Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 Fusion doesn’t have the same track record of power steering failure as the previous 3 model years. Of course, those owners said their steering failed at 60k–100k miles. So this appears to be a classic "wait and see" scenario.

In the meantime, there’s plenty of interior accessory problems to complain about. By themselves, each is a barely a blip on the radar. But combined, they give you that feeling of what the hell have I gotten myself into?

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,285 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Ford Fusion steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Dec 112014

Fusion

  • 22,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a case of multiple incidents, first incident with significant issue was on 12/11/2014. As I was pulling out of my driveway and reversing across two lanes of traffic, my car turned off and said "press brake to start" (I have the push-start-ignition). The car turned off as I was revering across the street, I had to put the car in park in order to restart the car. I restarted the car and drove it to the dealership, which they have never heard of this issue and said they could not get me in for an appointment until 12/15. On 12/14/2014, as I was driving down the road at ~25mph, my car started to act like it was going to quit, before I could pull off to the side of the road, the car turned off and said "press brake to start" I was able to get the car to the side of the road, as I did I put the car in park and tried to restart the car and it just kept rolling over and I had to push the start button to get it to stop, as I did, the brakes and steering wheel locked and I had to have the car towed to the dealership. The dealership had the car for 3 days, could not find an issue. I filed a complaint with Ford and they have closed my case saying there is not an issue. It is now at a 2nd dealership where they can not find an issue. I have been told by Ford to continue driving my car until the issue happens again, which is a major concern for my personal and others safety as I am driving down the road. When the car quits, I have hardly any control over the vehicle and luckily I have been going at slow pace, but I do not feel safe driving this car and feel like Ford has given up on me. This car has been nothing but problems since I've had it with 9 recalls and now this issue, I am concerned that I am not the only person having this issue and would like to have the problem addressed before someone is in a serious accident. Updated 2/11/16

- Snover, MI, USA

problem #22

Dec 262014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 12,930 miles
Driving my car home from work today and a warning came on care display saying "power steering assist fault" came on steering was a little hard for a couple second and then light went off and steering return to normal. Had a happen before when park but didn't thank anything until today. Also have been coming out of garage and traction control light coming on and said fault before.

- Richmond, IN, USA

problem #21

Dec 102014

Fusion

  • 19,500 miles
On December 10th, I went to pull off and while I was in drive, a warning came up that said "steering assist failure." And my steering locked on me. Prior to this, I have made several complaints to Ford, informing them that over the last 6, my car has gotten increasingly louder and shakes terribly. They've ignored my concerns and dismissed me multiple times, stating that if nothing is found on the computer, they cannot do anything. In October, I refused to leave the service department until someone checked my concerns. Finally, a mechanic sat in my car and listened to the loud rattling noise. He said "that's not normal." Upon inspection, the mechanic said that he found 2 loose clips that attach to my fuel line. I was told that my entire fuel line needed to be replaced, but that the part was on back order. They said I needed to still drive my car despite the "loose clips. " I don't know how accurate their diagnosis is, but they said my part would finally be here on November 17, 2014. When I called again yesterday, they said it was still on back order! from what I'm reading about this steering wheel lock problem, it sounds like my prior concerns can all be related. Ford said they didn't have a recall for my steering wheel problem and asked me to drive my car there! I informed them that my steering wheel locked on me and that I did not feel safe! I'm furious at the way I have been treated as a customer and I feel like no one cares about my safety.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #20

Nov 092014

Fusion

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 5 mph, another vehicle slightly struck the driver side bumper of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. Twenty minutes later, a popping sound emitted from inside the steering wheel and smoke appeared from the dashboard. The vehicle shut off independently and the contact hastily exited the vehicle. The fire department was contacted and the firefighters had to rip apart the entire dashboard in order to extinguish the fire. The fire department was unable to determine the source of the fire. A police and fire report were filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The contact did not sustain any injuries. The manufacturer and dealer were made aware of the incident. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V597000 (air bags, seat belts). The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Tampa , FL, USA

problem #19

Oct 222014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I was in a car accident with my 2013 Ford Fusion. There was a witness at the scene saying that there were sparks shooting from my car before the accident happened. He says it looked like a tire came off my car taking a right curve on a main road in the city the car did not turn I just went straight across 2 lanes of oncoming traffic.on tho the sidewalk and into a tree. I could not open the door to the car to get out 2 guys came over and noticed the car was on fire and pulled the driver side door open. I ended up in the hospital luckily no one else was hurt I live in london Ontario Canada......updated 12/15/15

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #18

Nov 202014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 309,624 miles
I was driving sw bound on hwy 20 in loganville, ga when my car surged and powered off at 50 mph ¿the vehicle turned off on a very busy road. I just bought this car last year. This is the second time this has happened this first time it happened Ford replaced my entire steering column. I had zero steering capability, the engine was off and unresponsive and all of my electronic panels went dark except for a message saying "transmission is not in park" and the engine warning light (yellow) came on. I was able to hit the hazard lights and barely inch to the right side on the highway. There was a truck behind me that had to make an evasive lange change maneuver to the left in order to avoid collision. Once I came to a stop I immediately turned my video camera on my phone and started documenting what was happening in the vehicle. I have this video readily available for you if you need it to further your investigation.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 032013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 4,449 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 1st encounter was less than 90 days after purchase. My power steering assist light came on when activating hands free phone, I lost power steering and could not manually turn steering wheel. Turned car off, restarted engine and power steering worked. Have lost power steering on several different occasions without using the sync option. Car has been back to dealer on several occasions and a Ford representative has been consulted to identify and repair this dangerous issue, to no avail. After speaking with a Ford representative for a possible "in house lemon law" evaluation, I was told there was no problem with my car and they have offered an extended warranty at no additional charge.

- Salisbury, MD, USA

problem #16

Nov 122014

Fusion

  • 11,000 miles
Pulling into a parking lot and the display flashed warning and dinged, power steering failure. Shut car off, warning gone, taking it to dealership tomorrow. Also to note ever since buying the Fusion the turn signals will randomly shut off before completion of turn, sometimes even before turn, every time the turn signal was activated all the way not just the first stage.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #15

Nov 092014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
I was driving home from a road trip and was about 300 miles from home when my "service power steering" now message came on my screen and less than 5 minutes after that my steering went out on my vehicle. I pulled off the road at a gas station and turned my car off and then on again but the steering was still out.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #14

Nov 102014

Fusion

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while reversing out of the garage, the power steering malfunctioned making the steering wheel very difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 46,000.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #13

Nov 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Mileage listed was estimate had car for 2 1/2 weeks driving on NJ turnpike message power steering fault pulled in to rest stop per Ford, turned car off and then on message went off but power steering locked.unable to turn wheel. Car had to be towed to Ford Agency-malouf North brunswick NJ- they replaced power steering unit. Medford Ford and malouf Ford said they had never heard this complaint before why isn't this car part of recall.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 262013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,264 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning indicator illuminated. The contact had to use excessive force to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the power steering gear assembly unit needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 2,264. Updated 11/20/14 updated 8/17/2015

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #11

Oct 012013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When you put on the brakes, the vehicle always turns hard to the left. This has done it since I have had the car. Thought it had to do with low profile tires. Tires are rotated and balance as indicated by manufacturer. The car is also aligned and drives straight forward.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
I was driving home from work and briefly heard a warning light chime. I glanced down and saw what I thought was a steering warning light then it went away within seconds.

- Westland, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 182014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 8,174 miles
On 4/18/14 driving down ca 140 a two lane mountain road downhill lots of curves power steering warning light came on, with a press okay. Didn't press ok kept driving until I got to merced, ca. About twenty minutes. When safely in a cvs parking lot pressed ok. Completely loss steering. Had to be towed to razzari Ford 1300 auto center dr. Merced, ca 95340. They found a faulty steering gear, and replaced gear assembly. With my family in the car, I can only imagine what could of happened if I had pressed ok thirty minutes earlier.

- Martinez, CA, USA

problem #8

Apr 072014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 24,523 miles
I own a 2013 Ford Fusion, I have had a very serious mechanical malfunction over the past 3 weeks. The vehicle will completely shut down while operating the vehicle causing the steering wheel to lock, brakes not to work, emergency brake not work and finally the air bags do not deploy. I have taken the vehicle back to the dealership where I purchased it from on 2 occasions. The first time was March 28th and after having the car for 7 hours I was told that they didn"T have time to look at it and that I should bring it back next week. I asked them what I was supposed to do if it happened again and I was told ?keep trying to restart the car? and bring it back next week. The week of the 31st thru the 4th I had two more occasions where the car shut down. I took the car in on April 4th and was told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. I asked for a rental or a loaner car and was told that they didn?T have any. I didn?T drive the car that weekend because I didn?T feel safe putting my family in it. On April 7th I was driving home from work when the car shut down and as a result I went through a 6 foot tall stone wall that was reinforced by rebar. I was luckily not injured, I hit the wall between 20-25 mph and had no airbag deployment. I have talked to the dealership where I purchased the car and was told that this is something that Ford Motor Company takes care off. I have contacted Ford and spoke with divana in the legal department and was told that this is a product liability with the car. This was on April 8th. On April 11th I was contacted by Ford and told that there is nothing that they can do and that I should call them back if it happens again. I posed the question if I were driving at 75 mph a hit a 18 wheeler what was I supposed to do. I guess they wouldn"T have to worry about a complaint.

- Aledo, TX, USA

problem #7

Jan 312014

Fusion

  • 19,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the while driving approximately 70 mph, the power steering failure message illuminated. The contact indicated that after turning the vehicle off and back on, the failure message continued to display and the steering wheel had become extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 19,200.

- Alpine, CA, USA

problem #6

Nov 142013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle driver was driving on a public road approximately 35 miles per hour when a thud was heard and the right front of the vehicle went down similar to having a flat tire. The driver stopped the vehicle as the steering and braking was adversely affected. After getting out of the vehicle and seeing what happened the driver saw that the right front wheel was out of its normal configuration with the wheel at approximately a 45 degree angle with the top of the wheel pointing inward toward the engine and the bottom of the wheel point outward toward the right. After a tow vehicle was called and picking up the vehicle, it was discovered that the right front aluminum lower control arm broke straight across where the lower ball joint was pressed into the control arm. This caused release of the lower axis connection of the wheel spindle and broke the right front driveshaft, tie rod, and bent the strut. This is a catastrophic failure of the lower control arm with potential to cause serious injury to the driver and any other vehicles or pedestrians. Ford is trying to disclaim and play down this failure saying that is not the fault of their defective lower control arm. I feel all vehicles of this kind have the potential to fail in the same way and should be immediately inspected for signs of cracking on the lower control arm.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #5

Sep 282013

Fusion

  • 2,800 miles
When I was driving my car, I came to a red light and a yellow warning message popped up on the screen, "power steering assist fault." It's a brand new car with 2,800 miles, seriously? it also happened again two weeks later when I was driving. I hadn't noticed any steering problems with my car. I took my car to the Ford dealer right away where I got it from. As always they said I would need to bring my car in for the day, and that "they would look into it." When the service worker looked up the problem I was experiencing on their program, nothing was reported like mine so they couldn't really do much. I had to research the problem myself online because they always tend to think you're making these problems up. That's when I stumbled upon a couple different forums of people who have had the exact same problem. One person did say they're whole power steering rack had to be replaced. I brought that information to the Ford dealership and I'm waiting for a response of what and if they're going to do next.

- Stratford, NJ, USA

problem #4

Mar 042013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 125 miles
While driving, I noted that the power assist was variable. In the middle of a turn, the steering suddenly became difficult. And then returned to normal. At other times during turning, the power steering would become extremely easy, and then return to normal. This is an intermittent occurrence and has persisted to date. (mileage is now about 3000 miles) this stiffening up and releasing could result in a dangerous situation while driving. A test drive (3-5 miles) by a service rep did not produce this occurrence.

- Pound Ridge, NY, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?