Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: For the third year in a row, the 3rd generation Focus is experiencing massive transmission problems.

Most notably owners keep complaining about how there's bad hesitation and jerking when starting from a stop. This isn't the result of an old, worn out part. In fact, the average mileage it's reported to us is just over 15k miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,854 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Ford Focus fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Ford Focus Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #48

Aug 242016


  • 48,000 miles


My 2014 Ford Focus hesitate, then it takes off, when mergining into traffic it stalls, transmission seems to be slipping, I was almost hit twice from it stalling, transmission service light comes on, radio display not working

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #47

Aug 012016


  • 68,000 miles
I was driving my 2014 Ford Focus SE and the engine light came on. I took my car to the repair shop and was told that my fuel tank, fuel pump and vapor management valve needs to be replaced and it will cost 2000 dollars. This was not covered by warranty. Ford refuses to do a recall even knowing there were issues with this problem

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #46

Jun 222016


  • 45,000 miles
2014 Ford Focus with 45K miles, completely stock. Fuel tank collapsed due to evap solenoid failure. This caused the fuel gauge to read inaccurately and the vehicle ran out of fuel while driving down the interstate at 75mph with no warnings. No check gauges light, no sel light, no codes, nothing but complete automotive failure. Ford refuses to fix this known failure under warranty claiming it is not covered under the powertrain warranty (not sure how emissions equipment and fuel isn't powertrain components.......). Ford wanted $900 to fix just the fuel tank, plus additional costs for the evap canister, evap solenoid, and fuel sending unit. I will have to fix this my self even though I still have 15K miles left under my powertrain warranty and this is known failure from Ford (they have tsb's for their techs to follow for this very specific reason!!!!!!). unacceptable

- Maricopa, AZ, USA

problem #45

Apr 142016


  • 27,000 miles


The transmission started stalling going down the highway, RPM's high without vehicle going forward. Took it in to the dealer on 05/10/16 and was told there was a recall that had to do with the clutch inside the transmission. I had just bought the vehicle in March 2016 for my daughter and was never told there was a problem with the power train and I told them I had safety concerns. The dealer ran a diagnostic and said they reprogrammed it and should take care of the problem for a bit. The fix did not work. We went there today. 06/15/16 and will take the vehicle back to the dealer on 06/22/16 for them to tear down the transmission and to clean it up to keep it running. We were told it will take a while to get the part in that was needed. I complained to the manager this time. I am worried about my daughter's safety with this vehicle stalling and then picking back up with the RPM's at a high rate.

- Brookland, AR, USA

problem #44

May 242016


  • 50,000 miles
First problem was the car shuddering and jerking. Ford garage, repair some transmission seals, programming, replaced fuel tank, fuel pump and engine wire harness repair. Shortly after the car began to lose ability to move when accelerating, the engine RPM's would rev and vehicle had little power to move. Ford garage replaced clutch and did programming. On the way home from that repair, our care suffered the same symptoms it was brought in for. It is currently in the shop and we have no confidence in what we will get back.

- Fine, NY, USA

problem #43

May 122016


  • 44,139 miles
This is the 3rd time my car lost power while driving with no warning.driving and the car cuts completely off. I have to get towed because it will not start. It also hesitate after I stop at a traffic light and/or stop. Mostly it stalls out on a major highway

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #42

May 042016


  • 80,000 miles


Car hesitates when accelerating, especially from a slow or stop. Cannot tell if its a transmission issue or fuel related. Very dangerous, causing car to buck & jerk. Makes it difficult to control vehicle. Seems to be getting worse the higher the mileage.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #41

Feb 012016


  • 64,000 miles
Throttle body assembly has been replaced 3 times along with the pedal and the car keeps breaking down. Complaint has been filed with Ford and they refuse accept any liability. I broke down 3 times doing 70 miles per hour and almost got into a serious accident. Each part we rec'd has been defective and will only work up to a certain mile and then the car shuts off. I understand that in 2013 they had the same issue but also refused to do national recal. We waited over 30 days for the part to have it crap out again. I was told this part was on national back order as the entire country was oos. To only have the part replaced 3 time.S

- Effort, PA, USA

problem #40

Jan 202016


  • 17,000 miles
When starting the vehicle it has a 'hard start' and idles extremely rough for a car with only 18200 miles. It has done this since I purchased it in June 2014. I've had enough cars to know that this is indeed not "normal". it feels like the idle is not set right and it vibrates enough that you can feel it while in park and idling. I was told by the service manager who is obviously not a mechanic that this is 'normal' for the 4 cylinder engine to vibrate. Also the car continuously shudders, lurches and loses power on acceleration as a result of a faulty transmission. Clutch assembly was replaced at 9300 miles. Note to everyone, upon taking the car to the garage for the fuel pump recall in Dec 2015, the car had to be put in the garage again in Jan 2016 for the purge valve to be replaced, which resulted in my tank becoming deformed (deformed means it shrinks, but no one bothered to explain that to me). Within a month (after 4 repeated trips to the garage for the same issues: Distance to empty calculations and miles per gallon were all over the place, no gas mileage to speak of but each time was told that when diagnostics were performed my car was getting 35 mpg). However, when I put gas in it, I had a 12 gallon tank before purge valve was replaced in Jan 2016, 9 gallons was all it would hold and the gauge showed full. The the car used 1/4 tank of gas to drive 27 miles. The vehicle is still shuddering at a stop light & lurching when accelerating and feels as though the tires are grabbing for traction. But it is within 'specs' according to the technicians. I have had the following replaced: 2nd fuel tank; 3rd fuel pump; 2nd purge valve; and 2nd clutch assembly and the car isn't even 2 yrs old yet and has under 20,000 miles. It is a road hazard. I've had it to 3 different garages and still no resolution. Contacted Ford (dont bother), I have since contacted the BBB.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #39

Feb 242016


  • 42,350 miles
I have the same "shuddering" issues as many of these other complaints. I have had the transmission reprogrammed several times and the issue goes away temporarily and then comes back. Worse, the vehicle has stalled while driving on the highway twice. I thought the first time was a fluke because I was able to get going again, but after the second time I had it towed to a dealer. They started the car and let it run for an hour, then plugged in the computer, and called me and said they didn't find anything wrong with it. Meanwhile I see several recalls online related to engine stalling related to electrical signals and fuel pump issues. While my car doesn't have any outstanding recalls right now, I can't help but believe this is the issue. I drive over 300 miles each weekend on busy highways, and now I have a car payment on a vehicle I can't drive because no one can fix it and the problem is still there, a huge safety hazard! I will never buy a Ford again, and I'm selling my stock.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #38

Feb 012014


  • miles


I have had problems with my car ever since I bought it brand new. I have taken it back to the dealership so many times but nothing has been done about it. I feel unsafe driving this car.

- Lovington, NM, USA

problem #37

Dec 172015


  • 600 miles
My car has been a problem since I purchased it new in December 2013. It would make a loud grinding noise, slip when shifting or when downshifting to come to a stop, bog down when taking off and also jerk when shifting after taking off from a stop. I've taken it to the Ford dealership several times for the issues and they fixed the clutch once but even since then it still has issues shifting. Also since then I've had to replace the fuel pump as there was a recall on it for my car which the dealership was surprised by because it was the first of this recall they had seen for this car. I've also called Ford headquarters twice personally to see about a buy back or trade deal and they said they could do nothing for me at this time. This car is a brand new, junk, safety hazard and needs taken off the road but Ford will do nothing. I'm disabled so if it causes a crash I will die instantly and then they will have a big lawsuit on their hands from my family. I've also contacted attorneys and am part of the class action lawsuit for this car as well as speaking to a lemon law attorney. All they would have to do is step up and except responsibility for this and make it right but they won't do anything.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #36

Oct 222015


  • 32,000 miles
I have escaped being hit multiple times with my car doing this. I have a fear I am going to be rear ended or killed because of my car. The car stalls on the road there is something wrong with the transmission our car has been at the dealership for over a month, second time on the transmission jerking and stalling on the road when you would be stoped at a red light then in motion it jerked when you increased your speed, very unsafe to drive and no one is doing nothing about it. Ford can not fix the problem. Should be a national recall.. not japordizing my family life for a car that stalls on the road.

- Vinton, VA, USA

problem #35

Jan 062016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford Focus. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V005000 (fuel system, gasoline); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Clear Water, FL, USA

problem #34

Mar 052015


  • 16,500 miles
Shudder in first to second gear losing power with engine or transmission; loss of speed and shaking and no accerlation from stop to start; loss of power and auto jumps up and down without going anywhere.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #33

Aug 282015


  • miles
Purchased a 2014 Ford Focus in August 2015, for our daughter who is currently away to college. She states that the car "shudders" all the time when being driven. As a parent this is a huge concern, I investigated the Ford Focus and it didn't take long at all to determine that there are several thousand others in the same condition, as stated earlier our daughter is away at college so it is impossible for us to take care of this situation now. This is very dangerous as several complaints reports state the car loses excelleration and will stall when being driven. Please please help before something really bad happens !!!!!!!!! from what I'm reading Ford is refusing to take action, also reported this to simmons/rocwell where we purchased the car and they stated that other Ford Focus cars that were purchased had tests ran and "no issues" we're determined yet they all reported to have the exact same complaints!!!! I need help as to where do we go from here !!

- Horseheads, NY, USA

problem #32

Dec 102015

Focus 4-cyl

  • miles
I received notice of an "important safety recall" from Ford Motor Company in June 2015. I drive 100 to 150 miles a day for work. The dealership is instructed not to replace the fuel pump unless there is a problem. The car has been serviced at least three times since June for unrelated problems. Safety is so important that I received a reminder notice in November. Yet, the dealership is unable to replace the fuel pump until they can prove a problem exists. I have written to Ford Motor Company customer support (see documents attached) only to receive the same response. Ford says there are limited supplies of parts available. The purpose of this complaint is to prevent an injury. Fords notice is clear that a car may stall or stutter while driving, which can lead to a crash. To prevent a crash, injury or death Ford Motor Company should replace defective fuel pumps before they fail. Your attention and intervention may save lives. Sincerely,

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #31

Nov 262015


  • 14,000 miles
Vehicle quit accelerating while trying to make a turn into oncoming traffic. Engine didn't die but coasted for 2-4 seconds. Severe transmission shudder and grinding in separate incidents. Has been to dealer 4 times and they can't determine the problem.

- Danville, IL, USA

problem #30

Jul 292015


  • miles
I purchased this vehicle from a reputable dealership in town as a used vehicle but with only 20K miles on it. The dealership refused to let me test drive it on the highway citing dealership rules. Everything seemed to work fine. One week after getting car home it began shuddering and failing to accelerate only to rapidly shift gears once it figured out what it wanted to do. When trying to enter highway the car would run through 4 gears before hitting mph causing horrible and sluggish performance. When finally get up to 55 mph or more, the car shutters so bad it is making other parts fall apart and come the steering and A/C not working properly...I have to go 80 just to get it to reduce slightly. I called up dealer and demanded they repair. Dealer reset transmission to factory defaults which fixed nothing. Took car in 3 more times when finally they admitted it was a clutch issue and put me on a back order list. I waiting 3 months while having to drive an unsafe vehicle but it finally was replaced. To no ones surprise the car performs worse now then it did. Took back to dealer 2 more times, to which I was told the clutch has a 1000 mile break in period. I asked then why didn't anyone say that when I picked it up. Spoke with service manager who keeps trying to tell me they can duplicate the problem...I asked why is it I have the problem 100% of the time I drive it but it never seems to happen when you have it.... I even tried demonstrating but they literally just ignored me and said they didn't hear anything or feel anything...I have reached out to class action lawyers for details on how to sue and get car paid for taken back so I can get a safe car....otherwise I have to drive a known safety hazard.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #29

Nov 142015


  • 21,300 miles
I took my car to get fixed under the recall for the 2014 Ford Focus, it was fixed (so they said) but a month later the problem still persists. It jerks while accelerating and it also stalls.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?