Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Ford significantly updated the Fusion for the 2010 model year. We wish they hadn't

Throttle body issues have led to a ton of reports about a sudden deceleration and loss of power while driving. Ford issued a “customer satisfaction program” in March 2014 that, unsurprisingly, has left very few customers satisfied.

2010 is also the year we started seeing complaints about the power steering failing. Throttle and steering failure? Yeah, that’s why this is a clunker.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Ford Fusion wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Nov 072011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is related to NHTSA action number EA11009. We discovered three broken wheel studs on our 2010 Ford Fusion, two on the front passenger wheel and one on the front drivers side wheel. All three had sheared off completely. The dealership argued the studs had sheared due to faulty maintenance work. The car has had maintenance only at Ford dealerships. The dealership will only replace the broken studs and ignores our concern that the remaining studs may have been compromised.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #18

Oct 202011

Fusion

  • miles
On three seperate incidents, I found wheel lugs missing from my right front wheel. Ford shipped parts to my dealer 3 times and the vehicle was repaired. This last time (4th) I had just gotten off the hwy and turned into the parking lot at work when the front right wheel came off and rolled across the parking lot. The dealer est is over $3K in damage to repair the vehicle. Even though this is the 4th time on the same wheel, Ford has decided to fix this vehicle again. I do not believe this vehicle should even be on the road any more. Two minutes earlier and the wheel would have came off at high speeds. There is definitely a danger to me, my passangers and any other people in the area when the wheel decides to leave the vehicle.

- Lodi, WI, USA

problem #17

Jul 152011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
This is related to NHTSA action number EA11009. So far I have had 2 incidents of broken wheel studs on a 2010 for Fusion that was bought on 9/11/2010. The first occurred on 7/15/2011 at 25000 miles and the second occurrence was on 10/21/2011 at 33000 miles. Both on driver side front wheel. The dealer has done all work to car so far.

- Weare, NH, USA

problem #16

Sep 092011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 37,571 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion hybrid. The contact stated while having an oil change the mechanic noticed the front right axle nut had come loose. The contact spoke to the dealer who stated there was nothing they could do since the warranty had expired. The dealer installed a new axle nut. The contact stated that was a manufacturers defect that could cause the tire to disconnect from the vehicle and cause a crash. The failure mileage 37,571. Updated 10/14/11 updated 11/02/11

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #15

Sep 042011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
I have a 2010 Ford Fusion and this is my second entry into this database for a broken stud. After ~21000 miles, a second stud on the front drivers wheel has failed by shearing completely. Once again the dealer will only replace the broken stud, leaving me to worry over the remaining studs. Also, it has taken two nights for the dealership to receive the new stud.

- Johnson City, TN, USA

problem #14

Apr 282011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 22,200 miles
Several months ago, the rear left wheel of M Y 2010 Fusion was falling off. I managed to stop, tow and fix the car. In April, my passenger right wheel fell off causing me to lose control, hit a pole and total my 7 month old vehicle. I was issued numerous tickets and lost my job due to this accident. One month later, Ford contacts me to reimburse me for the first episode (I received the check), but took no blame for any of the problems with my vehicle. I was told my car was listed in the recall from Ford. Afterward I found out that there are many other complaints for my Ford Fusion.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 102011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2010 Ford Fusion studs breaking off. Second time in 4 months.

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #12

Jul 182011

Fusion

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the front driver side lug nut detached from the wheel. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer were notified of the failure nor was the vehicle inspected or repaired. The current and failure mileages were 33,000.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #11

Jun 012011

Fusion

  • miles
Multiple fractures of wheel studs on 2010 Ford Fusion, creating very dangerous situation. One failure was four studs at once, leaving only one stud available to prevent complete failure and loss of control.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #10

May 222011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
During a long trip back from a weekend vacation I felt my front drivers side wheel begin to wobble. When I pulled over to check it out I noticed that I only had 3 lugnuts holding the wheel on. I also noticed a third that looked loose. When I grabbed it, it fell out in my hand with the stud broken off in the lugnut. The other 2 missing lugnuts spots also had studs broken off. The rear drivers side wheel had also lost a lugnut and had a broken stud.

- Ashland, MO, USA

problem #9

May 012011

Fusion

  • 13,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While pulling out of the driveway a neighbor noticed a lug nut fall off my vehicle. I stopped the car immediately and we determined that the car was missing 2 lug nuts, one from each front tire. We went to make sure the remaining lug nuts were securely attached and when applying a slight amount of pressure to another lug nut it snapped off. This happened with two nuts. The inside stud that the lug nut attached to looks as if the metal is crumbled. The vehicle has 13600 miles on it and has had the tires rotated once at 6600 miles by the Ford dealership we purchased the car from. This is well within the standards the warranty requires (at 7500 and 15000)

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #8

Dec 222010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the openings in the wheels allowed ice to freeze inside and would cause the vehicle to vibrate abnormally. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired for the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The current mileage was approximately 5,000 and the failure mileage was approximately 2,000. Updated 5/9/11 updated 06/06/11

- Brunswick, ME, USA

problem #7

Apr 112011

Fusion 5-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
2010 Ford Fusion. 19,000 miles. Noticed a missing lugnut on 4/11/11. One wheel stud on front driver's side wheel has snapped off. Car is currently at the dealer for service.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 152011

Fusion 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,229 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle would jerk violently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the front and rear passenger side wheels were bent and would need to be replaced. The front passenger side wheel was replaced and the dealer stated that the vehicle was safe to drive with the other defective wheel. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure and current mileage was 17,229. Updated 05/04/11 the consumer stated the vehicle pulled to the left and there was a vibration coming from the vehicle. Also, the wheels were bent. Updated 07/08/11

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #5

Mar 202011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
Found two missing lug nuts/studs from the left rear tire of a 2010 Ford Fusion. Car had only 10,000 miles and the tires/wheels had never been serviced. I found 1 lug nut with the stuud in it laying in my street. Stud looks like a clean break not typically associated with overtightening. After insisting, the dealer replaced both. Will keep an eye on the rest based on number of complaints found online.

- Clarkston, MI, USA

problem #4

Mar 122011

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 17,460 miles
I discovered missing lug nuts on two separate wheels on my 2010 Ford Fusion SE. The front passenger side wheel and the rear drivers side wheel. As I looked closer, I noticed that the wheel stud bolt had broken off. I do not know when the wheel studs broke although the one on the rear driver side appears to have happened some time ago as the surface of the break has already corroded. The surface of the break on the front passenger wheel appears to be more recent as there is little to no corrosion. This issue did not cause an accident or any vehicle damage that I am aware of at this time. The vehicle has 17,460 miles on it and was purchased at the end of May 2010. This vehicle is used for personal use - I drive it to and from work which is a 65 mile round trip.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #3

Oct 142010

Fusion

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the rear tire studs fractured several times and were replaced yet the failure consistently recurred. The dealer advised that the failure was not common for a vehicle with such low mileage. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 5,000 and the current mileage was 7,500.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #2

Oct 102010

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 6,597 miles
Broken wheel studs 2010 Fusion 2 broke Oct 2010 left rear whell replace 2-8-11 noticed 1 missing passenger front 1 missing driver rear. Delaer will not replace all as I requested for safety. Updated 02/11/11 updated IVOQ 03/16/11

- Rockwood, MI, USA

problem #1

May 102010

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Ford Fusion. While traveling 35 mph, the contact heard a banging noise from outside the vehicle; suddenly the front drivers side tire locked up, causing a loss of control of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told that the cause of the failure could not be determined. The failure mileage was approximately 10,000 and the current mileage was approximately 17,000. Updated 01/04/11 updated 01/07/11

- Summerville, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?