Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,271 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 32)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #582

Aug 112015

Fusion

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle lost power, would not accelerate a wrench showed on the instrument panel, it eventually begin to gradually gain some of it's power enough to get the car home. I have read numerous accounts by other people complaining about this problem. It's seem it has to do with the throttle body. My real concern is why Ford Motor Company has not been required to issue a safety recall. Loss of power could result in serious injury or death if this happens on a interstate are in heavy traffic.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #581

Aug 082015

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
Car cut out and went to limp mode. Code P2111 - actuator control system open this is a very serious safety issue!!!! my entire family was in the car. If I had not been a experienced driver an accident could have result from shutting down on the interstate

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #580

Aug 082015

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles
While driving (8/8/15) on I-65 at approx. 75mph, the RPM's dropped and there was no response from the throttle pedal. After carefully making our way to the shoulder, it was noticed that charging system and throttle control/transmission indicator lights had turned on. I turned the vehicle off and upon restarting, everything appeared to be working as it should. The above was the second instance of this malfunction. Previously (June 2015), while driving in city traffic at approx. 30mph, the RPM's dropped and the throttle pedal became unresponsive. After turning the vehicle off and back on, functionality resumed. Over the next 15miles back home, this occurred three more times at speed between 25 ~ 55 mph. At all instances, the throttle control/transmission indicator light turned on, but then turned off after restarting the vehicle.

- Franklin, KY, USA

problem #579

Aug 072015

Fusion

  • 76,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 65 mph, the rpms fluctuated and all the instrument panel lights illuminated. The vehicle failed to accelerate and was able to restart. The failure recurred four times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000.

- Harrison, OH, USA

problem #578

Jul 212015

Fusion

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was at a stop, the engine revved. In addition, while driving at approximately 65 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was restarted, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 8,500.

- Vermilion, OK, USA

problem #577

Jul 262015

Fusion

  • 77,854 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving 45 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise emitted from the vehicle. The throttle power malfunctioned intermittently. Once the vehicle was placed in park and turned off, the vehicle restarted; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was diagnosed and the throttle body was replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,854.

- Littleton, WV, USA

problem #576

Jun 222015

Fusion

  • 48,303 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car started spuddering and the check transmission light came on. It started jumping and would not acclerate.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #575

Oct 302014

Fusion

  • 155,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. When the vehicle was parked and idling, it shook violently and the entire instrument panel illuminated. The contact shut off and restarted the vehicle. When the vehicle was started, it failed to accelerate over 10 mph. The contact shut off the vehicle and was able to restart the engine. The contact also mentioned that excessive force was required on the accelerator pedal in order to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the throttle body failed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 155,000.

- Dearborn Heights, MI, USA

problem #574

Apr 242015

Fusion

  • 86,554 miles
The car dash warning lights started to come on one by one. The warning chimes also kept going off dash lights would fade in and out. The air bags would turn off as well as the ABS warning lights would come on. In addition to that the security systems would engage causing the car not to run. I brought car to the dealer and they said it wasn't safe to drive the car. The teach had issues figuring out the problem and said they have never seen before. I was able to find several other owners of the same car and year with the same issue. There is even a you tube video of it happening as well as comments from others with the same issue. The tech had to get Ford engineers involved who also had issues figuring out the problem. It took six weeks! I do not understand if there was others who have had this issue that they have no clue. It cost me 1400 to fix it and where this is a safety issue where air bags as well as security systems effects the car it should be at minimal a bulletin if not a recall. Computer was replaced and there was a faulty wire shorting out the system....updated 07/30/15

- Atkinsom, NH, USA

problem #573

Jun 012015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled numerous times while driving at various speeds. The wrench light illuminated while the failure occurred. The dealer was unable to perform a diagnostic because the wrench symbol was not illuminated at the time. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 41,000. MA 08/11/15 updated 10/1/2015

- Creedmore , NC, USA

problem #572

Jun 052015

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine cuts off while driving with no warning. Won't accelerate when gas is pressed. Idle very rough at times and will shift hard at times. Check engine light and wrench are both on when incident occurs. Throwing obd2 codes P2119, P0104, P2112. Ford Fusion sel V6 3.0L 75K miles. All scheduled maintenance has been performed on time by dealer.

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #571

Jun 032015

Fusion

  • 36,325 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost power, malfunction caution light illuminated. Did not lose power steering or brakes, but could not accelerate beyond 5 mph, if at all at times. Engine shook/vibrated very badly. Nearly rear ended by another car. Activated 4 way flashers and was able to pull of highway into shopping area. Any type of gas pedal pressure did not help. Let car sit for 10 minutes, restarted engine and no issues while slowly drove around parking lot for a while to ensure no issues. Do have a letter from Ford for extended warranty, customer satisfaction program 13N03 to get the throttle body device replaced, but I consider this a hazardous condition. Will now take to dealer and demand this be replaced before any other occurrences,

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #570

May 292015

Fusion

  • 59,800 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled and the service vehicle soon warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 59,800.

- Mather, CA, USA

problem #569

May 142015

Fusion

  • 79,784 miles
Well just purchased this car a month ago and already in the shop. It was jerking and losing acceleration as I was pressing the gas also it shut off on me while I was driving. The check engine and wrench light came on. So I did a vehicle report on the car and it brought up the engine, transmission diagnostics. Also the recall for the throttle body. Since I have warrenty I took it to the shop where they say it was the transmission. Changed it. Picked it up today still doing the same thing and light still on. Have to take it to the Ford dealership where they can check the throttle body. Called them and told them the issue, they telling me it's just saying I have a warrenty. So I had my fiance call and they said for us to call in the morning. They giving me the run around. I don't have money to waste. I have 2 children I have to get back and forth to school. I have classes I have to get back and forth to. When I purchased a car I didn't expect this. Second time purchasing a vehicle. Never had a problem. This problem needs to be fixed I can be driving with my children and god forbid this car continue to malfunction.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #568

May 162015

Fusion

  • 38,218 miles
I tapped the gas after I stopped at a stop sign & the car revved really high but didn't go anywhere. Then the 2nd time I was on the highway the car revved really high again & again went really slow, like something wasn't catching. I'm glad the highway was empty because I could've caused an accident

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #567

May 162015

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
I was driving down the highway at approximately 65mph and came up behind a truck doing about 50mph. I changed lanes and went to pass the truck. As I passed the truck my car accelerated slowly and seemed to not switch gears at the right time, causing a hard shift and a "chug" feel. I passed the truck and slowed down to 60mph and as the car shifted again, it caused another hard shift and "chug" feel. This seems to be a common issue with Ford Fusion. Mine didn't start happening until after the PCM update recall that was done on 2/26/15. I took it into Ford after it happened the first time and they told me that since there is no wrench on the dash and no check engine light with a code, they can't find anything wrong and cannot replicate the problem I described to them. This is ridiculous that many cars have an issue but it looks like since there is no one that has been significantly injured or killed in an accident due to it, that it isn't being fixed. Please recall this and fix it before someone loses their life from this.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #566

May 062015

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
Car had sudden deceleration, loss of power, waited about 30 seconds and tried to restart. Car restarted and parked due to safety concerns. Did some research to find that nhtsb is failing to issue recall but Ford has voluntarily agreed to fix and extend warranty. The dealer is playing dumb about it being throttle body issue even though it is supposed to be fixed free under Ford csp# 13N03 and had the exact symptoms as described. This item should be recalled as it is a serious safety hazard on the vehicle.

- Killingly, CT, USA

problem #565

Apr 202015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,523 miles
On 04/13/2015 I experienced rapid deceleration while driving home form work on the highway and the wrench light came on the dash. I called the dealership and made an appointment to have the problem looked at on 04/15/2015. While driving home from work on 04/16/2015 the problem happened again so I called the dealership and made another appointment on 04/17/2015. After about an hour they couldn't find any error codes and failed to replicate the issue. They told me to drive the car and hope it doesn't happen again. Since then the problem has occurred on the following dates: 04/18,4/19,4/21. I ordered the part myself and will do the repairs myself since I can't wait until a complete failure happens. That would increase the chances of causing a serious accident.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #564

Apr 182015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 49,387 miles
I had been driving for about 5 minutes and traveling at about 45 mph when I felt a reduction in power. The vehicle did not respond to movement of the throttle pedal. Vehicle speed slowly reduced and we braked to a stop at a junction. The vehicle was running rough. The vehicle had almost zero power when pulling away and I had to pull over to allow following traffic to pass. Speed increased slowly over 2 miles of driving to 40mph. Lack of power was again experienced at the next stop junction. We arrived home 1 mile later. In my opinion the limp home mode is totally unacceptable. We were lucky that we were on local roads with little traffic around.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #563

Apr 082015

Fusion

  • miles
I was stopped at a 3 way stop. As the car started moving I could not steer the car. When I finally stopped the car I was partially in a someone's yard with a culvert and telephone or electric pole only 2 or 3 feet from me. I thought the car had gone dead. I tried to crank the car only to realize it was still running. I then put the car into reverse and backed out. That was when I realized the steering was the problem. The advance track system then came on. After reading the manual I was hoping that it was due to us having put new tires on the week before. When we took the car to our mechanic he said that Ford would not sell the part and we would have to take it to a Ford dealer. Needless to say it is costing $1700 to repair this. There was a new motor put in the vehicle when it was 2 1/2 years old. It also went out with no warning whatsoever and Ford told us this was the second car they had this happen to.

- Bremen, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?