Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,808 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jul 172013


  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that that the brake pedal was depressed and failed to respond. As a result, the contact crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The contact stated that the failure occurred on multiple occasions. The contact crashed twice due to the failure. The contact sustained a fractured right foot. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- New Town Square, PA, USA

problem #28

Jun 102014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I was driving on the interstate the wrench light came on N the car kinda just got stuck in motion someone almost slammed in the back of me it jerked won't keep gears after I took it to them they said they won't fix it and made it worse and there are recalls on all the stuff that's going wrong with my car and they misdiagnosed what was wrong with it I will N ever purchase from Ford again!

- Va Beach, VA, USA

problem #27

Jun 282014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 127,754 miles
On June 28, 2014 while backing up my 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid in a parking lot I had complete brake failure. Brakes went to the floor. Warning lights did go on as I was backing up. The vehicle was towed. The repair that was done was an "overlay of harness and installation of a cutoff pressure sensor." The part was C jumper wiring. No injuries were sustained. This had never happened before.

- Mattapoisett, MA, USA

problem #26

Jun 132014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


I was in a line of traffic to turn left at a turn signal. The cars in front of me went when the light turned green. When the light turned yellow, the truck in front of me stopped. I went from accelerating to braking, and the brake was pushed to the floor, but the car was still accelerating. I obviously rear-ended the car in front of me. He said he could see me and let off his brake when he realized my car wasn't stopping. Luckily, no one was injured. I have scheduled an appointment to have the car looked at tonight at a dealership. This has happened before without incident, and I thought I was just imagining it.

- Delta, OH, USA

problem #25

May 172014

Fusion 8-cyl

  • 48,906 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion with 48,000 miles, while driving it I noticed it started to make a grinding noise in the rear. So I took one of the tires off and noticed that the pads were badly worn so I went down to the part store, got new rotors and pads. After installing, I noticed the rotor on the right rear had a large crack on the backside of the rotor just under where the pad hits the rotor. It is almost cracked all around. I am not an engineer, but to me, that is a factory defect and a safety hazard to me and my family; these rotors were in terrible shape for 48,000 miles. One good pot hole, and the whole tire and everything could have came off because of the cracked rotor. There should be a recall for this, thank you for your time. Updated 11/10/2014

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #24

Feb 192014


  • 38,810 miles
While sitting at a stop light, the car started accelerating faster and faster. Had to turn the car off to get it to stop. Next light, the same thing. Took it to dealership and they said it was the throttle body, and they replaced it. (recall?) worked ok until 3/27/2014 and pulling into a parking lot, with my foot on the brake to slow down, the car started accelerating again. I turned the car off to get it to stop. Glad I wasn't on a highway or interstate when this happened. Going back to dealership tomorrow, as I consider this a dangerous problem.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #23

Jan 172014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,099 miles


Brake pedal goes to floor, used emergency brake to avoid rear end accident, dealer claims metal brake line failure due to crimp from factory install. Location of fault was under air conditioning unit. Dealer ordered new line from Tennessee, took a week, rental car $200 and line replacement $488. I suspect earlier rear brake issue was caused by this factory installed crimp.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #22

Dec 082011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 19,967 miles
Metal to metal grinding rear brakes at 19967 miles, dealer claims rusty caliper pins, replaced rotors, calipers and pads for $283 out of pocket, not covered under warranty. Front brakes fine and wearing normally.

- Johnston, IA, USA

problem #21

Nov 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Parking brake handle would not release brakes and was totally loose. Brakes were locked up, but after going in reverse it finally released. Since then if weather is below freezing brake lever cannot be moved at all. If weather is above freezing it seems to work but we are afraid to use it for fear of locking up. Some owner input was found on internet saying that the cable boots were possibly worn and water gets into the mechanism and prevents lever from operating. Seems to be a common Ford Fusion problem this time of year. Contacted Ford and they had no input on problem. I will have it looked at by independent repair shop as the local dealer service dept. Is a thief. In meantime I cannot use the parking brake. Warranty is over but I think Ford should attend to this problem as it is clearly a dangerous defect.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Lr brake froze up due to corrosion not allowing caliper to slide properly, causing excessive wear and damage to brake rotor.

- Millersburg, PA, USA

problem #19

Feb 202012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles


It is the typical throttle body issue everyone else is complaining about. It would randomly stall completely out on the main road. Occasionally, I could turn off the car and then turn it back on and it would drive me a few more miles before stalling out again. Car would randomly accelerate while applying the brakes. Car would violently "jump" like it was missing gears while accelerating. Almost impossible to accelerate speed without putting my foot to the floor. I bought a new throttle body for about $400 I think in September 2012 and within a year it was already doing the same things mentioned above. I just received an extended warranty from Ford in the mail and will get a refund for my previous expense on a new throttle body. It pretty much seems like a recall but without actually saying it is. I don't know if there is any further action that can be taken but if so then please do. This is a dangerous car with a short shelf life. I almost got blasted from my side twice because I would be turning off a 4 lane route with plenty of distance from oncoming traffic and the car would stall. I was basically a sitting duck sideways hoping it would roll me fast enough to get out of the way. I hope this helps.

- Logan, WV, USA

problem #18

Jan 162014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 6,260 miles
I was in stop and go traffic and encountered a hard braking situation. I slammed on the brakes and met no resistance from the brake pedal. The brake pedal went to the floor with no ABS engaging. I never even got a squeal of the brakes working. I was at least a car length back when I slammed on the brakes. I ended up hitting the car in front, they in turn hit the car in front of them. Ironically I was the only one hurt from this crash. I fractured my foot from hitting the brake so hard. I can't imagine this is a normal brake function. I bought this car as a certified used car with 4000 miles in November 2013. I haven't had my first service since the purchase. Road conditions bare, flat surface and downhill. Weather around 30 degrees and some light fog. I will return to dealer to inspect brakes.

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #17

Jan 032014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The parking brake on my manual 2010 Ford Fusion will freeze in place in temperatures below freezing. While the parking brake is disengaged and the indicator light goes off, the pads remain in contact with the rear tire, causing excessive heat, threat of fire, loss of emergency braking, or loss of control. This also causes excessive and premature wear / damage to the affected braking system. This problem is well documented online by Ford owners in northern climates.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #16

Dec 262013


  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated the brake line failed when she put her vehicle in drive. The vehicle was driven to an independent mechanic with the emergency brake on. The mechanic diagnosed that the brake line had to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Mansfield, GA, USA

problem #15

Dec 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,046 miles
Noticed a noise in the rear end of our car in December. Made appointment asap with dealership we purchased car at. Noise was worse on drive to dealership. Informed rear brakes were metal on metal. Had brake pads and rear rotors replaced and they ground down and fixed rear slides. On 03/18/2013 brakes were good with 22,454 miles. Lug nuts were replaced on 02/28/2012 because of 11S23 recall. Feel because car was built in Mexico there was a defect in the rear brake disc and they were incorrectly built. We approached the Ford dealership and regional customer service and they told it was normal wear and tear. Not acceptable. I told them I would complain to your Agency. Brakes should last much longer-very premature wearing.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #14

Dec 122013


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the brakes failed to respond. The contact stated that the brake and traction control warning lights were both illuminated. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the brake booster needed to be replaced. The technician advised the contact that he was unable to confirm that the repair would rectify the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 65,000.

- Barrington , IL, USA

problem #13

Dec 092013


  • 48,100 miles
Power steering failure while driving. Ford advanctrak AWD failure. Total loss of stability/traction control, ABS, and steering.

- Clarkston, WA, USA

problem #12

Mar 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Rear brake pads worn out at 21000 miles. Manual transmission so parking brake must be used whenever parked. Front brakes almost no wear. Also we have cold weather here. ?

- Burnsville, MN, USA

problem #11

Oct 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,387 miles
The car was inspected by the dealer at 40,000 miles and braking system was rated green ("the pads are okay"). when the car was next serviced at 47,387 miles (within the regular service interval) the left rear brake caliper had frozen, causing the pad to be worn to bare metal. I am worried because brakes are a major safety component, the drag may have damaged the wheel bearing, and I have read ( of many instances exactly like my own that have led to recurring problems of rear brake failure.

- Cumberland Center, ME, USA

problem #10

Oct 062013


  • 62,453 miles
I was attempting to stop in normal, flowing traffic when my car pedal went straight to the floor. It resulted in my car crashing into another car that wa--at least--the length of three cars in front of me. There was no resistance at all when I applied the brakes (while the car was in a stopped position). The officer on the scene said that he tried it and they were fine; however, the only thing keeping the car from rolling off the tow truck and into another car was the hand brake. I want.

- Stafford, VA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?