CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
52,443 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #59

Jun 202014

Fusion

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 75 mph, the vehicle began to over heat and the engine over heating warning message illuminated. The failure was persistent. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the wiring harness and powertrain control module system failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, however the failure recurred. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000.

- Green River, WY, USA

problem #58

Jan 162017

Fusion

  • 52,000 miles
We were driving 70mph cruise control on a highway, let off cruise control to decrease speed on the upcoming bypass and the engine immediately powered down and we coasted to a stop on the side of the highway bypass. The engine light and orange wrench appeared. The car would not start thereafter. We had to call family to get out 5 and 7 year old and a tow truck to take the car to a shop.

- Greeley, CO, USA

problem #57

Nov 262016

Fusion

  • 72,000 miles
My vehicle has 72000 miles on it. I was driving on I90 outside of buffalo when the car had trouble accelerating, it was unable to maintain speed and by the time I was able to pull off wold not move any farther. The dealership has diagnosed the issue as needing a new transmission. A plastic cap had melted into the transmission lines, and Ford is refusing to cover the repair at 100%, as this was a manufacturer defect.

- Rutland, VT, USA

problem #56

Oct 182016

Fusion

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After the car has been driven for awhile then the engine is turned off for 10 to 20 minutes, when I restart the engine it will (within 30 seconds) begin to run rough and quit. It has done this now more than 50 times. I have taken it to the dealer 4 times, but they have not fixed the problem. Since I had to give a specific date on this form below, I picked a date that it happened.

- Oxford, MS, USA

problem #55

Dec 272016

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled and was coasted to a parking space. A "fuel economy" warning message appeared. The vehicle was turned off. Upon attempting to restart the vehicle, the contact noticed smoke underneath the hood. Once the hood was opened, flames were seen on the rear passenger side of the engine. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. The fire department was not called and a police report was not filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine head cracked from overheating, which sent oil to the hot turbo. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Frederic, WI, USA

problem #54

Oct 202016

Fusion

  • miles
Car over heating engine and collant system affected

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #53

Dec 212016

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Left my house drove 5 miles, stopped to sisters house to drop off an item, 2-3 minutes later walked outside and found flames coming out of the hood on the passenger side near windshield. Barely able to open door quick enough to get my purse out and it was engulfed. Woke up a neighbor who came over with a truck to drag it away from house and garage. Wasn't for him my sisters house would been lost as it took 25 minutes for fire department to show up. Only thing not burned is the taillights. Obviously there was an issue in the engine compartment. Have read about a recall for this specific model for this specific reason. Feeling like my insurance is not going to be very helpful with damages. What else can be done?

- Gouverneur, NY, USA

problem #52

Dec 102016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
Beginning approximately 4 months ago, from a cold start in either a reverse or forward direction, my car would slowly lose power and within 30 seconds, stall. The electronics still function, however the car must be put into park, turned off, then restarted. After researching, I discovered that my car did fit the requirements for the "recall" given to 2013 Fusion based on its assembly plant and assembly date. I visited my dealer, however they were unable to help because there "was no code thrown." Indeed, no wrench or engine warning light was given at the time of my car stalling. It has now happened nearly a dozen times - the most recent occurring on Dec 10, 2016 - and I expect it to keep happening unless the electronic throttle body is fixed. Because the dealer believes that I do not fit within the requirements however, I am unable to have this issue taken care of.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #51

Jun 092014

Fusion

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the fuel pump had low pressure. The vehicle constantly hesitated, the service engine warning indicator illuminated, and the vehicle stalled randomly several times. The manufacturer advised the contact to take the vehicle to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The approximate failure mileage was 87,000.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #50

Nov 242016

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles
Car is equipped with 1.6 echoboost issue started last year car powered down for no reason dealer could not find problem. Ford changed water pump at this time stating recall even though at this time I explained could smell antifreeze. Car began to act up again changed spark plugs only to have one stick fixed problem at my expense Ford explained never heard of this issue which is nonsense according to the numerous complaints noted online. Got car back same day check engine light came on Ford said it was fuel sensor which I paid. Next week check engine light came back on finally dealer smelled antifreeze even though this has been brought to there attention. Ford does not want to cover items even though this was a certified used car and has 65000 miles still under 100000 mile warranty. I was driving car when it stalled both times in winter when temps were below freezing. Antifreeze did not leak in garage I did explain I noted moisture when changing plugs located around head

- Walnut Cove, NC, USA

problem #49

Nov 282016

Fusion

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yesterday I purchased a vehicle through an auto broker from manheim atlanta. No more than 6 hours later the vehicle caught fire while I was driving it and exploded multiple times. 7:30pm I was driving on 285 headed home and I noticed a warning on my dash stating that the power steering assistance has a fault at the same time I noticed balls of fire coming from underneath my car. I tried to get to the shoulder however the engine seized hendering me from doing anything. By the time the car slowed the interior was filled with smoke, I jumped out then the car exploded multiple times.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #48

Nov 282016

Fusion

  • 95,800 miles
Power steering system fault came on the dash. Pressed the ok button and then noticed balls of fire coming from under the vehicle. I then tried to pull over. I couldn't brake, press the gas, or turn the steering wheel. The car then burst into flames and then the vehicle exploded and burned.

- Union City, GA, USA

problem #47

Nov 182016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was idling, the coolant over temperature warning indicator illuminated, resulting in engine failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the bypass valve and the heater hose failed and needed to be replaced. Also, the power train control module needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #46

Nov 132016

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine coolant warning indicator illuminated without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a crack in the cylinder. The engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously remedied per NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Holden, MA, USA

problem #45

Nov 152016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
This car (2013 Ford Fusion ecoboost) is 3 years old with only 50K miles. At slow speeds such as pulling out of a parking lot or coasting to a slow speed at a light or stop sign the engine just dies like it ran out of gas. You have to pull over and stop the car. You then have to restart the car. After a few seconds it starts just fine. It's random but becoming more frequent. It happened 3 times to my wife the other day. It's a safety concern and dangerous to drive in heavy traffic. The dealer said it's probably the electonic throttle body a very well known issue according to postings. Part is $700 and labor $200 for a part that is covered under warranty for other Ford Fusion but not the ecoboost! my last Ford Fusion had the same problem. That cost me $500. I guess I didn't learn my lesson then but I've learned my lesson now. Will get rid of this car and never buy Ford again. I look at every Ford Fusion on the road now as a death trap waiting to happen. I hope to get rid of mine in time.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #44

Nov 142016

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 55 mph in stop and go traffic, the contact noticed smoke coming from the front of the vehicle. The contact pulled the vehicle over, turned off the vehicle, and noticed smoke coming from the front vents of the vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The fire department extinguished the fire and no reports were filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact stated that the overheating sensor warning indicator previously illuminated, which indicated that the vehicle overheated when it actually had not. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the coolant temperature sensor malfunctioned and coolant was leaking onto the sensor. The sensor connection was damaged. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact found NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling), but was unsure if vehicle was included. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Anna, TX, USA

problem #43

Jan 032016

Fusion

  • 22,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle new delivered to the dealership from another location with just under 200 miles on the odometer. I noticed my first issue when the motor would stall going at a low rate of speed 15-20mph through a parking lot at about 22,000 miles on the odometer and also would hesitate to start. I only assumed it was bad fuel being such a new vehicle. This happened periodicaly up untile the engine gave an over temprature coolant display killing all but idle power to the ingine making the car undrivable. Thus I had the car towed to the dealership at excactly January 3, 2016 with 64,056 on the odometer. I had then noticed recalls for this particular motor in Ford Fusion and escapes with this particular size engine. After the recalls repairs were completed for my vehicle I still experienced engine stalls, but less frequent throughout this period and rough idle at initial start of the engine more frequently as time passed. The over temprature coolant message came on again, at 87,000 give or take ( again towed to dealership so they will have reported milage). I was informed that numerous repairs had to be made and are not covered under any recalls although I feel this vehicle more than meets the criteria for numerous recalls. I have had this vehicle checked for coolant leaks from another certified shop and no hoses have been found to have any leaks.

- King, NC, USA

problem #42

Sep 302016

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
My 2013 Fusion stalls out in park, reverse. When I start driving it cuts off at 20-30 mph. Worried about causing an accident. Took my car to get diagnose on 9/30/16. It was a fuel pressure sensor on the fuel rail and replaced it. Didn't clear code. Took it back on 11/10/16 to get re-diagnosed. Found that it was a purge valve that they replaced for free. 11/11/16 at 5:30pm I arrive home from work. 1 hr later my wife was going somewhere and it stalled out. Thank god it happened in our apartment complex. This issues is dagerous when driving on the the road. I'm taking it back 11/12/2016. Lets see whats they tell my..Ford, please help us with this issue. This is the only car I have...

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #41

Oct 142016

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 55 mph, the front end of the vehicle caught fire. The engine overheated, shut off, and the engine warning indicator illuminated. The fire department extinguished the fire and a police report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed and deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #40

Sep 022016

Fusion

  • 56,000 miles
I was driving my 2013 Ford Fusion, 1.6L ecoboost to work when I noticed the engine started overheating while I was driving up a hill. I saw smoke coming from the engine and pulled over. As I did this, someone driving by said they saw flames coming from under my car. I immediately pulled the car onto some pavement and got out to check. I saw flames dripping from the oil reservoir. I grabbed my backpack and started running up the hill to my office, which was only about 100 yards away, to get a fire extinguisher. As I started running, I heard a loud woosh sound and saw that the entire front of the car had burst into flames. Less than a minute after I had gotten out of the car. The flames were about 15 feet high and luckily didn't ignite the dry, grassy hillside. The fire department came after about 20 minutes and put out the fire.

- Napa, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?