Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
49,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Nov 182016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was idling, the coolant over temperature warning indicator illuminated, resulting in engine failure. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the bypass valve and the heater hose failed and needed to be replaced. Also, the power train control module needed to be reprogrammed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #46

Nov 132016

Fusion

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine coolant warning indicator illuminated without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a crack in the cylinder. The engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously remedied per NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Holden, MA, USA

problem #45

Nov 152016

Fusion

  • 50,000 miles
This car (2013 Ford Fusion ecoboost) is 3 years old with only 50K miles. At slow speeds such as pulling out of a parking lot or coasting to a slow speed at a light or stop sign the engine just dies like it ran out of gas. You have to pull over and stop the car. You then have to restart the car. After a few seconds it starts just fine. It's random but becoming more frequent. It happened 3 times to my wife the other day. It's a safety concern and dangerous to drive in heavy traffic. The dealer said it's probably the electonic throttle body a very well known issue according to postings. Part is $700 and labor $200 for a part that is covered under warranty for other Ford Fusion but not the ecoboost! my last Ford Fusion had the same problem. That cost me $500. I guess I didn't learn my lesson then but I've learned my lesson now. Will get rid of this car and never buy Ford again. I look at every Ford Fusion on the road now as a death trap waiting to happen. I hope to get rid of mine in time.

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #44

Nov 142016

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 55 mph in stop and go traffic, the contact noticed smoke coming from the front of the vehicle. The contact pulled the vehicle over, turned off the vehicle, and noticed smoke coming from the front vents of the vehicle. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The fire department extinguished the fire and no reports were filed. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact stated that the overheating sensor warning indicator previously illuminated, which indicated that the vehicle overheated when it actually had not. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the coolant temperature sensor malfunctioned and coolant was leaking onto the sensor. The sensor connection was damaged. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact found NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling), but was unsure if vehicle was included. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Anna, TX, USA

problem #43

Jan 032016

Fusion

  • 22,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle new delivered to the dealership from another location with just under 200 miles on the odometer. I noticed my first issue when the motor would stall going at a low rate of speed 15-20mph through a parking lot at about 22,000 miles on the odometer and also would hesitate to start. I only assumed it was bad fuel being such a new vehicle. This happened periodicaly up untile the engine gave an over temprature coolant display killing all but idle power to the ingine making the car undrivable. Thus I had the car towed to the dealership at excactly January 3, 2016 with 64,056 on the odometer. I had then noticed recalls for this particular motor in Ford Fusion and escapes with this particular size engine. After the recalls repairs were completed for my vehicle I still experienced engine stalls, but less frequent throughout this period and rough idle at initial start of the engine more frequently as time passed. The over temprature coolant message came on again, at 87,000 give or take ( again towed to dealership so they will have reported milage). I was informed that numerous repairs had to be made and are not covered under any recalls although I feel this vehicle more than meets the criteria for numerous recalls. I have had this vehicle checked for coolant leaks from another certified shop and no hoses have been found to have any leaks.

- King, NC, USA

problem #42

Sep 302016

Fusion

  • 75,000 miles
My 2013 Fusion stalls out in park, reverse. When I start driving it cuts off at 20-30 mph. Worried about causing an accident. Took my car to get diagnose on 9/30/16. It was a fuel pressure sensor on the fuel rail and replaced it. Didn't clear code. Took it back on 11/10/16 to get re-diagnosed. Found that it was a purge valve that they replaced for free. 11/11/16 at 5:30pm I arrive home from work. 1 hr later my wife was going somewhere and it stalled out. Thank god it happened in our apartment complex. This issues is dagerous when driving on the the road. I'm taking it back 11/12/2016. Lets see whats they tell my..Ford, please help us with this issue. This is the only car I have...

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #41

Oct 142016

Fusion

  • 67,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 55 mph, the front end of the vehicle caught fire. The engine overheated, shut off, and the engine warning indicator illuminated. The fire department extinguished the fire and a police report was filed. No injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed and deemed destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 67,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Brainerd, MN, USA

problem #40

Sep 022016

Fusion

  • 56,000 miles
I was driving my 2013 Ford Fusion, 1.6L ecoboost to work when I noticed the engine started overheating while I was driving up a hill. I saw smoke coming from the engine and pulled over. As I did this, someone driving by said they saw flames coming from under my car. I immediately pulled the car onto some pavement and got out to check. I saw flames dripping from the oil reservoir. I grabbed my backpack and started running up the hill to my office, which was only about 100 yards away, to get a fire extinguisher. As I started running, I heard a loud woosh sound and saw that the entire front of the car had burst into flames. Less than a minute after I had gotten out of the car. The flames were about 15 feet high and luckily didn't ignite the dry, grassy hillside. The fire department came after about 20 minutes and put out the fire.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #39

Sep 202016

Fusion

  • 70,000 miles
My car cuts off while driving with a shaking. This has happened several times over the last few weeks. This happens whether I am backing out or driving at different speeds.

- Golden, MS, USA

problem #38

Jul 112016

Fusion

  • 53,000 miles
We have had our 2103 Fusion now for 2 months. 1 week after having the car it began to make a humming noise around the gas tank area, then when you slowed down for a red light the car would stall and be hard to start back. Sent the car back to the dealership to only be told they couldn't find anything wrong. Once we received the car back we drove it for a couple of days and the car started making the noise again and would stall again. Called dealership and took car back again still nothing. Received car back and began to notice when we was fueling the car that the RPM gauge would go up and down and then the vehicle would quit and be very hard to start back. While driving the vehicle about 3 weeks ago it stalled again and would not start back, finally after about 30 mins of trying the car started. Sent car back to dealership again and they have had the car 3 weeks and they are saying they can not find anything wrong with the vehicle. I asked if they had put fuel in it like I advised they proceeded to tell me no. I advised them when they did to let me know what the car did. We no longer feel safe driving the car. I believe we either have a fuel pump issue or the vehicle is pulling air in from the fueling system and is causing it to air lock. The vehicle has quit about 12-15 times in the 2 months we have had

- Rush, KY, USA

problem #37

Jul 292016

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2013 Ford Fusion and while driving car making a right turn the passenger rear door flew open luckily our child was sitting away from the door and we were on our driveway turning on a small highway. The door latch is not allowing door to stay shut. Upon research we found there is a recall on door latch of 2013 Ford Fusion manufactured at hermosillo plant and during certain dates in 2012. We taped our door shut and went to dealership they stated that our vehicle is not part of this recall. I informed them that our car was manufactured in hermosillo plant in 2013 and it fits the recall description. However they would not pay for it even though it is a recall. They want us to put up the $400 to pay for it when their company has a recall on door latches. We had another issue with the coolant and again they had a recall on the coolant system as well but our car is not part of the recall although again it fit the recall description to a T. we paid to have that fixed but this is ridiculous that we have to pay out of our own pocket on a recall the company should be responsible for fixing. We don't have $400 to fork out and we need it fixed as we have 3 children that we take to school everyday and we are struggling to find out where we can get the money to fix this problem when we feel it should be Ford to fix it.

- Isleta, NM, USA

problem #36

Jul 212016

Fusion

  • 105,000 miles
I need to get my engine coolant temperature sensor, coolant bypass valve, and connectors replaced due to overheating. I feel this matches the Dec 2012 recall of overheating. Harold zeigler Ford is trying to charge me $765 for this repair in which I feel matches the recall.

- Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #35

Jun 072016

Fusion

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 35 mph, the engine overheating warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was aware of NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 172014

Fusion

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle stalled, overheated, and the transmission and check engine warning lights illuminated. The contact was able to restart the vehicle on some occasions. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the water pump and the power train needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the check engine warning light illuminated again. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #33

Apr 202016

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed antifreeze on the ground. The dealer diagnosed that the water pump needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #32

Apr 072016

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
The air conditioning compressor clutch fell off the vehicle while driving. The bolt retaining the clutch assembly sheared off resulting in the clutch assembly separating from the compressor pulley.

- Craigsville, WV, USA

problem #31

Dec 102014

Fusion

  • 26,757 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 50 mph and releasing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer software needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,757.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #30

Feb 062016

Fusion

  • 64,600 miles
Yellow wrench light keep coming on while driving only down the highway at 65 to 70 mph, it also intermittent therefore the dealer cannot ever find problem codes. The codes erase when you turn off the car. I lose half of engine power and no other controls work such as cruise control and manual shifting paddle shifting. I was also told that it was my : "PCM" that is giving me the trouble. Also the electric fan is running at full speed blowing out cold air, plus the smell of burning plastic. Also when the car is started and running for about 7 to 10 minutes, I turn on the heater at 73 degrees and it is warm. Then after turning on the heater and now leaving for work, I accelerate to get onto the freeway and soon noticed that the heater is now blowing cold air and I then turn the heater up higher to 77 then the same warmth come out then that goes away til I turn the heater way up to 83 degrees. This has never happened before, I had the coolant and oil replaced and it is still doing the same thing. I get two warnings showing the yellow wrench, "power reduced to cool down engine" and "engine overheat" the sunnyvale Ford dealer charged me $200 dollars to see what was wrong with my car and said they have found nothing. But this problem only happens on the freeway driving at 65 to 75 mph. Our freeways speed limits are high on interstates 5. I do see older Ford tempo's going 80 mph and passing me while I cannot go faster to get out of the way of others. Quite insulting to me while I spend out of pocket and Ford says nothing and I get back a broken car that works sometimes. The extended warranties I pay for does not cover anything so I'm paying for a car that is soon to fail and leave me stranded at the same time I have to pay for it. Ford continue to say my car is running well and returning it back to me with problems unfixed

- Palo Alto, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 022016

Fusion

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while getting an oil change on the vehicle, the contact was informed by the technician that the vehicles engine had been leaking fluid. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V551000 (engine and engine cooling). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Brea, CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 012016

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. Car died three times in the past 2 months while I was driving it. The first 2 times in less than one minute of starting car and putting into gear. The third time was after I had been driving for some time and pulled away from bank teller window. Brought to dealer in January for another recall and they couldn't find any indication of problem in history for stalling problem (that was after first time it died). Am taking car in for car latch recall and will have them check again regarding the second and third incidents.

- Joliet, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?