CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

6.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,153 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 9 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

May 102013

Pathfinder

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This vehicle would buck and jump due to the transmission factory problem, we with dealership and they rebuilt this original one and told me there were problems across the states. This lasted about 3 weeks I went back to dealership and they had to have a service technician drive it with computer attached to throw a reading this took about 4 days. The Nissan main headquarters agreed to put a new one in and said they had a fix this was close to Sept. Holidays transmission box came but had a motor in it, then I had to call back headquarters because they were a month behind on fixing the ones they were ahead of me, so I had to get upset with them and they sent one in about 2 days. Now that has been about 3 weeks and my vehicle is jumping and bucking again, headwater will not fix this until a technician drives the vehicle again and computer must throw a code. I am tired of having to wait on a fix I am making $547 payment for 7 months and it has been in the shop most of this time.

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

problem #97

Aug 062013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Driving 45 miles per hour on a straight level road, while accelerating to 40 mph, the vehicle began shaking violently; then began shuttering along with a drop in power; after 3 to 4 seconds, the vehicle returned to normal driving. This was the third occurrence since I purchased the 2013 Pathfinder three months ago.. reading now, NHTSA database indicates multiple consumer complaints regarding the Pathfinder transmission issue.

- San Luis Obispo, CA, USA

problem #96

Sep 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the Nissan Pathfinder on August 5, 2013. Within 2 weeks, the vehicle would shudder when driving between 20-30 miles per hour and suddenly lose power. I tried different types of gasoline without success. I finally brought it back to the dealership on September 13. They said it needed a "sensor in the transmission", they would order the part and I could bring it back the following Wednesday. I brought it in on Wednesday. I was told it would be an all day job. Near the end of the day, I was told that the part didn't fit and they had ordered another one.it would be in the following Monday. They arranged for me to get a rental car. They had the car for another ten days. They called for me to pick it up. While driving back from the rental Agency, with the service advisor in the car, it did it again! they did not offer another rental or to take it back and fix it, so I took it home. A week later, the shuddering was so bad, that I took it back in again. They ordered an entirely new transmission (another week to receive the part and install it). (why put a new transmission in a new car that already has a new transmission that had been rebuilt once already when they put in the torque converter?) it makes no sense. Meanwhile, I'm terrified to have to take this car back again.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #95

Sep 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent transmission shudder ranging from mild to violent with accompanying decrease of power. Shudder primarily occurs at low speed in the 20-40 mph range but has also occurred at highway speeds when transmission is not shifting. Shudder seems to be caused by a variety of variables including speed and degree of inclination of the road. Loss of power has occurred in potentially dangerous passing situations, took to the dealer 2 times and I already did my 3 times, first reset the computer, second change the torque converter and I know the 3 going to be the transmission change.

- Jamaica Plain, MA, USA

problem #94

Apr 192013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 410 miles
Intermittent transmission shudder ranging from mild to violent with accompanying decrease of power. Shudder primarily occurs at low speed in the 20-40 mph range but has also occurred at highway speeds when transmission is not shifting. Shudder seems to be caused by a variety of variables including speed and degree of inclination of the road. Loss of power has occurred in potentially dangerous passing situations.

- Lexington, KY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #93

Mar 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Vehicle has a periodic shudder as if I was driving over a ripple road for several seconds. The shudder occurs at various speeds usually during light accelerations. Over the months the shudder has periodically re-occurred up to the present time. The vehicle now has 1,721 miles.

- Perth Amboy, NJ, USA

problem #92

Oct 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,752 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was driving in traffic and tapping gas pedal very lightly maintaining speed with traffic the transmission began to shudder and lost power. When I stepped harder on gas pedal the car hesitated and then went. It felt like running over rumble strips. About 10 minutes later it did it again so I called dealer cause the car was brand new. They said they were aware of the issue with this model and to bring it in 2 days later on weds 10/3/13. I asked if it was safe to drive it or should I have it towed they said to drive it. It did the same thing multiple times that day I was able to record one event on an iphone. I brought the vehicle into the dealer early as I did not want to cause any damage to the transmission which appeared to be slipping and banging. The vehicle has been there for multiple days already and they predict at least two weeks at which time they plan to change the transmission with a remanufactured trans. I said I would not accept a used part/ remanufactured as the vehicle is brand new and was very expensive. I bought a brand new vehicle for a reason I wanted new not used. Wanted no problems huh they referred me to Nissan Consumer Affairs. They called and said they are reviewing the issue with the dealer and will get back to me 10/8/13 a week has already past and no resolution. The vehicle was also in for service for the passenger airbag as it was displayed at delivery and the vehicle was returned to dealer minutes after delivery and was kept for 4 days to make that repair. All told the vehicle was in service for about 1 month and appears that it will be in the shop for 3 weeks. Very disappointed and not happy with answers from Nissan thus far.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #91

Sep 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 820 miles
I was driving the vehicle at approximately 43 mph; when I applied the brakes (without stopping) and began to accelerate again the vehicle shuddered for about 3 seconds. This same occurrence happened periodically again over a 2-day period. I took the vehicle to sheehy Nissan (short pump) in richmond and was advised that the transmission need to be replaced and that Nissan was sending another transmission for the dealership to install. My wife called Nissan North America regarding the vehicle and was given a case number; I also contacted Nissan by email about two days later as we had not received a call back and filed a compliant asking that me vehicle either be replaced with another brand new 2013 Nissan Pathfinder sl or that the organization refund my money. In the end Nissan Consumer Affairs refused to honor my request and advised that they would only repair the vehicle.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #90

Aug 152013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Hi, I bought a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder platinum in May. As I have later found out, the model appears to have a shudder issue with the transmission which is affecting my vehicle as well. I reported this issue to my local Nissan dealer (sheehy Nissan manassas) in late August and they verified the issue. I was told parts were ordered and that my vehicle would be fixed in 1 month. It is nearly 2 months later and I am still waiting on a resolution. I monitor Nissan Pathfinder's facebook page, their technical service bulletins etc..... and it appears that Nissan is trying different solutions like changing torque converter, reprogramming tcm, and even replacing the entire transmission...... and still no solid resolution. Furthermore, the vehicles navigation system constantly freezes or does a hard reboot. I would like guidance on what can be done to expedite a resolution or if I am entitled to have Nissan buy the vehicle back if they have no resolution in sight. I am concerned about the safety impact of a continued shudder and loss of power on this new vehicle.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #89

Jun 102013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
When I am accelerating or driving at low speeds the car shudders. 'been to Nissan twice now, it still shudders even though they reprogrammed the ECM and replaced the torque converter after removing the engine.

- Logmont, CO, USA

problem #88

Sep 292012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I found this video on youtube, this the same noise I feel when iam driving my 2013 Pathfinder. I already took it in to the dealership they say it needed and added cvt fluid cause it was low on it. It seems that was not the issue cause the cvt jerking and the lost of power when driving is still there. The VIN number is [xxx],.thanks for your assistance, I was so happy with the purchase that if this issue is not resolved.I may have to return it, due to the safety concern for myself and family.I have enclosed link also will be there again tomorrow morning for the same issue. www.youtube.com/watch?V=pmjr62zw_88. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #87

Sep 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 217 miles
Less than a block from my home the car suddenly lurched then resumed normally. As I pulled into my slightly elevated driveway, the car shuttered then stopped. When I stepped on the accelerator it revved but did not move. When I exited the vehicle, transmission fluid was draining out and a trail of fluid went from my car all the way down the road. The car was immobile. The dealership picked up the car and found that a clamp to the transmission cooler line was missing and the hose came off resulting in loss of fluid. The dealership replaced the clamp and fluids and did a complete inspection of the car before returning it to me. Both the dealership and Nissan no. America executive offices went above and beyond to correct the problem. The car now seems to be fully operational and has shown no signs of residual issues. As a consumer I am very satisfied with the outcome, the dealership and Nissan.

- West Jordan, UT, USA

problem #86

Nov 302012

Pathfinder

  • 100 miles
I bought this vehicle in November 2012 because I had heard all great things about Nissan. The first week of owning the vehicle I had issues with the driver side power window. It would either go down extremely slowly or not at all. I brought it back to the dealership and they "fixed the problem". the window is still very slow but better than it was. A couple weeks later, the passenger air bag light started going on and off all the time. It didn't matter if there was a person in the seat or not. I brought it back to the dealership and they "fixed the problem". it still goes on once in a while but very rarely. Biggest problem, since I bought the vehicle it has been shuddering (almost like going over a rumble strip) when I am driving low speeds. (around 20 mph) I dropped the vehicle off at the dealership this morning and they told me that they are aware of the problem and they will either need to do a software update or possibly give me a new transmission. I am not happy!! when you spend $35,000 on a vehicle you do not expect all of these problems. I will never buy another Nissan.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #85

Sep 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, less than 6 months ago. We currently have 7100 miles on it. We have not even had our 2nd oil change and I have already had it in the shop 4 times and I have to take it in today for the same issue, dealing with the transmission. At roughly 1000 miles, we took it back to the dealership in knoxville tn due to a stuttering when coming to a stop, putting the car in park and when taking off from a stop. We was told this was due to the new transmission in the 2013 and the car was trying to get in the best gear for the most efficient gas mileage. Came time for our 1st oil change at 3500 and we told them to check the stutter again and was told that it was due to the transmission, but the computer would correct itself. We took the car back to the dealer at the beginning of Sept and was given a rental for 2 days and was told the problem was due to the torque converter and they would replace the part. They also said the fixed the airbag recall at this appointment. After 2 days the part came in and the vehicle was returned in 4 days after the repair. On 9/26/13 the vehicle was still stuttering when I came to a red light on a hill. The light turned green and I pressed the gas pedal and the car did not move, but the engine RPM moved. Then the car kicked into gear and moved. I came to another hill and the vehicle was barely able to make it up the hill. I called the dealer and they told me to bring it in on today, 9/27/13 to have it checked again. I am worried about the safety of my family due to these problems in the transmission.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #84

Sep 092013

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The car started to vibrate and surge. It makes loud bang noises at the front of the car. It feels like its loosing power and its hard to pick up. It has done this while approaching to a car or slowing down. I took it to the dealer and they reprogram the computer but still doing the same problem over and over.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #83

Apr 012013

Pathfinder

  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,200.

- Hastoria, NY, USA

problem #82

Aug 012013

Pathfinder

  • 5,000 miles
The vehicle would shudder and shake violently at low speeds - 17 to 25 mph. I was concerned that it would damage the vehicle and cause motor mounts and other parts to shake loose. I took the vehicle to a dealership in salisbury, md while I was on vacation and they said they could not duplicate the condition. They sent me on my way with no corrective measures. (yet it did it all the way home) upon returning home I took it back to the dealership where I purchased the car. They were much more supportive and stated they were aware of the problem with 2013 Pathfinders and it would need a new torque converter and be reprogrammed. I left the car with them for over a week and they made the repairs. They stated they did not know if it would correct the problem. Upon getting the car back it no longer shook and vibrated at low speeds but instead it then shook and vibrated violently at mid speeds (40 to 50 mph). I returned it to the dealership and they determined it needed a whole new transmission. They kept it 10 days...replaced the transmission. I picked it up 9/20/13. When I drove it home it would not go into gear. I had to shift it several times to get it to move out of neutral and finally it took hold. The following day it would not go into reverse. I was able to get it to connect after several attempts and drove it straight back to the dealership. I am back in a rental and have no idea what is going on with my vehicle. Perhaps the violent shaking is what is causing the transmission fluid lines to come loose. I feel this vehicle is not safe.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #81

Apr 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
I noticed the vehicle would start sputtering or shuttering like its loosing power and the transmission or engine would shake while its sputtering. I took it to dan mullins Nissan here in lawton, ok and I was told that it was normal now it is doing it more often.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #80

Sep 062013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle was at a stop light. When the light turned green, I started to accelerate. After a few seconds, the vehicle lost power and started to slow down to a crawl even with my foot still on the gas pedal. The loss of power lasted 2-3 seconds and then the vehicle started picking back up and drove normal again. This incident happened twice in one week. Took the vehicle to the dealership but they could not replicate the problem so they returned the vehicle to me and said the vehicle has no problems. This is a safety issue since I could have been crossing and intersection with oncoming cars and could have been in an accident.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #79

Aug 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,755 miles
Transmission shudders as if running over the rumble strips on the side of the road. Loss of power when shudders as well. Transmission will have to be replaced.

- Charleston, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?