Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
45,428 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Jul 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 47,630 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at 35 mph the engine failed to respond to the throttle (gas pedal) and slowed. The engine ran at a rough idle at about 900 RPM. The check engine light was illuminated. The car was towed to the Ford dealer who advised the "throttle body" needed to be replaced. The part was on back order and it took 10 days to get the car repaired. This would have been a dangerous/life threatening situation had it occurred on the interstate at 65 mph!

- Budd Lake, NJ, USA

problem #99

Jul 082013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Was driving and wrench light came on and the car almost came completely to a stop. Could not go more than a few mph. Shut off car, and everything was fine. On 7/22/2013, the wrench light and check engine light came on 3 times and the car was in limp mode. Wrench light shut off but check engine light stayed on. Car is currently at a shop being diagnosed.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #98

Jul 182013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
***note: This started in May 2013 happened 3 times. Dealership replace an intake sensor and then it happened again as listed below. This is putting me and my daughters in danger everytime this happens without prior warning. ---------------------------------------- July 19, 2013 @ 3:29 am: Without warning this time the "check engine" indicator came on, the car made a weird noise like a dying rumble/purring noise as it became silent and all power left. -she put the care in "P? park -started the engine and it acted normal -------------------------------------- July 19, 2013 @3:28 am: Without warning the ?throttle control/transmission? indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -she put the care in ?P? park -started the engine and it acted normal ------------------------------------------- July 19, 2013 @ 1:20 am : without warning the ?throttle control/transmission? indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -she put the care in ?P? park -started the engine and it acted normal ---------------------------------------------------------- July 18, 2013 @4:30 pm: Without warning the ?throttle control/transmission? indicator lit up, the car became silent and all power left. -she put the care in ?P? park ".I was in the back seat & instructed her what to do. -started the engine and it acted normal ***** Ford dealership service technicians could not find or duplicate the problem. The issue escalated to the Ford engineers. They determined that it was something like the massive intake air flow sensor and installed a new one ( Ford part: Fp 3L3Z-128579-ba sensor assy) June 13 just prior to my business trip on June 17,2013.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #97

Jan 012013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving on the highway at a rate of 70 mph with traffic behind and ahead of me, I lost power and the car went into limp mode. The wrench light and check engine light went on. I could no longer speed up and began to lose speed (rather quickly I might add) the car immediately behind me came very close to colliding with me! I couldn't go faster than 30 mph and had to pull over on the shoulder of the highway. I turned the car off and when I tried to turn it back on, it took an oddly longer amount of time to turn on. (like holding the key turned in the ignition) then sitting at a traffic light, when I started to go when it turned green, I was going 5 mph and the RPM's shot up to 3000 RPM! under 40 mph, it was up near 3000 RPM! Ford, please examine this again! this is dangerous! why wait until an accident actually happens?

- Robbinsville, NC, USA

problem #96

Jul 102013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
While driving down the highway, the throttle on the vehicle became unresponsive and we had to make our way across traffic to the highway shoulder. This happened at many different speeds including idle. After taking it to a local parts store to have the "service engine light" code checked, the results showed a P2112 "throttle actuator control system - stuck closed". several times the car would shut off as the tachometer was moving erratically. I feel we were lucky this didn't cause an accident as the car shutoff several times while entering intersections and driving around "blind corners".

- Englewood, OH, USA

problem #95

Jun 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 58,500 miles
1st incident: I was with my children in the car at a red light, when the light changed to green I pushed the gas pedal to move forward the car started jerking and shaking then all the power was lost to the car. The wrench light was also on. I turned the key off, waited a few minutes turn the key again and car started and drove fine from there. 2nd incident: My husband stopped at a stop sign with myself and my children in the car, proceeded forward and the car began to loose power and jerking and shaking, we only made it across the intersection because we drifted. The wrench light came on. He turned the key off, waited a few minutes, turned the key and car started and drove okay from there. 3rd incident: Myself with my children in the car stopped at a red light. When I proceeded to turn and go forward the car began loosing power, then started jerking and shaking and the wrench light came on. I turned the key off, waited a few minutes and started it back up and went ok from there. Took the car to dealer and they diagnosed it as throttle body problem that needed $771 in repair. It is past the 36,000 mile warranty. We bought the car used from the dealer, past the emissions warranty date. This is a safety issue and concern that should warrant a recall.

- Linthicum, MD, USA

problem #94

Jun 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Incident#1: traveling on freeway fast lane at around 65 mph, engine appeared to cut out for no apparent reason. Lost all power, but radio still on. Put on emergency flashers and was fortunate enough to be able to get all the way over to emergency lane. Turned off ignition, took out key, turned car back on, and everything started normally. Was able to get back home without any other problem. Incident#2: pulling away from a stop sign at around 5 mph after having driven only about a mile from home. Engine cut out again as I was accelerating. Pulled to the side of the road and turned off car, removed key from ignition, started car again and everything was fine. Fortunately, I have been alone in the car when this has happened, but I have two children under 4 whom I Transport often. It seems like only a matter of time before I'm in a more serious situation and this happens again (such as turning left into oncoming traffic with my kids in the car). Based on many complaints on this site and actual personal accounts of other Ford Fusion owners who have had the exact same problem, it seems obvious that there is a problem with the throttle body. Hopefully there will be a fix for this before someone gets seriously injured.

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #93

Jun 222013

Fusion

  • 55,000 miles
I was leaving a shopping center and had to a stop to yield to traffic. When I placed my foot on the accelerator, I noticed that the car seemed to have lost power. I could not accelerate above10 mph. I also felt the car shaking violently. The check engine and mechanic's wrench warning lights on the dashboard illuminated. I pulled to a stop at the gas station, shut off the engine and re-started the vehicle. Afterwards, the warning lights on the dashboard were no longer illuminated, and the car seemed to return to normal. A few miles down the road (on a highway where the speed limit is 50 mph), I came to a stop at a traffic light. Once the light turned green, I attempted to accelerate but found that my car had lost power once again and could hardly move. The check engine light was also illuminated again. I was stuck in the left lane of the road with no shoulder to pull onto--a very dangerous situation. I put on my hazard lights, turned the car off and on again. Then, I was able to drive the car normally a few miles to my home. However, the engine light remained illuminated. I had the car towed to a repair shop because I considered it unsafe to drive. The shop informed me that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The part was on national back-order for over a week.. clearly, this is a common problem for Ford Fusion. Considering the safety risks, I am very surprised that there has been no recall.

- Abingdon, MD, USA

problem #92

Jul 122013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 54,530 miles
While driving vehicle lost engine power. Rpms went to zero, engine stayed at idle speed and throttle control light (wrench symbol) came on. No response when gas pedal pressed. Coasted to side of road and turned ignition off. Waited 10 minutes and car started up with no problems and no warning light. My concern is that if this happened in heavy/faster traffic it may have caused an accident. And after researching online as to what may have caused this failure it seems there are a large number of consumers having the same problem with this make and model. Several suggested filing a complaint on this site.

- Magnolia, DE, USA

problem #91

Jul 122013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I own a 2011 Ford Fusion SE. While driving 60 mph, the engine felt like it lost power with the illumination of the wrench warning icon. I pulled the vehicle over, turned off the car, and allowed it to sit for a minute before I was able to proceed with turning on the car and driving the vehicle home. After reading similar reports online, I submitted a service request to a local Ford dealer to have the throttle body replaced. This was about the third time over the past month this issue has occurred.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #90

Jul 032013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving my 2011 Ford Fusion down the road, it unexpectedly lost power. The engine remained on (lights, radio, etc.), but pushing on the accelerator did not cause it to accelerate. The car was turned off & a few minutes later, an attempt to restart the car was made. The starter turned over multiple times & finally started. This occurred three times in a five-day period. It was taken to the dealership, where they have been unable to replicate the occurrence, though they suspect there is an issue with the throttle body. One has been ordered for replacement. I feel this is a very unsafe situation as the car unexpectedly stopped all three times -- had anyone been driving behind me (particularly at the speeds we were traveling), I feel that serious injury to me & my passengers could have occurred.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #89

Jul 022013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 57,300 miles
The power steering went of while I was driving at approximately 45mph. The indicator showed check power trac power steering. Took it to the dealer where I bought the car and they put it on a computer to see what was wrong. The computer showed the power gear needs to be replaced at $1600. But the service tech said that may not be all that's wrong, but first need to replace the power gear. This should be covered in the warranty and this should be a recall due to having occurred numerous times before. Neither of which is occurring. This could be very dangerous and cause serious injury if the car, for incidence, is in the passing lane. After the car lost its power steering, I was able to stop and restart, which corrected the steering.

- Saltville, VA, USA

problem #88

Jun 272013

Fusion

  • 27,784 miles
While accelerating on the highway at approximate. 65 mph on 27jun13, at 1745, the 2011 Ford Fusion sel lost all acceleration. We pulled over to the right hand shoulder, put the vehicle in park, and turned it off. We waited a moment, restarted then engine, and proceeded to merge with traffic. Less than two miles later, the same thing happened. We pulled over again, turned off engine and waited a moment. We restarted it and drove it home. Friday 5 jul13 the car went to kolwaski Ford in avon lake oh. The reprogrammed the PCM for the rough shift of the transmission. We picked up the car, and less than 4 miles from the deals hip we had the repairs done, we experienced the same issue of lost acceleration. We called the dealership's service department, and advised the same engine failure occurred. While driving back to the dealerships, the engine once again lost power at an intersection. The car is currently at the service center of kolwaski Ford in avon lake oh.

- Sheffield Lake, OH, USA

problem #87

Jun 242013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 38,700 miles
6 times in the past 9 days, the Ford Fusion has been driving at various speeds (25 mph to 65 mph) and suddenly a "wrench" warning light has illuminated on the dash, and simultaneously the car seems to lose all power to the wheels. Depressing the pedal doesn't result in any acceleration or to maintain speed, but the RPM's don't increase either. This is very unsafe. In one of the incidents the car was in the left hand lane of a major highway, traveling at 65 mph, and had to be guided over onto the left median as it decelerated with traffic piling up behind. The car can always be turned off, then re-started, put back in drive, and then functions normally. This seems to be the same throttle body issue that is widely reported on Ford Fusion forum websites. The car was bought used, but has been driven for almost 1 year and 9,000 miles and this issue had never appeared before 9 days ago.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #86

Jun 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 34,800 miles
It was raining heavily and my son and I were entering a highway via a ramp and the vehicle lost all acceleration and throttle response. I moved the car over to the side of the road. The car was idling but had not throttle response. Stuck in the rain along the side of road. Called for a tow truck to have the car towed to Ford. Diagnosed as bad throttle body. Part back ordered for days. Seems to be a common problem.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #85

Jun 232013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
On June 23, 2013, I was at a stop light and in the process of turning right when I accelerated my car suddenly lost power and wouldn't go any faster than 2 mph and a wrench light came on in the dash. I pulled into a driveway that was close but I was on a busy street. I didn't want to turn the car off being afraid that it would not start back up so I backed out and attempted to drive home because I was very close to my home. I backed out and was able to drive the car home going this same speed...at times the car would act like it wanted to accelerate but never did. When I made it home I turned the car off and out of curiosity turned it back on to see if it would start and it started right up and the wrench was gone. I then drove it around my neighborhood to see if it would duplicate the problem but it didn't. on the next day, I asked someone to follow me as I drove the car down a busy highway, still trying to see if the problem would duplicate and it would not. On yesterday, June 29, 2013, I was out driving going about 35 mph and the same issue described above happened (2 more times) and each time I turned the car off and started it back up and it was fine. I just purchased my car used from a reputable dealership on Feb 25, 2013 and it had 59,000 miles on it when I purchased it so it's no longer under factory warranty and I didn't purchase and extended warranty. Today I just happened to search to see if others are having this same issue with their Ford and saw a # of the same complaints and truly hope that Ford recalls the vehicles for this and I not have to pay for this repair out of pocket because clearly this is an issue beyond the consumers control.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #84

Jun 072013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,682 miles
2300 RPM, transmission lurches, no throttle response. I have to pull over and cut the ignition off to reset the sensor. Happened multiple times and finally the check engine light glowed. I went to the Ford dealership they said the throttle sensor was bad. I pay them to replace the whole throttle body, which I read online is constantly recurring. Not covered in warranty and the number of times this has happened, Ford should be responsible for a faulty part. Not me.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #83

Jun 282013

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 25,610 miles
I just purchased this car on June 26 2013 with 25580 miles. I pulled out of a parking lot and with no warning an orange wrench indicator came on the instrument panel followed by a complete loss of throttle response. I was able to pull over, put the car in park and restart the car. The wrench disappeared and the car was driving well. After about two miles I entered the interstate. After several miles traveling in heavy traffic I was able to cruise at about 65 to 70 miles per hour. With no warning just as described in the first occurrence, the wrench light came on and I had no use of the throttle. I had to pull over to the side of the road and this time the car was bucking and shuddering. I was able to restart the car and continue the rest of my trip. I have to bring it to the dealer on 07/01/2013 to have it diagnosed, but it is running ok now. The only other problem I have had is a random wavering idle speed. A few times the car has hunted between 600-900 rpms while in drive sitting at a traffic light. At first I thought this just the car making adjustments but now I wonder if it is all related. I am nervous driving the car because you have to pull over, stop, restart and then proceed. I tried both times the throttle died to shift into neutral, restart and continue to no avail. I have a 2009 Ford Fusion and have no similar issues.

- Jefferson, LA, USA

problem #82

Jun 282013

Fusion

  • 41,200 miles
I was driving down our street and the engine lost power. I put it in neutral, pulled over, and turned off the car. I waited for about 30 seconds then restarted. It took a few seconds for my car to come back on. I continued driving and the car lost power like this three more times. I was concerned for my safety as I had to pull over on the side of the highway each time this happened. I drove to a mechanics shop and they did a diagnostic test and they informed me that it was the throttle body. I was informed that the part is on nationwide back order. There are 150+ orders from Ford infront of mine. If the issue is this wide, it only seems right that a recall should be issued.

- Salado, TX, USA

problem #81

Jun 272013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 44,900 miles
Was driving on a heavily congested road and the car suddenly lost power and was limping along. I had to pull over and be towed to a Ford repair facility. Was told that the electronic throttle body was bad.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?