Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2013 has a growing number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the transmissions shake violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 9 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #92

Oct 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,752 miles


Was driving in traffic and tapping gas pedal very lightly maintaining speed with traffic the transmission began to shudder and lost power. When I stepped harder on gas pedal the car hesitated and then went. It felt like running over rumble strips. About 10 minutes later it did it again so I called dealer cause the car was brand new. They said they were aware of the issue with this model and to bring it in 2 days later on weds 10/3/13. I asked if it was safe to drive it or should I have it towed they said to drive it. It did the same thing multiple times that day I was able to record one event on an iphone. I brought the vehicle into the dealer early as I did not want to cause any damage to the transmission which appeared to be slipping and banging. The vehicle has been there for multiple days already and they predict at least two weeks at which time they plan to change the transmission with a remanufactured trans. I said I would not accept a used part/ remanufactured as the vehicle is brand new and was very expensive. I bought a brand new vehicle for a reason I wanted new not used. Wanted no problems huh they referred me to Nissan Consumer Affairs. They called and said they are reviewing the issue with the dealer and will get back to me 10/8/13 a week has already past and no resolution. The vehicle was also in for service for the passenger airbag as it was displayed at delivery and the vehicle was returned to dealer minutes after delivery and was kept for 4 days to make that repair. All told the vehicle was in service for about 1 month and appears that it will be in the shop for 3 weeks. Very disappointed and not happy with answers from Nissan thus far.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #91

Sep 132013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 820 miles
I was driving the vehicle at approximately 43 mph; when I applied the brakes (without stopping) and began to accelerate again the vehicle shuddered for about 3 seconds. This same occurrence happened periodically again over a 2-day period. I took the vehicle to sheehy Nissan (short pump) in richmond and was advised that the transmission need to be replaced and that Nissan was sending another transmission for the dealership to install. My wife called Nissan North America regarding the vehicle and was given a case number; I also contacted Nissan by email about two days later as we had not received a call back and filed a compliant asking that me vehicle either be replaced with another brand new 2013 Nissan Pathfinder sl or that the organization refund my money. In the end Nissan Consumer Affairs refused to honor my request and advised that they would only repair the vehicle.

- Chester, VA, USA

problem #90

Aug 152013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Hi, I bought a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder platinum in May. As I have later found out, the model appears to have a shudder issue with the transmission which is affecting my vehicle as well. I reported this issue to my local Nissan dealer (sheehy Nissan manassas) in late August and they verified the issue. I was told parts were ordered and that my vehicle would be fixed in 1 month. It is nearly 2 months later and I am still waiting on a resolution. I monitor Nissan Pathfinder's facebook page, their technical service bulletins etc..... and it appears that Nissan is trying different solutions like changing torque converter, reprogramming tcm, and even replacing the entire transmission...... and still no solid resolution. Furthermore, the vehicles navigation system constantly freezes or does a hard reboot. I would like guidance on what can be done to expedite a resolution or if I am entitled to have Nissan buy the vehicle back if they have no resolution in sight. I am concerned about the safety impact of a continued shudder and loss of power on this new vehicle.

- Centreville, VA, USA

problem #89

Jun 102013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 8,000 miles


When I am accelerating or driving at low speeds the car shudders. 'been to Nissan twice now, it still shudders even though they reprogrammed the ECM and replaced the torque converter after removing the engine.

- Logmont, CO, USA

problem #88

Sep 292012

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles
I found this video on youtube, this the same noise I feel when iam driving my 2013 Pathfinder. I already took it in to the dealership they say it needed and added cvt fluid cause it was low on it. It seems that was not the issue cause the cvt jerking and the lost of power when driving is still there. The VIN number is [xxx],.thanks for your assistance, I was so happy with the purchase that if this issue is not resolved.I may have to return it, due to the safety concern for myself and family.I have enclosed link also will be there again tomorrow morning for the same issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #87

Sep 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 217 miles
Less than a block from my home the car suddenly lurched then resumed normally. As I pulled into my slightly elevated driveway, the car shuttered then stopped. When I stepped on the accelerator it revved but did not move. When I exited the vehicle, transmission fluid was draining out and a trail of fluid went from my car all the way down the road. The car was immobile. The dealership picked up the car and found that a clamp to the transmission cooler line was missing and the hose came off resulting in loss of fluid. The dealership replaced the clamp and fluids and did a complete inspection of the car before returning it to me. Both the dealership and Nissan no. America executive offices went above and beyond to correct the problem. The car now seems to be fully operational and has shown no signs of residual issues. As a consumer I am very satisfied with the outcome, the dealership and Nissan.

- West Jordan, UT, USA

problem #86

Nov 302012


  • 100 miles


I bought this vehicle in November 2012 because I had heard all great things about Nissan. The first week of owning the vehicle I had issues with the driver side power window. It would either go down extremely slowly or not at all. I brought it back to the dealership and they "fixed the problem". the window is still very slow but better than it was. A couple weeks later, the passenger air bag light started going on and off all the time. It didn't matter if there was a person in the seat or not. I brought it back to the dealership and they "fixed the problem". it still goes on once in a while but very rarely. Biggest problem, since I bought the vehicle it has been shuddering (almost like going over a rumble strip) when I am driving low speeds. (around 20 mph) I dropped the vehicle off at the dealership this morning and they told me that they are aware of the problem and they will either need to do a software update or possibly give me a new transmission. I am not happy!! when you spend $35,000 on a vehicle you do not expect all of these problems. I will never buy another Nissan.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #85

Sep 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
I purchased my 2013 Nissan Pathfinder, less than 6 months ago. We currently have 7100 miles on it. We have not even had our 2nd oil change and I have already had it in the shop 4 times and I have to take it in today for the same issue, dealing with the transmission. At roughly 1000 miles, we took it back to the dealership in knoxville tn due to a stuttering when coming to a stop, putting the car in park and when taking off from a stop. We was told this was due to the new transmission in the 2013 and the car was trying to get in the best gear for the most efficient gas mileage. Came time for our 1st oil change at 3500 and we told them to check the stutter again and was told that it was due to the transmission, but the computer would correct itself. We took the car back to the dealer at the beginning of Sept and was given a rental for 2 days and was told the problem was due to the torque converter and they would replace the part. They also said the fixed the airbag recall at this appointment. After 2 days the part came in and the vehicle was returned in 4 days after the repair. On 9/26/13 the vehicle was still stuttering when I came to a red light on a hill. The light turned green and I pressed the gas pedal and the car did not move, but the engine RPM moved. Then the car kicked into gear and moved. I came to another hill and the vehicle was barely able to make it up the hill. I called the dealer and they told me to bring it in on today, 9/27/13 to have it checked again. I am worried about the safety of my family due to these problems in the transmission.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #84

Sep 092013

Pathfinder 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The car started to vibrate and surge. It makes loud bang noises at the front of the car. It feels like its loosing power and its hard to pick up. It has done this while approaching to a car or slowing down. I took it to the dealer and they reprogram the computer but still doing the same problem over and over.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #83

Apr 012013


  • 1,200 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph, the vehicle suddenly stalled. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,200.

- Hastoria, NY, USA

problem #82

Aug 012013


  • 5,000 miles


The vehicle would shudder and shake violently at low speeds - 17 to 25 mph. I was concerned that it would damage the vehicle and cause motor mounts and other parts to shake loose. I took the vehicle to a dealership in salisbury, md while I was on vacation and they said they could not duplicate the condition. They sent me on my way with no corrective measures. (yet it did it all the way home) upon returning home I took it back to the dealership where I purchased the car. They were much more supportive and stated they were aware of the problem with 2013 Pathfinders and it would need a new torque converter and be reprogrammed. I left the car with them for over a week and they made the repairs. They stated they did not know if it would correct the problem. Upon getting the car back it no longer shook and vibrated at low speeds but instead it then shook and vibrated violently at mid speeds (40 to 50 mph). I returned it to the dealership and they determined it needed a whole new transmission. They kept it 10 days...replaced the transmission. I picked it up 9/20/13. When I drove it home it would not go into gear. I had to shift it several times to get it to move out of neutral and finally it took hold. The following day it would not go into reverse. I was able to get it to connect after several attempts and drove it straight back to the dealership. I am back in a rental and have no idea what is going on with my vehicle. Perhaps the violent shaking is what is causing the transmission fluid lines to come loose. I feel this vehicle is not safe.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #81

Apr 012013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
I noticed the vehicle would start sputtering or shuttering like its loosing power and the transmission or engine would shake while its sputtering. I took it to dan mullins Nissan here in lawton, ok and I was told that it was normal now it is doing it more often.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #80

Sep 062013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
Vehicle was at a stop light. When the light turned green, I started to accelerate. After a few seconds, the vehicle lost power and started to slow down to a crawl even with my foot still on the gas pedal. The loss of power lasted 2-3 seconds and then the vehicle started picking back up and drove normal again. This incident happened twice in one week. Took the vehicle to the dealership but they could not replicate the problem so they returned the vehicle to me and said the vehicle has no problems. This is a safety issue since I could have been crossing and intersection with oncoming cars and could have been in an accident.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #79

Aug 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,755 miles
Transmission shudders as if running over the rumble strips on the side of the road. Loss of power when shudders as well. Transmission will have to be replaced.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #78

Sep 142013


  • 666 miles
My car started missing like it was going into neutral and RPM's went up to 5 and engine was roaring while I was on the highway going 65mph. The SUV lost all power and had to coast over to side of highway. Rested the SUV for 5-10 minutes then started to move along and car would only go between 20-40 mph with intermittent periods of losing all power just like I was in neutral. This is a brand new vehicle only two weeks old and having 666 miles at the time of incident. The transmission was diagnosed with internal failure of transmission by the Nissan dealership.

- Plymouth, MA, USA

problem #77

Aug 082013


  • 600 miles
Problem 1: we bought the vehicle new in July. After about two weeks the car begin to shudder between 15-20 mph. It feels like we are driving over rumble strips. We took the car to the Nissan dealer where we purchased it. They said there was a campaign for the problem and would order a torque converter. We were told it was on back order. After two and half weeks the part was installed. The day we picked up the car it still had the same issues.we have notified the dealership of the continuing problem. Problem 2: the front passenger side airbag goes on and off randomly, turning off the airbag. We told the dealership when we brought it in for the shuddering. They said it was a weight limit issue and the way we sit. We told them it does it for our son who weighs 90 pounds and that we sit the same way every time. We also told them it does it for me off and on in the same day and that our weight doesn't fluctuate that much in the same day. We were told it tested fine, so it will not need repair. Just this morning I got in the passenger side the light was off, we went into a store and when I got back in the car the light was on. I have told the dealership about this again today.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #76

Jun 192013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
At speeds varying from 16mph to 40mph the vehicle can have a horrible shake. One way to describe it is when you run over rumble strips at highway speeds. The vehicle did have the Nissan tsb repair performed which installed a new torque converter but this did not fix the issue. My wife will describe the shaking similar to when the engine on a manual transmission gets too low and the car shakes. I have not been able to determine a pattern to recreate the problem but it happens nearly every day. I have done multiple test drives with Nissan service personnel but was unable to "make it happen" when the person was in the car. I was told by one service personnel that they see this complaint mostly by women because men have a tendency to be more aggressive with the throttle. Since the shaking occurs at low RPM's and within that speed range, the only way I know to make sure it doesn't happen is to make sure the RPM's rise quickly above 2,000-2,500 RPM. It is not safe to be coasting thru town at 25mph then have to rev the engine just to maintain speed... I also do notice a lack of power or "transmission confusion" when the shaking occurs. Once the shaking starts, the way to stop it is to accelerate or let off the gas. Either way there is a lack of power, hesitation and ability to accelerate!

- Edwardsville, IL, USA

problem #75

Aug 132013


  • 3,300 miles
Several times and noticed that the transmission does not engage and the car loses speed. I took the car to the dealer and they told me that because is a cvt transmission was normal. But the car is still doing the same.

- Sunrise, FL, USA

problem #74

Jul 282013


  • 600 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that after refueling, the vehicle stalled and jerked when accelerating or decelerating at any speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the torque converter. The torque converter was replaced however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 600 and the current mileage was 4,000.

- Fort Mayers , FL, USA

problem #73

May 252013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
Vehicle shuddering. My 2013 Pathfinder has had transmission shuddering for the past 4 months with no resolution. I have made 4 trips (for the same complaint) with the following results. 1) Nissan knows of the problem, will be notified when a solution is found, last week of May 2013 2) unable to find issue June 2013 3) made a call to Nissan customer service and a new visit was scheduled, on third visit the problem was duplicated but was told to wait results on current vehicles having had their torque converter and transmissions being changed. 4) on the 4th visit 9/7/2013 (due to a new metal stress noise coming from vehicle at low speeds) after duplicating the issue was told that the noise is also coming from the transmission assembly and that dealer is waiting for fix from Nissan. Originally the only solution was offered to "push the gas pedal" to get out of the shuddering. As a driver you're not always able to just push the gas pedal, specially at the speeds that this issue happens, as you may have another vehicle in front of you... and other vehicles behind you may just increase their speed believing you're doing the same and may, as a result, rear end you, because your vehicle is slowing down instead of speeding up. Another major safety concern is the breaking down of a transmission, specially during cold winter months and since a fix is not yet available makes for a potential accident waiting to happen. Nissan does also say "they don't deal with lemon laws" and to other customers, have denied buybacks. As of September 2013 I have a vehicle with transmission shuddering, transmission metal noises (stress noises) and no solution... which makes the number of attempts to bring the vehicle back for repairs useless because Nissan repair facilities are telling me "we have our hands tied".

- Grayslake , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?