Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: You should probably steer clear of the 2012 Focus. Otherwise, you might not be able to steer at all.

The 2012 is the first Focus to offer Electronic Power Assist Steering (EPAS). It's also the first year with massive power steering failure. These things are not mutually exclusive.

And while you wait for your steering to disappear, you'll be greeted with a transmission that shudders, vibrates or won't shift at all.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,850 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #57

Oct 102016


  • 75,000 miles


My vehicle's fuel tank is compressing due to a faulty vacuum purge valve requiring a new tank, fuelpump and purge valve. This issue has caused my vehicle to stall in freeway traffic @ approx 60 mph and to stall in stop and go traffic. My RPM will fluctuate when at a stop and my fuel guage is completely inaccurate registering full to 1/2 at random. Smell of gas from somewhere but unknown. Symptoms match a recall on a 2011 Ford Fusion but no recall on a 2012 Ford Focus

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #56

Oct 062016


  • miles
Purchased a used 2012 Ford Focus with 89,000 miles. I've owned the car for two years. I recently began smelling fuel. After filling the fuel tank I began looking for the source of the leak. I jacked up the rear of the vehicle and noticed a fuel leak and the fuel tank was plastic. I took it to a deal for the door latch recall and was informed it needs a fuel tank do to a crack on the top of the tank. The cost of the new tank installed is $1340 witch included the labor. There is no way a fuel tank should crack in four years. The vehicle has never been in an accident. There is a fuel tank recall on Ford Fusion and Lincoln millan, witch also have plastic tanks. This is reminding me of the 70's when american car manufacturing was terrible.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #55

Sep 302016


  • 45,000 miles
I took my vehicle to tropical Ford in orlando fl for a recall regarding the transmission and clutch, which job had to be done 3 different times within 90 days. After I picked up the vehicle on the 2nd attempt the vehicle mysteriously developed a problem with the gas tank and some other sensors inside the tank and related to the fuel system. The technician told me that this was a known issue and that he could show me all the gas tanks they had replaced because they had a pile of them in the back. I was told that the problem was due to the design of the system and that Ford was aware of the issue but they were not doing anything to assist or take care of this serious issue which causes your car to stall and engine to turn off while driving in the highway or city. I called Ford warranty department and filed several complaints and each time I was told that this issue was not cover by the warranty and there was nothing they were willing to do regarding this matter. This issue puts lives at risk when a vehicle turns itself of while driving in the highway or city. This issue is putting drivers and families at risk. This issue started at the beginning of 2016 and I recently had the repair done at the same dealership mentioned above.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #54

Sep 232016


  • 80,000 miles


I went to Ford late September for my car stalling and was told my transmission was failing again. My transmission had already failed once on a 2012. Ford fixed it and then a couple days later my check engine light was on. I brought it back and Ford said my fuel tank had collapsed and that I would need to pay $2K to replace it. I'd never heard of fuel tanks not lasting the life of the vehicle. I did further research and found out Ford has released a tsb for this known issue which is a precursor to a recall. I am not sure why Ford would not cover a faulty fuel tank and I am not sure how this is not a safety issue when my car can stall or leak flammable liquid or fumes. I've read that other Focus owners have had theirs replaced twice or more so I am not confident Ford actually has a solid fix to the issue and I do not feel safe driving my car.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #53

Aug 182016


  • 74,000 miles
My 2012 Ford Focus has started to idle rough and stalls occasionally when slowing or stopped. After taking it to the dealer for service they informed me that the canister purge valve had stuck open causing suction in the tank and resulting in the top of the fuel tank to cave in. They said that I needed to have the fuel tank, fuel pump, purge valve and canister replaced for around $2000. This is a known problem with a tsb from Ford however there is no recall so I am forced to pay the dealer to fix the problem. With such a widespread problem Ford should own up to the defect and issue a recall.

- Bonaire, GA, USA

problem #52

Jul 142016


  • miles
My 2012 Ford Focus needs a new fuel tank, fuel pump, purge valve and canister per tsb 16-0062. It's because the purge valve was malfunctioning and has collapsed my gas tank (plastic) and I needed to replace the fuel pump, gas tank, fuel tube assembly. All cost $2000. Many others have this problem but it appears that there is no recall on this. This is something that should be addressed as a recall, not an "eff" you to the customer that has to deal w/ a known issue to Ford. When stopped, the vehicle would idle rough. The engine actually died on me in traffic one day. The check engine light came on w/ code P1450. Then my fuel gauge became highly inaccurate, showing a full tank of fuel when I may be at half or lower.

- Baton Rogue, LA, USA

problem #51

Jul 102016


  • miles


Car will stall out when stopped. Gas needle will not work sometimes. Echeck engine light will come on and go off when gas it put into the

- Conyers, GA, USA

problem #50

Jul 032016


  • 60,000 miles
June 2016 noticed a significant drop in my average mpg. Took vehicle into dealer who told me the purge valve was stuck open creating excessive vacuum on fuel tank causing the tank to warp and the fuel pump to bend.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #49

Apr 282016

Focus 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Ford Focus SE 2012 [xxx] purchased 08/25/2011. Since new, the vehicle shudder and shake because transmission problems. It was again on the dealer in May 2016 for 2 weeks, after having to wait 20 days for the parts to arrive, at pines Ford in pembroke pines, fl. During this repair also, one of the engine mounts was found broke and the dealer and Ford Motor Company refused to pay for the replacement and the labor, $ 250 dollars total. Really" for an engine mount? the dealership service advisor referred to the engine mount as a "tear and wear" part. Really? this is the first time in my life I have to replace an engine mount on a vehicle 65K miles old. What about all the shuddering and shaking to the engine and transmission component" since new, the car has been at the dealer in more than 8 occasions. In two of this occasions, it took at least 2 weeks to get the car back. The tcm has been replaced and reprogrammed several times, the clutch and or transmission in more than 2 occasions. The dealer service advisor has always tried to convince us that the shuddering and shaking is "normal" as he called. In two occasions the vehicle stall and refuse to come back to life until 30 minutes passed. During last month repair also a case was open with Ford Motor Company on 4/28/2016 [xxx] was closed by [xxx] without our consent. Case is still open and valid. Car is a lemon, plain and simple. ┐information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #48

May 242016


  • 68,967 miles
In October of 2015 the transmission failed completely while I was driving in the center lane of a major highway. The fault was in both the transmission control module and a broken seal and clutch. Even after repairs were made the transmission remains problematic. Then in May 2016 the fuel tank collapsed while I was driving it on ga 400, a major interstate connector. This was the result of a stuck valve. The fuel tank was replaced, however less than a week later, the fuel tank collapsed again while I was driving it, this time however my daughter and her friend were in the vehicle with me.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #47

Feb 172016


  • 125,000 miles


Car dies on highway while driving. Fuel system and sensors seems to be failing or fell apart inside the vehicle it will not show appropriate fuel levels. It stuttering after filling up to full tank. Vehicle is very dangerous to drive on a highway to work when fuel system is failing. Many complainst have been filed on other automitive websites and forums about this exact fuel system issue. Collapsed fuel system / fuel guage I just purchased this car 3 weeks ago and my previous Pontiac Grand Prix 2006 gave me less issues than this Ford Focus. Something really wrong is here with Ford, I think they have gotten to a massive point they believe they cannot be held responsible for there mistakes or recalls since they are too tied into the dependecy of all the people.

- Donna, TX, USA

problem #46

Feb 082016


  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Focus. While driving approximately 45 mph, the check engine warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle lost acceleration. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the purge valve was malfunctioning and needed replacement. The contact also stated that the vehicle experienced this failure for about a year and half. The dealer had to replace the clutch under a recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Prairie Grove, AR, USA

problem #45

Jan 202016


  • 78,344 miles
My check engine light came on coming home from work Monday night and wensday I took the car to the dealership the dealership the next day and found out that the purge valve was malfunctioning and has collapsed my gas tank and I needed to replace the fuel pump, gas tank, fuel tube assembly. All cost $2000. The service tech stated there has been a lot of complaints about this and Ford refuses to help

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #44

Jan 072016


  • 101,611 miles
While driving my 2012 Ford Focus hatchback, the check engine light came on and the vehicle idled rough and the engine stopped working. Restarted and took vehicle to dealer. Dealer stated that the emissions control system had pulled a vacuum on the fuel tank causing raw fuel to enter the emissions control system and the engine causing the issues. The tank had to be replaced due to collapse and the evap tank, tubing, control valve and fuel pump. Per Ford tsb 11-09-03. Shouldn't this be a recall?

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #43

Nov 232015


  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while making a left or right turn, the vehicle stalled. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that purge valve not opening properly. As a result, the fuel pump, purge valve, purge tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V605000 (fuel system, gasoline). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #42

Nov 022015


  • 80,000 miles
I'm writing about a problem that I feel is a safety defect. My car started idling very erratically and the amber engine light is on. The dealer says that the vapor canister control solenoid failed, drawing a vacuum in the fuel tank which caused the fuel tank to collapse. It also filled the vapor canister with fuel. They say the raw fuel from the canister is being drawn into the engine causing the erratic idle. This is not only a problem with just my vehicle, but thousands of others who are having the same problem. It's beyond costly and through no fault of the owners, our cars are unsafe to drive!

- Ellenton, FL, USA

problem #41

Oct 232015


  • miles
My Focus, as so many others has had transmission problems and the transmission control module has been replaced twice. But, today I'm writing about a new problem that I feel is a safety defect. My car started idling very erratically and the amber engine light is on. The dealer says that the vapor canister control solenoid failed, drawing a vacume in the fuel tank which caused the fuel tank to collapse. It also filled the vapor canister with fuel. They say the raw fuel from the canister is being drawn into the engine causing the erratic idle. I will admit that my vehicle has 124,000 miles on it and Ford wouldn't offer any assistance with repairs so I am a little miffed. But, between the safety issue of the transmission failures and now the fuel system failure and collapsed fuel tank, I feel that this vehicle is a serious safety issue.........updated 12/17/15

- Goochland, VA, USA

problem #40

Oct 022015


  • 62,000 miles
I purchased a Ford Focus may of 2014, with 30,000 miles on it. I had a factory warranty up to 60,000 miles on it. I am now at 62,000 miles on my car and the latch on my driver side door broke and my door flew open while driving on the freeway at 70 mph. If I were not wearing my seatbelt, I would have flown out of my car to my death! since then, I have had to bungie my front doors shut, leaving me no access to get in and out of my car safely, having to crawl in my backseat. I need this fixed asap and I am not paying to get it fixed with so many Ford breaking down.

- Laveen, AZ, USA

problem #39

Jul 302012


  • 5,000 miles
Ever since I have owned this car since May 2012 it has shuddered when driving, stalled while driving, and shakes and does not increase speed when the accelerator is stepped on. The car now does not even start when it is turned on, despite the battery being good. Car was towed into dealership several times and they supposedly fixed it. Did several repairs to it but to this date it still shudders and stalls while driving. The latest repair they did was to fix the alternator...we will see....have come to the conclusion this model has several defects and would term it as a lemon. It barely has 60,000 miles on it and a car this new should not be having these issues as they are safety issues and I fear for me and my childrens lives and safety as this car does not function safely and stalls when we are driving! when I expressed my concerns to Ford over these issues they took no action except to tape record my complaints...they do not care about these safey issues....the car has been in the dealership service center four times in the last four months....the last repair bill cost me $650....but I have no faith that they (Ford) have fixed the problems.....I am fearful to drive this car but I am a single mother and cannot afford to trade the car in for another as the Ford sales person told me no bank would loan me money on another car as I owed too much on this lemon that Ford has sold me....Ford was of no help and does not care....I told them that it would take someone dying in a car crash from these defects in order for Ford to do something about these issues.....these issues happen while the car is in motion and when it is sitting still...the car will not start and has to be towed into the repair shop...

- Steilacoom, WA, USA

problem #38

Aug 082015


  • 73,000 miles
Purchased a 2012 Ford Focus in December of 2014. The transmission has had shifting issues almost the entire time that I have had the vehicle. In may, the transmission began stuttering at low speeds. When reaching speed on an interstate on-ramp, the vehicle showed the message "vehicle not in park" and shut off as I was pulling into traffic. A day later when driving it, it stuttered again and the check engine light came on. Took it, along with a defective part notice to the dealer for the automatic transmission clutch system, which the dealer said was the issue and supposedly replaced it under the warranty. The dealer also reset the "autolearn" feature in the transmission. For a few days it worked fine, then the stuttering and shifting issues began again. On August 8th, 2015 the vehicle was driven to the store, and worked as it usually did, with minor stuttering and grinding that appears to characterize the Ford transmission. It was parked for roughly 30 minutes while in the store, upon starting and putting the vehicle in reverse, the transmission would not turn or gain enough power to propel the car out of the parking space. As it rolled back, it was shifted into the drive position, the vehicle began to propel until it went to shift and the car "missed" the gear and stuttered losing all momentum. This continued from every start/stop. Stopped at another store, when came back out the car would not start on the first crank, and the check engine light came back on. The power issues to the transmission on take off and the missing gears continued all the way to my home.

- Mebane, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?