CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Fusion builds off the 2010's reputation. That's not a good thing.

The first thing that jumps out is the ridiculous amount of power steering complaints. It grinds, it squeals, and it eventually just fails.

And if losing power steering isn’t enough for you, how about a sudden loss of engine power? That combination is enough to achieve clunker status.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 1
Average Mileage:
65,162 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 7 of 29)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #444

Jun 102015

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving at various speeds, the power steering warning light illuminated. The contact discovered that the power steering assistance failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering gear assembly needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Kettering , OH, USA

problem #443

Aug 272015

Fusion

  • 97,494 miles
My 2011 Ford Fusion SE has had the power steering assist failure light go off and the power steering does not work. I have read previous complaints and have restarted the vehicle after a minute or so and the light goes off, the power steering again works. I had the vehicle to the Ford dealership for an aligment and they had the same power steering issue. There has been a recall issued for this exact problem by Ford, however my particular vehicle is not part of the recall. I have talked to Ford and they have passed on my complaint to customer service who state there isn't anything they can do. I am so disgusted by Ford right now. I do fully understand that the recall is for certain vehicles manufactured at certain plants with certain parts, however I don't understand how a company can ignore someone regarding a safety issue that is exactly the same as the one their recall is for. Very unfair. At this time, I either have to pay out of pocket for the repair or continue to have a vehicle that is unsafe to drive.

- Roscommon, MI, USA

problem #442

Aug 122015

Fusion

  • 105,200 miles
On 2 recent occasions, I lost my power steering while driving my vehicle. I did not get into an accident but nearly went off the road. I received 2 messages on my dashboard. Power steering assist default and service advancetrac. It is my understanding there is a recall ( 15S318) on 2011 Ford Fusion and other Ford vehicles with the same issue. I called Ford on 08/24/2015 and they told me my vehicle was not included in the recall. Approx cost for repair is 1600-2000. The power steering will not reset itself so I cannot drive the vehicle. It would be greatly appreciated if you could look into this matter.

- Sutton, MA, USA

problem #441

Jul 042015

Fusion

  • 59,571 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving early in the morning on July 4, 2015 and the steering went out prior to hitting a deer. I tried to avoid hitting the deer but couldn't turn fast enough due to the loss of steering. Since then I have had the subframe and both upper and lower control arms on both sides replaced and a wheel alignment completed as well. Still the loss of steering exists and the local dealership is not wanting to fix the issue. The first time the lost of steering occured I took the car to midas and they replaced the two 50 amp fuses and steering was restored. But Ford dealership is stating they saw no dtcs relating to loss of steering but the loss of steering message still shows up on dash.

- Fort Drum, NY, USA

problem #440

Jul 012015

Fusion

  • 98,100 miles
It appeared to be loss of steering when leaving a parking spot in the parking lot. Steering still worked, but was difficult to turn, was able to get vehicle home by driving very slowly. After one day the car started up and the steering seemed to work ok again, but a steering code flashed in dash. Have not fixed car yet -- was told that repair would be over $1700 by a mechanic.

- North Royalton, OH, USA

problem #439

Jun 182015

Fusion

  • 38,300 miles
Power steering assist fault - causing power steering failure. Restarting car fixed problem. Happen a few times up until August 18th (at 39,500 miles) when I had a complete power steering failure. Power steering assist fault warning on car dash. No fixing it this time. Had to have car towed to a garage for repair. Once the correct rack & pinion part was located - was only one available in the entire us. It is on order for my garage however I'm not sure it is even going to fix the issue. This exact problem is being recalled on #15S18 - however my car was not included due to the month it was manufactured. This is according to Ford customer care. The recall needs to be expanded to include my car.

- Pine City, NY, USA

problem #438

Aug 012015

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On August 1st, 2015, I was on my way home at about 10 pm at night. I was going up a hill that curved to the left and suddenly lost control of my steering wheel. Instead of turning left the car proceeded to go straight where I then began to panic. I then slammed my brake to the floor and it somehow unexpectedly sped up. I crashed into a power line and smashed the front end into a tree that had totaled my vehicle. I have seat belt burns on my neck, stitches on my knee, abrasions, suffered from a minor concussion, a large amount of bruises, small cuts on my hands and forehead. I have full medical documents of my injuries including pictures. I later found out there were 2 recalls on the vehicle a power steering and 1 full throttle body recall. The power steering was completely replaced previously in 7/16/2013 & 10/26/2013 and there was no solution to the throttle body recall except a extend warranty. I also went to the car dealership where I purchased my vehicle 2 days before the accident and they mentioned nothing about any of the recalls. They also had no clue why it was making the strange noises and told me it was fine after 4 hours of service. I'm still currently experiencing pain in my shoulder that was diagnosed at the orthopedics on August 18th. I have to attend physical therapy twice a week for 6 weeks. I currently have shooting pains in my left shoulder & muscle spasms. Also my leg has nerve damage where I'm still experiencing numbness at this time. There is also permanent scarring from the seatbelt burns & the air bag ripping off the skin of my left thumb. We have documentation of everything including the police report, car diagnosis and the vehicle is still at the tow lot. No one else was involved or injured however there is documentation of the previous power steering recall accident.

- Woodbine, MD, USA

problem #437

Sep 132011

Fusion

  • 5,119 miles
On August 1st, 2015, I was on my way home at about 10 pm at night. I was going up a hill that curved to the left and suddenly lost control of my steering wheel. Instead of turning left the car proceeded to go straight where I then began to panic. I then slammed my brake to the floor and it somehow unexpectedly sped up. I crashed into a power line and smashed the front end into a tree that had totaled my vehicle. I have seat belt burns on my neck, stitches on my knee, abrasions, suffered from a minor concussion, a large amount of bruises, small cuts on my hands and forehead. I have full medical documents of my injuries including pictures. I later found out there were 2 recalls on the vehicle a power steering and 1 full throttle body recall. The power steering was completely replaced previously in 7/16/2013 & 10/26/2013 and there was no solution to the throttle body recall except a extend warranty. I also went to the car dealership where I purchased my vehicle 2 days before the accident and they mentioned nothing about any of the recalls. They also had no clue why it was making the strange noises and told me it was fine after 4 hours of service. IżżM still currently experiencing pain in my shoulder that was diagnosed at the orthopedics on August 18th. I have to attend physical therapy twice a week for 6 weeks. I currently have shooting pains in my left shoulder & muscle spasms. Also my leg has nerve damage where IżżM still experiencing numbness at this time. There is also permanent scarring from the seatbelt burns & the air bag ripping off the skin of my left thumb. We have documentation of everything including the police report, car diagnosis and the vehicle is still at the tow lot. No one else was involved or injured however there is documentation of the previous power steering recall accident.

- Woodbine, MD, USA

problem #436

Aug 092015

Fusion

  • 86,214 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 60 mph, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagosed that the power steering gear assembly needed to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 86,214. The VIN was unavailable.

- El Dorado, AR, USA

problem #435

Sep 082014

Fusion

  • 24,800 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving various speeds, the steering wheel seized. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the power steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,800.

- Ocean, NJ, USA

problem #434

Aug 032015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the steering wheel failed. After starting up the engine and attempting to turn the steering wheel, the vehicle lost power. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the power steering rack was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #433

Jul 142015

Fusion

  • 93,941 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, there was a loss of power steering without warning. The vehicle was driven with caution and difficulty in maneuvering the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the power steering control module, rack and pinion and other related components were replaced. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 15V340000 (steering) however, the recall remedy was performed prior to the receiving the recall notification. The contact was upset because the manufacturer refused to reimburse for previous repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,941.

- Lawson, MO, USA

problem #432

Aug 092015

Fusion

  • 101,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 5 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. After the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The contact powered the vehicle off and back on; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 101,000.

- Firth, NE, USA

problem #431

Aug 042015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 15V340000 (steering) and stated that the part needed was not available. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact mentioned that a failure was experienced upon reversing out of the driveway. The power steering and the system sensor fault warning lights illuminated. The steering wheel locked and the contact was unable to drive the vehicle. In addition, the instrument panel failed and the gauges were not showing a proper reading. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Smiths , AL, USA

problem #430

Jun 162015

Fusion

  • 55,432 miles
Car started chiming and could not turn the steering wheel.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #429

Aug 012015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #428

Jul 302015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (steering); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Coral , FL, USA

problem #427

Jul 132015

Fusion

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Fusion. While driving 20 mph making a left turn, the contact's vehicle crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact stated that the recall notice was received for NHTSA campaign number: 15V340000 (power steering). The contact's teeth went through her bottom lip, which required medical attention. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic, but was not diagnosed or repaired. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #426

May 012014

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
I took my car in for a recall (15S18) and all they did was reset my sensor. The code my car threw was not in a list of codes that would warrant a gear replacement. The problem is that I have had the power steering fail at least 6 times in the last year and I do not feel that they were taking that seriously. They basically stated at the dealership that if I wanted it fixed I would have to pay for it. I called the Ford company and they were also not helpful. They stated that if it happens again I can bring it back to be checked and it is still fixable until 12/31/2015. I feel that if I am in an accident now because of this they will be negligent in their duties because of this recall and I do noy know what to do next. Do I have an recourse?

- West Bountiful, UT, USA

problem #425

Jun 222015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 83,600 miles
Power assist when out on the car and it was almost impossible to steer. Moved to a safe place and restarted the car. This is a disaster waiting to happen. I consider this a major safety issue iwth this car. Has happended mutiple times since then. What has to happen before there is a recall? I am having it repaired for safety reasons, but I am having to pay for their defective parts. Updated 09/08/15 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired at the manufacturer's expense. Updated 12/16/2015

- Garland, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?