Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,195 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 31)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #599

Apr 232016


  • 67,500 miles


On the evening of April 22, 2016 car shut off when in motion at 35mph on a city street. No indicator lights came on. Put car in neutral and started it after three attempts. The following morning I drove the car 2 miles to my father's house to have him check it. The car shut off while in motion at 25 mph on a city street. Five times. A 10 minute drive took me more than 30 minutes. Error code P2111 came up. My car has under 68,000 miles. Throttle body. I believe this is covered under my extended warranty.

- Evergreen Park, IL, USA

problem #598

Mar 242016


  • 130,000 miles
The vehicle starting having a rough idle and stalling out at a red lights. I immediately had it checked, and the technician cleaned the throttle body which seemed to help for a few days. Then, with no warning I saw smoke/steam pouring out from under the hood so I immediately called for help and asked what to do. I was advised by the technician to immediately pull over and shut the car. I had the car towed to lilliston Ford in vineland, NJ. I was told I needed a new motor. When asked why, I was consistently told that they were not sure without taking the motor apart but that they found all of the coolant in the engine pan, mixed with the motor oil. It seems to be that the most likely scenario is that the head gasket went bad and coolant leaked into the motor causing two things to happen - it mixed with the engine oil (which is obviously bad), and since now all of the coolant was out of the radiator the car overheated and warped the engine block. This vehicle is only 6 years old and was religiously maintained and should not be having major issues as such. Case number: Cas-9188661.

- Mays Landing, NJ, USA

problem #597

Mar 012016


  • 107,168 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The first dealer performed a routine maintenance check in addition to the recall repair. When the service engine warning light illuminated, they cleared the code. The contact was unable to determine if the dealer performed a leak test on the canister purge valve (cpv). The dealer did not remedy the recall. After the dealer allegedly completed the recall repair, the contact was driving and the service engine light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a second dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was notified of the failures and refused to provide any further coverage to repair the vehicle. The contact was unable to determine if the manufacturer would remedy the failure and was uncertain if the vehicle was safe to drive. Prior to the repair, the only failure experienced was the service engine light randomly flashing. The approximate failure mileage was 107,168.

- Holton, IN, USA

problem #596

Jan 292016


  • miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at any speed, the steering wheel seized and was extremely difficult to turn. In addition, the service engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop. The cause of the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The contact was advised to check with the manufacturer for diagnostic testing. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline), but was unable to determine when the part would become available to receive the recall remedy. The contact was waiting on the manufacturer to supply the part to the dealer to receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sunflower, MS, USA

problem #595

Jan 072015


  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle shuts down while cruising on the freeway. The wrench light came on. Lost control of throttle and had to pull over to the shoulder. The car wouldn't rev up or anything. After turning the car off and starting it back up again it drove fine and the wrench light disappeared.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #594

Oct 202015


  • 135,000 miles
Engine would drop to idle and not respond to accelerator pedal, only restarting would solve. Escalated to engine completely dying requiring a restart often at highway speed. On 10/20 driving to airport in Chicago, car died a total of 7 times. Called Ford corporate regarding the etb customer satisfaction program, found my vehicle VIN was not included. On 10/22 took to Ford dealer and the etb was replaced at customer expense. Was told that the codes were exactly the same as the etb's being replaced under the customer satisfaction program. Called Ford corporate again, but would not included in the program. A serious potentially life-threatening issue when a vehicle stalls in heavy traffic. Suggest that all of the 2010 Ford Fusion should be included in the satisfaction program or the program should be upgraded to a recall program.

- Rockford, IL, USA

problem #593

Jun 242015


  • 75,363 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving at approximately 60 mph, the check engine light illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer reflash needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be repaired. The contact returned to the dealer with the diagnosis, but the technician refused to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,363. Updated 1/15/16

- Waynesville, NC, USA

problem #592

Aug 112015


  • 56,000 miles
I was driving down the highway and a red triangle light comes on that says to stop safely. The engine shut off. I had to pull over and turn car off. Once I started it back it starts fine but continues to turn off very few miles. This is a major problem and puts my families lives at risk. No lights are on after I turn car back on. This is very serious and can cause my family to die in a car crash. Thankfully the hybrid engine still works which lets me slowly pull over but my speeds on the interstate goes from 70 to about 30 really fast and puts us in a very dangerous situation. Please help me fix.

- Harrodsburg, KY, USA

problem #591

Oct 082015


  • 65,000 miles
While driving, the car will suddenly lose all acceleration and the maintenance wrench light will come on. This has happened while accelerating from a stop, and while going 60 mph down the highway. The only way to reset it is to restart the car. If the car is not restarted, it will shake vigorously as if it is going to stall on its own. Once restarted, acceleration is restored to normal until it does the same thing again.

- North Aurora, IL, USA

problem #590

Oct 122015


  • 65,000 miles
While stopped at red light and stop signs attempting to turn, the vehicle would rev itself corresponding with a rapid increase/decrease in RPM. Upon acceleration the car would stutter and the engine turned off while allowing me to enter the intersection resulting in very close calls. This has been recurring with more frequency.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

problem #589

Oct 122015


  • 112,609 miles


I was affected by the throttle body thing. I got it fixed at jim click Ford in tucson. I've been experiencing heavy acceleration and throttle response problems since. I had my trams fluid leak from the cap. No leaks in any of my hoses. My rpms stay between 1700-2700 regardless of what speed I'm going. I took it back to jim click, even tho showing no errors. And it's always whining, my engine. I don't know what's causing this, but I definitely take care of my car. And Fusion been having a lot of problems. And people tell my my car makes really loud noise when turning. I've never heard it or felt it, but I've been told by multiple people.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #588

Sep 122015


  • 88,000 miles
While driving I noticed the temp gauge was on high. No warning lights preceding this and now low coolant alarm. Turned a corner to pull off and before I could, check engine light came on and engine shuddered to a stop causing me to loose steering and brakes. With no warning enabling me to either check the car out, or safely get off the road. The water pump which is inside the engine failed. It has contaminated the oil now requiring an entire new engine. On searching google for the Ford 3.5L V6 engine this appears to be a huge problem with these engines and its design. I cant imagine what would happen should it fail without warning at highway speeds.

- Delmar, NY, USA

problem #587

Aug 192015


  • 13,700 miles
While driving down the freeway at approx 70mph in heavy traffic, the vehicle made a slight jerk, and lost propulsion. I had to cross several lanes of traffic off to the edge of the road. There was no response to pressing on the gas pedal. Once stopped and in park, the engine idled very roughly, shaking the entire car. I turned off the engine, waited about a minute, and re-started the car. It had to crank for a few seconds before turning over and starting. It then drove fine for about another 10 miles before quitting again. I again stopped, then restarted the car, and limped it home on side roads, off the freeway. It did not drive smoothly, but made it the other 15 miles home without quitting again. I took the car to an independent mechanic, who researched and found a known problem with the throttle body, causing these exact symptoms, and has referred me to a Ford garage for an in-warranty repair. The appointment for that is tomorrow.

- Bangor, MI, USA

problem #586

May 012015


  • 85,000 miles
I believe this car is also affected by the electronic throttle body issues plaguing Ford. I was driving the vehicle when it suddenly loses power and the "wrench" light appears. The vehicle lost speed and did not respond to the gas pedal. I was able to pull over and restart the vehicle with temporary resolution of the problem. This has been a gradually worsening problem.

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #585

Aug 262015


  • 65,801 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving 45 mph, the vehicle lost power, jerked, and hesitated before accelerating. In addition, the vehicle stalled. The contact was not able to restart the vehicle. The service vehicle soon and security lock warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,801.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #584

Aug 152015


  • 66,110 miles
On Saturday, 08/15/2015 @7:45pm I was driving on I-10 on the far left lane about 65 mph. As I started moving to the center lane to get to the right lane on a bit of an incline, a wrench light went off on the dashboard; I turned my emergency lights on. As I pressed on the pedal to get on the center lane, the car started losing speed. I pressed the pedal but the speed kept coming down. At this point the speed went to about 20 mph and a semi truck was directly behind me. I tried to get to the right lane, but another semi was on my right side. At this point, the speed was about 10 mph. Right after the semi passed, I changed to the right and had just enough inertia to make it to a point on the freeway between an entry ramp and an exit ramp, not on a shoulder. After stopping, I turned the key ignition off. I tried to start right back, nothing. I called my husband to pick me up. While we talked, I tried the ignition again; the car started and I drove the car got off the freeway. I kept driving all the way home on the "gateway" next to the freeway on the right lane. Went to the Ford dealership as soon as they opened on Monday, 08/17/2015, explained issue. Service rep indicated that there was a recall on the engine throttle body, but it would have to be confirmed. The only way they could confirmed it was to drive the car on the freeway, since the computer did not show failure. The car lost power as it did for me, and the mechanic turned the engine off and back on to reset it. When I picked up the car on 08/24/2015, it was replaced under the recall. The service rep said that they are still getting this complaint. They see quite a bit for city traffic, but have had some for high speeds. He did say that my case was the most dangerous he had had and that unfortunately, Ford will not issued a full recall and will only replace as it happens and if proven.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #583

Mar 152015


  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel inlet warning light illuminated. The contact also stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank failed. The vehicle was not repaired. While driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel seized and required excessive force. The contact stated that the power steering assist fault message appeared on the dashboard. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 82,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #582

Aug 112015


  • 41,000 miles
Vehicle lost power, would not accelerate a wrench showed on the instrument panel, it eventually begin to gradually gain some of it's power enough to get the car home. I have read numerous accounts by other people complaining about this problem. It's seem it has to do with the throttle body. My real concern is why Ford Motor Company has not been required to issue a safety recall. Loss of power could result in serious injury or death if this happens on a interstate are in heavy traffic.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #581

Aug 082015


  • 83,000 miles
Car cut out and went to limp mode. Code P2111 - actuator control system open this is a very serious safety issue!!!! my entire family was in the car. If I had not been a experienced driver an accident could have result from shutting down on the interstate

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #580

Aug 082015


  • 64,000 miles
While driving (8/8/15) on I-65 at approx. 75mph, the RPM's dropped and there was no response from the throttle pedal. After carefully making our way to the shoulder, it was noticed that charging system and throttle control/transmission indicator lights had turned on. I turned the vehicle off and upon restarting, everything appeared to be working as it should. The above was the second instance of this malfunction. Previously (June 2015), while driving in city traffic at approx. 30mph, the RPM's dropped and the throttle pedal became unresponsive. After turning the vehicle off and back on, functionality resumed. Over the next 15miles back home, this occurred three more times at speed between 25 ~ 55 mph. At all instances, the throttle control/transmission indicator light turned on, but then turned off after restarting the vehicle.

- Franklin, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?