Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,258 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 10 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

May 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 51,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on 35mph roadway, my car suddenly lost acceleration. Engine appeared to be "shaking". I was able to turn into a shopping center parking lot. I coasted to a space, turned off car. I restarted, it appeared to be ok, and proceeded home. Another 1/4 to 1/2 mile away (25 mph), it did the same thing. I restarted, made it home in my neighborhood. I had car towed to an auto shop I have used, and they diagnosed "check engine" as the throttle body. They stated they talked to Ford, and found this was a big problem, so much that they were unable to get the part for another month.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,053 miles
I was driving home when the car lurched and the gas pedal quit responding. I had to stop the car - the engine was still running, turn it off and then restart it. This happened in the middle of an intersection and a large truck almost rear ended me. It happened again three times on the way to work one morning and once where there was no shoulder for me to pull off on. This was during morning rush hour. The Ford dealership says that they don't know when the parts will be in to fix it, but probably not until the middle of June - this leaves me without a vehicle. This must be a bad problem when there are no replacement parts available. I was told this is not a covered repair.

- Lonoke, AR, USA

problem #20

Nov 152012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 35,394 miles
The vehicle stalled/lost power, while making a turn at 15-20 mph. I took it to dealership to have it checked. I was told that they couldn't find a problem. It happened a second time while trying to merge into a highway at about 40 mph. I called for a tow truck. While waiting I tried to start it after 15/20 minutes. It started, but waited for tow truck since I was afraid to get on the road. It was looked at again at the dealership repairshop and was told that the problem couldn't be found, but that perhaps the throttle system needed to be cleaned after 30,000 miles. This cost around $250. The problem happened a third time at about 10 miles per hour on May 17, 2013. This time the vehicle didn't start as in the past. Had both engine light and wrench light. Had to be towed. This time, the dealership repairshop, norris Ford techs, said that it was definitely the throttle mechanism and that it had to be replaced. It was in the shop for three days since they had to order the part. Despite this major repair, it happened again today, June 7, 2013. I had the cruise control set at 55mph. The car lost power, started shaking, and stalled. I've been luckily so far that noone has hit me from the back, but I'm very concerned and afraid that I decided to report it. This Ford Fusion problem needs to investigated.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #19

Mar 042013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while accelerating from a light, the vehicle would accelerate beyond 2 mph. The contact felt the vehicle was not getting the proper flow of gasoline to the engine. The first time the failure occurred, the dealer rewired the engine but the repair did not correct the failure. The contact had not taken the vehicle back to the dealer to be diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 60,000.

- Buckley, WA, USA

problem #18

Jun 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Traveling on expressway the car had no throttle. Pressing the gas pedal but no response. Engine started to miss fire. Wrench light came on. Pulled over, shut car off. Started up and ran ok. Pulled into an advance auto they scanned no codes. Next day on expressway again. Same thing happened. This time engine light came on. Taking back to dealer today.

- Sarver, PA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012013

Fusion

  • 85,000 miles
6-1-13,2010 Ford Fusion with 4 cyl. Approximately 35 mph, car began to shudder, would not accelerate then cut out. Wrench light came on. Coasted to side of road and pulled off. Tried to restart car, restarted on second try. Ran fine the 20 miles back home. Same thing occurred on 6-4-13.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #16

May 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 70,182 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The wrench icon lit on the dashboard while driving on the interstate. Vehicle immediately lost power and had to be quickly driven to the shoulder of the road. Car could not be driven further. Vehicle towed to nearest Ford dealership. Dealership advised me throttle body had failed. Vehicle at dealership for over 2 weeks, and cost 900 dollars. Not covered by warranty since vehicle was just beyond 60,000 mile warranty.

- Maple Shade, NJ, USA

problem #15

Sep 272012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My wife was driving with my niece at approximately 45 mph, when the vehicle lost power and started to spit and sputter, then the "wrench" light illuminated as well as the check engine light. Luckily she was able to pull off the road with no harm or damage, when I checked for a dtc it pointed to the throttle body, $200 dollars for the part, Ford should have replaced this for me, especially since there is a tsb for this issue.

- Opelika, AL, USA

problem #14

May 242013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
I was on the freeway when the 2010 Ford Fusion lost power, began to shudder and the wrench light illuminated on the instrument cluster. Luckily I was able to get to the side of the road before the vehicle died. I had the vehicle towed to a Ford dealer and they diagnosed the problem as a bad throttle body. After doing some very basic research on the internet I found that this is a huge problem and it isn't be covered under a recall or the powertrain warranty. I think that Ford should be, at least, helping consumers cover the cost of this replacement.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #13

May 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 47,100 miles
Driving at 70 mph, lost power, check engine light came on and the wrench icon on dash also lit up. Coasted to stop and it ran very rough but wouldn't move. If you turned it off and restarted it, it would run for a couple of miles and then it would happen again. Diagnostic code 2111 showed meaning throttle body malfunction. The Ford dealer, [xxx] (tampa) reported that Ford is having widespread throttle body malfunctions on the 2010, 2011 and 2012 2.5 liter cars. They didn't have the part in stock and they told me it was on back order and they didn't know when to expect it. They said Ford has ordered it's supplier to make at least 1,000 replacement throttle bodies to address this problem apparently for cars still under warranty.. I'm reading that the Ford escapes are having this type of problem. Too. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Fusion sel. Customer writes in regards to continued transmission problems. The consumer stated the transmission would slip harshly and hesitate on acceleration. The recall repair did not correct the transmission problems. It was determined that the valve body and solenoid body were defective. Also, one of the tires was leaking air, there was an issue with the traction and brakes. There were noises coming from the front of the vehicle. The steering wheel would not lock into place, the cd player did not work at times, the driver side visor did not stay in place, the gas over flow tube was inoperative, the vehicle would pull hard when the brake was applied. The rear driver's side door had to be slammed extremely hard, in order to close it. The driver's side seat belt was backwards. The passenger side windshield wiper dragged on the windshield and the vehicle would sometimes surge on its own. Each time the consumer went to the dealer about certain problems, she was told no problems were found.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #11

May 012012

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I was sitting at a red light when the light turned green and I put on the gas the car jumped. The engine light came on. I pulled over to the side of the road. The car had no acceleration but still had power. I turned off the vehicle and turned it back on. The car started back up and the light went off. I took the car to a auto repair shop. The diagnostic test stated it is the throttle body going bad. The mechanic cleaned this part good and the sensors. The car has run fine for about three weeks with out any problems until 06/11/12 then it started again it has done it four times since and the engine light will not go off. I have used high test gas in it.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #10

May 052012

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
While driving on the interstate, the wrench light came on and the car became unresponsive to acceleration. I had to turn on the hazards and coast to the shoulder. The car was able to be restarted and drove fine for another 30 minutes before the same thing happened again. 2 days later the same thing happened on the interstate again, requiring me to coast to the shoulder of the road! today it happened while I was only going 45 mph and happened three times in 10 miles. When I got home I immediately began researching other Ford Fusion problems and found this to be a common occurrence. We tested the chip of the car and got a code of P2112, indicating the throttle body was malfunctioning. This comes behind an electrical problem requiring a new battery after 50,000 miles, a plastic piece breaking off the sunroof and needing to be replaced at 40,000 miles, and the sunglasses spring breaking at 35,000 miles! this is the second Ford I have owned and we were thrilled with our Ford five hundred, but the Fusion seems to have more problems than it has good qualities! Ford really needs to find a fix for their throttle problem before one of us is injured or killed while we coast to safety on the interstate in a malfunctioning car!

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #9

May 012012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 29,723 miles
I am guessing at the "component selection" above. I was driving 30 mph in a neighborhood; car pitched or lunged forward; wrench light came on panel; RPM's dropped; car slowed down and pressing gas pedal did no good; car was still running; car coasted to a stop. Waited for help to come. Restarted car, it went about 1/2 mile and did the same thing; took to dealership. They checked it out and could not replicate the problem and returned it to me; within ten minutes and 5 miles, it happened again in the same sequence as described above except I was going 50 mph on a busy hilly two lane state highway. Took it back to dealership they said it was the throttle body or throttle rail. I am scared to drive it once, or if, it is repaired; still haven't received car back and parts on back order! internet search lead me to numerous occurrences exactly like mine and some were temporary fix that led to other problems with the throttle and transmission.

- Atmore, AL, USA

problem #8

Apr 162012

Fusion

  • 52,956 miles
I was driving down the highway at 70 mph when my car shut off I was almost hit by another car then a semi truck because I didn't know what had happened. My car had no throttle response. After having my car looked at it, it was diagnosed to have a bad throttle body. So I did some research and its a common thong with 2010 Ford Fusion, but for some reason Ford won't either find a way to figure out why they seem to have throttle bodies that are malfunctioning and putting their drivers lives in danger. They need to recall this before it causes someone to lose their life. For people who don't know it cost about $500 to get it fixed if your vehicle isn't under warranty.

- Albany , GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 132012

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion through rush hour accident traffic. My car began to idle rough and lost power while on a bridge. I was unable to accelerate. I coasted off the bridge and to the emergency lane. I restarted my car and everything seemed okay. I got back into accident traffic. My Fusion again began to idle rough. The RPM jumped, my car jerked forwarded and lost power again. I had my car towed to the body shop since it was clearly not safe to drive. The body shop ran tests and said the car was driving fine for them. Since picking my car up, it has lost power four times in two days. Three of the times happened while on a major interstate! not having the ability to accelerate on a major interstate is a disturbing feeling. My car is back in the shop since it is clearly not safe to drive on a consistent basis. This is not my first issue with the Fusion's fuel system. This will be the last Ford I own and can't wait to trade it in.

- Kirkwood, MO, USA

problem #6

Sep 202011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 27,500 miles
This has happened a number of times since it started a few months ago, but soon after starting and driving down the road, the Fusion suddenly loses power, the wrench light comes on the dash, and the idle is very rough. There is no acceleration possible. We have to coast to a stop, turn off the engine, then restart the car. This seems to reset the problem and things get back to normal. We've had the dealer look at it twice now. They suspect a throttle body problem. Fortunately for us, we are still under warranty, but it is very disconcerting and a bit dangerous for this to happen. One time I was driving on the highway around 60 mph and it happened. I had to coast to the emergency lane while multiple cars passed me and swerved around me. This problem occurred yesterday three times in one 30 minute period. The dealer said that Ford has given them no help in solving the problem. We almost bought a Toyota Camry instead of the Fusion. I guess we should have done that.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #5

Nov 302011

Fusion

  • 11,200 miles
The vehicle lost power, the gas pedal had no effect, and it would surge forward by itself. Created a very scary and unsafe situation for my wife. I went to the gas station where she had managed to get pulled into and shut it off, I looked it over and restarted it. It seemed to have power and throttle response, so I attempted to drive it on home since it was within a mile. It again failed on me within 100 yards but I was able to limp it on home. The dealership towed it into service and they thought the throttle body was bad...so they replaced it and now it is working. They said this is happening to a lot of throttle bodies! I am not sure why there isn't a recall or more investigations happening here. This was totally unexpected from a vehicle with only 11K miles on it.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Oct 142011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 15,391 miles
When I was driving my 2010 Ford Fusion the wrench light came on and the car lost all power and stalled out. Luckily I wasn't in front of a truck or on the freeway. Very scary my car only has 15391 miles on it. This car was also leaking oil. I am not happy with this car. When I took it to the dealer this problem didn't show up at first so the service person kept the car longer and finally it did the same thing and lost all power so they replaced the throttle body and replaced the the gasket that was leaking oil. Also a few months earlier one of the coils went bad and had to be replaced.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 052011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 22,329 miles
My 2010 Fusion has experienced multiple issues with the check engine light. It is always the same PCM code of P0456 which deals with evaporative emissions system. The servicing dealer does not know where the problem is nor how to fix it- even after calling tech support and having a field service engineer assigned. While the light is on, making left hand turns is downright frightful as the engine loses power and the car feels as if it does not want to go. One would think that after five repair attempts in 14 months the issue would be corrected. This last time it took less than three days and 122 miles for the issue to reappear. There is a tsb for the issue but apparently that did not fix my vehicle.

- New Boston, MI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?