Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
85,034 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Ford Expedition suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Ford Expedition:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Ford Expedition Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 092016

Expedition

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The check suspension light is on and I noticed every Expedition in this year range has suspension problems and the wireing sometimes the radio will go off and the lights on dash and speedometer lights will shut off.

- Livingston, TX, USA

problem #11

Feb 182016

Expedition

  • 101,500 miles
Rear upper and lower control arms completely rusted out, resulting a dangerous driving situation. I have vehicle serviced regularly at a Ford dealer and was never informed of such a hazard. While driving, heard a loud noise and felt a bad jerk, rear-end just fell down. Had severe medical issues as result. Ford needs to alert consumers of this problem and implement a recall, before a fatal occurs.

- Berwyn, IL, USA

problem #10

Mar 122015

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 208,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The contact discovered that the rear lower control arms/trailing arms were completely rusted. The contact was a certified mechanic who replaced the lower control arms. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 208,000. Updated 4/30/15 the consumer stated the passenger side was rusted too, but was still intact. Updated 05/07/15

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #9

Jun 102014

Expedition

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The contact stated while the vehicle was being serviced, he was informed that the suspension was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage and current mileage was 59,000.

- Charter Township Of Clinton, MI, USA

problem #8

Oct 032013

Expedition 8-cyl

  • miles
I just purchased a 2001 Ford Expedition eddie bower edition and the front end squeaks. So I accessed this site and found several complaints about the same condition. After reading these complaints, I am worried that mine will do the same thing. I'm considering parking the vehicle and never using it again. Someone needs to force Ford to recall these vehicles and have them repair the problems before someone gets hurt. To have the front end repaired on my Expedition would cost at least $1500 or more. I am on disability and cannot afford these repairs. This is a manufacture defect and needs to be addressed as such. All vehicles are supposed to be designed with the safety of, not only the passengers in mind, but also other vehicles on the road. The cost of the repairs to Ford Motor Company would be minor compared to the loss of life and to the damages to humans and vehicle(s) in an accident. I don't want to get rid of my Expedition, I just want it safe and to be repaired properly.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #7

Jul 042013

Expedition

  • 127,510 miles
I was stopped at a red light, and all of a sudden I heard this loud crash and bang, and was jerked forward. Thought the pick up truck behind me rear-ended me. That driver pulled up aside of me and told me you just dropped your driveshaft. Since it was dark and my vehicle was in the middle of the road at an intersection I called the police. When they arrived they told me we can't wait for your tow truck driver to get here, it's to dangerous, so they called another towing company. Well after a long hassle and the 1st tow of $150, I got my vehicle towed to my house. After making several phone calls I finally got it towed to the repair shop on 7/8/13 and had to pay another tow of $75. Finally got the call on 7/10/13 what had happened to my rotted out Expedition, all 4 control arms where rusted out, 2 of them actually bent and broke, damaging my driveshaft. Costing me another $559.14 for the repair. That's only fixing the 2 lower control arms. They have to find the 2 upper and replace them. Which will be at least another $350 this isn't even mentioning the $1,000 I spent on the rusted out rotted radiator brackets not even a year ago. I was told and expect rust but this is very dangerous, and also told Ford could have coated this parts or made them stronger to avoid these serious rust problems. Luckily I only got muscle spasms in my back, shoulder, and lower neck from this. But I don"T feel safe driving this vehicle any more. This is my last Ford I will ever purchase again !!!!!!!!!! Ford = found on roadside dead !!! this story is also shortened but the truth of what happened, I didn't mention the heat, the asthma attack I had, and the hassle I went through while all this occurred.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #6

Jul 022013

Expedition

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Ford Expedition 5.4L 2001 - sudden brake failure while traveling 25 mph in parking lot. Brake lines rusted through caused sudden brake failure. Car had undercarriage cleaning frequently during winter months and there was no indication of any problems. When replacing the brake lines, owner was informed that the upper and lower rear control arms were rusted through as well and that immediate replacement was necessary to avoid the rear track arm failure which results in dropping the rear axle and complete loss of vehicle control. Vehicle was purchased new in June 2001 and maintained continuously.owner has possession of corroded control arms after repair for evidence in NHTSA investigation. NHTSA is encouraged to contact the owner of vehicle for inspection of failed parts for investigative support.. this is a manufacturers defect and vehicles need to be recalled and parts replaced to avoid loss of vehicle control, accidents, injury and fatalities due to Ford Motor Company negligence.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152013

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Vehicle is a 2001 Ford Expedition XLT 4X4 purchased new in April 2001 and owned continuously by current owner, only serviced at hub Ford of colchester, ct and girard Ford of norwich ct. Failure of suspension/drivetrain components occurred while accelerating onto a highway onramp. Both rear lower control arms had corrosion that led to complete disconnection from rear axle. With no supporting lower control arms, the rear transaxle shifted during vehicle acceleration. Shifting of transaxle then introduced excessive force on drive shave ujoint (rear transaxle ujoint) which caused complete failure and disconnection of rear driveshaft. Vehicle's 4WD system engaged, allowing vehicle to be safely guided onto the available offramp (cloverleaf highway intersection) and into safe recovery location for towing by aaa to a local Ford dealer. Girard Ford repair estimates costs for all four corroded control arms to be approximately $1500. Shattered parts or debris also cut rear brake line leading to loss of rear braking and all brake fluid loss - causing additional indirect repair costs. Owner is recovering corroded control arms after repair for evidence to be used in any NHTSA investigation. NHTSA is encouraged to contact the owner/complainant of vehicle for access to failed parts for investigation support.

- Lebanon, CT, USA

problem #4

Mar 132012

Expedition

  • 136,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. While driving approximately 25 mph, there was a loud bang as the rear of the vehicle began to sway abnormally. The contact was able to gain control and immediately came to an abrupt stop. The contact inspected the vehicle and discovered that the rear upper and lower trailing arms were fractured as a result of rust and corrosion. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 136,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Patriot, OH, USA

problem #3

Jan 312012

Expedition 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,400 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Ford Expedition. The contact stated that the trailing arms detached when accelerating from a stop. The vehicle was towed to a local repair shop. The repair shop stated that the upper and lower trailing arms needed to be replaced on both sides of the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileages were 128,400 updated 02/27/12 the consumer stated both trailing arms had completely rusted out and failed which caused the rear end to become loose. Updated 03/21/12

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #2

May 062002

(reported on)

Expedition

  • miles
While driving vehicle on the highway at 55-60mph vehicle will vibrate, making it difficult to control vehicle.

- Katy, TN, USA

problem #1

Jul 312001

(reported on)

Expedition

  • miles
While pulling out of a store parking lot swerved vehicle to miss pedestrian, lost control of vehicle, and air bags didnot deploy. Also, hit concrete bus bench/ fire hydrant, and wooden fence.had not contacted dealer.

- Winnettka, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?