttle box (as I have read many complaints regarding this exact same issue with the 2009 Ford Escape).

- Hudson, WI, USA

problem #172

Sep 152013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
I had my 2month old great granddaughter with me as I was taking her home. I was a block from entering the freeway and the car just quit running. I tried to start it but it kept dying. Finally it started and I went 10 miles an hour back home which was only a few blocks from there. I had it towed to Ford the next morning. They called today 9/20 that the problem was the throttle body. They would have to order it and it was on back order as alot of Escapes have this problem. There should be a recall on this part as this could cause a very bad accident and we could have been killed if we were on the freeway. I have done my research and there are alot of complaints on this. I still have a warranty but this is not covered. I feel they should fix it as it a dangerous thing.

- Castro Valley, CA, USA

problem #171

Aug 042013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 49,940 miles
As I was driving, the accelerator pedal ceased responding because power to the accelerator was lost. The car coasted to a stop on a busy highway. I was able to turn off the ignition and restart and drive in low gear a short distance. But after about 300 yards, low gear ceased to work as there was no longer any power to the accelerator. I was able to put the car in reverse and back off the road. I consider it fortunate that traffic was relatively light and I was not hit by another vehicle. I had my vehicle towed to a Lincoln Mercury dealer, who advised the diagnostic computer code (P2111) indicated the electronic throttle body was "bad", and there was nothing to do but replace it. They could not tell me any details as to what had caused it to go "bad", and advised they were not able to do any investigation as to what caused the malfunction. All they could do was send the old throttle body back (presumably to Ford), and install a new electronic throttle body for an installed cost of $720.24. I complained directly to Ford in dearborn, mi (global director, automotive safety office) by U.S. mail, and received a voicemail on 9/5/13 from [xxx] at Ford executive offices ([xxx]). I returned the call and she requested I send a copy of my invoice for the throttle body installation ([xxx]). a few days later (9/9/13 I believe) she called and the bottom line was all Ford would offer was a partial reimbursement of $240, which I have not yet received. She admitted no wrong (except perhaps by inference of offering a partial reimbursement) and advised Ford could not guarantee that I would not experience another throttle body malfunction. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #170

Sep 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The above affected parts field will not let me choose a part. We were driving on the freeway and suddenly the vehicle lost power - we had to go to the side of the road. The power was still on in the car but the accelerator would not work. We turned off the car and then started it again and was able to drive again. This happened on three separate occasions. The wrench light came on in the car and the book said throttle/drive train problems. We consulted a couple of dealerships and we since found out that indeed these vehicles are having throttle/accelerator problems. Parts are hard to find on a waiting list. There should be a recall on this to fix it. We are now going to fix the problem and save the receipt. We feel we should get our money back. This is a very serious, potential safety issue. Thank you.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #169

Jan 042013


  • 79,000 miles
Vehicle was at 55 mph on a state highway and just immediately lost power. Went into limp mode. When it was placed in park, shut off then restarted, it would gain speed properly again. There have been several incidences of this happening since January. Once was in the middle of a major intersection which could have caused a wreck. Another time was on a main highway going up the side of a mountain with no shoulder to pull off on and traffic behind me. Once more was on a major interstate going 70 mph. During the entirety of one day, it happened six separate times. After researching on the internet, we found that this could very likely be a throttle problem and needs to be recalled before someone gets injured or killed.

- Booneville, AR, USA

problem #168

Sep 132013


  • 94,360 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while exiting a residential driveway, the accelerator failed to respond to acceleration attempts without warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or a mechanic for diagnosis. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 94,360. The VIN number was not provided.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #167

Sep 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,481 miles
Driving along and the vehicle kept slowing down, kept pushing on accelerator but stopped going. Got off the road and shut down and restarted, vehicle ran okay. This happened three times. Dealer says the electronic throttle body needs replaced.

- Mineral Wells, WV, USA

problem #166

Jul 312013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
7/30/2013 started up after stopping at an intersection. About half a block later, I stepped on the accelerator and nothing happened. Then it sputtered, the wrench light came on and the car would not move. I coasted to the side of the road, turned on hazard lights and turned it off. It started right up after a few seconds and proceeded normally. About a month later, the same thing happened driving home at night. After stopping at a stop sign, I accelerated and the car lost power, the wrench lit up and I coasted over to the side again. Again, it started right up. A week later, it did the same thing in heavy traffic. I put on the hazard lights and coasted to the edge of the road. It started up, but did the same thing after a few yards. I made it very slowly into a parking lot and it stayed there until that evening. When I tried it later, it died a couple of times and I drove it home on the back streets late at night when there was no traffic. After researching the problem on line, I saw what others had done and had the throttle body replaced. That was 6 days ago. So far, so good. However, my confidence is gone and I won't be driving it in freeway traffic anytime soon.

- Tyler, TX, USA

problem #165

Sep 102013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 98,101 miles
The car was driving at about 35mph and with no warning... I heard a popping sound and lost all throttle control. Thank goodness I was on a back road with no other cars. This could be very dangerous if I were on the highway or I was passing a car, hauling a trailer. The car will reset after the car is off for a time and will work again for a several minutes. This is the same issue as several other of the Ford products have been recalled for but my year has not been recalled, yet. I called Ford to look for a recall and I was told none were listed but that she takes calls all day long for this issue and could even tell me the cost of the fix $500 plus.

- Winter Garden, FL, USA

problem #164

Jun 052011

Escape 6-cyl

  • 52,800 miles
Traveling on highway 58 doing approximately 65 mph. There was a lunge - accelerator didn't function - drifted to side of road - vehicle was idling very rough. Noticed the little wrench was lighted on the instrument panel. I turned the vehicle off for a couple minutes - then it started right up. Thought it was a glitch - approximately 5 miles further it did it again. Wasn't sure what it was so I had it towed 50 miles to my residence. The next morning I contacted the Ford dealership from where I had purchased it. Took it in for a diagnostic - $134.40 only to be told they could find nothing wrong. On June 22, 2011 during evening traffic it occurred 5 times within approximately 8 miles. The 5th time I called the dealership again - they had me bring in right in. Next day told me the throttle body and motor assembly had to be replaced. Well $406.35 and two years later it's happening again. Three (3) times in the past two weeks -first time on the interstate - traveling approximately 65 mph - in the rain - made my way to the side of the road - turned it off for a couple minutes and started right back up. Last week on a residential road and today September 10, 2013 as I was pulling out of a store parking lot. Ford needs to be held responsible for this and have the vehicles recalled to fix the on-board computer problem they have admitted to. I am not lucky enough to have that kind of money to have the parts replaced again only to possibly have to do it again!!

- Norfolk, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?