Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,959 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 4 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Jul 152014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent surging continuing through speeds of 30-40 before becoming smooth.

- Levelland, TX, USA

problem #196

Dec 282013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
I had just started off after making a turn from a red light and the vehicle started shuttering real bad and felt like it was in the rear end. This was just the first time of many times. It still does it to date. I bought this vehicle brand new from mercer Nissan in lufkin, Texas on December 21, 2013 and I am going to file a complaint against them also. I still have the stupid vehicle because I am too upside down to get rid of it. I have already had the transmission replaced which took them 11 months before they decided to do that. I have also had all the new software downloaded and other parts replaced. I am still told if they can't duplicate it they can not fix it. So I am stuck with a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder that I wouldn't pay two cents for if I had it all to do again. I am being told that if others are not complaining a recall will not be issued. This vehicle is not worth the money I paid for it. I also read where the 2014 Pathfinders are doing the shuttering also. I believe it is time to find a good lemon law lawyer.

- Garrison, TX, USA

problem #195

Aug 132013

Pathfinder

  • 3,000 miles
Upon acceleration, the transmission seems to stall for a brief moment. This is happening more frequently now and stalls a little longer each time upon acceleration.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #194

Jun 202011

Pathfinder

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nissan Pathfinder 2013 transmission has shuttered and shuttered for several months, the transmission was replaced. 30 days it started again only worse, took it to the dealer in gulfport, ms and the mechanic thinks it has bad gas. Brought the car in Florida, they worked on it and seemed to know what they were doing. Today, while driving around 35 mph, it mad a sound like I hit something in the road, really loud, we could feel it in our seats, I turned around and went home. I am scared to drive it.

- Diamondhead, MS, USA

problem #193

Aug 082014

Pathfinder

  • 20,500 miles
Just bought my Pathfinder three months ago used with 18000 miles me and my wife just had our second child and we were looking for a third row vehicle comparable to the highlander and we thought this was it but boy were we wrong. We put about 2000 miles on it and started having problems. This Pathfinder put my family's life in danger when it started losing power and jerking in the middle of a busy highway... my wife says she's never had such a new car gives her problems like this and she no longer trust driving it with my three week old daughter and 2 year old son inside. I'm gonna get rid of this junk and buy a highlander like I should have done in the first place. Then I know my family will be safe on the road. Nissan has forever lost my business, never again. They know they have horrible transmission problems and won't do anything to truly fix them only try to buy time till the warranty expires. Bye bye Nissan

- Crestview, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #192

Jun 102014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,200 miles
Transmission slips on take off 2-10 mph.

- Porter Corners, NY, USA

problem #191

Jul 042014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased on December 24, 2013, my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder has a major transmission issue, which has not been fixed after three service calls, and ended with the transmission failing while driving at 70 mph on a very busy interstate highway. Significant safety event. On 6 Jul 2014, my Pathfinder"S transmission failed in the middle of interstate highway 95 over 150 miles from my residence at posted speed of 70 mph. The car started to shudder with a slight jump in RPM, acted normally, and then, the transmission got stuck in gear. We made it to the side of the road and shutdown the car. I restarted the Pathfinder and regain control of the power train; as before, the vehicle drove with no apparent issue. Fifteen minutes later, the vehicle"S RPM started to exceed 5000 to 6000 rpms, cycling between coasting at high and low rpms (with no power being transfer to the wheels to maneuver the car properly), and normal "powered? driving. Finally, it would not respond to fuel pedal actions. I was able to ?coast? through the 70+ mph traffic to the highways? shoulder. Background. I questioned both the salesman/manager on this issue, and both stated that these early problems had been resolved, and more importantly, that my vehicle"S transmission was a newer one. The first vehicle incident occurred shortly after buying the vehicle. The problem consisted of transmission bumps and rumbles that caused the vehicle to shudder or rattle. I took the vehicle to the dealership in fredericksburg, Virginia on 19 Jan 2014, 4 Mar, and 2 May. I was also told that this issue was not a serious problem, and that the vehicle computer would adjust to the individual pattern of the driver and that the problem would eventually go away. Nissan was contacted, and the vehicle's software was updated. The service department was confident that the problem would be mitigated by the last software update.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #190

Mar 252013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,439 miles
I have had this vehicle to the dealer three times because at slow speeds it shudders like a manual transmission when you do not downshift. There is no rhyme or reason as to when it does this. There are times when you accelerate around 50 mph that it does nothing and then decides to just take off. The dealer had it for eight days on one occasion and could not duplicate the problem - again happens at any time and not consistently. The dealer says they can't do anything about it until they can duplicate the problem with the computer on it so Nissan can tell them what to do. This is absurd. They have a problem and admit it but won't tackle the problem head on. I guess they need to have a tragic accident before they are forced to do something. It's time for the government to step in and address the problem. It is my understanding that the dealer had eight transmission issues in the shop when mine was in last week. But they claim their hands are tied. NHTSA time to step in.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #189

Sep 262013

Pathfinder

  • 2,177 miles
My transmission has a shudder anywhere between 10-20 mph and also has a lugging around 50 mph. My transmission has been replaced, reprogrammed and still has the same issues.

- Kalispell, MT, USA

problem #188

Jul 152013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Approximately two months after purchase, I began having trouble with my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, noticing that it "shudders" and loses power when accelerating from a standstill or at low speeds. This typically happens between approximately 20 to 40 miles per hour. The sensation is described as being like "driving over a rumble strip" and the power loss occurs for about three to five seconds. The dealership has tried to correct this issue on three different occasions through a software update, new torque converter and even a new transmission. I dropped the car of this morning for the fourth time because the problem continues to occur and this problem substantially impairs the use of my vehicle and creates a serious safety hazard.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #187

Jun 272014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Someone please help! my wife and I own a 2013 Pathfinder and it only has 13000 miles an is already on its second transmission! our car violently shakes and shudders on take off at approximately 15-20 mile per hour! why isn't there a direct investigation for this problem. Why not when the majority of the complaints here are for this particular problem and it's so dangerous with my 6 month old child in the car. Something has to be done. Same problem with Pathfinder's equivalent, infinity equivalent JX35, with same type transmission. Look it up. Something has to be done!

- Upland, CA, USA

problem #186

May 022013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Whole family is in the car and I was driving. While we are entering to highway and merging to right line, shudder happens and we loose all engine power, gas pedal becomes useless and only thing I can do was to slow down. In that instant we are almost rear ended by semi truck. Cvt transmission put the car into shudder state. We were not able to speed up while merging to highway for almost 20 seconds.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #185

Jun 222014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 5,524 miles
Just purchased the car used from a dealer on 6/19 with only 5100 miles on it. By 6/22, by noticed that the car will shudder occasionally after accelerating, coasting, and then attempting to accelerate again. While accelerating from a turn to an interchange, the car shook as if going over rumble strips for about 4 seconds and wasn't able to achieve accelerating power until shaking stopped. Has occurred about 7 times over the past day. Very frustrated in the dealer who now says the manufacturer will cover any defects. I feel the dealer knowingly passed the problem on to me.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #184

Feb 052012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,433 miles
Around 20 mph trans jerks.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #183

Jul 312013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
I have the same problem with my Pathfinder that I see several people having. The shuddering is like the transmission is slipping and it has happened in various situations. It is not a sideways shudder like a shake, it is a lack of forward motion (while the engine revs to higher rpms) so severe that it feels like being rear ended and has nearly slammed me into the steering wheel more than once. I have had two different dealerships check it and both said there was no problem because it is not throwing an error code on the computer. Finally, it did it all the way to my work one morning (30+ miles) so I took it to the dealership where I purchased it again. Same results, except they tried to pass it off as a bad wheel bearing and replaced one of my wheel bearings. They called me to tell me it was ready for pick up and I refused to pick it up until the problem is fixed (I now have 40K miles, warranty is getting close to being up). I could go on and on about how this has played out, but long story short, they are now in the process of replacing my coil packs and if that doesn't work, then they are going to try replacing the transmission. It is very disappointing since the first 2 Nissan I owned were great vehicles.

- Grenada, MS, USA

problem #182

Oct 082013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
I have had about 5 incidents of failure when I hit the gas from a stand still. When I push the gas pedal, I will accelerate a little (enough to get in traffic), then nothing. I lift my foot off the gas and put it back down. Still nothing. It is a good 4 seconds before I get power to go. This has led to a couple near crashes, as 4 seconds is a long time if you are pulling out in traffic.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #181

Nov 302013

Pathfinder

  • 1,800 miles
Nissan Pathfinder 2013 platinum premium was purchased by me in the middle of July 2013 from Nissan dealer at rt. 440, jersey city, New Jersey. After driving the vehicle for about 2000 miles in a period of 3 month, the vehicle started shuddering and slowing down (decelerating) of its own. This problem became frequent. The dealer has been contacted and requested for addressing the issue but to no avail. We have made at least three visits to the dealer requesting to find the fault and resolve but to my amazement, they could not diagnose the problem and put the machine right. I am really afraid to use this vehicle for fear of breakdown or accident while in operation. It is almost a year, I possess the vehicle and the mileage I put is less than 4000 till date. I would appreciate if your good office communicate the drawbacks to the Nissan usa corporate office and advise them to take steps to address the issues relating my vehicle. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #180

Mar 312014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
The first time I experienced this issue I was stopped for a red light. It felt like someone had rear-ended my car. Since there was not a car behind me I ruled that out. Shortly after, the car started to hesitate and lurch. I took the car to a dealer and called Nissan Consumer Affairs. The bottom line was that the transmission was replaced. That, however, did not solve the problem. We continue to have the same kind of occurrences. I understand that I am not the only one with a lurching car. Doesn't Nissan know how to fix this?

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #179

Apr 082014

Pathfinder

  • 21,458 miles
Hello, we bought this Pathfinder in March 2014. I was driving and I slowed down to turn into a parking lot. When I turned and gave it some gas. The engine and transmission was not working correctly. The Pathfinder started sputtering, shaking and loosing power. I have been doing research on the 2013 Nissan Pathfinders. My research has come across that the Nissan motor company know there has been a problem with 2013 Pathfinders. And they have yet to put out a recall to fix the problem. I continue to drive with the shuddering, shaking and looking power. On 5/28/2014 I was coming home from work and slowed down and I thought the transmission fell out. I also lost power. It scared me. So I believe that some one needs to look into this problem. Because I think Nissan is not concern.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #178

Apr 262013

Pathfinder

  • 60 miles
********basically we traded in our 2012 Pathfinder for the 2013 Pathfinder on April 2013.************* we immediately noticed some flaws with the vehicle. My experience with the vehicle began to shudder at low speed every once in a while. Also the hood will shake while driving over 40mph., as if it wanted to fly off. I called Nissan dealerships, spoke with service managers and they stated that Nissan is aware of the issue and working on issuing a recall. Their advice was to continue driving vehicle as normal, shouldn't result any damage. Oh, were they wrong! it's been about a year with this vehicle and the problem not only continues but, has become worse. I can't drive 5 mph without the vehicle shuddering recklessly, as if part of the engine wants to fall off. Well, now I have a new issue, on startup my vehicle throws white/gray smoke as if a bomb blew up. This is so embarrassing. I immediately took the vehicle to the dealer, they came back to say they found "sludge" in the engine, that it has to be replaced! ok, but according to Nissan they are not going to cover this, since they assume we are liable. We have maintained this vehicle properly and if this engine failed and covered in sludge, that has to be a recall. At, this point in time Nissan has communicated with me one time in a week. I spoke to the service manager, he's not very helpful in trying to resolve this issue. He just advised that we sell the vehicle back to Nissan. Unbelievable, this has become a total nightmare, I overheard some workers at the dealers discussing issues about the 2013 Pathfinder, they are aware of the issues this vehicles has, but their main goal is to sell. Not inform the consumers about this piece of crap!!!

- Arlington, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?