10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,757 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jun 192020

325

  • 163,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Have had the car less than two months and I have been experiencing non-safe situations. The car just one day suddenly doesnżT come out of park. It finally got out of park and when I try to drive and it reverses and make alot of noise and when I sometimes try to reverse. It drives. This is not safe. Iżve nearly gotten myself killed due to this faulty bad car. I tried to call for a trade or a refund and the company was rude to me. This car takes my girlfriend and I to work and this is the only care we have. It hasnt been a year and the car has so many issues down to car not reading gears, bad spark plugs, hole underneath, faulty airbags, windows not working, tire pressures unsafe and much more that no one would want to experience.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #38

May 242019

325

  • 127,000 miles
I have a recall on the heater devices, not quit sure what that is but it can cause my engine to overheat and catch fire. I've already replaced the coolant system because of over heating I'm very scared of driving the car. I would like to get it fixed a soon as possible, its nice car and I've put a lot of money in it already, trying to keep it on the road, its my work transportation.

- Crestview, FL, USA

problem #37

Feb 062019

325

  • 130,000 miles
I was sitting in class when a received a call that my car was on fire and the fire department was there to put it out. They opened my car with my keys and put out the fire as I rushed back to my house to meet the fire department. The damage is unknown at this point along with how it started. The car had not been driven for two days and was parked on the street outside of my house. The fire started under/in my engine and they luckily go there fast enough where the only visible damage was some melting within the engine. The car had not been giving me any problems prior except for going through oil a little faster than normal, but it is high mileage so that is not a huge concern.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #36

Oct 252017

325

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA recall number 17V676 BMW still has not issued a response or a fix to this recall, which was sent out in October 2017. Blower motor wiring: This recall involves the wiring for the system, known as the blower-motor, that controls air flow for the heating and air conditioning system. Over time, the connection between the wiring and this system could deteriorate and, in rare cases, could lead to overheating.

- Waterford, WI, USA

problem #35

Oct 252017

325

  • miles
BMW issued a recall in Oct 2017 for a potential fire hazard but in July 2018 still say they do not have a remedy available so I can not put my daughter in a vehicle that has a potential fire hazard and BMW has not offered a rental until the repair can be made.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #34

May 042018

325

  • 106,000 miles
I was trying to wait until a remember was available but IżM pregnant and now these issues have gotten worse and are more imperative my car is now smoking as I drive the power steering is now affected I just purchased a new battery and the battery light came on it stopped randomly in the middle of the street all issues which arent acceptable period but are worse given my current physical state

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #33

Jan 292018

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I believe the seat sensor in my 2006 BMW 325I front passenger seat is faulty. The majority of the time, the light comes on that shows that my front passenger airbag is not on and also that the passenger is not buckled, whether they are buckled, or there isn't a passenger in that seat at all. Whether I am stationary or driving/moving at any speed, those warning lights are on, and will intermittently go off for short periods of time, then they come back on again. I am in a carpool so I frequently am the driver and I have someone in that front passenger seat. I am concerned that if in an accident, the airbag will not deploy causing injuries in the case of an accident. Newer models of the same car have this seat sensor on recall, so the 2006 should also be recalled.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #32

Jan 092017

325

  • 90,000 miles
Air bag lights on without crash also seat belt light on.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #31

Dec 122017

325

  • miles
Takata recall: I just received a notice today 28 Dec 17 that my vehicle needs to be recalled for the following issues the driver side air bag and the blower motor wiring system.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

problem #30

Sep 062017

325

  • 100,000 miles
Front passenger side door lock malfunction. Will not unlock and unable to open the door. Rear driver side door lock malfunction will not unlock and unable to open the door. We have three children under 7 years old and this is very concerning. Our children will not be able to exit the car in case of an emergency through the rear driver side door. The malfunction was not a result of any damage done to the car and it happened while the vehicle was stationary.

- Valencia, CA, USA

problem #29

Sep 292017

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driver's airbag module recall replacement keeps getting postponed for a future date from BMW of henderson deal

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #28

Jul 152017

325

  • miles
The valve cover gasket keeps leaking oil. I have fixed this twice in the last 30K miles. Now it is leaking again. Valve cover gasket should not go bad every 10K to 15K miles. If neglected it will cause engine fire due to oil.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #27

Nov 132017

325

  • 95,000 miles
Doors get locked and can not be opened from inside. Once the doors are locked the driver side door can not be opened from inside or outside with remote key buttons. If you are inside the car only way to get out is break the window or lower the window and then get out. Exactly same thing happened to my friend in his Ford Lincoln when they were trapped inside after an accident, car caught fire and he, his wife and 12 year old son were all burnt alive. We raised the other son who was not in that deadly car. This BMW 315I car is totally unsafe and the problem is known to them but there was no recall to fix this faulty, unsafe car. I noticed the problem when the car was parked in a parking lot. I had to take out the hard key from the remote unit and opened the driver side door but could not open other three doors from inside or from remote unit. Now the car is with BMW of fremont dealership in 44175 auto mall cir, fremont, California 510-659-7902

- Newark, CA, USA

problem #26

Nov 092017

325

  • miles
Blower motor recall, called BMW steven creek dealer, san jose, ca, no parts and no schedule to fix, called customerrelations@bmwusa.com or at 1-800-525-7417. The answer is they don't know the schedule and no remedy to repair. BMW is very passive on this recall. Do not want to give the BMW owner a schedule when can they service the recall repair.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #25

Jun 132017

325

  • miles
My 2006 BMW 325I leaks oil. The manufacturer bolts are defective and there are others with similar issues. I'm concerned my car my catch on fire due to the oil leaks. My car has shut off in the middle of the highway due to this and almost caused an accident. I have seen others with the same vehicle stopped in the middle of the highway as well.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #24

Jul 102017

325

  • miles
"takata recall " I was trying to get off my car and my doors wouldn't unlock even when I put pull the door handle all four of them wouldn't open my kids were in the car with me so I had to get out to the windows.

- Selah, WA, USA

problem #23

Apr 302017

325

  • 63,000 miles
Rear windows. I bought my 2006 BMW 325I in May 2015 with 60K miles. In August 2015 I replaced my rear driver side window regulator after I heard a loud pop and my window rolled down and wouldn't roll back up. I was rolling down my window to enter my gate code at my apartment, and hit the rear button by mistake. I had to go a nerve wracking week with my window stuck down, hoping no one would steal it. In December 2016 the same rear driver window rolled down and wouldn't roll up. This time, when I tried to roll it back up I couldn't hear the window motor trying so I replaced the motor. In March 2017 my rear passenger window regulator failed. When I attempted to roll it back up I hear a cracking noise, so I knew it was the regulator. Here we are today, April 30, 2017, my rear driver side window is stuck down and will not roll up. So I must go another week with my window stuck down. This time I'm hoping someone will steal this garbage vehicle. How can these faulty parts still be around? the entire time in have owned this vehicle I have had at least one window saran wrapped. I have a 1 year old and this is extremely concerning to me. In the event of an accident I believe this does pose a safety risk. I have never heard of any vehicle having this recurring issues. Let alone by a manufacturer who claims to be of superior quality. What a joke. Never buy a BMW, they do not stand behind their products or their customers.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #22

Nov 182016

325

  • 125,000 miles
The fuses for the door locks blew for some reason which made the passenger front and rear doors inoperatible basically trapping passengers in the car. The doors would not unlock using the main door lock or pulling the door handle once to unlock and twice too open and exit the car.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #21

Apr 102015

325

  • 101,400 miles
Inttelectual property §200.448 federal award and search of searching art for such disclosure

- Montclair, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 302016

325

  • 77,000 miles
The window regulator clip has broken and the window does not hold in specific places. The car continuously reminds you about the situation while driving at any speed. Have to use a board as temporary fix.

- Sparks, NV, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?