If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.3

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
19,622 miles
Total Complaints:
14 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. stop selling as towable (6 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2009 Ford Escape transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Ford Escape Owner Comments

problem #14

Apr 292011

Escape XLT 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've decided to post my experience with towing the 2009 Ford Escape here and everywhere else I can in hopes that by drawing attention to the issues I've had, it will help others and maybe get some actual help from Ford instead of the lip service and run around it looks like they've been giving so far.

In 2009, when the Saturn I had flat towed behind my motorhome since 2001 needed to be replaced, I was going to buy another Saturn because I had been so happy with the trouble free towing of it for so many years. But once I discovered that Saturn was basically going out of business, I decided to research to see what other cars with automatic transmissions were okay for flat towing.

Even though I had not been traveling for a couple of years at that point, the most important consideration was that it could easily be flat towed because I still intended to resume my fulltime RVing lifestyle as soon as I could. The 2009 Ford Escape looked like the best option to me. I didn't see anything to cause concern at that point, it was highly rated by Consumer Reports, and the towing instructions clearly outlined in the owner's manual were not complicated or burdensome.

November 19, 2009:

Date I purchased car. Mileage: 13,866. I loved it at this point!

Decision to purchase this year and model based on Ford representation that it can be flat towed behind motorhome per dealer and 2009 Escape Owner’s Guide, page 193. Since I had flat towed a Saturn for years this was not a new concept to me.

February 19, 2010:

First time towed from Austin to Baton Rouge (400 miles). I followed all Owner’s Guide instructions explicitly. Upon arrival, after unhooking and driving car just a few miles and parking, smoke poured from underneath car. Took it to nearby dealer, Robinson Brothers Ford, who told me there was a recall relating to the transmission. Parts Director told me there were 2,500 of the necessary parts for this recall on back order at this time, but since I was traveling away from home, he would find me one on an emergency basis. Service described as: “Found trans leak at left axle shaft. Replace axle bushing, seal & axle assembly. Refill trans fluid and road test. Drain fluid again and refill per TSB 10-1-5 and road test to verify repair.”

It was then that I found out the transmission had been replaced in April 2009 during its prior ownership. As far as I know, though, it had not been towed since there had been no base plate or other evidence that it had been. Should have seen the red flags then, but I thought it was great that I basically had a new transmission. Foolish me!

May, 2010:

Received letter from Ford with a booklet “Recreational (Flat) Towing and Transmission Fluid Level Supplement.” Letter states, “The recreational vehicle four wheel down towing instructions in your Owner’s Guide are incorrect.” The main difference I could see was that the booklet gave instructions about proper fill level for transmission fluid.

April 12, 2011:

I left Austin heading for Columbia, SC. Since it had been over a year since car had been towed, I made sure I thoroughly understood all requirements. I compiled all instructions with pictures for easy reference and made sure transmission fluid level was within range recommended.

In the 6 days it took to get from Austin to Columbia, SC, the battery kept dying after a day or two of towing, and after many discussions with service rep from where I bought the car, and assurances from 2 guys who came out to jump start the battery that I was doing everything correctly, the 3rd guy showed me that the picture of where the key should be for flat towing was really not correct when the car was in neutral. When it is in neutral, the key should be all the way to the farthest right, which the book shows is in the “locked” position where the wheels wouldn’t turn. This is correct when in Park position but not when in Neutral. This was on the last day of this particular trip, but the battery was not dead when I arrived at my destination that day. So hopefully this issue is resolved - I’ll know more when I take off again on May 18. Pat, the service rep at Leif Johnson Ford in Austin where I bought the car, and Melissa at Ford Customer Relations were both very helpful in trying to help me through this issue.

April 29, 2011: (Mileage = 20,500)

While driving car at 45-50 mph, I heard grinding noise and steering wheel started shimmying.

I took it to the nearby Lugoff, SC Ford dealer where Paul Stewart, the service rep, kindly fit me into the schedule. Bob (service tech) drove around with me and of course the noise did not recreate. He confirmed transmission fluid level was correct. But he said to be on the safe side, he wanted to put it up on the rack to see what he could see from underneath.

When he returned, he showed me a couple of pages he copied (page 40 and 41 from Ford about front and rear towing connections on the Escape and Mariner). Based on this, he and Paul told me this car was not recommended by Ford to be flat towed. This did not exactly engender confidence in me about their experience with this issue and I told them I knew this was true for older models, but that the 2009 Escape could be flat towed according to the Owner’s Manual that I showed to him, along with the 2010 supplemental booklet.

They then acknowledged that it looked like I had done everything correctly according to the manual and supplement, but Bob said that he could see “early signs of transmission failure.” He said the left axle is loose where the axle goes into the transmission and that failure may be prevented by replacing left transmission axle bushing and seal.

This sounded familiar to me, so I had him check the car’s service record to see this was exactly what was done in February in Baton Rouge per the recall. He agrees this is cause for concern that it would fail again in a little over a year. He also wants to pull the fluid plug to make sure no metal is in the transmission fluid because this could not be seen just by checking fluid level on the dipstick.

My concern at this point is that the parts needed are still on national back order and they could not tell me how long it would be before they would receive it, even though they submitted it as an emergency.

I then called Ford Customer Relations (800-392-3673) and spoke to a woman named Connor. I outlined the history as briefly as possible and told her what the Lugoff dealer said and that I wanted Ford’s help with getting the part because I needed to leave SC on May 18. I figured since this was the second time this same issue arose that the least they could do was expedite arrival of the necessary part.

After putting me on hold, she came back and said “Ford recommends you working with the dealer at this time. I have documented your concern and sent it over to the dealership in Lugoff. They should contact you within 4 business days. They said if they replace the part, the vehicle will be safe.”

I asked her if she had actually listened to anything I said before she put me on hold and came back with her “canned” response. I had already been to the dealer, this was the second time I had been told the same issue needed to be fixed and that I wanted some sort of assurance that this car was actually safe to be flat towed as Ford represented. She replied, “If it was a towing issue and there’s not a fix for it yet, Ford is aware of it - they do send these concerns to the engineers.” Gee, thanks a lot, Connor - that really makes me feel a lot better - NOT!!!

Regarding the part being on national back order and my request to expedite that request: “There’s nothing Ford can do if it’s on back order. If you’re willing to call another parts company to try to get the part, it’s up to the dealership if they’re willing to install it.” She said Green Sales Company (513-731-3304) might have the part.

I then called Paul Stewart at Lugoff Ford again. He didn’t understand Connor recommending another parts company. He said the part has to come from Ford to be covered under Ford warranty. The axle kit has been put on emergency order status by his parts department. It may be here Monday or it may be 3 weeks - no way of telling and nothing else he can do.

He said obviously they’re having a nationwide issue with this because of parts being on back order already. He said engineers were probably working on a redesigned axle or bearing, but that could take a couple of years, and in the meantime Ford would take care of repairs. I expressed my concern about that, especially once warranty is expired and he said even then since it had been an ongoing issue, it would be covered under “good will warranty.”

Sorry, but this does not feel like “good will” to me - feels more like the royal runaround!

May 4, 2011:

So at the moment, I’m waiting for a call back from Paul at Lugoff Ford to see if he has any ETA on getting the part.

It scares me to death to read some of the other forum complaints about flat towing this car. As a woman who travels alone, I need to know Ford will stand behind their products and their word about how they can be used!

- , Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Jul 302013

Escape XLT 2.5L I-4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,346 miles

After towing flat for two years experienced my first problem with the Escape, being aware of the reports about the problem I had always checked the fluids and followed the recommended start up procedures and until this time have had no problem. After reaching the Utah state line and stopping at the first road side rest area I was checking the car and found it was hot and would not start. We towed it on in to Salt Lake City and rented a car dolly to bring it on home, where it has set for the last week and a half in the lot of our local Ford dealer waiting to get it in to find the extent of damage. At this point I can only assume that the transmission is fried and probably there are some electrical components have melted. We did purchase the car new in the fall of 2009 and it was checked out by the local Ford dealer on 12-27-2010 for the 10B15 service notice and again in May of 2010 for the 10L06 service notice. Since the car is no longer under warranty this will be a costly expense I'm sure.

- , Elkhart, KS, USA

problem #12

Oct 072009

Escape LTD 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,530 miles

This is where I have to blame the dealership, Jim Burke Ford in Bakersfield Ca., for selling us a SUV that had a history of transmission failures when being towed by a motorhome when we made it very clear that we were going to tow it all over the USA. They were just interested in the cash sale and not the customers satisfaction. This is the last Ford I will ever buy. They could care less so our problem continues on.

- , Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 262010

Escape Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased a 2009 Ford Escape in December of 2009. The salesperson was aware this vehicle was going to be flat towed behind a motorhome. He as well as ford literature stated it was flat towable. In August of 2010 we were towing the Escape and the transmission went out. Had it towed to the nearest ford dealer and returned home. Rented a car one way two weeks later to pick up the vehicle. Did not flat tow the Escape again until January,2011. Left Illinois on the way to Florida. Stopped in Huntsville, Alabama for the night and the transmission was once again gone. Left the vehicle at another dealer and went to Florida without a tow vehicle. Returned a month later and picked up the car. Drove 2 days home. On day one the vehicle began smelling like it was burning up. By the time we arrived home the transmission was once again gone.

I have heard that the transmissions manufactured after May of 2010 have a baffle in it that prevents the transmission problem. The only problem is that each transmission we get is a rebuilt one so the problems will continue until a newly manufactured transmission is installed.

So far Ford Motor Company has spent over $15,000 on this vehicle in the past 6 months. How much more will they spend before admitting this vehicle is NOT flat towable?

- , Quincy, IL, USA

problem #10

Apr 222010

Escape XLT 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,325 miles

TRANSMISSION 2 OUT OF 4 WENT OUT AGAIN. FRIED AGAIN. THIS TIME WE WERE TOWING THE ESCAPE DOWN THE HIGHWAY WHEN A WELL MEANING COP PULLED US OVER TO LET US KNOW IT LOOKED LIKE OUR ESCAPE WAS ON FIRE. I GOT OUT AND COULD NOT EVEN TOUCH THE HOOD. HE THEN GAVE US DIRECTIONS TO THE CLOSEST FORD DEALER IN HATTIESBURG MISSISSIPPI. SINCE IT WAS ONLY A SHORT DISTANCE WE SIMPLY TOWED THE ESCAPE TO COURTESY FORD AND WAITED FOR THEM TO OPEN IN THE MORNING. MILEAGE NOW 24,325. THEY LET US PARK IN THEIR BACK LOT AND ORDERED ANOTHER TRANSMISSION. THEY WERE KIND ENOUGH TO FURNISH A RENTAL CAR TO USE WHILE WAITING. ANOTHER 7 DAYS LATER THEY WERE DONE.

I CALLED FORD, EXPLAINED OUR PROBLEM AND THAT WE WERE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE STRONG POSSIBILITY OF BOTH FIRE AND/OR EXPLOSION IF WE TOWED THE ESCAPE AGAIN AND ASKED THEM TO RENT US A CAR TRAILER. THEY SAID NO AND WE LEFT AGAIN, STILL HEADED EAST.

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #9

Apr 032010

Escape XLT 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,658 miles

TRANSMISSION NUMBER 1 OF 4 THAT HAS BURNED UP WHILE TOWING MY 2009 FORD ESCAPE. LEFT FROM MESA AZ. TO CONTINUE ON FOR ABOUT 2-3 MONTHS TOURING THE SOUTH ON 4/03/10 WE WOKE UP TO FIND OUR ESCAPE WOULD NEITHER SHIFT OUT OF NEUTRAL NOR START. FORD SERVICE RESPONDED AND TOWED US TO THE CLOSEST FORD DEALER IN SAN ANGELO, TX. MILEAGE WAS 23,658. TRANSMISSION WAS FRIED, AND ELECTRONIC PARTS IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT MELTED. WHOLE OUTSIDE AND BOTTOM OF CAR WAS COMPLETELY COVERED WITH TRANSMISSION FLUID. AFTER WAITING 7 DAYS OUR TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AND WE CONTINUED ON OUR TRIP, THINKING IT MUST BE AN ANOMALY. STUPID US.

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #8

May 192010

Escape XLT 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,932 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TRANSMISSION 3 OF 4 WENT OUT ON 5/19/10 AS WE WERE AGAIN TOWING OUR FORD ESCAPE DOWN THE HIGHWAY. ONCE AGAIN WE WERE SIGNALLED TO PULL OVER BY A PASSING MOTORIST WHO STOPPED WITH US AND TOLD US IT LOOKED LIKE OUR ESCAPE WAS ON FIRE. AGAIN THE HOOD WAS TOO HOT TO TOUCH, IT ALL STUNK LIKE BURNT OIL AND WAS STILL SMOKING BADLY. MILEAGE AT THIS POINT WAS 24,932. THE CLOSEST FORD DEALER WAS IN CLARKSVILLE TENNESSEE SO WE HEADED THERE, HOPING TO ABLE TO GET A CAR TRAILER AND CONTINUE ON HOME. HERE I SHOULD MENTION THAT WE HAD TO HEAD FOR HOME EARLIER THAN WE PLANNED ON BECAUSE WE HAD JUST FOUND OUT THAT MY WIFE'S 95 YEAR OLD MOTHER HAD BEEN HOSPITALIZED WITH A LIFE THREATENING ILLNESS.

TO MAKE A LONG STORY SHORT, NO TRAILER WAS AVAILABLE THROUGH FORD. WE SIMPLY DID NOT HAVE THE TIME TO WAIT WHILE THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AGAIN SO WE RENTED A TRAILER. THEN WE HAD TO BUY A STINGER FROM A FRIENDLY MOTORIST AND PAY TWO PASSING TEENAGERS TO HELP US PUSH THE CAR ONTO THE TRAILER, AND AGAIN HEADED HOMEWARD. WE ARRIVED HOME A FEW HOURS AFTER SHE DIED. IT WAS MAY 25,2010 BY THE TIME WE COULD BREAK FREE TO TOW THE ESCAPE (SINCE IT WAS ON A TRAILER, FORD REFUSED TO TOUCH IT) TO HARRIS FORD, LYNNWOOD WA FOR THE THIRD TRANSMISSION. MILEAGE NOW 24,932 MILES.

FORD EVENTUALLY DID REIMBURSE ME FOR THE CAR TRAILER BUT NOT THE $ PAID FOR THE STINGER OR HELP LOADING IT ONTO THE TRAILER. THIS TIME OUR ESCAPE WAS UNAVAILABLE FOR US TO USE FOR ANOTHER 12 DAYS. WE ALSO FOUND OUT THAT WE WERE NOT ALONE; SEVERAL SIMILAR INCIDENTS WERE LISTED ON THE INTERNET. WE WERE ALSO ABLE TO GET COPIES OF A FORD TECHNICAL BULLETIN 09-20-13 WHICH SHOWS FORD KNEW OF THIS PROBLEM AS EARLY AS 10/05/09, WITHIN A FEW MONTHS OF BEGINNING SALES OF THIS MODEL - NOT TO MENTION OTHER SIMILAR MODELS- AND AS YET HAS NOT COME UP WITH A SOLUTION OTHER THAN STEADFASTLY DENYING THERE IS A PROBLEM.

LEST THERE BE ANY MISUNDERSTANDING; ALL OF THE DEALERS HAVE BEEN COOPERATIVE AND AS HELPFULL AS THEY CAN BE BUT ARE GREATLY LIMITED BY WHAT FORD WILL ALLOW THEM TO DO. WE LIKE THE ESCAPE- BUT IS STUPID TO TRY AND TOW IT ACCORDING TO THEIR RECOMENDED PROCEDURES.

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #7

Apr 032010

Escape XLT 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,658 miles

LEFT PHOENIX AREA HEADING EAST TO SEE SOUTHERN STATES, TOWING OUR ESCAPE. SECOND DAY OUT ESCAPE WOULD NOT COME OUT OF GEAR OR START. THERE WAS NO FLUID LEFT IN THE TRANSMISSION AND WHOLE CAR WAS COATED WITH TRANSMISSION FLUID. FORD TOWED IT TO DEALER IN SAN ANGELO TEXAS. TRANSMISSION WAS FRIED, ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS IN ENGINE COMPARTMENT MELTED. WAITED 7 DAYS FOR A NEW TRANSMISSION, NO LOANER CAR WAS AVAILABLE UNTIL LAST TWO DAYS. CAR HAD 23,568 MILES ON IT. THIS WAS TRANSMISSION NUMBER 1

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #6

Jun 212010

Escape XLT 6.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,393 miles

FRIED TRANSMISSION NUMBER 4 - NOT HAVING TRIED TOWING THE CAR SINCE THE FIRST THREE TRANSMISSIONS BURNT UP, AND SINCE THEY HAD MODIFIED THEIR TOWING PROCEDURES WE DECIDED TO TOW THE ESCAPE AGAIN. REALLY BAD CHOICE. LEFT THE SEATTLE AREA HEADED TO IDAHO FOR SOME FAMILY STUFF. 6/21/10 WAS HEADED THERE WHEN AN ALL TO FAMILIAR EVENT HAPPENED; A GUY IN A TRUCK PULLED IN FRONT OF US, TURNED HIS FLASHERS ON, SLOWED DOWN, AND MOTIONED FOR US TO PULL OVER. SAME OLD CRAP. HEAVY SMOKE, BURNT OIL SMELL, AND HOOD TOO HOT TO TOUCH. MILEAGE NOW 25,393. CALLED FORD ROAD SERVICE AGAIN. SINCE IT WAS LATE IN THE EVENING THEY TOWED IT TO THE CLOSEST FORD DEALER, MERIDIAN FORD IN MERIDIAN IDAHO, DROPPED THE KEYS AND OUR CELL PHONE NUMBER IN THE KEY DROP AND WE CONTINUED ON. AGAIN NO RENTAL CAR WAS PROVIDED. WE SIMPLY LEFT THE CAR THERE FOR TRANSMISSION NUMBER 4 AND WENT HOME AS SCHEDULED. WORKING WITH FORD I HAD TO CHARGE A ONE WAY PLANE TICKET TO BOISE IDAHO AND FLY BACK TO PICK UP THE CAR WHEN IT WAS DONE OF JULY 1, 2010. THEY EVENTUALLY REIMBURSED ME FOR THE TRIP EXPENSES, BUT IT WAS AGAIN NOT USABLE BY US AND AGAIN THEY REFUSED TO PROVIDE A RENTAL CAR. WE LOST ANOTHER 10 DAYS USE, BRING TO TOTAL DAYS LOST TO REPAIR THE FOUR FRIED TRANSMISSIONS TO A TOTAL OF 36 DAYS. AFTER RETURNING HOME I CALLED FORD AND ASKED THEM TO SIMPLY BUY THE CAR BACK, AND WAS SIMPLY TOLD NO; WHEN I ASKED WHY I WAS TOLD HE DID NOT KNOW AND COULD NOT FIND OUT. I TRIED TO FILE A WASHINGTON STATE LEMON LAW COMPLAINT. I BOUGHT THE ESCAPE AT SOUND FORD IN RENTON WASHINGTON AND AT THE TIME OF SALE ASKED ABOUT THE HISTORY OF THE CAR AND WAS TOLD IT HAD BEEN PREVIOUSLY OWNED BY A PRIVATE PARTY. IN SPITE OF THE FACT THAT OUR CAR EXCEEDS ALL OF THE MINIMAL REQUIREMENTS FOR A LEMON LAW COMPLAINT- LOSS OF USE TIME, RELIABILITY, SAFETY ISSUES, AND MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR A PROBLEM - WE COULD NOT FILE A COMPLAINT BECAUSE OUR CAR HAD BEEN ORIGINALLY SOLD TO THRIFTY RENTAL CARS. TRIED A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB AND FOUND THAT WOULD NOT WORK EITHER; UNDER THEIR STANDARDS THE COMPLAINT HAS TO ORIGINATE DURING THE FIRST 18,000 MILES AND 18 MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP, SO WE MEET ONLY ONE THE TWO NEEDS. MY WARRANTY IS GOOD THROUGH 2014. I CAN'T HELP BY WONDER HOW MANY MORE TRANSMISSIONS WE COULD GO THROUGH IF WE CONTINUED TO TOW THIS CAR PER THE PROCEDURES IN THE OPERATORS MANUAL?

- , Bothell, WA, USA

problem #5

Jul 022010

Escape XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,264 miles

Was towing my 09 escape from sw va. to lancaster pa. stopped 4 times to run the motor and transmission way more than ford says to do in the owners manual. 50 miles after fourth stop saw smoke in rear camera stopped and trany was smoking very bad. called ford roadside assitance had towed to ford garage in mechanicsburg, pa. it has been there for 30 days today. today ia aug. 1 2010. ford says they are going to repair it and will not replace it. dealer say they need bearings and gears to finish the repair and they are not available thru ford or aftermarket any where. say i will just have to wait until they can be found or manufactured.

this is real customer service. there are thousands of these reports on the web of this tranny burning up. so ford knows this but refuses to admit it.if anyone knows how to reach ford motor co. let me know. my next step is to file a lemon law case against ford.

- , Pulaski, VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 052010

Escape 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Always had problems with transmission over heating & boiling out fluid.Had car in for the ford dealership to calibrate the transmission on 6.25 2010 as was requested by ford. Left for a trip on 7,5,2010 towed 240 mi transmission smoking black smoke & completely locked up & engine dead. The car was so hot you couldn't touch hood. When we stopped. called ford had car hauled in. Been at dealership for 3 wks & haven't got it yet. Dealer is putting in a new transmission & ford advised to put in a new spark junction box. I ask in they was putting in a 2009 or 2010 transmission. dealer said a late 2010. This is the third time our car has got hot when towing. We've always done everything according to the warrenty manuel.

Now they have revised the warrenty book a yr after we bought the car. What ford wonts is for us to get so unhappy with this car we will trade it off then they will be free from their problem with the R.Vers. Really what other choice do you have. Everyone needs to write to the R.V magazines on this problem.

- , Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #3

Apr 162010

Escape LTD 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

We have towed Ford Escape car since February of 09 without any issues. Followed instructions on page 194 of owner's manual (1st edition). In fact, before purchasing the car, the Service Manager at the Dealership where we bought it assured us that we if we followed those directions, we would not have any issues with towing the car.

On Wednesday April 21 before leaving on a trip, the local MS Ford dealer changed oil for us and checked fluids. Then Friday, we started in MS and stopped in Katy, TX while heading to El Paso, TX. When we stopped for the night and disconnected car, it would not release from park. Technician walked us through that, husband drove car--loud noises came from under the car. He parked it and then couldn't restart. Roadside assistance towed us to local Ford Dealer in Katy, Texas.

The SA said right away--it's got a tow bar on it so Ford won't pay for it but we will ask inspector/adjuster. This Tuesday the SA called and said the adjuster denied the claim based on overfilled transmission fluid. He said according to TSB 092013 dated October 5, 2009 for "Expanded RV Guidelines on Wowing", the fluid level must not be above 1st line. I responded that my owners manual dated May 2009 (first printing) for the 2009 Ford Escape did not reference this statement. I then asked him if this information went to customers--he did not think so--only to technicians.

I called Ford Motor and got a case number from corporate service. They promised to look into it and call me back tomorrow. I do not think Ford is handling this issue correctly. If they are having a problem with cars being towed and transmissions going out, they should remove the towing endorsement from the car and tell the existing owners about the real issues.

- , Tylertown, MS, USA

problem #2

Mar 182010

Escape Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,300 miles

I purchased my 2009 Escape for flat towing behind my RV. The first time I towed it from NJ to TN it lost fluid and battery would not start vehicle. One quick jump start and the battery was fine. On March 18th 2010 on another trip to TN I stopped after four hours to prepare for the final leg to TN. I followed all manual instructions for flat towing. Start engine for 5 minutes, shift from D to R to N, and turn key one position forward.

When I got to TN the transmission was completely out of fluid, battery again would not start vehicle, requiring another quick jump. Once in Park to start the car it would not come out of Park. Had to manually release per instruction manual. In all gears the car would not move. NJ dealer advised that I must have done something wrong and that it may not be covered undery warranty. Insisting I followed flat towing instructions I advised also about the battery. Dealer indicated that low battery or battery issues could default the program and engage the transmission during the towing which was why the fluid was lost and transmission burnt up. At this point it is still at the dealer and dealer advised that the repair could cost up to $ 4,000.

- , Tabernacle, NJ, USA

problem #1

Oct 112009

Escape LTD V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

Ford assured us the car is towable, and we have blown our second in 4 months while towing. We are aware of numerous other 2009 Escape owners (who tow the car) who have similar experience - some 4 times. We have been very conscientious about following all speed guidelines and stopping guidelines to start the car and circulate trans fluid, etc.

BEEF 1 We have been hung in Gulfport, MS for 2 weeks with probability of another week waiting for repairs. The dealer is unable to do anything on his own to resolve our problem. He must follow step by step instructions provided by Ford Corporate. Sometimes days are lost between steps. Two calls to Ford Customer Service and two e-mails have shown them to have 0 compassion or sense of urgency in the situation. Just concerned with how to do repairs as cheap as possible...

BEEF 2 Ford is unwilling to acknowledge that they have made a mistake (I'm sure because of their concern for potential liability) and issued instruction to dealers to STOP representing this vehicle as towable by motor homes.

- , Emery, SD, USA

Not what you are looking for?