Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,054 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 33 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Jul 102012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,600 miles


I was driving on a main street at 40 mph when my Fusion suddenly lost power. I was able to pull over in a left turn lane. Both the check engine light and the wrench light came on. I was able to restart the car and took back streets at a reduced speed in order to complete the remaining 3 miles to my home. I was able to drive the car to the nearest Ford dealership the next morning. Apparently, the problem is a defective throttle control. It was replaced for a price slightly less than $500. The replacement comes with a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty. Contacted Ford customer service to vent my frustration on this expensive maintenance item. Response from Ford was very disappointing. My claim was denied since my car is less than 4,000 miles out of warranty. I was fortunate that this event did not occur on a highway and I was close to my home. Searching the internet showed that this is a common failure with Ford Fusion. This is the first Ford I have purchased and will be the last Ford I will purchase. It seems shortsighted on the part of Ford to ignore the value of quality and customer satisfaction. I have had my Fusion in every three months for routine maintenance, but I see no point in continuing to pay a premium for service at a dealership when I know that Ford will not stand behind their vehicles.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #99

Jul 132012


  • 78,637 miles
I was traveling on the freeway at 65 mph. I heard a thump, the wrench lite came on and then I lost acceleration power. I had to coast off the freeway and come to a stop. I still had steering and brakes but no power. I had car towed to the Ford dealer who replaced the throttle body assembly. I have read so many of these reports and I feel, like the others, that it is only a matter of time before someone is hurt or killed! Ford needs to get on the ball and make this a recall.

- Monrovia, CA, USA

problem #98

Jun 182012


  • 45,600 miles
I was merging into traffic onto a major interstate on my way to work at approximately 55 to 60 mph and my 2010 Ford Fusion lost all power. I was able to get the car off to the side of the interstate. I cut the motor off. I started the engine back and proceeded to work. Did not contact the dealership on the first incident. Two days later I was coming home and had just crossed over a two lane highway to get to the road I live on and had the same issue, the car lost all power and there was a jerking in the transmission. I was able to get the car off the road again, from previous experience I turned the car off and let it set for a couple of minutes and restarted the car. We then called the dealership and were advised to bring the car in. They had the car for 2 days and they said they could not get a code and they reprogrammed the computer. We drove the car for 3 days and while traveling on the interstate again at approx. 70 mph in the fast lane with a tractor and trailer behind me the car proceeded again to lose power. The tractor and trailer had to apply his brakes to keep from hitting me in the back. I finally was able to get the car off into the center median. Again we cut the motor off and started it again and was able to make it home. We called the dealership the next day and were advised to bring it in again. They had the car for 2 weeks. They finally called us and said they thought it was the throttle body. We called Ford Motor Company and naturally they told us there was no recall and they could not help us with the cost of the throttle body. What is it going to take for Ford to do a recall?? death!! I have read approximately 70 complaints on the same issue on the 2010 Fusion. I have grandchildren that frequently ride with me, does Ford not care about the lives that could be taken due to this issue or are they making so much money on this that they don't care.

- State Road, NC, USA

problem #97

Jul 042012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 57,000 miles


On multiple occasions the car will just lose all throttle response, the car is still running, but will not accelerate. I have to find some place to pull over and shut the car off. Then restart the engine and then it will run good. The issue happens sometimes up six times in one day, and then you can go a week without an issue. I have seen this issue with speeds as low as 20 mph all the way up to 70 mph. From what I have read online it would appear to possibly be due to a defective throttle body. Apparently this throttle body uses a servo to open and close the butterfly that allows air into the intake manifold. I feel this could be a very dangerous problem especially if you are driving and it loses the ability to accelerate and you can not find a safe place to pull over to restart the car.

- Wedgefield, SC, USA

problem #96

May 222012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
While driving the car stalled out, went into safe mode, and had to coast off the road. Happened several more times and took the car to the repair shop. Mechanic diagnosed a faulty throttle body assembly and attempted to clean it. Afterwards the car stalled again and the mechanic replaced the throttle body. Just purchased a used Mercury Milan with 31,600 miles on and had the exact same problem occur. Ford evidently has an issue with throttle body assemblies on these model of cars that can cause accidents.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #95

Jun 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
While cruising between 65 - 70 mph, vehicle stuttered, then "throttle control/transmission' warning light illuminated, and vehicle lost power. Accelerator pedal completely unresponsive and engine becomes erratic, but power steering and other electrical components unaffected. Able to coast to side of road, where engine continues to sputter, but does not stall. Changing transmission position has no effect. Turning vehicle off and then back on appears to rectify the condition. Two identical occurrences, but first time (06/15/12) with cruise control on, second time (07/06/12) with cruise control off. Dealership unable to find source of problem.

- Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #94

Jul 082012


  • 44,500 miles


Today I was at a red light when my car decided to act up. The light had just turned green and I had started to drive when all of the sudden my car lost power. It struggled then just stalled right in the middle of traffic. I looked at the dash and I noticed the wrench light came on. While I was trying not to die in traffic I put my car into neutral where I turned the key to the off position then back to the on position. Luckily my car came back on but it was still struggling. I managed to get the car to a nearby parking lot where turned it off again. I gave it a few minutes to recover then turned it back on again. Everything now appeared to working normal. I opened the hood to make sure everything seamed okay (nothing burning, smoking, or anything else out of the ordinary), everything checked out okay. Also I would like to mention that my transmission sometimes fails to go into gear then all the sudden it goes into gear and jerks really hard. Additionally my lower gears will shift very hard. When it shifts it acts as if someone had pushed in the clutch for to long then it goes into gear.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #93

Jun 202012


  • miles
On take off in heavy traffic the transmission slipped and jerked hard. I was frightened and pulled over for about 20 minutes to call my dad whom is a mechanic. He stated that it was the transmission and that I should drive it home which was a hour away. I was scared that it would do it again at full speed. 2 days later as I tried to reverse out of my driveway the car revved up but didn't move then jerked into gear and I flew out the driveway very hard and jerking violently. I don't want to drive with my niece or my little 4 year old brother in case of something dangerous. I haven't experienced this ever with a vehicle. I plan to take the car in immediately! I have been driving another car for the moment. Because I have to travel alot.

- Garrison, MN, USA

problem #92

Jun 272012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,891 miles
While traveling in traffic the car lost power. I was able to steer to the shoulder of the road where the car idled roughly and I noticed a "wrench" light came on. I shut the car down while I collected my thoughts on what to do. I used my phone to find the closest Ford dealer and, before calling for a tow vehicle, I tried to restart the car. It restarted, the wrench light was off, and it seemed to run fine. I drove directly to the nearest Ford dealer without incident where they hooked up the computer to see what was wrong. They could find nothing wrong and suggested the next time it happened to try and get it to a dealer while the light was on. I then drove approximately 120 miles home with my grandson. This morning I went on the internet to see if there were any similar instances such as mind and found there were quite a few: () the incidents others reported were almost identical to mine. I then called the dealer I bought the car from new, and they ran a check to see if there were any recalls on my model and there weren't. they suggested I call Ford customer service. I tried calling them and was told by a representative they were having "technical issues" and couldn't help me, to call back in an hour. I live in a very rural area. The closest Ford dealer is probably 50-60miles away. The roads here don't have much room to pull off on if the car fails again. Judging by the complaints I have seen online, it seems there is a problem with this car and there should be some action being taken to remedy it. This situation creates a safety hazard for anyone driving or riding in the car.

- Hague, VA, USA

problem #91

Jun 252011


  • 27,000 miles
While driving on the interstate at about 55 mph, the vehicle lost all power and shut down with the wrench and check engine lights were on. Steering was difficult and I almost was hit trying to get vehicle off of the road. After several minutes I tried restarting car and it started, so I made it to my destination and it died again. I had to have it towed to Ford. The vehicle was under warranty and they replaced the throttle body assembly. Vehicle still has loss of power issues and Ford has not solved this issue. This is dangerous as vehicle just turns off at highway speed as this part fails.

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #90

Jun 162012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles


On Saturday June 16th I was traveling North bound I-75 from rockcastle co. Ky to madison co ky which is about 45 miles. Was traveling 65 miles mph and suddenly the engine shut off. There was a semi in the right lane, we were in the middle lane with one semi in back of us. We were able to coast to the emergency side of the road. The semi in back of us locked his brake and almost hit us. I shut the car off and restarted it and drove in the slow lane and it happened 3 more times. I then left the car at my mother in-law's house and borrowed a car to get home in as I was afraid to drive it and put myself at risk plus someone's life at risk. On Monday, 6-18-12 I got the car to the dealership and the mechanic test drove it and it happened to him. I pulled up on the internet and saw that I am not the only one this has happened to. It definitely is a life ending crash getting ready to happen. Of course my vehicle is out of warranty as of 35000 miles, but that is not my issue. I would hate to see someone lose their life due a malfunction of a throttle body. Ford needs to step up to the plate and admit that know of this issue and fix it before someone loses their life or a child's life. The foreign makers such as Toyota stepped up and Ford needs to do so also. This is the fourth automobile I have brought from them and try to stay with the american made cars. Safety should be their concern instead of the almighty dollar.

- Mount Vernon, KY, USA

problem #89

Apr 232010

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,800 miles
After stopping for a red signal in traffic (vehicle travel uphill) the vehicle lost drive (acted as if the vehicle had been shifted out of gear). After a harsh engagement, the vehicle regained drive. The vehicle was driven home without further incident that day. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to get the PCM "flashed", I assume with a new shift profile. The vehicle malfunctioned two more times with a data recorder from the dealership installed. The loss of drive occurred after rapidly decelerating to slightly less than 40 mph and then trying to accelerate to the previous speed. Again, engagement was harsh when the transmission began to provide drive. Ford has acknowledged at least one engine RPM spike from the recorder, but denies that it is significant or that it is indicative of a problem. I have had the transmission fluid from this vehicle tested at an independent laboratory. The sample results showed the transmission fluid to be high in aluminum (7 times the average for a unit with similar miles), and high in iron about 1.6 times the average. This problem is a great safety concern because if the vehicle were to lose drive when pulling out into traffic, an accident involving injury or death could occur! I have found a youtube video posted that represents the problem I am experiencing by using the google search engine and using the querry "Ford Fusion transmission problems" since the PCM flash the automatic transmission seems to behave at times like a manual transmission. On a coastdown it seems like the transmission is "pushing " the car like a manual transmission with the clutch engaged even though I want the car to coast down. The reprogramming has made shifting more harsh in some gear changes, and seem to skip over the problem gears in other shifts.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #88

Jun 112012


  • 41,440 miles
I was driving down the highway when I lost the ability to accelerate. My rpms dropped and I had to pull over. I called Ford roadside services, they came and picked up my car. After being looked at by the Ford dealership, it was determined my throttle body needed to be replaced. My car is less than 2 years old and only has 40,000 miles on it. The part and labor totaled around $500 this is ridiculous for a new car to already have this issues. I did some research on the internet and found that multiple Ford Fusion are having the same issue. This item needs to be recalled and replaced. I can only thank god it was during the day and in a public area. If this had been at night with my 7 year in a bad area, no telling what could have happened. I was lucky the people behind me on the freeway noticed I was slowing down or I could have been involved in an accident. Ford needs to step up and fix this.

- Friendswood, TX, USA

problem #87

May 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 28,453 miles
My Fusion has become erratic in low gear shifts. When trying to merge into traffic and turn onto a highway it will act as though it is in neutral and I have no power to get out in traffic. I have been almost hit on a major highway do to this mechanical failure. I took the car to a dealership for repair and they informed me that it was low on transmission fluid and they repaired a seal and reprogrammed it as Ford directed. I took the car on a trip and I was unable to merge into traffic again and it ran at over 5000rpm on the highway for long periods of time. It finally flipped a code and I returned it to the dealership. They did a complete transmission overhaul and replaced over 15 parts. This took two weeks with them having to deal with Ford warranty department. I picked up the car on 6/6/2012 and it did not even make it to my place of work, 12 miles away, without the transmission slipping again and it remaining in neutral. This car is a death trap!! I called the dealership and they came and picked it up. It is now 6/12/2012 and I still do not have a car to drive. The dealership is fighting with Ford to have the complete transmission replaced. Ford has contacted me several times and it seems as though they do not care that this car is a danger to have on the road. I want my car back in working condition. I am pleased with my dealership of choice for service as they have been very polite and helpful with me. Ford has given me nothing to drive in the meantime. People, if you have this issue with your car make sure Ford hears your complaint. This is dangerous and unacceptable.

- New Paris , IN, USA

problem #86

Apr 202012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,800 miles
While driving the vehicle under normal conditions at speed on an open highway the car suddenly lost all throttle control and transmission response, a 'wrench' warning light came on the vehicle gauge cluster. After coasting to a stop in the breakdown lane the car sat, idled roughly, and I turned the ignition off. After a minute or two I started the car and the symptoms (including the wrench warning light) were gone. I brought the vehicle to the dealer service desk and after analysis was told there were no events captured by the vehicle computer. I was told to drive the car and report any additional instances of the problem. After the issue resurfaced again three weeks later, I again brought the vehicle to the service team at my dealership. After again not finding events logged in the computer, they installed a temporary data recorder for me to manually engage the next time the issue appeared. I was lucky to have the problem the very next day, the recorder captured the event and reflected the problem was with the throttle body. The dealer replaced the unit. Upon researching the issue after the first instance it is clear there are hundreds of cases of this same problem documented in various forms and sites on the web indicating this is a known, systemic problem for Ford with the Fusion throttle body. The nature of the problem, effecting vehicle control, at speed, is dangerous and would seem to warrant a more proactive approach to the issue both by Ford and by the NHTSA.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #85

May 262012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 22,675 miles
While driving the car at 55mph I let my foot off the gas and then went to accelerate and the car lost all power. Would not recognize the gas pedal check engine light and wrench light were on. Car died in a construction zone with 3 lanes and no shoulder. Extremely dangerous. I pulled car to right lane turned car off and on car continued on. Took car to dealer. Advised no message was marked in computer. There was nothing wrong could not repeat problem. 5 days later while driving home in traffic the car once again lost all power would not recognize gas pedal, check engine and wrench light came on. I pushed car to the shoulder, turned car off and on continued 100 feet car died again 17 more times. I had car towed to dealer. Dealer replaced transmission control. Car now shifts horribly, and has a jump when you let off gas. Car has stalled numerous times. Ford needs to recall for the transmission control module. Ford needs to admit there is issues with the transmissions in the V6 Fusion. I had similar transmission issues with my Ford edge and Mercury Sable.

- North Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #84

May 192012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 22,450 miles
While driving the car on a sunny day about 35 mph the car started to slow down abruptly to 5 mph. The advance track light came on and service advance track immediately message went across the message center. I immediately took the car to the dealer. Light and message were on when I dropped off the car to the dealer. Dealer stating could not repeat problem.

- North Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #83

Mar 092012

Fusion 4WD 6-cyl

  • 33,240 miles
Engine began shutting down while moving in morning rush hour. Also surges forward and runs thru multiple gears while in stop and go traffic with light, if any throttle applied. On 6-8-12 engine went into failsafe mode, 1100 RPM while traveling at 60 mph. No response from throttle, had to manipulate thru traffic to beach car upon shoulder of road. After shutting off key and restarting, vehicle seemed fine, but same situation happened twice more within minutes. Drove car to nearest Ford dealer who "cleared the old codes" and test drove, finding no further issue. Billed me under esp service agreement, and continued onto work. Leaving work to make deliveries, car initiated exactly same response as earlier (5 times), at various speeds, and again, heavy traffic. Took to dealer I bought car from, who immediately claimed it needed a new throttle body, which are on national back-order, delivery date unknown. Referred to another dealer who had open bays and a throttle body in stock, but for some reason was uninterested in even looking at the car. Offered to leave car, esp offers rental, so I could return to work, but that part has become uncovered by the extended warranty, and they still had no interest in fixing car after I agreed to pay myself. Transmission has a quirky problem of downshifting aggressively when traveling downhill, up-shifting rapidly in slow moving traffic, and now a throttle body problem which causes car to go into a no power situation while at speed.

- Union Grove, AL, USA

problem #82

May 182012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
Gears just dropped out and car simply idled. Had to pull over into left turn lane and turn off vehicle and restart. Car worked fine again for two weeks when it happened again. It happened most recently on 06/06/12 three times in one day. Once on the way to the office, once on the way home from the office, and once on the way back from my financial advisor's office when I had my fiance in the car.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #81

Mar 142012


  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
While attempting to accelerate, automatic transmission stalls and wrench light illuminates. At first I could turn the car off and back on, but eventually, the car stopped functioning altogether. Analysis was performed and throttle body was the cause. Has occurred with other 2010 Fusion sels. Ford unwilling to replace faulty manufactured part.

- Nashville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?