Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
65 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
21 / 2
Average Mileage:
20,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Sep 102010

Camry

  • 4,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Toyota Camry got a new gas pedal through Toyota recent recall program. However the new gas pedal has much less resistance than the original one and other pedal in a new Camry, which made the car extremely difficult to control the speed.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #148

Sep 192009

Camry 6-cyl

  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry, was West bound on 5th and crossed over the centerline and struck unit two. Unit two rolled into the ditch. Updated 09/24/10

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #147

Aug 232010

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
While coming to a stop in my driveway my 2009 Toyota Camry had sudden surge with my feet on the brake. The car ran away and hit my house, bird baths, smoker on trailer, went into neighbors driveway and hit a van and finally came to rest in a hedge row. The physical evidence and police report show the brakes were on. The gas pedal was replaced in March under the recall. It had nothing to do with the sudden acceleration.

- New Castle, PA, USA

problem #146

Aug 052010

Camry

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife was pulling into a parking spot and all of a sudden the car accelerated very quickly, she was quick enough to turn the wheel sharply to the right and hit the front left fender on the wall of the building, she also hit a parking sign on the right front fender. The damage to the car was over $7500. No air bags were activated. This is a 2009 Toyota Camry that we had brought into the dealership for a recall in April of 2010. My wife does not believe she stepped on the gas pedal but that the car just suddenly accelerated.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #145

Aug 232010

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact was braking from 2 mph when the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the unintended acceleration and proceeded to crash into the rear of her home, another vehicle and a row of hedges before the vehicle finally came to a stop. The contact was uninjured however, there was extensive body damage to the front and sides of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 35,000.

- New Castle , PA, USA

problem #144

Aug 192009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 27,624 miles
Unintended acceleration after recall fix applied. Recall repairs made on 2-10-2010. Two times on 8-19-2010 the vehicle continued to accelerate after releasing the gas pedal and applying the brake. The first was in the morning while pulling into a parking space. The vehicle was stopped by the concrete bumper. The second was in the evening. After removing the foot from the accelerator to apply the break while driving to slow for a speed bump. The car continued to accelerate. Repairs made at 22,055 miles, 27,264 current miles. 2009 Camry le 4 cyl.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #143

Aug 072010

Camry

  • 14,560 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Toyota Camry's acceleration was stuck at 3000 RPM for a about 5 seconds even after I hit break multiple times. This happened after Toyota recall fix.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #142

Apr 012010

Camry

  • 24,000 miles
After performing a gas pedal reoperation on a 2009 Toyota Camry there was a constant clicking noise and a feeling detent when pressing on the accelerator after a stop. The dealer agreed with the problem and replaced the gas pedal with a new one. The new pedal is a improvement but the clicking is still coming from, I believe, the spring inside the accelerator pedal housing. The dealer said he could not do anything more. I personally removed the pedal and filled the spring cavity full with very thick lubrication grease. The noise is now about 50%gone, sometimes for a day or two but still returns eventually when I slightly press on the pedal from a stop. The spring I think has too much room to move around or is not remaining seated. This is a very annoying nuisance problem hearing this clicking that did not exist when I had the old style gas pedal.

- Southington, CT, USA

problem #141

May 142010

Camry

  • 29,560 miles
Driving down highway when car accelerated on its own. Had the pedal modified by dealership already.

- Galloway, OH, USA

problem #140

May 022009

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while traveling at low unknown speeds, the vehicle abnormally accelerated uphill without driver intent. The vehicle continued to increase in speed until finally stopping on its own. The VIN, failure and current mileages were unknown.

- Fort Worth , TX, USA

problem #139

Mar 112010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The driver owned a 2009 Toyota Camry. A witness stated that the vehicle appeared to be out of control and within seconds the driver crashed into a tree. The driver was killed upon impact. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The complaint was filed by the drivers son. The failure mileage or speed was not available.

- Orangeburg, SC, USA

problem #138

May 022010

Camry

  • 11,300 miles
I was pulling into a restaurant parking lot and had found a handicapped space for my wife. The car was slowly inching forward with my foot on the brake controlling its forward motion. Suddenly it lurched forward, over a curb and into a handicap sign support pole, which in turn bent forward and knocked a cast stone statue against a painted panel attached to the restaurant wall. I was pushing down on the brake the entire time.

- West Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #137

Aug 192009

Camry

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving at approximately 65 mph, the contact set the cruise control and vehicle suddenly accelerated up to 80 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle would not slow down. After several moments of trying to engage the brakes, the vehicle began to slow down. The contact had never experienced the failure before. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership for repair. The current and failure mileages were approximately 22,000.

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #136

Oct 182009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph over railroad tracks the vehicle accelerated resulting in a crash. The contact did not report any injuries. The contact applied the brakes until the brake pedal touched the floorboard; however, the vehicle did not stop. When the steering wheel locked, the windshield wipers began to function. The vehicle was taken to an authorized Toyota dealer to be repaired for the body damage but it was not examined for the cause of failure. The contact stated that a few months later the accelerator pedal recall was repaired; however, after the repair was performed the vehicle surged forward intermittently until the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the brake system was repaired. The failure had not recurred but there was a rocking noise in the engine. The vehicle was taken to another authorized dealer who stated that the motor mount was cracked; yet, the vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage is 18,000. 5/10/2010 the consumer stated the was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle upon acceleration and when making turns. Updated 06/24/10.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #135

Jan 272010

Camry

  • 23,008 miles
On 1/27/10, my husband was driving the car. He slowed down because the road was rough & had curves ahead. When he took the foot off the gas pedal we accelerated forward instead of slowing down. No one was injured just surprised. It went to the dealership that week for testing. The recall was done 2/15/10. On 2/18/10 the car accelerated again. This time I was driving the car. I was going towards a 4 way intersection, I let off the gas thinking it was going to slow down, instead it went faster. The recall did not fix the problem. The car went back to the dealership but nothing was found wrong. It meet all of Toyota's testing. The problem is still there, they did not know how to fix it.

- New Durham, NH, USA

problem #134

Apr 122010

Camry

  • 7,322 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While pulling into a driveway at speeds of 5 mph, the vehicle abnormally accelerated and crashed into the garage door. The engine continued idling extremely high and the tires continued to spin while the vehicle was at a complete stop attempting to continue acceleration. The manufacturer was contacted and advised having the vehicle inspected to assess the failure. The vehicle had not been driven since the failure. The failure and current mileages were 7,322.

- Prespect Park , NJ, USA

problem #133

Apr 012009

Camry

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving at approximately 25 mph, when she depressed the accelerator pedal and noticed that the vehicle did not increase its speed. She took her foot off the accelerator pedal and attempted to accelerate again and the vehicle moved forward. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership three times but the dealer could not duplicate the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000. The current mileage was approximately 9,500.

- San Leandor, CA, USA

problem #132

Mar 292010

Camry

  • 13,859 miles
Gas pedal stuck while on interstate highway I-75, traveling at 60mph. When I stepped down on the accelerator in order to pass another vehicle the accelerator pedal stuck down. The vehicle began to accelerate even after I removed my foot from the pedal. I was then able to free the pedal by wedging my foot underneath the pedal and pushing up on the pedal. This has happened after my vehicle as recalled for unintended acceleration and the safety recall repair was completed on 2/11/10.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #131

Sep 142009

Camry

  • miles
I purchased my 2009 Toyota Camry in Jun 2009(used) with about 6000 miles. After the first week the clip from the carpet snapped out, and I took it to Toyota for the first carpet recall, then I took it to Toyota for the sudden acceleration recall with the gas pedal, this Friday I am returning it, for the sudden acceleration due to some electrical issue that Toyota is unsure of. I've been paying car notes and have not been able to try my car, for fear of sudden acceleration not due to myself.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #130

Feb 172010

Camry

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving at an approximate speed of 75 mph on the highway, the vehicle abnormally accelerated. The contact had to apply the brakes and switch gears in order to stop the vehicle. Upon taking the vehicle for regular maintenance, he inquired about the failure with the dealer. The dealer advised the contact that the failure was contributed to the epi. On a separate occasion, while sitting idle at a traffic light, the vehicle abnormally accelerated again. He was able to maintain control of the vehicle by depressing the brakes and switching gears. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000 and the current mileage was 22, 000. The VIN was not available.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?