Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount vibration and even transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jun 202014

Altima

  • 4,714 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since the day I got the vehicle the passenger air bag was malfunctioning. They repaired 5 times but failed.finally they proposed a settlement agreement but it is unfair. My request is for a replacement vehicle.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #29

Dec 012014

Altima

  • 4,006 miles
There is a recall on the 2.5L 2014 Nissan Altima and I have a 3.5L 2014 Nissan Altima, my passenger side airbag light shows no occupancy person sits in the passenger sit, as well as intermittenly when an object is placed in the seat. There is a recall with the same problems of the indicator light on the passenger airbag not showing proper indication, the same should be extended to the 3.5L models as well.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #28

May 202014

Altima

  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sensor needed to be reset. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 100.

- Buchanan, TN, USA

problem #27

Nov 282014

Altima

  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the passenger side air bag light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 2,800.

- Maricopa , AZ, USA

problem #26

Nov 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who replaced the seat sensor and on another occasion the software was reset however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000....updated 01/07/15 the consumer has experienced the same failure with a 2007 Nissan Altima. Updated 9/28/2015

- Tucson, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #25

Sep 302013

Altima

  • 20 miles
Passenger air bag light stays on indicating a no activation. Problem still exists after recall repair. Nissan motors very aware of problem but will do nothing about it.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #24

Oct 272014

Altima

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger air bag light came on with my wife sitting in the passenger seat. She has set there many times before with no problems. So when the light came on with here in the seat I called the service department. Now my wife weighs 130 lb. I was told she is at the border of what the sensors in the seat is supposed to activate. I'm not going to tell her to gain weight.

- Girard, IL, USA

problem #23

Sep 202014

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,300 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While the front passenger seat was occupied, the indicator displayed that the air bag system was deactivated. The contact mentioned that the air bag system resumed normal operation after fifteen minutes. The dealer stated that there was not a remedy for the front passenger side air bag deactivation failure. The failure mileage was 8,300. Updated 1/7/15 the consumer stated the dealer contacted the manufacturer. Updated 10/7/2015

- Oregon , WI, USA

problem #22

Jul 242014

Altima

  • 25,000 miles
I was traveling East on highway 70 in nc in a 2014 white Nissan Altima on a four lane highway under rainy conditions. A Hyundai was traveling West on hwy 70, hydroplaned, crossed the median and hit me head on causing her car to spin and her passenger side then struck my driver's side. My steering wheel airbag deployed but the driver's side airbags did not deploy. The second impact damaged my Nissan's driver side door to the point it had to be forced open. The Hyundai's passenger side airbags deployed in both the front and back seats which is the side that struck my driver's side. My 2014 Nissan Altima was damaged beyond repair and totaled by the insurance company. I sustained multiple injuries with the majority being on my left side...updated 11/13/14

- Morehead City, NC, USA

problem #21

Aug 112014

Altima

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving through an intersection, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained undisclosed injuries, which required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Ocala , FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 262014

Altima

  • 14,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving on a section of a us highway that was under construction, a bump was encountered where the pavement blended with old pavement. At that time I noticed that the warning light for no passenger in the passenger seat came on. The problem was that my wife was sitting in the seat and had been for approximately 8 miles at the time the light came on. I pulled over as soon as possible, shut the ignition off and restarted the car. After doing this, the warning light went off and we proceeded home without incident. My concern is that the OCS was reprogrammed when I had the vehicle serviced on 7/15/2014 and until this time, I had experienced no other problems since it was reprogrammed. It appears that the OCS reprogramming is not correcting the issue. I tried to contact Nissan, however, it was after hours and I will have to wait until Monday to report the issue to them.

- Miles, TX, USA

problem #19

Sep 042014

Altima

  • 22,000 miles
While driving my 2014 Nissan Altima, the passenger side airbag light stayed on although an adult passenger was sitting in the seat. I pulled over, turned the car off and re-started it, the light went off. This has happened twice within a month.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #18

Jun 052014

Altima

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning lamp illuminated intermittently. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had recently been repaired under recall NHTSA campaign id number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the recall failed to remedy the failure. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #17

Jul 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated the front passenger air bag sensor failed to detect when the seat was occupied. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the failure persisted. Both the dealer and the manufacturer have been made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 4,000. Updated 10/22/14 updated 4/7/2015

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #16

Aug 132014

Altima

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. While traveling 50 mph, the contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The contact's vehicle spun around and crashed into a barrier. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and the vehicle was destroyed. The driver and passenger sustained bruises and abrasions and received medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #15

Aug 012014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle was traveling at approx 30mph when struck in the front knocking it out of its intended path into a fixed object. None of the air bags deployed. This vehicle had prior to accident been returned to dealership for a recall on soft wear for passenger side air bag.

- Douglas, GA, USA

problem #14

Jul 272014

Altima

  • 2,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The failure recurred three times. The contact was uncertain if the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 2,700.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #13

Jul 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 3,150 miles
On Wednesday, July 15th 2014 I was leaving my community and there was a section on the way where water accumulates after it rains. During my drive out the community I needed to go through the puddle of water to continue my exit. As I passed through the puddle, the water rushed inside the car, on the driver's side under the steering wheel. It appears that the water rushed into the cabin through the steering column.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 242014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
My son lost control of his vehicle due to a seizure, he hit a on coming 4 wheel drive truck partly head on, then another truck T-bone him in the passenger side. During the wreck none of the airbags deployed are the seat belt restrain him. His head went thru the windshield partly and the back of his neck broke off the head rest. He has no related issues of seizures of any kind in the past, no one ticketed for the accident period. We come find out that Nissan manufacture has a recall on this car because of airbags problems. We never received any kind of noticed from the dealer ship are Nissan manufacture period. I' very concern about the safety of this vehicle even being on the road period.

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #11

Jun 202014

Altima

  • 3,500 miles
Recently after getting the S/w updated for the recall to fix the passenger air bag issue, I started noticing that the air bag indicator for both driver and passenger are red for longer time than other dash lights during the start of the engine. Usually, after starting the engine, all the dash light would come and within couple of seconds, lights/indicators in the dash would go from red to off indicating that everything is normal. But off late, I noticed that only the air bag indicator is going off by at least 3+ seconds, which in turn in sync with the passenger air bag. I'm kind of worried that the air bag safety system is not functioning properly. Please advise any further action to get proper attention from the dealer. Thanks

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?