Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
29,208 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Sep 012016


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the rear doors were re-opening involuntarily and the door ajar warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on several occasions. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Redding, CA, USA

problem #43

Sep 022016


  • 56,000 miles
I was driving my 2013 Ford Fusion, 1.6L ecoboost to work when I noticed the engine started overheating while I was driving up a hill. I saw smoke coming from the engine and pulled over. As I did this, someone driving by said they saw flames coming from under my car. I immediately pulled the car onto some pavement and got out to check. I saw flames dripping from the oil reservoir. I grabbed my backpack and started running up the hill to my office, which was only about 100 yards away, to get a fire extinguisher. As I started running, I heard a loud woosh sound and saw that the entire front of the car had burst into flames. Less than a minute after I had gotten out of the car. The flames were about 15 feet high and luckily didn't ignite the dry, grassy hillside. The fire department came after about 20 minutes and put out the fire.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #42

Sep 262016


  • 39,297 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. As a result, the vehicle crashed into a curb on the opposite side of the street. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was not filed. There were no injuries reported. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electronic steering failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 39,297.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #41

Aug 302016


  • 29,000 miles


I replaced my battery 2 weeks ago, because my car kept not starting with push start, this happened 4 times in July 2016. The push button would not start my car, and left me stranded 4 times, I got a jump each time. On 8-30-16 I picked my son up from school, and went back to my car to push start it, and all of the power is functional, except the A/C and the push start will not start. I called fariway Ford in burgaw, and they could care less, I am stranded. I researched this and it's saying it could be something to do with the anti theft system, or some type of module. My car only has 29,000 miles on it, and it's not under warranty. There has got to be a recall on this, it's a safety issue, what if it died while I was driving down the street. My brakes and steering are gone too. I can't depress the break, or turn the wheel without a lot of effort.

- Winnabow, NC, USA

problem #40

Jul 262016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While attempting to turn the vehicle, the power steering assist became difficult to operate. The steering wheel suddenly began to vibrate and the power steering assist warning light illuminated. The instrument panel also indicated many other warning lights and functions were being activated that were not in use. The vehicle was taken to a certified mechanic and dealer. Both stated that the power assist failed and there was also an electrical failure. The contact was unable to recall the actual electrical failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #39

Jul 022016


  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to be restarted. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred while still at the dealer. The technician stated that the fuel gauge needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 44,000. Updated 09/27/16

- St Joseph, MI, USA

problem #38

Apr 102016


  • 29,200 miles


We purchased the car this past Saturday and on Sunday, the passenger door ajar light came on. The car cannot be completely locked due to the sensor 'thinking' that the front passenger door is not shut, when in fact it is. Also the alarm goes off when we try to remotely lock the car.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #37

Mar 112016


  • 55,000 miles
The electric motor on the front passenger seat stopped working and without manual controls the seat cannot be adjusted.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #36

Feb 152016


  • 33,112 miles
The air bag light on the dash came on. I took it into the Ford dealership and they claimed that the wiring harness under the seat was crushed, supposedly by an empty jelly jar that was under neath the seat on the drivers side. I have the jelly jar and its not even broken. Ford claims its my fault and to get in touch withmy insurance company which I have but since the light (airbag ) light has come on, my seat doesn't work does not move back or forward and the light that tells if if the seat belt is fastened doesn't work. I haven't heard back from my insurance company but im wondering if more Fusion owners than just me have had this problem with the wiring harness and if the problem is due to the location of the wiring harness rather than the jelly jar which is unbroken. I am a 72 year old woman and although im slightly overweight, I cannot imagine how my weight and the jelly jar could disable the whole case. It doesn't look crushed but I'm taking it to my mechanic tomorrow and having him take the seat out and look at the wiring harness. The vehicle was stationary when the light came on about a week ago.

- Owego, NY, USA

problem #35

Apr 202014


  • 20,000 miles
Purchased vehicle new in Feb 2013. Has shut down 4 times while in motion. 3 were in town at slow speeds first time was around summertime the first or second year, but the last was 12/24/2015 on the interstate running a steady 75 mph in the inside lane in very heavy traffic. Only by the grace of god was I able to maneuver it to the shoulder without getting run over! each time the dash goes black and engine (and power steering/brakes) shuts of. There were no warning lights before or after the shut down. Only thing still working was the radio. (it normally plays until you open the door anyway) each time it started right up after stopping. Has been in for repair 3 times. No fault codes present and service tech "could not replicate the problem", so nothing has been done, other than the numerous recalls that have been issued. I no longer feel safe in this car!!! I have contacted Ford customer satisfaction center and registered a complaint with them.their response was to take it to another Ford dealer for a second opinion. That is very inconvenient due to the next dealer being 2 hours away and they would need to keep the car for a day or two to try to "replicate the problem". it is very sporadic. It could be six months before it does it again. A very dissatisfied customer!!!

- Aliceville, AL, USA

problem #34

Dec 062015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,200 miles


I have noted the electronic throttle body (etb) malfunction affecting Ford Fusion 2009-2013 models with 2.5/3.0L engines and the related NHTSA investigation PE 13-003, along with Ford's customer satisfaction program 13N03. I have also noted the power loss issue described in another 2013 Ford Fusion owner's experience (NHTSA complaint id #10810590. Both seem to be related to the problem I am now having with my 2013 Ford Fusion SE, which is the ecoboost model with the 1.6L turbo charged engine. After getting an obd warning along with rough engine operation and lower-than-expected fuel efficiency, the dealership replaced the canister purge valve and noted that the oil minder would not reset. That repair was performed under warranty during thanksgiving weekend 2015. Soon after, on December 6th, the car experienced power loss on two occasions upon leaving parking lots; in other words, the failure occurred at low speed within a minute of driving away from the parking space. The engine sputtered (ran roughly) then lost power, with no warning lights appearing on the instrument panel. The same problem occurred again a few days before christmas, with that occurrence also taking place upon leaving a parking lot. Furthermore, it happened again on Dec. 29th and on January 2, 2016, with the latter time occurring immediately turning onto nolensville road from a parking lot. With all of those instances happening in nashville, tn, cold weather was not a factor. Engine temperature was not at a factor as the car's most recent failures have occurred with the engine still warm. Since this problem began after the aforementioned canister purge valve replacement, I am going to have the dealership revisit that work and determine the reason why I am not seeing a warning light when this dangerous situation occurs. I will also have the car evaluated for the aforementioned etb problem.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #33

Jun 012014


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 70 mph, the exterior and interior lighting shut off. After driving a little further, all the lights illuminated again; however, the failure recurred. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there were no failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000.

- Sibley, LA, USA

problem #32

Dec 182015


  • 36,845 miles
Returned home from an hour trip and pulled into my driveway. Turned off the car, went inside, came out 30 mins later, attempted to start the car and dead silence. Radio and all other electrical components were still working. Checked the odb with an odb reader and no codes. Called aaa who came out and tested the battery and found it fully charged and working. They then checked several fuses and all worked fine. As a last resort, he completely pulled and disinfected the battery, waited 2-3 minutes reconnected it, waited another 2-3 minutes and then the car started. He felt it had something to do with the unit-theft shutting down the car preventing the key to turn. Called Ford and they never heard of it. Went online and found a number of issues relating to Ford vehicles, newer, as in 2010 and newer that encounter this issue and/or a ground issue due to painting on the ground area. Concern is, this time it shut down in my driveway, what would happen if it shutdown while being driven?

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #31

Jul 082015


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 70 mph, the power shut off. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The mechanic stated that the battery needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #30

Jun 252015


  • 49,000 miles
I was driving on the freeway, and for 2-3 seconds the dash, instrument cluster, climate and entertainment controls went dark and gave no readings. Then the car chimed like it does at startup and the controls and speedometer came back.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #29

Aug 202014


  • 26,000 miles
Not happy with my vehicle if my first time buying a Ford for my family. After I purchased the vehicle I found out it already had recalls and the dealer at Ford and didn't notify me about it I really don't feel safe at all driving the vehicle. I made a request with Ford Motor Company for a buy back on my vehecle. At that time it was denied because there was only one recall. Well now there is eight and I request for a second time for a buy back I really need to return this vehicle so that I could really spend a little more money and get in to a Benz or BMW

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 282014


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph and attempting to slowdown, the vehicle stalled and when attempting to restart the vehicle it delayed to start. The check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that parts of the engine and engine cooling needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #27

Nov 012014


  • 100 miles
One of Ford's advertised safety system is the cross traffic alert (cta) and backup sensors that alert the driver to someone immediately behind the vehicle or approaching the vehicle from the sides. We noticed that we could not hear the safety alert from the rear of the car under normal conditions. I decided to measure the loudness of the alerts to see how the they compared to normal levels. All measurements were taken at the driver's seat using dba since this weights the sound to match the Contour of the human ear. The forward sensors measure at 55 dba which is at the mid-point of normal communication (50-60 dba) and is quite noticeable under all conditions. The rear safety alert measures at 40 dba which is a little bit above a soft whisper. Normal communication is between 10 and 100 times louder. When you get in your hot car in a parking lot the A/C is on high it measures 70 dba. This is when you need the safety system to work when backing out of a parking spot. Problem is the noise from the A/C is 1,000 times louder than the safety alert rendering it inaudible unless you turn your head and lean into the back seat area, then a faint safety alert can be heard. I complained to Ford and this was assigned a case number cas-4970853. I thought it was just my car because a friend of mine has a Fusion energi same year and his is a little louder about 46 dba. The dealership could find nothing wrong and Ford said there was nothing they could do to fix it. I asked for the specification on the sound level so I could verify my car was within spec. I was told they do not have a spec, which means as long as it makes a sound it's good. If this is true it's an unforgivable lapse in quality. I was told all the hybrids are much lower level than the non-hybrids which makes this a fleet-wide safety issue. Workaround: Turn your radio up and it will mute when a safety alert occurs

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 132015


  • 27,000 miles
When the car was started it indicated a safety sensor wasn't working. Everything else seemed fine. While driving down the road the air/defrost system stopped working causing windows to fog, I also lost control over the volume and all of the console systems. Only 2 of the windows would go down. Before I was able to pull over (about 5 minutes) everything started working and at the same time while driving my electronic seat started moving forward. Finally stopping maybe in one of the pre-programed positions. We have had prior issues this past winter with losing control over the console controls and the heat shutting off. This is the first time having issues with the seat moving on its own while driving. Nothing was done because we were informed that there was no code given when we brought it in to be fixed and since it was not exhibiting the problem at the time it was in the shop there was nothing they could do. We have been trying to get the electric windows fixed since owning the car. The fact that they only work intermittently may or may not be related to these other incidents.

- Orient, OH, USA

problem #25

May 012013


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 35 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle hesitated and lost power. The contact mentioned that all the warning lights, gauges, and meters on the instrument cluster failed to function. In addition, the contact stated that the low beam head lamps were activated but were dim. As a result, the contact's visibility was diminished. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer multiple times. The technician diagnosed that the clutch, transmission, and the computer needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Germantown , TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?