Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Here's a disturbing trend for the 2002 Nissan Altima: the engine starts burning oil like crazy, the catalytic converter goes bad, the head gasket blows and eventually the entire engine needs replacement. Sound familiar? Like a script from a horror film, these Altimas seem doomed to fail around 95k miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,869 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Nissan Altima electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Aug 152007

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Nissan Altima. While the windows are in the up position, the doors will automatically lock and the interior lights remain illuminated. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The failure mileage was 53,000 and current mileage was 55,000. Updated 01/03/08. The consumer stated 5-10 minutes after the vehicle was locked, the windows would automatically roll don and the inside light would come on. When the consumer exited the vehicle, after 5-10 minutes the door would lock on its own. Updated 12/31/07

- Jackson, GA, USA

problem #19

Aug 182007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 152,000 miles
I could hardly believe the number of complaints I have read regarding the 2002 Nissan Altima. One would think that Nissan would recognize these complaints and simply recall the entire vehicle. When we purchased the vehicle in late 2001 it was called the car of the year. Wow! my Altima has been in the shop more than in my garage in the last month. This time they have had it for more than a week and still can't figure out why it won't start. You name it -- everything that can be replaced, with the exception of the motor itself has been replaced. From the fuel pump to the crank position sensor, the ECM, the throttle position assembly -- and still it won't start. It began with a "check engine light" and now that doesn't even come on. The vehicle has 152,400 miles and until such time as we can get it started we can't even get rid of it. I am terribly disappointed and want to report this to the Texas attorney general and whoever else will listen. Nissan needs to do something!!!!!!

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #18

Jan 182007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 93,000 miles
- the contact took her 2002 Nissan Altima in for maintenance service on 01/18/07, while vehicle was at the dealership they stated that the catalytic converter assembly needed to be replaced. The contact stated that she had the recall (NHTSA campaign id number: 03V084000) work done on her vehicle sometime in 2006 and it was supposed to prevent the problem she presently experiencing.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #17

Jan 122007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,315 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact has a 2002 Nissan Altima that he took to the dealership (anderson Nissan in loves park, il) on 01/12/07. The dealership stated that the vehicle needed a new engine and catalytic converter. The contact had his vehicle inspected for NHTSA campaign id number: 03V084000 on 08/21/03 and the dealer(moladi's Nissan crystal lake, il ) stated they fixed the problem by re-programming the computer. The contact felt that the dealer didn't perform the proper work when they work on it for the recall. The contact can provide copies of invoice repair.

- Poplar Grove, IL, USA

problem #16

Nov 302006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving various speeds, the check engine and oil light illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by an independent repair shop, who performed a diagnostic test which produced a failure code, and indicated the catalytic converter needed to be replaced. There was a NHTSA recall, # 03V084000, regarding the electrical system. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles
: the contact stated after parked for four hours, the vehicle caught on fire. The fire department was summoned and the fire was extinguished. It was determined the fire started in the driver door and could be electrical. A police report was taken. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who could not determine the cause of the fire.

- Trenton, NC, USA

problem #14

Sep 012006

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Nissan Altima vents were blowing warm air when the air conditioner was on, service engine light illuminated. Vehicle is difficult to start. After the dealer stated they fixed the problem, which they claimed there was too much freon in the vehicle, the engine light illuminated again the next day. The consumer was then told the head gasket was leaking.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #13

Sep 082003

Altima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,000 miles
In 2003, Nissan conducted a recall of 2002 Altima's, ref #03V-084, in which they were to correct a fire hazard resulting from engine damage caused by a failure of the catalytic convertor. On 9/8/03, a Nissan dealer completed repairs under the recall. Over the last year, my vehicle had very high temperatures under the hood and began consuming excessive amounts of oil. In August 2006, the 'service engine soon' light came on and an independent mechanic advised me that the catalytic convertor had failed and was the probable cause of the excessive oil burning. I took my vehicle to a Nissan dealer who performed an oil consumption test. The vehicle burned 2 quarts of oil in 600 miles and advised me the engine was most likely damaged and would need to be replaced. I contacted Nissan and they refused to complete any diagnostics or repairs to the vehicle. I have had the catalytic convertor replaced again and the interior surfaces of the convertor installed as a result of the recall are clearly disintegrated. I have the old part available for inspection if needed. The repairs Nissan completed in its recall did not resolve the defect and are a continuing safety hazard.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 122006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle was purchased less than two months ago and oil has been added 8 times. There is a NHTSA recall, #03V084000, regarding the electrical system. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #11

Oct 282005

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My 2002 Nissan Altima stalled in the middle of a residential area for no apparent reason. The engine line, battery light and all other lights including headlamps, and hazard lights were blinking erratically or stopped working altogether. I called for a tow and asked the tower to check the battery and see if a "jump" would fix it. The car started again after the jump. I head off towards home. The car started losing power. Luckily, I made it home as the car stalled while in motion. If that would have happened on the freeway, my fiancee and I would have probably suffered an accident. There was somewhat of an unusual smell like burning plastic. Upon closer inspection, the low beam headlamp was burned through, but the source of the burning smell was coming from under the vehicle. There appeared to be a small fire, judging by the amount of smoke coming off from under the car, that may have stopped shortly after the car stalled.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 242005

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,735 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2002 Nissan Altima 2.5L. My car receives regular maintenance every 3 months and/or 3,000 miles (documentation can be provided), it never sits longer than 2 or 3 day, and it's driven on the highway for my work commute. Twice my car suddenly wouldn't start without warning. The first time it was fixed, which was around April, there were several recalls for my car. One was for the fuel pump screen and the engine sensor that would cause the car to not start or suddenly stop running. This second time (10-24-05), my local mechanic showed me a 6-page service technical bulletin that was issued by alldata for my non-starting problem. The document suggested replacing the starter, adding a Nissan brand fuel injector cleaner and/or reprogramming the computer to fix the problem. This second repair will cost me about $500 to fix when I pick up my car tomorrow. I thought the recall repairs would resolve this issue, but those repairs proved to only provide a temporary fix, but not resolve the underlying problem. Since there's a service technical bulletin about my non-starting issue, 2 recalls related to this same problem, and I've had the same problem happen twice, I think my car should be recalled. I'm fortunate that I wasn't driving the car when it stopped running or that could have caused a serious accident. I should not have the same problem happen twice in 6 months. If my car fails to start twice in 6 months and the recall repairs don't remedy the problem, then there must be something else causing the problem. I'd hate to find out in a few months that the $500 start replacement wasn't the culprit, because I'd be back at square one. Please tell me how I can get this issue escalated to a recall status or what I can do to prevent a 3rd failure. Thank you, jenny R. baker.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #9

Mar 012005

Altima

  • miles
Nissan Altima 2002, headlight assembly has a latent design defect. The dealer informed the consumer that the entire headlight assembly had melted which was caused by electrical power surges.

- Winter Park, FL, USA

problem #8

May 012002

Altima

  • miles
This car has been a lemon since day one, in and out of dealership for one reason or the other, it started with the car running hard, dealership told me it was because I have broke the car in and now this is how they run, took it back again 3 to 4 more times with same problem, told them car idles high, shifts bad, runs bad, they said nothing wrong, I do alot of highway miles and as soon as I was over the miles and out of the warrenty they told me that the motor mounts were gone only 800 to get fixed, I was then hit by a car head on and really hurt I suffered major back problems, come to find out I probaby could have prevented some of the damage to my self if I had a saver car, my air bags didn;T deploy. I have had every recall to this car, the service men at the dealserships are the rudest men I have ever delt with. I was right the whole time !!!!! I have also experienced the same thing with the lights cost around 800 to fox kept changing the lights not to mentions the tickets I recieved from the cops, I explained to them the light keeps going out, they are like this is a 02 that doesn't happen, if they only knew!!! I am really tired of this car, now I was just told that the car has another problem, it over heats they think it might be the therostat but they don't know. How much money will that cost me"?" I am one angry person when it comes to this car!!!!!!!

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #7

Apr 292004

Altima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 20,000 miles
My car stalled on rt 9 at a light and did not start right back up. 6 weeks later it stalled on the mass pike going 70 mph hr. Both times I brought it to my local Nissan dealer who has told me they do not know what is wrong with it. I am scared for my family (my infant) and I. this is a safety issue that should be addressed! they built this car they really should know more about its mechanics!

- Northborough, MA, USA

problem #6

May 232002

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,400 miles
Multiple problems with recall service work not correcting the malfunction the recall is supposed to correct. Specifically of concern NHTSA campaign id numbers : 03V455000 & 03V084000 & 03V251000. Not receiving recall notices by manufacturer or being informed by Nissan service dept. I have since contacted Nissan Corp Consumer Affairs but received no resolution or suggestions. Problems with engine performance, excessive exhaust, and strong burning smell are still present along with service engine soon light remaining on. Have taken vehicle to service department for over 6 visits in last 5 months - vehicle is still at service dept. I have been told the vehicle was safe to drive over these past months while these problems persisted. I asked for a loaner vehicle or to have transportation to get my vehicle to the dealership but was declined any help - even though id # 03V084000 Nissan recall notice states it should be offered free of charge if customer makes this request. I am greatly concerned for the safety of myself and my family and am scared to drive this vehicle any further. My local Nissan service dept (pine belt Nissan automotive) and Nissan Consumer Affairs has not addressed my concerns and have failed to correct this problem that has existed for months. Vehicle has had reduced power, hesitation, pulling and vibration, excessive exhaust and an increasingly strong burning smell from engine shortly after vehicle is started.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #5

Mar 222004

Altima

  • miles
While driving 55 mph vehicle stalled. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and pulled over. Consumer tried to restart, but was unable to start vehicle. Driver had the vehicle towed to the dealer for inspection, and mechanic was unable to resolve the problem.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #4

Jan 302004

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Occasionally when it rains, the windshield wipers do not work. I have taken it to the dealership and they were unable to find the problem. Also, at any given time (day or night) the head lights will flicker on and off. Sometimes not even coming on at all. This is my second Nissan Altima purchase. I was so pleased with my first purchase I decided to get another one. I feel that is the biggest mistake that I made. I would not recommend this care to another consumer. What bothers me the most is the lack of concern that I received from the dealership. The car has never been wrecked therefore, I do not understand where the problem lies.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #3

Aug 152003

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,331 miles
Vehicle stalls without warning at any speed. Nissan mechanic at local dealershiip witnessed the car stalling. Nissan engineers state they are unable to find the cause, cannot actively duplicate the problem, and therefore have not repaired the car. This car is an uncalculating risk not only to passengers, but to anyone on the highway. Nissan should take possession of the vehicle to conduct further testing and replace this vehicle for highway use.

- Longwood, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 082003

(reported on)

Altima

  • miles
The vehicle experienced an electrical failure prior to receiving recall notification 03 V 084 000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #1

May 032003

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
The tic-toc sound from the blinker is muted, then comes back days later. Fixed once before, problem is back again.

- El Paso, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?