Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #153

Mar 012007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 34 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While attempting to accelerate to 40 mph, the vehicle began to hesitate and the RPM's increased. The vehicle was reprogrammed twice by the dealer, but that did not remedy the failure. The dealer stated that the contact needs to learn how to drive the vehicle. He feels that this is a safety issue because a crash could occur due to the lack of acceleration. The current and failure mileages were 20,100. Consumer is updating information. The consumer stated he noticed a very rough downshift in the transmission. There was no fix for the computer problem because of a software problem. The dealer finally reprogrammed the transmission. Updated evoq 05/27/09. Updated 05/27/09 updated 5/29/09. Updated 06/01/09. Updated 06/22/09 updated 06/26/09.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #152

Jul 262006


  • 1,941 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. When the contact applied normal pressure to the accelerator pedal while at a complete stop, the vehicle hesitated and lurched forward. He has taken the vehicle to the dealer on numerous occasions and they repaired the tcm. However, all remedies to date have been insufficient in correcting the failure. The failure mileage was 1,941 and current mileage was 12,878.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #151

Aug 222007


  • 45,000 miles
For the past yr the car shakes between 45-35mph when slowing to brake, rotor replaced and brakes replaced. Also A/C system smells of urine 80% of time, lastly engine when braking and depressing gas to accel. Jumps and is unsafe.

- Manvel, TX, USA

problem #150

Mar 112009


  • miles


2007 Camry V6 with auto transmission has had numerous problems with downshifting and upshifting constantly when not needed, hesitating when accelerator is pressed down. Also, the car sometimes surges when between gears, and then downshifts very very hard. The dealer has had all of Toyota tsb's applied for all of these problems, but they still exist. There needs to be some other fix for these problems.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #149

May 312006


  • miles
I noticed shortly after purchasing my new 2007 Toyota Camry that the car hesitated on acceleration. I originally thought that it was because it was new. I also own a 1993 Camry, which has never given us a problem. Besides gas and oil changes this car still runs well. Had I known that this newer model was going to be scary to drive I would have never purchased it. Like so many others, I was told by the dealer that there was nothing wrong with my vehicle. It continues to hesitate when you need to accelerate quickly, in reverse it flies out of the garage even when not pressing on the gas...I refuse to let my 16 year old drive it and firmly believe that there is a design problem. Ps I also had to have my tires changed after only a few thousand miles, they were completely worn.

- Biddeford, ME, USA

problem #148

Apr 272007


  • 10 miles
Camry 2007 SE V6. Acceleration problems, hesitates at take off, transmission slips like its searching for a gear, smell from A/C. engine ticks when I take off and don't let it warm up even though its warm outside. Had problems with tires, had them replaced. Loud road noise car not very sound proof. Feels like steering wheel "sticks"for just a second long enough to scare me like someone is holding it.

- Kings Mtn. , NC, USA

problem #147

Oct 252006


  • 5,000 miles


From the time I purchased the car I noticed that when I floored the gas pedal or just stepped on it to pass a car, there would be a hesitation of 4-5 seconds before it would wind up and then go. I talked to the dealer who said that yes they were having problems with the early models of 2007's and he got approval from Toyota to replace the transmission. This did not fix the problem, I went back to the dealer and they stated that a new program needed to be installed on the transmission. They did it but it is still the same. On 10-25-08 I went to the dealer to again complain and they said that I would just have to live with it. I feel that this is a safety issue because when you accelerate you need the car to respond, which it will not do.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #146

Jul 102008


  • 1,000 miles
Soon after purchasing the car, we discovered a terrible problem with the cars acceleration. It only happened intermittently; when you were slowing then had to accelerate quickly. Pressing the gas pedal would result a long hesitation. This very often put the driver in danger. Soon after the purchase, we took the car into the Toyota dealer. They told us that the car was operating as designed with the new computer system that adjusts to drivers habits. We have been living with this problem for almost 2 years now, and have decided to get rid of the car. Prior to selling it, I did a search on the internet looking to see if anyone else was experiencing the problem. I found an article at this Consumer Affairs link.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #145

Aug 172006


  • 40 miles
2007 Camry hesitates to accelerate from ramp to interstate or into traffic on busy streets. Very dangerous. Dealership states that the car needs to self-adjust to my driving habits in its computer. It still hesitates on occasion after two years of owning it. Dealership denies being able to reproduce the problem when they test-drive it.

- Nottingham, MD, USA

problem #144

Aug 152007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. Whenever the contact decelerates from 20 mph and then begins to accelerate, the vehicle stalls for 1-5 seconds before accelerating. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the contact was informed that the failure was a characteristic of the vehicle and would repair itself over time. The failure still persists. The current mileage was 37,000 and failure mileage was 23,000. Updated 09/10/08. Updated 09/16/08.

- Abbeville, SC, USA

problem #143

Apr 232006


  • 100 miles


I have a 2007 Camry SE V6that hesitates before it accelerate. I read that a lot of other owners has the same problem.what is Toyota doing about it?what can owners do to get satisfaction about this problem.

- Far Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #142

Feb 202007


  • 500 miles
Car hesitates during acceleration. Also gets stuck in certain gear at times, especially when going downhill. Car jerks a couple times a week when accelerating. Has been happening since the beginning. Dealers did tbs and no change. Say that it is not a problem and nothing they can do. Scared to let kids drive.

- Succasunna , NJ, USA

problem #141

Jan 012008


  • 5,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry le, 4 cyl, 5-spd automatic trans=these cars should be recalled; mine stumbles, hesitates, shifts too soon or not at all, acts like it will stall, clunks/snaps/shutters when shifting from/to park/reverse/drive. These cars(mine included) are putting people in dangerous situations. My dealer (twice) tried to "reprogram the computer software" but the car still acts up!!! make Toyota do something before myself & others get killed !!!!

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #140

Jul 062008


  • 23,000 miles
My 2007 Camry le V6 only has 23,000 miles on it and the transmission hesitated when accelerating. The gear does not shift and the car slows down. Very scary. Almost got hit on freeway when it did this.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #139

Jul 152007


  • 3,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry car has a bad hesitation when accelerating onto freeway or when downshifting and then trying to accelerate. Had Toyota dealer check car and they said everything operated normally. The situation can be dangerous and could easily lead to an accident. The lag is 1.5-2 seconds from the time of pushing the throttle hard.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #138

Jun 242007

Camry 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
My 2007 Camry SE V6 has a serious problem with hesitation. It has a 2 second delay when coming into traffic. When the car is driving and then coasts at one speed, and you try to move into another lane by pressing the gas, the car waits and then jolts forward. This is a serious problem because it can lead to being rear ended by other traffic. You know there is plenty of time to get in, but the car reduced much of that time, by not going anywhere.

- Norcross, GA, USA

problem #137

Apr 242008


  • 30,000 miles
After taking my Camry xle into the dealer for a "check vsc system" warning on the dash, and some unusual shifting and hesitation, they said it was taken care of. The problem came back within a few days and worsened. While on the freeway the transmission completely gave out and the car was completely immobile, with only 30,000 on the car. Dealer sent away for a new transmission and replaced it with a note that it had been soaked in an unknown fluid, and their could be some residual liquid in the new transmission. The "check vsc light" still flicks on occasionally at start up.

- Shoreline, WA, USA

problem #136

Jun 062008

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Camry had hesitation problem, dealership reset the computer, it was ok for a few months. After the few months the car has the hesitation problem again. Hard to accelerate, does not like to go when you try to pull out or when you try to change lanes.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #135

Mar 172008

Camry 4-cyl

  • 40 miles
I purchased a 2007 Toyota Camry in Sept. 2006. After driving the car for several days, with less than a 1000 miles, I realized that there was a serious problem with acceleration; delayed accelerations when trying to attain speed, when driving around 40 miles the car performs like a manual transmission that requires shifting down to a lower gear to gain speed, and when driving on an incline there is a noticeable drop in speed. I reported the problem to dick dyer Toyota, the dealership where I purchased the car. On or about the third visit I was told that they had received a computer update to correct the problem. After the update the problem persisted. I continued to complain. To summarize the ordeal, I complained to Toyota's national center for dispute settlement. The matter went into arbitration. In the hearing I had one other person, and the name of five (5) other people who owned 2007toyota Camry who were experiencing the same problems. The Toyota representative, regina williams agreed that she had heard the same concerns that I have from other customers. Being an owner of two previous Toyota Camry I compared the performance. Ms. Williams said the cars could not be compared, that the car is performing the way it S suppose to, and that it is just engineered different. The outcome from the arbitration side with Ms. Williams/ Toyota, saying that the vehicle is operating according to manufacturer's specifications; that there is no defect but is a characteristic of the particular make and model. I am very discouraged and don't believe I should have to pay price for poor engineering. All I wanted was a new car. No one has been injured in my automobile so far. But I feel awful ly insecure when driving, particular on interstate. This is a serious problem and I don't want to wait for something to happen for people to understand the poor engineering of this particular model.thank you for you attention to this matter.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #134

May 032008


  • miles
I have noticed these sometimes dangerous behaviors by my car and its transmission: + when I brake, instead of down shifting, the transmission shifts up and causes the car to roll faster accelerating. + on a downhill slope, sometimes the transmission downshifts unexpectedly and causes the car to suddenly slow. + downshifting from 4th gear to 3rd is a hard shift. + especially dangerous is when I accelerated (highway merge lane) and the transmission up-shift hesitates. I am very concerned about the transmissions unpredictable shifting performance. Most recently when I was merging onto an interstate, as I approached the merging speed, the transmission hesitated as I accelerated, and I was unable to merge safely I had to pull onto the emergency lane to avoid a collision. The sudden up-shifting when I apply the brakes has caused several close calls of a rear end collision. The sudden downshifting on a slope has caused me to lose control on snow-covered roadways.

- Greenock, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?