Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,516 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Jan 102008

Altima

  • 44,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. On a few occasions, while driving at any speed, the gears slipped and jolted when shifting between first and second gears. While idling at a traffic light, the vehicle shut off. The check engine light illuminated, dimmed briefly, and has remained illuminated ever since. Her VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling). The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Shirley, NY, USA

problem #31

Mar 312008

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. The contact took her vehicle in for emission testing; however, it failed because the engine warning and crank angle sensor lights illuminated on the instrument control panel. She then received a notice for NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the manufacturer informed her that she received the notice in error. Although her VIN was specified in the recall letter, the contact would be responsible for the repair. She has a copy of the notice and all other documents pertaining to the failure. The powertrain was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 53,000.

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #30

Nov 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving 35 mph, the check engine light illuminated three different times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the crankshaft and camshaft sensors needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the sensors. On March 14, 2008, the check engine soon light illuminated again. The dealer stated that there was exhaust failure. NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The VIN, engine size, purchase date, and powertrain were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 67,000.

- Herndon, VA, USA

problem #29

Mar 012008

Altima

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car shut down while driving. There was a recall to reset the ECM that was causing this problem. I was unaware of this recall but now learn that if I had brought my car in to have the system reset I would not have been out any money. But now that the problem has arisen and the car shut down on me, this caused the "check engine light" to come on. Now I must pay to have the sensor replaced not just reset.

- Argyle, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 312006

Altima 4-cyl

  • 41,596 miles
I received a recall notice regarding the crank angle sensor that was defective. I had previously had the vehicle repaired at Nissan and paid $284.60 for the repair. I contacted Nissan and faxed the requested documentation to the manufacturer. After 3 faxes, 2 dealership repair documentation and numerous hours spent with india Nissan customer service I have not received a refund from Nissan as promised by several representatives and managers.

- Orlando, FM, USA

problem #27

Feb 152008

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,480 miles
I was driving my girlfriends 2004 Nissan Altima 2.5 down the highway on 2/15/2008 when the transmission down shifted and then directly upshifted hard. I got to my destination and tried to restart the car when I left it cranked longer than usually, in fact unusually long but it did start up. I got back on the highway to go home and while getting on the on ramp to the highway the car shut off and the steering wheel locked up and the service engine soon light came on. I did what I could to get the car to the shoulder and waiting a couple of minutes and tried to restart the car. I did get it restarted and took city streets to autozone to have the codes read from the service engine soon light. I had 2 codes, one being P0725 and P0355. I once again took city streets home to avoid the same thing happening going 70mph. I got it home that Friday the 15th and put it in the garage. I got online and went to nissanclub.com and researched the problem. I found out that the P0335 is the crank position sensor malfunction and that caused my code of P0725 being the engine speed sensor. Through researching this is a very big problems with the 2002-2006 Altima, mainly the 2.5 4cylinders. Nissan issued a recall for the 2002-2005 and 2006 Altima but failed to include the 2003 and 2004 in it. Now why would they not put the same faulty sensors in the 2003's and 2004's and skip ahead and put them in the 05's and 06's. I went to the dealership on Monday the 18th to verify her car was not included in the recall and it wasn't. this is Nissan deliberate attempt to not take full responsibility for the faulty crankshaft position sensors put in the 2002-2006 Altima. I paid for the $30 sensor, also another $30 sensor that is recommended replaced with the crankshaft sensor and spent 3 1/2 hours outta my day to replace the hard to get sensor. It is my belief that Nissan needs to include the 2003 and 2004 Altima in the recall with the 2002-05, 06.

- Jefferson City, MO, USA

problem #26

Apr 232007

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Nissan Altima with a recall for the intake manifold. Consumer states that he did not receive the recall notice. His vehicle began shaking violently and the check engine light illuminated due to the defect of the intake manifold. The consumer took the vehicle to his mechanic, who discovered that the flap from the intake manifold had worked its way loose and fallen inside the engine. The flap was unable to be re-attached independently and the entire intake manifold had to be replaced.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #25

Nov 202007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
One month ago I was driving on the expressway when my car, that had never given me anything but usual minor problems, suddenly stopped while running at low speed. I panicked, but managed to pull over before it completely stopped running. I managed to turned it on once more but it was not running the same. It appeared it was going to shut off when slowing down again. It did. Fortunately no one was hurt. I immediately took it to the dealer who explained there was a problem with the sensor. They could only recap a sensor but would need more extensive and expensive work to see if there was anything wrong with the computer. Two days later, I learned of a manufacture?S recall for my make of car. It was a sensor problem that made the engine shut off when driving at low speeds. I concluded my car had to among those recalled. Now I learned, the year of my car is not included, but the years surrounding are.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #24

Dec 152007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,520 miles
Nissan Altima 2004. Has around 91,000 miles. Transmission jerk a little, like it was jumping into gear. Car shut off with no warning while going down a hill. I was able to put the car in neutral while coasting and restart the car. Three days later the engine shuts off again. The vehicle was at a light. This time it took several tries to start the vehicle. At a busy intersection it stopped again the same day but was able to restart. I took the car to a dealership (car is in germany due to military). They told me they would call me back. I have not received a call. I called Nissan North America and I was told that the car falls under 2 recalls. Both the valve screws and the sensor. I may end up having to pay for it all even though nna says they "should" handle it here.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #23

Dec 172007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,488 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving 35-40 mph or idling at a traffic light, the vehicle stalls. The contact has had to stand on the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. He currently drives as slow as possible because he does not know when the failure will recur. The dealer stated that when and if he receives a safety recall notice, they will make the repair. Until then, the contact is responsible. NHTSA campaign id number 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling) was referenced. The current and failure mileages were 79,488. Updated 01/17/08 updated 01/14/07

- Thomaston, GA, USA

problem #22

Jun 052007

Altima 4-cyl

  • 41,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In the summer of 2007 my car was stalling when coming to a complete stop or when slowing down. I brought my car into Nissan dealership and they advised the problem I was having is part of a recall and reprogrammed the ECM. The night I picked my car up I was still having the stalling issue. I brought the car back into the dealer and they replaced the camshaft sensor. I would like to make the complaint that 1) I never received a recall notice for the ECM. 2) my car stalled in oncoming traffic luckily not involved in a crash. 3)why was this problem not found when I originally brought the car in to be fixed 4) knowing this is an ongoing issue with both the crankshaft and camshaft sensor in Nissan why is the camshaft not covered under a recall campaign. 5) it cost me almost $300 to replace a part that cost less than $40.

- Manchester, NN, USA

problem #21

Nov 202007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Engine stalls while driving, engine hard to start, service light on with diagnostic test shows crankshaft position sensor and vehicle speed sensor bad.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 032007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Car began stalling at idle and also sometimes on acceleration from a stop - I had cleaned the air filter and tried 2 tanks of premium gas but to no avail.

- Hawthorn, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 262007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine suddenly shut off. The contact waited five minutes to restart the vehicle, but nothing happened. He tried again fifteen minutes later and the engine turned on and everything worked normally. Two weeks later, he received a recall notice regarding the crank shaft sensor and ECU module. The dealer reprogrammed the ECU module and replaced the crank shaft sensor. The contact was charged for the crank shaft sensor replacement. The recall number was unknown. The current mileage was 35,000 and failure mileage was 33,000.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #18

Aug 142007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,405 miles
My vehicle started to have a hard shift while I was riding down the beltway. The car would shift so hard that it felt like someone had hit my car from behind. Approximately two weeks later the "service engine soon" light came on. I took it to sheehy Nissan of waldorf and had the car repaired. That cost me around $170. About two weeks later the hard shifts were back. One and a half months later my "service engine light" comes back on and this time my car will not start. I was literally stuck until I was informed that eventually the computer will click and let the car start. I eventually got the car to start and took it to the Nissan dealer. I was informed that the crankshaft position sensor was bad. I have to pay another $230. To get my car back. The problem is that they have recalled this same problem on the 2002 and the 2003 Nissan Altima but not on the 2004.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #17

Jun 252007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,727 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle stalled four times. The dealer stated that the crank sensor failed. The powertrain was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 48,727.

- Suquay Varina, NC, USA

problem #16

Apr 172007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. The contact received recall notice # 06V242000 (engine and engine cooling). However, she had the repair work performed prior to receiving the notice. She has contacted the manufacturer about reimbursement and they have yet to respond. The engine size was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 70,000. Returned usps, 2nd attempt made 06/08/07 failed.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #15

Apr 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Nissan Altima. While driving the vehicle at any speed it would shut off without warning. The vehicle would sometimes restart immediately and sometimes she would have to wait approximately fifteen minutes to restart. There is a recall for the electronic control module (recall #06V242000). The dealer reprogrammed the ECM sensor however, that did not solve the problem. The vehicle continued to shut off without warning. The dealer stated that the crank and cam angle sensor should be replaced. The replacement has not been made. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 66,700.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #14

Mar 232007

Altima

  • miles
To whom it may concern at NHTSA: I own a 2004 nisan Altima with a 2.5L engine. I recently received an owner notification letter from Nissan North America for a safety recall due to the potential that the engine might stop running while being driven due to an electrical problem between the crank angle sensor and the electronic control module (ECM). This could result in a crash without warning. The notice further advised that my Nissan dealer would reprogram the ECM, free of charge. This service should take about 1 hour to complete. I made arrangements with my dealer to have this service performed on my Altima. While in for this service, I was called by the dealer and notified that several unrelated service items were found. They did not force them on me but did they did take the opportunity to 'sell' them....better gas mileage (clean throttles) and brake performance (replace brake fluid). Well, the free service to 'reprogram' the ECM, turned into a service bill in the $450 range. The list cost to reprogram the ECM was $58. So, I avoided a $58 charge but was 'sold' additional services so Nissan actually generated close to $400 in revenue on a 'free' recall. The NHTSA recall number is 06V-242. It occurred to me that if 100,000 other concerned Altima owners responded to the recall, were 'sold' similar 'needed' service, Nissan would collect $40,000,000 in service fees.....a minor reprogramming recall could turn into a large profit generating machine. I wanted to share my situation with you because this simple scheme, if indeed employed, would take advantage of the public and make publicly-owned corporations like Nissan a profit windfall. I can be reached at 856-649-4785 or gapsnet@comcast.net if you would like to contact me or discuss this situation further. Thank you for your careful consideration. Sincerely, greg paranto

- Thorofare, NJ, USA

problem #13

Mar 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,812 miles
- the contact has a 2004 Nissan Altima and stated that she took the vehicle to get a recall work performed on the crank shaft position at the dealer. On March 20, 2007 the vehicle stalled out while driving at 35 mph. The contact had the vehicle towed into the dealership and they replaced the crankshaft. The contact felt that she shouldn't have to pay for the repair since the recall repair should fix the failure with the crankshaft. The current and failure mileage were both 67,812 miles.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?