Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,384 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #40

Sep 022016


  • 56,000 miles


I was driving my 2013 Ford Fusion, 1.6L ecoboost to work when I noticed the engine started overheating while I was driving up a hill. I saw smoke coming from the engine and pulled over. As I did this, someone driving by said they saw flames coming from under my car. I immediately pulled the car onto some pavement and got out to check. I saw flames dripping from the oil reservoir. I grabbed my backpack and started running up the hill to my office, which was only about 100 yards away, to get a fire extinguisher. As I started running, I heard a loud woosh sound and saw that the entire front of the car had burst into flames. Less than a minute after I had gotten out of the car. The flames were about 15 feet high and luckily didn't ignite the dry, grassy hillside. The fire department came after about 20 minutes and put out the fire.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #39

Sep 202016


  • 70,000 miles
My car cuts off while driving with a shaking. This has happened several times over the last few weeks. This happens whether I am backing out or driving at different speeds.

- Golden, MS, USA

problem #38

Jul 112016


  • 53,000 miles
We have had our 2103 Fusion now for 2 months. 1 week after having the car it began to make a humming noise around the gas tank area, then when you slowed down for a red light the car would stall and be hard to start back. Sent the car back to the dealership to only be told they couldn't find anything wrong. Once we received the car back we drove it for a couple of days and the car started making the noise again and would stall again. Called dealership and took car back again still nothing. Received car back and began to notice when we was fueling the car that the RPM gauge would go up and down and then the vehicle would quit and be very hard to start back. While driving the vehicle about 3 weeks ago it stalled again and would not start back, finally after about 30 mins of trying the car started. Sent car back to dealership again and they have had the car 3 weeks and they are saying they can not find anything wrong with the vehicle. I asked if they had put fuel in it like I advised they proceeded to tell me no. I advised them when they did to let me know what the car did. We no longer feel safe driving the car. I believe we either have a fuel pump issue or the vehicle is pulling air in from the fueling system and is causing it to air lock. The vehicle has quit about 12-15 times in the 2 months we have had

- Rush, KY, USA

problem #37

Jul 292016


  • 80,000 miles


We have a 2013 Ford Fusion and while driving car making a right turn the passenger rear door flew open luckily our child was sitting away from the door and we were on our driveway turning on a small highway. The door latch is not allowing door to stay shut. Upon research we found there is a recall on door latch of 2013 Ford Fusion manufactured at hermosillo plant and during certain dates in 2012. We taped our door shut and went to dealership they stated that our vehicle is not part of this recall. I informed them that our car was manufactured in hermosillo plant in 2013 and it fits the recall description. However they would not pay for it even though it is a recall. They want us to put up the $400 to pay for it when their company has a recall on door latches. We had another issue with the coolant and again they had a recall on the coolant system as well but our car is not part of the recall although again it fit the recall description to a T. we paid to have that fixed but this is ridiculous that we have to pay out of our own pocket on a recall the company should be responsible for fixing. We don't have $400 to fork out and we need it fixed as we have 3 children that we take to school everyday and we are struggling to find out where we can get the money to fix this problem when we feel it should be Ford to fix it.

- Isleta, NM, USA

problem #36

Jul 212016


  • 105,000 miles
I need to get my engine coolant temperature sensor, coolant bypass valve, and connectors replaced due to overheating. I feel this matches the Dec 2012 recall of overheating. Harold zeigler Ford is trying to charge me $765 for this repair in which I feel matches the recall.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #35

Jun 072016


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 35 mph, the engine overheating warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 172014


  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle stalled, overheated, and the transmission and check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle on some occasions. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the water pump and the power train needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the check engine warning light illuminated again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Apr 202016


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed antifreeze on the ground. The dealer diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #32

Apr 072016


  • 45,000 miles
The air conditioning compressor clutch fell off the vehicle while driving. The bolt retaining the clutch assembly sheared off resulting in the clutch assembly separating from the compressor pulley.

- Craigsville, WV, USA

problem #31

Dec 102014


  • 26,757 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 50 mph and releasing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer software needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,757.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #30

Feb 062016


  • 64,600 miles


Yellow wrench light keep coming on while driving only down the highway at 65 to 70 mph, it also intermittent therefore the dealer cannot ever find problem codes. The codes erase when you turn off the car. I lose half of engine power and no other controls work such as cruise control and manual shifting paddle shifting. I was also told that it was my : "PCM" that is giving me the trouble. Also the electric fan is running at full speed blowing out cold air, plus the smell of burning plastic. Also when the car is started and running for about 7 to 10 minutes, I turn on the heater at 73 degrees and it is warm. Then after turning on the heater and now leaving for work, I accelerate to get onto the freeway and soon noticed that the heater is now blowing cold air and I then turn the heater up higher to 77 then the same warmth come out then that goes away til I turn the heater way up to 83 degrees. This has never happened before, I had the coolant and oil replaced and it is still doing the same thing. I get two warnings showing the yellow wrench, "power reduced to cool down engine" and "engine overheat" the sunnyvale Ford dealer charged me $200 dollars to see what was wrong with my car and said they have found nothing. But this problem only happens on the freeway driving at 65 to 75 mph. Our freeways speed limits are high on interstates 5. I do see older Ford tempo's going 80 mph and passing me while I cannot go faster to get out of the way of others. Quite insulting to me while I spend out of pocket and Ford says nothing and I get back a broken car that works sometimes. The extended warranties I pay for does not cover anything so I'm paying for a car that is soon to fail and leave me stranded at the same time I have to pay for it. Ford continue to say my car is running well and returning it back to me with problems unfixed

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 022016


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while getting an oil change on the vehicle, the contact was informed by the technician that the vehicles engine had been leaking fluid. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 012016


  • miles
Takata recall. Car died three times in the past 2 months while I was driving it. The first 2 times in less than one minute of starting car and putting into gear. The third time was after I had been driving for some time and pulled away from bank teller window. Brought to dealer in January for another recall and they couldn't find any indication of problem in history for stalling problem (that was after first time it died). Am taking car in for car latch recall and will have them check again regarding the second and third incidents.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #27

Feb 092016


  • 106,900 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle overheated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the coolant bypass valve would need to be replaced. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 106,900.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #26

Feb 202016


  • 36,000 miles
Numerous problems with this car but most recently and the most concerning is the frequent stalling at random times. The car will just go dead. Sometimes a warning in display says run active power, sometimes the check engine light comes on. When it stalls randomly it loses power and bucks a little then stalls. When driving on highway there is a terrible vibration coming from front of the car as the stalling problem gets worse it also goes into "limp mode" on highway. The car has been serviced for many weird problems such as when I was in fla in Dec and the heat came on full blast and temperature gauge said it was minus 21 degree's. it had problem with wipers, turn signals and headlights not working. I can't count how many modules have been replaced. I live in the mountains and it is very scary to be driving and not know when your car will stall. The car is at dealer yet again and it was very unsettling to discover that the dealership didn't think it was a big deal that your nearly new vehicle is stalling frequently. Which made my gut say there could be some sort of cover up. Because you literally can not trust anyone any more. I could see a class action lawsuit in the making. But while government stalls and stalls people are being killed in these cars. I have on video my car stalling. I told my family if I die in a crash today check my phone for the video's of car stalling and sue the hell out of Ford!!!

- Sylva, NC, USA

problem #25

Jan 142015


  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after a few attempts. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #24

Jan 072016

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Engine running hot engine reduce power to lower temps. This vehicle is one of the 2013 Ford Fusion 1.6 liter engine. VIN # [xxx] NHTSA recall # 12V551000 Ford recall # 12S41 this VIN # has the eighth letter "R" as a safety recall issued by Ford Motor Company by [xxx] on November 30, 2012. My vehicle was manufactured during this time of the effected vehicles. Ford is denying my claim with this engine they claim my vehicle left the mfg on 12/17/2012. 17 days after the recall was announced. But they cannot produce any documentation that my vehicle was recalled at the mfg prior to shipping to the dealer and this recall fixed. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Albertson, NC, USA

problem #23

Apr 202014


  • 20,000 miles
Purchased vehicle new in Feb 2013. Has shut down 4 times while in motion. 3 were in town at slow speeds first time was around summertime the first or second year, but the last was 12/24/2015 on the interstate running a steady 75 mph in the inside lane in very heavy traffic. Only by the grace of god was I able to maneuver it to the shoulder without getting run over! each time the dash goes black and engine (and power steering/brakes) shuts of. There were no warning lights before or after the shut down. Only thing still working was the radio. (it normally plays until you open the door anyway) each time it started right up after stopping. Has been in for repair 3 times. No fault codes present and service tech "could not replicate the problem", so nothing has been done, other than the numerous recalls that have been issued. I no longer feel safe in this car!!! I have contacted Ford customer satisfaction center and registered a complaint with them.their response was to take it to another Ford dealer for a second opinion. That is very inconvenient due to the next dealer being 2 hours away and they would need to keep the car for a day or two to try to "replicate the problem". it is very sporadic. It could be six months before it does it again. A very dissatisfied customer!!!

- Aliceville, AL, USA

problem #22

Dec 062015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 25,200 miles
I have noted the electronic throttle body (etb) malfunction affecting Ford Fusion 2009-2013 models with 2.5/3.0L engines and the related NHTSA investigation PE 13-003, along with Ford's customer satisfaction program 13N03. I have also noted the power loss issue described in another 2013 Ford Fusion owner's experience (NHTSA complaint id #10810590. Both seem to be related to the problem I am now having with my 2013 Ford Fusion SE, which is the ecoboost model with the 1.6L turbo charged engine. After getting an obd warning along with rough engine operation and lower-than-expected fuel efficiency, the dealership replaced the canister purge valve and noted that the oil minder would not reset. That repair was performed under warranty during thanksgiving weekend 2015. Soon after, on December 6th, the car experienced power loss on two occasions upon leaving parking lots; in other words, the failure occurred at low speed within a minute of driving away from the parking space. The engine sputtered (ran roughly) then lost power, with no warning lights appearing on the instrument panel. The same problem occurred again a few days before christmas, with that occurrence also taking place upon leaving a parking lot. Furthermore, it happened again on Dec. 29th and on January 2, 2016, with the latter time occurring immediately turning onto nolensville road from a parking lot. With all of those instances happening in nashville, tn, cold weather was not a factor. Engine temperature was not at a factor as the car's most recent failures have occurred with the engine still warm. Since this problem began after the aforementioned canister purge valve replacement, I am going to have the dealership revisit that work and determine the reason why I am not seeing a warning light when this dangerous situation occurs. I will also have the car evaluated for the aforementioned etb problem.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #21

Nov 032015


  • 84,009 miles
Sudden power loss, my wife was driving her 2013 Fusion changing freeways and the car lost power, slowed to a crawl, no acceleration. Very dangerous. Had it towed to the dealer. They said they couldn't find a problem, my wife told them they better find the problem, she was scared to drive it. They kept it a little longer said they changed out some module but insisted nothing was showing bad. So she picked it up and about a week later she was going down the freeway and her waze app told her to get off the freeway there was an accident up ahead, so as she is getting off the car did the same thing, sudden power loss. This time she was off crenshaw in la, not a good part of cali. She was more frightened that time. We had it towed to a different Ford dealer. Same thing they said they drove the car 312 miles and no issue. I told them I am not picking up the car. I called Ford they opened a case which really means nothing. No one this whole time has mentioned the thousands of ownersr having the same issue. So now I have left the service mgr a msg that I found out about the etb and I want it replaced. We will see if they cover it. Supposedly there is a fix order and the warranty is 10 years and 130K on the throttle body. We shall see. This problem will kill someone it's just a matter of time. Imagine making a left turn and a semi is coming, and your car dies.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?