Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2014 has a small, but significant number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the Pathfinder's transmission shakes violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,580 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Jun 182014

Pathfinder 4WD

  • 16,000 miles


I called Nissan in June to report that my car was shaking and trembling at times while driving. It happens while coasting, accelerating and braking. I brought it in and was told it needed a transmission update. 2 weeks later the problem returned. At times I need to turn the car off and restart it to get the shaking to stop. When I looked online this is a huge problem. Over 29000 already are "lemons". I brought it back and was told they could not duplicate the problem. Then brought it back and was told there was a new update (1 day later). I called Nissan corporate and they were looking into buying the car. They then put in a new transmission as I had refused to pick up the car. They put it in the day they called to say it would be done tomorrow so when I called to ask them not to, it was already being done. Now Nissan will not buy the car as it has a new transmission. There are reports of having 3 new transmissions and the problem continues. Cars are breaking down. Nissan is ignoring the problem. I was told in 2-3 weeks they will call and if the car is ok they will offer a settlement. Why a settlement if the car is ok unless they realize it is a problem? the fact that this is a continuation from 2013 problem, and the cars are continuing to be sold while Nissan ignores the problem puts people in danger. Cars are overheating and breaking down in the middle of the highway. Someone needs to hold Nissan accountable and put people first. I stated to corporate I should not have to be a test dummy for 2-3 weeks and put my life and others on the road in danger. No one at Nissan will acknowledge that this is an ongoing issue for more than just myself. Please advise.

- Cornwall, NY, USA

problem #20

Jul 242013


  • miles
Vehicle flutters at various speeds but more so at lower speeds especially when attempting to stop. Vehicle is currently in the purchasing dealership service department. Purchased vehicle May 31 2014 with 45 miles.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #19

Dec 012013


  • 50 miles
Brand new never driven 2014 Nissan Pathfinder bought. Within 3 days of buying vehicle, jerking motion, (like that of going over a rumble strip), while at steady 20mph. Jerking stopped with braking and/or accelerating. Did not happen again till weeks later. Taken to dealership. Told nothing was wrong with it after testing for reported 20 miles. Problem continued. Now happens at high speeds. Safety concern as when driving on highway at high speeds, jerks forward, causing breaking, with near rear end crash occurrence.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #18

Apr 232014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 2,200 miles


Problem one-the airbag off light is on when a 200 plus pound occupant is in the front passenger seat. The recall has been performed and is continuing to fail. It has happened 4 times after the recall was performed. 3 times caught on film/ video and forwarded to the dealer and manufacturer. Nissan sent an engineer to ride with me on 7/31/2014 and blamed the government for the failure. He said that Nissan sets up the parameters based on the government guidelines and if the light is on and airbag is off that is because it needs to be on and disabled. Call me crazy but that sounds like horse crap and deflection to me. I can forward you the videos if you would like. Problem two- the cvt transmission started shuddering around 2200 miles and is continually getting worse. They performed a software update and said that should solve the problem. It has continually gotten worse. The Nissan engineer rode with me on 7/31/2014 and said that he felt the shudder and that it was a cost of achieving cafa standards and was acceptable. He stated that when most customers are told that the shudder is there because of fuel economy they accept it and are satisfied. He implied that I was just being difficult and hard to please. I informed him that I would not have purchased the vehicle if that was the way it drove at the test drive and expressed that it was constantly getting worse and he dismissed the claim.

- Saraland, AL, USA

problem #17

Feb 252014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
The vehicle began to "shudder" around 25 mph. It happened the next day after I purchased it. I took it to dealer on following Monday to do undercoating and told them about the issue. They could not duplicate it. I took it in about a week later and they still could not duplicate it. I was in the area of the dealership when the issue occurred. I arrived at dealership and supervisor went for a ride with me and was able to duplicate the issue. They confirmed it was the transmission. It took them about a week to get the part and had my vehicle for almost a full week to install transmission. Once I received my vehicle back from them I started having issues with the car not starting. After about 5 tries, the vehicle would start and all mileage and fuel gauges would go back to zero. I was recently able to get the car back to the dealer and they determined the battery was half dead. They recharged the battery last Monday, June 16th. I had no issues for the first few days and on Thursday, June 19th, the car would not start again. It took many tries to get it started. I had to return to the dealer again today. As of right now they do not know why the battery keeps draining.

- Eagle River, AK, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #16

Jun 072014


  • 2,900 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. After locking the motorized rear lift gate and placing the vehicle into drive, the lift gate lifted independently and struck a concrete pillar. The contact did not hear the lift gate warning chime during the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the lift gate failure. While driving between 10-30 mph, the transmission failed and prevented the vehicle from accelerating. The manufacturer was not notified of the transmission failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,900.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #15

Jun 012014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 900 miles


2014 Pathfinder was purchased on 5/17. On 6/1 the transmissions shuddered while accelerating at slow speed, which resulted in a loss of power. This was repeated on-demand by service techs at our local dealership. It was confirmed by them that this is a known problem with the cvt on the 2014 Pathfinder. The solution provided by Nissan auto is to replace the 2 week old transmission. The transmission problems are so prevalent that they are on back order and have no confirmed date as to a resolution.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012014


  • 5,000 miles
Rear axles in new 2014 Nissan Pathfinder 3 months old with 5000 miles has severely rusted rear axles. Seems axles were made with cheap materials that are becoming heavily rusted. Front axles have no problems.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #13

Dec 022013


  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle would hesitate to accelerate as it began to shake. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 9,000.

- Pearl , MS, USA

problem #12

Apr 102014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,280 miles
Pathfinder shuttered like engine miss or running over warning strips on road has occurred several times after this first occurrence Nissan service manager said Nissan has no fix for this transmission problem. Also passenger air bag light comes on with passenger in passenger seat.

- Lubbock , TX, USA

problem #11

Mar 192014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles


Spent $42,000+ when we bought the '14 Pathfinder platinum w/premium pkge on 03/06/14 and it started the "shudder" on 03/19/14. After coming to a complete stop, upon re-acceleration, it would shudder when I hit 20 mph. It felt like the vehicle was fighting against me to speed up. I took it back to the dealership and after looking at it they are putting a whole new transmission in it. After reading several reviews online (edmonds, kbb, etc), this transmission shuddering at 20 mph is a frightfully common problem.

- Big Sandy, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 102014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • miles
A) at 9+ miles shifter mechanism not recognizing I was in drive mode or started with I-key error, graduated to obd code P0850 over the next few miles. I was told the fob needed to be programmed. Cruise control not working, turned out the shifter mechanism was at fault - does not recognize vehicle is in drive more or parked or neutral. B) passenger side air bag indicator not working noticed at approx. 120 miles. Was instructed the seat needed calibration. Seat calibrated. C) told the airbag: Was told the issue was possibly the weight of the passenger, how the passenger sat in the seat etc. Later told the dtc code needed to be cleared. 3 hrs later was told the air bag control module needs to be replaced. D) passenger side airbag still not working at approx. 2500 miles. Intermittent after the airbag control module is replaced. E) airbag control module replaced - airbag indicator still not working correctly, Nissan Consumer Affairs told me the car is not going to be recalled. I should get the vehicle fixed at a dealer. Still Nissan does not think there is any major issue with the vehicle and it is not a lemon and should not be replaced. F) read all documents related to the recall notice on NHTSA's website. None of the documents mention the passenger side seat belt indicator (audio or visual indicator). Issue is when the passenger occupancy module fails, I believe the seat belt indicator is also not working correctly either. I wrote to Nissan Consumer Affairs they do not seem to care, NHTSA [xxx] instructed me to file a complaint. I just want Nissan to acknowledge and fix the seat belt issue along with the airbag so consumers are safe. I am not sure if the shifter is related or not but it is odd several electronic components failed. Dealer wants to replace all sensors, I do not think it will fix it. Nissan insists my vehicle is not involved in any campaign. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #9

Mar 082014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 3,696 miles
Purchased two 2014 Nissan Pathfinders on October 2013 from sheehy Nissan of annapolis. After 1500 miles on one of them started hearing a noise from the left driver's side area only when going over 55mph. Took to dealership tech heard the same problem but was not sure what was causing the noise. After a week pasted someone from Nissan came down to look at the truck at this point I told dealer I no longer wanted truck and that I would like another new vehicle in its place and did not mind paying a few dollars more for and upgraded model. So the GM came back with some good numbers and off the lot I went with another brand new 2014 fully loaded Pathfinder on March 8th 2014 I started feeling this very hard shuddering when driving 0-20mph I thought it would stop but it just got worst so on March 10th 2014 I dropped truck off at the dealership for service and tech was able to hear and feel what I felt and they placed a called to Nissan which advised them to replace the transmission and that it would take a week. When I went to pick up the truck on Friday March 14th 2014 they pulled it into the bay I got in the drivers set started the truck and right away I noticed that the steering wheel did not go down only up and down. I called the service rep over and advised him what was going on and he called his manager over and they both shook their heads and said you are really having a tuff time with these Pathfinders and said what do you want to do drive it over the weekend to test out the new transmission or leave it here? so I told him leave it here and that this was crazy he said he agrees and that he would call Nissan Monday and let them know that now the now the steering wheel has problems.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #8

Mar 032014


  • 3,000 miles
After only have the car for 3 months, brand new off of the lot, the transmission started to go. Then after getting the a brand new transmission, then the exhaust broke"?"

- Eugne, OR, USA

problem #7

Nov 262013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 600 miles
Accelerating from stoplight across highway when transmission begins to violently shake the entire vehicle. Released accelerator pedal to stop violent shaking. Reapplied pressure to accelerator pedal to keep vehicle behind us from smashing our vehicle. This exact same scenario has occurred over and over again in the last 4200 miles. This exact violent shaking (juddering) has also occurred when accelerating onto the highway. Nissan corporation is fully aware of this issue and refused to fix my vehicle. The Pathfinder transmission has a design defect that is a serious safety issue.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #6

Jan 092014


  • 5,289 miles
Please note the following: All 2013 2014 Nissan Pathfinders have a faulty transmission that shudders, vibrates, jerks, shakes.. when you slowly accelerate or when you come off the highway doing cruise control and then go to bumper to bumper traffic. When the car gets to about 8,000 there is no denying the problem. Nissan refuses to recall the car. They continue to ask that you bring the car in.. and they don't have the 1st clue on how to fix it.. their answer is to give you another transmission and claim the problem is fixed. I had a 2013 the bought back the car and gave me a 2014 and guess what the car is still a piece of garbage. And now they refuse to acknowledge the defect the 2014 has. Stay away!!!!!!!

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #5

Feb 212014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 50 miles
I bought a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder platinum with 9 miles, I drove it home approx. 50 miles and found I was getting I-key system error. Dealer instructed me it was the fob programming error, then they inspected the car and told me a transmission switch was defective which prevented the ECM to recognize the car was in drive mode not in neutral or park. Within the next 50 miles the check engine light came on with P0850 error. Mechanic fixed the issue after several days, not the passenger side airbag (on/off) indicator is intermittent even when an adult over 140lbs is sitting on the passenger seat. Sometimes it is not off as required. I think both issues could pose risks to passengers and may cause accidents. I am not a mechanic so I am not sure if the shifter switch has anything to do with the transmission problems directly or indirectly.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #4

Oct 122013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 4,400 miles
Since 10/12/13, the vehicle has experienced violent shuddering and loss of power. When the vehicle is brought to the Nissan service department it is always unable to duplicate. We continue driving the vehicle and it gets worse. Finally after it becomes almost unable to drive Nissan admits there is a problem and replaces the cvt. We are now on our third cvt since we purchased the car on 7/22/13. We have to travel a two lane mountain highway and it has happened several times and due to losing power going uphill we have almost been hit on numerous occasions. It has also happened on the freeway. It has happened at a busy intersection and the car completely lost power and the car behind us slammed on their brakes and swerved to avoid hitting us. It has happened at speeds from 30 to 60 mph. I am gravely concerned for my family's safety, we also have a newborn and I am scared to have him in this car but I have no choice. I honestly feel that it is a matter of time before we are hit due to these issues. Nissan continues to deny this is a safety concern.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012013


  • 650 miles
Car loses power and shakes a lot during acceleration and during turns.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 142013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 330 miles
Purchased 2014 premium platitum Nissan Pathfinder on 10/9/13. The same evening I noticed the car violently jerking from stop to 35 mph (2000 RPM). I thought it was just a fluke. 4 days later the car did the same thing several times. I immediately took car back to dealership. They claim they could not duplicate issue. 3 days after that, the car violently jerked from stop to 35 mph all morning. I took it back to dealership. They duplicated the issue. Said car needs a transmission. I have researched online to determine this is a known issue with Nissan. It happens quit frequently with the 2013/2014 cvt transmissions in the Pathfinders. Check,, etc for reviews. The customer reviews all say the same thing. This is a safety hazard because when the car is trying to leave 2nd gear while jerking, it is not picking up speed and can cause someone to run into the back of the car; causing injury or even death. This needs to be looked into immediately and Nissan needs to stop production of these transmissions until they can fix the problem. NHTSA please get involved to stop Nissan from producing these faulty transmissions and to force them to fix the ones they have sold to innocent purchasers. It's not right that they continue to take innocent people's hard earn money and profit from that, while we are forced to pay to ride in what could be a accident causing vehicle; resulting in injury and/or worse case, death!!! please be proactive. Let's save lives before it's too late!

- Loganville, GA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?