Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,243 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 13 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #377

Sep 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 33,400 miles


Just four months after purchasing my so called "certified pre-owned 172 point pass inspected 2010 Ford Fusion" the car starts acting up while driving down a main street in the middle of town, the car lost all acceleration right after I started taking off from a stop light. The wrench light then came on and the car started to stall out as this was going on I'm also trying to turn left, which was a little scary because I basically cut someone off while turning because, I had no acceleration whatsoever to avoid them. This is a serious problem and I'm not the only one whose had to go through it from all the same complaints I see on the internet. This malfunctioning throttle body needs to be recalled before someone gets seriously hurt!

- Maryville, MO, USA

problem #376

Sep 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated as the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the electronic throttle body would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 81,000. The consumer stated the vehicle stalled multiple times, before it stopped completely. Updated 10/22/13

- Liverpool, NY, USA

problem #375

Aug 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 50,800 miles
Driving on highway, traveling at appx 65-70 miles per hour - car started rattling and then slowed down considerably - car did not stall, but pressing on the gas pedal and the car did not accelerate. Was able to safely pull over, turned the car off, tried to drive, but the car wouldn't drive - engine worked fine, but car would not move forward or backward. Yellow wrench light came on. Had car towed to dealership. Was told it needs a new throttle body assembly.

- St Clair Shores, MI, USA

problem #374

Aug 252013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,000 miles


While on the freeway doing approximately 65-75 mph, my vehicle lost power, the wrench light came on the dash, and the vehicle began to stall. I pulled over to the side of the freeway, turned the car off, and restarted. It was fine after restarting. A couple days later the incident occurred again. Within 4 days, my vehicle began to have 4 episodes on my 11 mile commute. These issues during rush hour traffic prompted me to bring it in to the dealership asap as I did not feel safe driving it any longer. My vehicle is currently at the dealership awaiting diagnosis and repair. After a google search, I am fairly certain that the diagnosis will involve the throttle body.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #373

Sep 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 61,416 miles
I was traveling down a 2 lane highway (state road, pa) when the car began to rapidly lose acceleration and seemed to stall. The engine jerked excessively, but never turned off. No amount of pressing the accelerator made any difference. I coasted to the side of the road safely. Luckily, no one hit me. Turned engine off and called for roadside assistance. Turned the vehicle on a few minutes later and everything was fine. The yellow wrench light came on when accelerator lost control. Next day, while driving to work, it happened on rt13N de and again I was lucky to be able to quickly get to the emergency lane. Yellow wrench light and no control on accelerator with engine vibrating heavily but does not turn off. Switched off and turned on - everything is fine. Same day evening - returning from work - it happens as I get on the entry ramp to I95 N de. Narrowly missed someone rear ending me. Yellow light, heavy vibration and no acceleration. Turn off and turn on, everything is fine. Being in downtown wilmington - no emergency lane and had to do this right in the middle of the road during rush hour. This sudden loss of power is extremely scary and with 2 children in the back seat - I fear for their safety. Imagine if this is happens on the interstate with a 18 wheeler behind you. Will be taking to dealer first thing in the morning. Vehicle is serviced and maintained only by Ford. No one has touched my vehicle other than Ford authorized dealer and have not missed a single Ford recommended maintenance service.

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #372

Sep 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 69,987 miles
We were going down the interstate and my car started shaking and died out. This continued 6 more times before we found a valvoline and had them test it on their computer. It gave the code P2111 tac system open. Now the code is gone and the dealer can not fix it unless it displays this code so we have to continue to drive it until the error message shows up again.

- Brandenburg, KY, USA

problem #371

Aug 172013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


On 8/17/13 while driving down the highway at 65 mph, my car went into (limp mode) would no long accelerate, we safely pulled to the side of the road and the car began to shake violently. We put the car in park and shut it off, we restarted the car and it worked fine, the next occurrence occurred 9/1/13, while accelerating up a freeway ramp, all the same symptoms, again the car restarted fine. Third occurrence 9/2/13 while driving 35 mph on the street. It seems it is the throttle body. My car is no longer under warranty, I called the Ford dealership and they are on "back order for the part, " I was also told this part "goes out all the time." I am told it can be up to 1 month for the part to come in! my car is not drivable and is a safety hazard. Luckily, the past three occurrences I was able to pull safely over, but I can not risk, driving it any longer. I am stuck.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #370

Sep 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 58,200 miles
I accelerated after a red light and was traveling up an incline and suddenly I had no engine power. I thought car had stalled but all lights were on in the dashboard and I still had steering capability. I coasted down the bridge and pulled off into the first public parking I could find. The car was idling very rough. I shut it off, waited a few minutes and restarted. It started fine and traveled ok on the way home. It seemed a little hesitant a couple times but it didn't repeat the "limp-mode" that it was in previously.

- Port St Lucie , FL, USA

problem #369

Aug 012013


  • 52,000 miles
In the past week, my vehicle has "stalled, " for lack of a better word, at moderate to high speeds on three separate occasions. The third time this occurred, I was driving uphill during rush hour on "the cut in the hill, " a stretch of highway in northern Kentucky near cincinnati known for its disproportionately high number of auto accidents. It's a very dangerous place for a vehicle to simply stop at the busiest time of day. Because it was going uphill, the vehicle did not coast to a safer location (or even coast at all) as it had done during previous episodes and I was unable to pull over to the shoulder. I was stuck, broken down, in the middle left lane. I have brought my car into the dealership for this exact issue twice in the past while it was covered under the bumper-to-bumper warranty. They claimed they could not replicate the problem or find a code so it was probably just a fluke and not to worry about it. This time, when I brought my car in last Friday 8/30/13, they knew exactly what was wrong with it and had the part to replace it (which was amazing since it's on a national back order because this problem is apparently happening to everyone). My 12 month/12,000 mile certified bumper-to-bumper warranty expired 1,200 miles ago, shortly after the last time I brought it in for service. It took less than an hour for them to call me with a diagnosis. It was a faulty throttle body, just like I had told them, and it cost me almost $600 out-of-pocket to replace it. None of it was covered. Unbelievable. Ford needs to stand behind their product and reimburse me and everyone else with this issue. Unsafe and unfair!

- Fort Mitchell, KY, USA

problem #368

Jul 202012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,051 miles
At highway speed, there was a controlled loss of power to the engine. Upon shutting down and restarting, the problem cleared but recurred. The vehicle was serviced and the electronic throttle body was replaced.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #367

Aug 312013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 52,365 miles


Driving on a busy interstate highway when suddenly my car looses power and goes into limp mode. Absolutely no throttle response. Wrench light indicator came on. I pulled over to the side of the road and my car shuttered a bit as I slowed down. Turned the car off and waited a minute before restarting. Restarted sluggishly. Began driving again and no more than 5 minutes later, the same thing happened. This time the check engine light came on. Once again, turned car off, restarted and began driving again. Made it into a local brake/muffler shop where they were kind enough to diagnose the problem for me. Error code P2112 came over with a description about the throttle body actuator being stuck closed. They informed me they've seen this problem many times and it seems to be a common issue. It made sense to me because, leading up to this event, I had been experiencing a lagging throttle. It has happened to me twice more since this initial occurrence.

- Wappingers Falls, NY, USA

problem #366

Aug 152013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 97,989 miles
The car unexpectedly losses power. It has occurred on two occasions. You can continue to press on the gas petal but the car will not increase in must pull over to the side of the road. Turn the engine off. Wait a few minutes and restart the car in order to gain control of the throttle again. It has a defective throttle body. This is a known issue to Ford. They have recalled the 2010 escape for this same issue. Ford needs to recall the 2010 Ford Fusion for this issue before someone is killed or injured.

- Brooks, GA, USA

problem #365

Sep 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 56,740 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion begins to shake, vibrate and then the engine stalls without warning, while driving in traffic. This happens while driving at either interstate speeds or city driving speeds. I have to stop, place my car in park and restart the engine. I have come close to being rear ended by a car behind me, both on the intersate and on city streets.

- Bellbrook, OH, USA

problem #364

Aug 302013


  • 91,400 miles
Driving down highway when wrench lights up and check engine light with no acceleration. Shut car off and was allowed to make it up to 45mph and under 2K rpms. Recall Ford Fusion throttle bodies!!

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #363

Aug 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 139,650 miles
Motor power surge a few times then died with 4 lanes of traffic all traveling about 65mlh. Was able to turn key off and restart motor and ran fine the rest of the way home. Today surge a few times but not as often as yesterday.

- North Branch, MN, USA

problem #362

Aug 062013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Going on the highway at 70 mph, engine just dies on me, forcing me to pull over, it looses all power but it goes to a very low RPM's for a while, engine shakes and after a couple of minutes just turn off, I turn it back on and it runs like nothing happened. I was out of time approximately 200 miles away from home, this condition happened to me for about 15 times in a 100 miles range. Some times it takes place just after leaving a parking lot, some other times at 20 mph so it is very unpredictible but at the same time pretty dangerous. Every once on a while check engine light goes off, then it is not there.

- Clinton Twp., MI, USA

problem #361

Jun 192013


  • 115,000 miles
Like many others, I'm experiencing increasingly frequent acceleration failures (no acceleration with visual cue as well as acceleration surges) consistent with (and identified by dealer as) a malfunctioning etb. Additionally, it seems that the throttle body may be affected by both proximity and stress sensors, as the failures (and generally fairly dramatic drops in speed) tend to occur most frequently at high speeds in heavy traffic. Per Ford's response to the safety investigation (inrl-PE13003-57050P), the manufacturer submits that the resulting fmem mode (always the most severe of "good luck with that" in my vehicle's case) allows for safe maneuvering. While this may be true on the test courses in dearborn, I'd gladly volunteer my vehicle to allow my neighbors to re-evaluate this claim in actual lansing traffic.

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #360

Aug 202012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 39,407 miles
Vehicle stalled and driver was unable to get the vehicle restarted once it was pulled off the road. Vehicle had to be towed into the nearest Ford dealership where it was determined that the throttle body needed to be replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #359

Aug 282013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 58,986 miles
Driver stated that the vehicle was shaking while she was driving it and she was unable to accelerate. She was able to get the vehicle pulled over and turn it off for a few minutes and get it restarted. She took the vehicle to the nearest Ford dealership where it was determined that the throttle body needed to be replaced.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #358

Aug 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,803 miles
Driver was complaining that the vehicle was running rough while driving. The vehicle stalled a couple of times and the driver was able to get it restarted and drive it into the nearest Ford dealership. It was determined after diagnostic that it was the throttle body that had gone out and needed to be repaired. The shop told us it would be a minimum of 3-4 days before they received the throttle body assembly before they would even be able to start the repairs.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?