CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,197 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Apr 252015

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V250000 (steering); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Sag Harbor, NY, USA

problem #28

Apr 092015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 36,775 miles
While driving my 2013 Ford Fusion I suddenly lost power steering control. There were two alarm messages service advance trac and hill start assist unavailable. This is the second time this has happened with this car. The first time was in 2014 and davidson Ford of watertown NY fixed the issue then.

- Watertown, NY, USA

problem #27

Mar 312015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Started up the vehicle in the morning after sitting all night, buzzers, warning lights and messages popped up on the instrument cluster. "hill assist not available" "service advance trac" two light are also illuminated, traction control and stability control. The short 3 flash signals work but the sustained flash will not, the signal will flash once and shut off. The biggest safety concern is the power steering assist does not work. It will actually jerk the steering wheel in the opposite direction! unfortunately I had to drive the vehicle 40 miles to work. It grinds and pops as the wheel is turned like it is trying to rip the tie rods loose. I am automotive savvy and felt I could handle driving it, however if my wife was to drive this vehicle I would fear there would've been an accident.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #26

Mar 042015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was turning around in my driveway and the steering locked up. I could not turn the steering wheel at all.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #25

Feb 242015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 12,520 miles
Power steering system failure. Vehicle has lost all power steering rendering the vehicle extremely difficult to drive, and definitely unsafe to drive.

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #24

Jan 192015

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
When returning to vehicle I noticed the my Ford touch radio was still on. Went to drive away in car and power steering failed to work. All turn signal indicators failed to work as I drove away. The defrost, heating, and cooling controls failed to work. The speedometer failed to work. The 2 lcd screens on the dashboard with the fuel display and tachometer displayed only a white background. The power door locks failed to work. The radio will not turn off when the vehicle is exited and the problems where also repeated at the vehicle dealership. This is a safety issue when the power steering, turn signals, speedometer and defrost fail to work with no warning.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #23

Dec 112014

Fusion

  • 22,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a case of multiple incidents, first incident with significant issue was on 12/11/2014. As I was pulling out of my driveway and reversing across two lanes of traffic, my car turned off and said "press brake to start" (I have the push-start-ignition). The car turned off as I was revering across the street, I had to put the car in park in order to restart the car. I restarted the car and drove it to the dealership, which they have never heard of this issue and said they could not get me in for an appointment until 12/15. On 12/14/2014, as I was driving down the road at ~25mph, my car started to act like it was going to quit, before I could pull off to the side of the road, the car turned off and said "press brake to start" I was able to get the car to the side of the road, as I did I put the car in park and tried to restart the car and it just kept rolling over and I had to push the start button to get it to stop, as I did, the brakes and steering wheel locked and I had to have the car towed to the dealership. The dealership had the car for 3 days, could not find an issue. I filed a complaint with Ford and they have closed my case saying there is not an issue. It is now at a 2nd dealership where they can not find an issue. I have been told by Ford to continue driving my car until the issue happens again, which is a major concern for my personal and others safety as I am driving down the road. When the car quits, I have hardly any control over the vehicle and luckily I have been going at slow pace, but I do not feel safe driving this car and feel like Ford has given up on me. This car has been nothing but problems since I've had it with 9 recalls and now this issue, I am concerned that I am not the only person having this issue and would like to have the problem addressed before someone is in a serious accident. Updated 2/11/16

- Snover, MI, USA

problem #22

Dec 262014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 12,930 miles
Driving my car home from work today and a warning came on care display saying "power steering assist fault" came on steering was a little hard for a couple second and then light went off and steering return to normal. Had a happen before when park but didn't thank anything until today. Also have been coming out of garage and traction control light coming on and said fault before.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #21

Dec 102014

Fusion

  • 19,500 miles
On December 10th, I went to pull off and while I was in drive, a warning came up that said "steering assist failure." And my steering locked on me. Prior to this, I have made several complaints to Ford, informing them that over the last 6, my car has gotten increasingly louder and shakes terribly. They've ignored my concerns and dismissed me multiple times, stating that if nothing is found on the computer, they cannot do anything. In October, I refused to leave the service department until someone checked my concerns. Finally, a mechanic sat in my car and listened to the loud rattling noise. He said "that's not normal." Upon inspection, the mechanic said that he found 2 loose clips that attach to my fuel line. I was told that my entire fuel line needed to be replaced, but that the part was on back order. They said I needed to still drive my car despite the "loose clips. " I don't know how accurate their diagnosis is, but they said my part would finally be here on November 17, 2014. When I called again yesterday, they said it was still on back order! from what I'm reading about this steering wheel lock problem, it sounds like my prior concerns can all be related. Ford said they didn't have a recall for my steering wheel problem and asked me to drive my car there! I informed them that my steering wheel locked on me and that I did not feel safe! I'm furious at the way I have been treated as a customer and I feel like no one cares about my safety.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #20

Nov 092014

Fusion

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 5 mph, another vehicle slightly struck the driver side bumper of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. Twenty minutes later, a popping sound emitted from inside the steering wheel and smoke appeared from the dashboard. The vehicle shut off independently and the contact hastily exited the vehicle. The fire department was contacted and the firefighters had to rip apart the entire dashboard in order to extinguish the fire. The fire department was unable to determine the source of the fire. A police and fire report were filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The manufacturer and dealer were made aware of the incident. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was in a car accident with my 2013 Ford Fusion. There was a witness at the scene saying that there were sparks shooting from my car before the accident happened. He says it looked like a tire came off my car taking a right curve on a main road in the city the car did not turn I just went straight across 2 lanes of oncoming traffic.on tho the sidewalk and into a tree. I could not open the door to the car to get out 2 guys came over and noticed the car was on fire and pulled the driver side door open. I ended up in the hospital luckily no one else was hurt I live in london Ontario Canada......updated 12/15/15

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #18

Nov 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 309,624 miles
I was driving sw bound on hwy 20 in loganville, ga when my car surged and powered off at 50 mph ¿the vehicle turned off on a very busy road. I just bought this car last year. This is the second time this has happened this first time it happened Ford replaced my entire steering column. I had zero steering capability, the engine was off and unresponsive and all of my electronic panels went dark except for a message saying "transmission is not in park" and the engine warning light (yellow) came on. I was able to hit the hazard lights and barely inch to the right side on the highway. There was a truck behind me that had to make an evasive lange change maneuver to the left in order to avoid collision. Once I came to a stop I immediately turned my video camera on my phone and started documenting what was happening in the vehicle. I have this video readily available for you if you need it to further your investigation.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 4,449 miles
My 1st encounter was less than 90 days after purchase. My power steering assist light came on when activating hands free phone, I lost power steering and could not manually turn steering wheel. Turned car off, restarted engine and power steering worked. Have lost power steering on several different occasions without using the sync option. Car has been back to dealer on several occasions and a Ford representative has been consulted to identify and repair this dangerous issue, to no avail. After speaking with a Ford representative for a possible "in house lemon law" evaluation, I was told there was no problem with my car and they have offered an extended warranty at no additional charge.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #16

Nov 122014

Fusion

  • 11,000 miles
Pulling into a parking lot and the display flashed warning and dinged, power steering failure. Shut car off, warning gone, taking it to dealership tomorrow. Also to note ever since buying the Fusion the turn signals will randomly shut off before completion of turn, sometimes even before turn, every time the turn signal was activated all the way not just the first stage.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #15

Nov 092014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I was driving home from a road trip and was about 300 miles from home when my "service power steering" now message came on my screen and less than 5 minutes after that my steering went out on my vehicle. I pulled off the road at a gas station and turned my car off and then on again but the steering was still out.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #14

Nov 102014

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while reversing out of the garage, the power steering malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #13

Nov 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Mileage listed was estimate had car for 2 1/2 weeks driving on NJ turnpike message power steering fault pulled in to rest stop per Ford, turned car off and then on message went off but power steering locked.unable to turn wheel. Car had to be towed to Ford Agency-malouf North brunswick NJ- they replaced power steering unit. Medford Ford and malouf Ford said they had never heard this complaint before why isn't this car part of recall.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,264 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The contact had to use excessive force to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the power steering gear assembly unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 2,264. Updated 11/20/14 updated 8/17/2015

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When you put on the brakes, the vehicle always turns hard to the left. This has done it since I have had the car. Thought it had to do with low profile tires. Tires are rotated and balance as indicated by manufacturer. The car is also aligned and drives straight forward.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I was driving home from work and briefly heard a warning light chime. I glanced down and saw what I thought was a steering warning light then it went away within seconds.

- Westland, MI, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?