Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,770 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Sep 232015

Fusion

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a problem with my power steering. It failed on me when parallel parking. An error referring to advancetrac appeared on the dash. I had to turn my car off in order to reset it, but I fear it may happen when driving on a freeway.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #37

Aug 242015

Fusion

  • 56,473 miles
Car brakes are squishy and pedal is easily pushed to floor when braking at high speed or in panic stop. Feels like the brake booster is not operating properly. Took to Ford and they advised it was operating properly. Still does not feel right and takes too long to stop.

- New Rochelle, NY, USA

problem #36

Jan 142015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
As has been documented dozens of times on several websites, I too, like others, experienced total brake failure by my 2010 Ford Fusion. Like other documented complaints, I too found that, in a situation where sudden braking is required, I experienced total brake failure. Normal braking on roads and streets has not resulted in brake failure for me; however, in the one situation where sudden braking was required, my 2010 Ford Fusion -- fully serviced solely and regularly (each ~5000 miles) by Ford service technicians since its purchase new in 2009, now at 81,000 miles -- I experienced: 1) no braking, 2) no slowing down, 3) no front-end-of-the-vehicle-diving-down when brakes were applied (inertia), 4) no skid marks on the dry pavement -- just utter and complete failure by the braking system in my 2010 Ford Fusion as I drove around a building (15-20 mph) and suddenly saw, braked, & hit a stationary pick-up truck on the road. At the scene of the crash, upon attaching the 2010 Ford Fusion with chains, the tow truck driver mentioned that he saw brake failure. Following the crash, I had a mechanic go with me to the salvage yard where my auto insurance company had the 2010 Ford Fusion towed; the mechanic did a 15-20 minute inspection, with a salvage yard employee watching, which indicated that, yes, indeed, the brakes had failed before there was the collision (the area of collision on the front right destroyed the ABS area). While there did not appear to be any deficiencies in the brake lines, which were checked regularly by the Ford service technicians, there was failure involving the master brake cylinder at the time of sudden braking. Rather than being dry or dusty, the mbc was covered completely in goo. Not a sign of safety or properly-working parts. Despite these truths, my insurance company tells me I have to pay, since there has been no recall issued. Why not yet"?"

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #35

Nov 142014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 51,581 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I park on an incline so I normally set my parking brake for safety reasons. November 2014, temperatures had dipped below freezing and I went to release the parking brake to go to work, and I could tell that it did not release all the way. As I was driving I could tell something was holding me back because the car would not accelerate properly. Made it to the stop light leaving my neighborhood and the rear right brake seized up entirely. It sounded like I was trying to do a burnout and it had the worst smell. I immediately called the dealership and told them what had happened and a tow truck was called. As they were working on it all they could find wrong was that the right rear brake pad had worn down to nothing and was grinding on my rotor. Changed brake pads and they sent me on my way after dropping about $400 on the repair. Not even two days later the temps dipped below freezing and the parking brake stuck again. For the next two months I did not use my parking brake and had intermittent problems only when the temperature had dipped below freezing. As of today January 2015, parking brake has not been used but right rear brake has seized up, yet again, the past two days as the temperature has been below freezing. I am terrified to drive this car in fear of the brakes completely failing and causing a collision. I have children and this has been a serious problem. This needs to be investigated.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #34

Jun 012014

Fusion

  • 34,927 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While stopped, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle stalled and the check engine and service engine soon warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the fuel line and flap needed to be cleaned. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. In addition, while driving at an unknown speed, the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond without warning. As a result, the vehicle struck a curb and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 34,927.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #33

Oct 142014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,800 miles
Rear brake (passenger side) seized up causing rapid brake pad wear, this vehicle has had the rear brakes replaced 4times since new vehicle purchase.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #32

Sep 012014

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake caliper slide will freeze up and grind on brakes and rotors. New brakes and pads were put on 1 year ago and the left rear caliper has completely frozen up. From doing online research this is a severe problem with this make and model and should be investigated.

- Hartford, SD, USA

problem #31

Aug 112014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 48,165 miles
As I was cresting a hill, the engine briefly seized, the power steering failed, and the advancetrac light came on. Everything returned to normal two seconds later, except for the advancetrac light. The light turned off after the next start. Multiple times thereafter, when the engine has repeated stops/starts in a short span of time, the advancetrac light comes on and there is a loss of power steering. The power steering returns after idling for a couple of minutes.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #30

Aug 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
The brakes on my 2010 Ford Fusion go to the floor and I need to pump them continuously to get my car to stop. When it first happened I took it to a shop and they said it did not have brake fluid. I had my brakes flushed and brake fluid added. The brakes were good for about two weeks and then they again went to the floor. I took them into a brake shop and they did a reverse bleed, checked my pads, my ABS system, my master cylinder, flushed them again and did not find any leaks or any problems. My brakes worked for about two days and then it happened again. Now it is a daily occurrence and I do not know what to do other than replace the M/C which I have been told is not bad. No leaking behind it or around it. I am at a loss. Something is wrong with my brakes and I have read that other 2010 Ford Fusion owners have had this problem.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #29

Jul 172013

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that that the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact crashed twice due to the failure. The contact sustained a fractured right foot. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- New Town Square, PA, USA

problem #28

Jun 102014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on the interstate the wrench light came on N the car kinda just got stuck in motion someone almost slammed in the back of me it jerked won't keep gears after I took it to them they said they won't fix it and made it worse and there are recalls on all the stuff that's going wrong with my car and they misdiagnosed what was wrong with it I will N ever purchase from Ford again!

- Va Beach, VA, USA

problem #27

Jun 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 127,754 miles
On June 28, 2014 while backing up my 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid in a parking lot I had complete brake failure. Brakes went to the floor. Warning lights did go on as I was backing up. The vehicle was towed. The repair that was done was an "overlay of harness and installation of a cutoff pressure sensor." The part was C jumper wiring. No injuries were sustained. This had never happened before.

- Mattapoisett, MA, USA

problem #26

Jun 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
I was in a line of traffic to turn left at a turn signal. The cars in front of me went when the light turned green. When the light turned yellow, the truck in front of me stopped. I went from accelerating to braking, and the brake was pushed to the floor, but the car was still accelerating. I obviously rear-ended the car in front of me. He said he could see me and let off his brake when he realized my car wasn't stopping. Luckily, no one was injured. I have scheduled an appointment to have the car looked at tonight at a dealership. This has happened before without incident, and I thought I was just imagining it.

- Delta, OH, USA

problem #25

May 172014

Fusion 8-cyl

  • 48,906 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion with 48,000 miles, while driving it I noticed it started to make a grinding noise in the rear. So I took one of the tires off and noticed that the pads were badly worn so I went down to the part store, got new rotors and pads. After installing, I noticed the rotor on the right rear had a large crack on the backside of the rotor just under where the pad hits the rotor. It is almost cracked all around. I am not an engineer, but to me, that is a factory defect and a safety hazard to me and my family; these rotors were in terrible shape for 48,000 miles. One good pot hole, and the whole tire and everything could have came off because of the cracked rotor. There should be a recall for this, thank you for your time. Updated 11/10/2014

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #24

Feb 192014

Fusion

  • 38,810 miles
While sitting at a stop light, the car started accelerating faster and faster. Had to turn the car off to get it to stop. Next light, the same thing. Took it to dealership and they said it was the throttle body, and they replaced it. (recall?) worked ok until 3/27/2014 and pulling into a parking lot, with my foot on the brake to slow down, the car started accelerating again. I turned the car off to get it to stop. Glad I wasn't on a highway or interstate when this happened. Going back to dealership tomorrow, as I consider this a dangerous problem.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #23

Jan 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,099 miles
Brake pedal goes to floor, used emergency brake to avoid rear end accident, dealer claims metal brake line failure due to crimp from factory install. Location of fault was under air conditioning unit. Dealer ordered new line from Tennessee, took a week, rental car $200 and line replacement $488. I suspect earlier rear brake issue was caused by this factory installed crimp.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #22

Dec 082011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 19,967 miles
Metal to metal grinding rear brakes at 19967 miles, dealer claims rusty caliper pins, replaced rotors, calipers and pads for $283 out of pocket, not covered under warranty. Front brakes fine and wearing normally.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #21

Nov 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Parking brake handle would not release brakes and was totally loose. Brakes were locked up, but after going in reverse it finally released. Since then if weather is below freezing brake lever cannot be moved at all. If weather is above freezing it seems to work but we are afraid to use it for fear of locking up. Some owner input was found on internet saying that the cable boots were possibly worn and water gets into the mechanism and prevents lever from operating. Seems to be a common Ford Fusion problem this time of year. Contacted Ford and they had no input on problem. I will have it looked at by independent repair shop as the local dealer service dept. Is a thief. In meantime I cannot use the parking brake. Warranty is over but I think Ford should attend to this problem as it is clearly a dangerous defect.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Lr brake froze up due to corrosion not allowing caliper to slide properly, causing excessive wear and damage to brake rotor.

- Millersburg, PA, USA

problem #19

Feb 202012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
It is the typical throttle body issue everyone else is complaining about. It would randomly stall completely out on the main road. Occasionally, I could turn off the car and then turn it back on and it would drive me a few more miles before stalling out again. Car would randomly accelerate while applying the brakes. Car would violently "jump" like it was missing gears while accelerating. Almost impossible to accelerate speed without putting my foot to the floor. I bought a new throttle body for about $400 I think in September 2012 and within a year it was already doing the same things mentioned above. I just received an extended warranty from Ford in the mail and will get a refund for my previous expense on a new throttle body. It pretty much seems like a recall but without actually saying it is. I don't know if there is any further action that can be taken but if so then please do. This is a dangerous car with a short shelf life. I almost got blasted from my side twice because I would be turning off a 4 lane route with plenty of distance from oncoming traffic and the car would stall. I was basically a sitting duck sideways hoping it would roll me fast enough to get out of the way. I hope this helps.

- Logan, WV, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?