Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
55,338 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 20)

problem #382

Nov 012016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have called the dealer 2 xs now and neither time have they had the part that needs to be fixed from the recall. I also just found out that there is a 2nd recall on my vehicle. I would like a new vehicle- a trade in asap. As one of these can result in death and my children are at risk.

- Rodeo, CA, USA

problem #381

Oct 212016

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
Gasoline smell inside car. Poor gas mileage. Smell is there while in motion.

- Maple, WI, USA

problem #380

Nov 202015

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V384000 (air bags) and 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Vernon, TX, USA

problem #379

Sep 242016

Fusion

  • 59,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It's the recall with the throttle body. I've taken car back 3 times already. First they replace purge valve. Then light came back on and car was jumping forward. Now this is 3rd time light back on and now they won't fix car unless I pay. They said it's all a part of the same system but I need to pay for a leak that is coming from filter neck. So I left. I shouldn't have to pay for this. This is a recall. Does this qualify under lemon law? this car scares me to drive. Drive with both foot on gas and brakes.

- Ontario, CA, USA

problem #378

Mar 072016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. After refueling the vehicle, there was an abnormally strong fuel odor inside the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V793000 (fuel system, gasoline). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Latta, SC, USA

problem #377

Sep 192016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V384000 (air bags) and another one for the fuel system. The parts for the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The NHTSA campaign number for the fuel system was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Thrall, TX, USA

problem #376

Aug 282016

Fusion

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While in motion driving at highway speeds, the vehicle's engine stopped responding to the accelerator. The wrench and battery lights came on and the car lost drive and electrical power (no power brakes or power steering). After rolling to a stop, the car could be restarted following a few minute pause. This has happened three times

- Alva, OK, USA

problem #375

Sep 122016

Fusion

  • 90,700 miles
I received a recall on the fuel system of my 2010 Fusion. I took my car to the dealership in April 2016. They inspected the system and said everything was fine. No parts were replaced. A few months later, my check engine light came on, indicating that there was a problem with my fuel system. The recall was on the canister purge valve, which is the exact part that needs to now be replaced. I returned to the same dealership and asked what they were going to do to fix it. They said that they could no longer fix this problem under the recall because they had previously inspected it, and it was fine. This is not a problem that should occur on relatively new cars, and Ford has already admitted to putting in faulty canister purge valves. I contacted Ford customer service and hit another dead end. Both claim there is nothing that can be done because it is not an "open recall". I am filing this complaint because it should be an open recall. Just because a crack had not formed in April, doesn't mean that the exact problem that could cause a crack to form didn't exist then. The dealership missed the problem, and now Ford is not being held accountable for their mistake in manufacturing.

- Cottage Grove, MN, USA

problem #374

Aug 312016

Fusion

  • 48,000 miles
Several months ago, in the middle of a busy intersection, my car unexpectedly shook and went to "limp" mode in the middle of a busy intersection with the wrench light coming on. I pulled into the closest driveway after putting on my hazards and, after turning off the engine, restarted the car, which took about about 5 seconds of trying to turn over the ignition. Since that time, the same problem has happened at least two dozen times, sometimes several times in a row; and the rest of the time, the rpms flutter in an irregular way. I do mostly city driving and have thankfully been able to avoid an accident when having to pull over and restart; but in each case, it is not a good situation. By all accounts online, this is a very frequent problem and due to a faulty throttle body. Notably, the problem with my car began to occur at around 45,000 miles, which is typical from what I've read of other complaints. This seems much too early, much too common, and much too dangerous of a problem for it not to be covered under an extended warranty or recall. There was, in fact, an extended warranty, but it expired in early 2015. I was told by the local dealer that it would cost $600 to repair.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #373

May 152014

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
Engine sputtering, loss of power, cut off then restart. Mutiple times to get home. Manual transmission, replaced ignition coil still happening, possible throttle body problems.

- Rossville, GA, USA

problem #372

Aug 082016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received the Ford safety recall regarding the fuel system surface crack/leak, in January 2016. In February, I took the car to the dealership and was advised I could not drive it off the lot due to an active leak. They kept my car and have provided me with a loner for the past 6 months while I have waiting for them to perform the safety recall repair. I received a call today (8/8/16) that my car might be ready by 8/12/16. They will call and let me know on 8/10/16. The problem is, I have had to move out of state for work since February, and I will not be able to physically return to Michigan until 8/22/16. It is a 16-hour round trip for me to return the rental to the dealership, and they are telling me I have to be there because they will no longer pay for the rental after 8/10/16. I called the Ford recall department directly and was told I have to work that out with the dealership. So in my current situation, I am going to be penalized with paying for a rental car for 12 days. This is a rental car I don't want and am only driving because of Ford's recall. So due to Ford's recall I will have to spend an additional $500 for this rental. They have made me wait 6 months, but they can't wait 12 days. It isn't right that I am going to have to spend money due something that is Ford's fault. I would like Ford to continue paying my rental until 8/22/16 or to ship my Ford Fusion to me in Kentucky when it is repaired. My car is currently being repaired at imlay city Ford in imlay city,

- Russell, KY, USA

problem #371

Aug 042016

Fusion

  • 101,550 miles
When at a stop it stops running. The idle speed drops and fluctuates. It is stalling when stopped. Wrench light came on and lasted 20 miles and then went off.

- South Westerlo, NY, USA

problem #370

Aug 032016

Fusion

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notification for the fuel system, gasoline; however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact stated that the vehicle would leak fuel. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #369

Jun 252016

Fusion

  • miles
I have multiple items that have come about all of a sudden over the last month or two for no apparent reason. 1.) fuel fill inlet message has appeared on the dash, along with the check engine light. 2.) driver side door handle just stopped working. 3.) the air conditioner has intermittently stopped working. Cool air comes and goes, and from the outside of the car it seems the fan stays on all the time.

- Almo, KY, USA

problem #368

Jun 292016

Fusion

  • miles
My son was driving on the interstate when all of a sudden the car lost power and he could not accelerate. He had to cross lanes to pull over to the shoulder. Turned the car off and then restarted. Car ran okay. I called Ford after this happened twice. They informed me that the car was over the mileage allowed and was not covered. They said they sent out a csp#13N03. I did not receive this letter. I think that this should be a safety recall and not just a bulletin. He almost got hit both times when this happened.

- Roanoke, TX, USA

problem #367

Jun 012013

Fusion

  • miles
Fuel cap codes, emission control codes and throttle actuator control code are now on all the time. I had taken it back to Ford, but light had went out at the time. I was told that the codes do not log in ECM. I was told they could hook up equipment, there would be no codes and the cost $90. I left. On a short trip this weekend we had problems with all codes staying on and new one for throttle when cruise would not set. I stopped at autozone and they could print out stored codes. They are P0455, P0457, P2119. They have preformed and throttle recall once and I have a letter from Ford about a recall, but no response as of yet. As of today the dash service wrench has reset. The problems start over a year ago on trips to fla. But lights always seamed to reset after several key recycles. Thanks david wood

- Brownsburg, IN, USA

problem #366

Apr 052016

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
Stalls in traffic, goes into "limp" mode or shuts down completely. Google says etb problem that describes the issue exactly.

- Boerne, TX, USA

problem #365

Jun 152016

Fusion

  • 78,000 miles
Throttle body failure. A known high failure item which Ford has ignored. Car went into limp mode while on the freeway at 75 mph, able to maintain 40 mph with barricades preventing getting to a safe location. This is a safety issue! at a minimum Ford should notify all owners this is an issue very likely to happen and should be inspected by Ford. The service writer knew exactly what it was when I dropped the car off, seen it many times.

- Orange, TX, USA

problem #364

May 302016

Fusion

  • 81,400 miles
My 2010 Ford Fusion suddenly lost power when accelerating to get on the highway. It was during a busy time and was very dangerous. The car went to limp mode. I took the car to the dealer and they told me it was not covered by the extended warranty I have. They did acknowledge that this was a common issue, so much that the tech knew the part number off the top of his head.

- Morning View, KY, USA

problem #363

Jun 082016

Fusion

  • 65,500 miles
While driving at highway speeds my vehicle lost power (I.e. the engine and electronics stayed active, however my accelerator no longer was operable). I coasted to the side of the road and my engine began to operate in a rough manner. I also noticed that my RPM indicator was bouncing erratically from low to about half way along the dial. My check engine light also illuminated. I shut the vehicle down and immediately turned it back on and operation was restored.

- Seaside, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?