ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,610 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 325 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 325:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 325 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Oct 202014

325 6-cyl

  • 93,110 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stays on, model and year id for recall, but not id under VIN number.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #39

Jun 292012

325

  • 50,000 miles
This complaint is regarding a passenger restraint system malfunction alert/issue that seems to be covered by a recent BMW recall I found on your website. This alert started to come up in my car intermittently almost 2 years ago, but it now stays on. I heard about a recall and was waiting for additional information from BMW but have not received any. I went to the BMW center in alexandria, va this week (8/15/14) to see if this was covered by the recall and was told that it was not. I also called their 1-800 customer service number and was told the same thing. However, I just found a recall notice for this issue (see link below) on this website where it specifically includes my model year car (BMW 2006 325xi). My car is now not passing va inspection due to this issue. I was told this repair would cost over $2,000, which I don't have at this moment. Please advise as to how I can best expedite the necessary repairs under this recall, to deal with this security issue and so that I can renew my inspection sticker as required by va law.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #38

May 012012

325

  • 80,000 miles
Car started showing "passenger restraint system malfunction". I researched the matter, and found that there is a recall. When I called BMW and gave them my VIN, they claimed that there is no recall. Almost every other BMW from that series/model was recalled and got the issue rectified under the recall. Please advise. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #37

Mar 032014

325 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My airbag light and seatbelt light were on right after I purchased the car I called BMW and they said there is a recall on that problem but my VIN # was not included in it. If they know about the problem why don't they fix it.

- Scottsbluff, NE, USA

problem #36

May 062014

325 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
I am an owner of 2006 BMW 330I sedan with sports seat (manufacture date: 5/2005). Recently, the passenger airbag sensor became malfunction, and the passenger side airbag is indicated as 'passenger airbag off' as the result. After researching on NHTSA website, I noticed that this is a known issue, and BMW is issuing a recall on affected vehicles. However, in further reviewing the related documents on the NHTSA website, although BMW has recalled 2006 330I sedan with sport seats, the manufacture date of the affected vehicles that are included in the recall are from Dec 2005 to Sept 2006, and because of this, it excludes my vehicle. With other complaints listed, it is clear that the same issue has impacted a lot of owners of 2006 330I sedan with sport seat prior to the manufacture date that BMW has specified on the recall. Due to this reason, the recall should have been considered to include earlier manufacture date of the model considered this is not an isolated issue.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #35

Apr 072014

325

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 325I. The contact stated that the seatbelt and air bag warning lights illuminated continuously while driving for an extended period of time. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who reset the seatbelt sensor but the failure recurred. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #34

Mar 282014

325

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Copse:I1440005A. 2006 BMW 325I. Consumer stated the driver seat belt does not latch. The seat belt was replaced.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #33

Mar 252014

325 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Airbag and seatbelt sensor comes on and off randomly. Appears to be a sensor or connection error.

- Shenandoah , VA, USA

problem #32

Jan 212014

325 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the vehicle one week ago with the airbag and seatbelt lights on the dash, after plenty of research there was a recall done on only the sport seats. After everything I read even the non sports seats, like mine are having the issues as well. BMW needs to fix this issue with all models. I have no clue at this point if the airbags will even go off in the event of a crash. Plenty of complaints on the site about this same issue. Please help

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #31

Nov 292013

325 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Airbag light went on and idrive said there was a malfunction with the passenger side safety restraint system. BMW is saying that my vehicle is not in scope of the recall, though it should be as it is the same error as related to the existing recall below: Recall id # 57362 - air bags:frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series I am thinking it is because I have the touring 3-series, but they share the same sport seats as the other 3-series. Please add my VIN to the recall list.

- Covington, KY, USA

problem #30

Aug 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle seat belt restraint system is not working properly. There is warning on my dash of a malfunction and after some research my vehicle VIN number is not under the recall. It have the same sports seats they speak about having the problem same year same model same problem with seat sensor but my VIN is not under recall.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 112013

325 6-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
The rear door lock is not working - the handles do not open the door from the inside - the lock actuator is faulty and needs to be replaced again. So far I have had the front door lock actuators and the rear driver side actuators replaced. BMW will not fix the actuators even though the part has been changed out before, is a known issue, and the actuators have been superseded two times by BMW.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #28

Oct 132013

325 6-cyl

  • 60,900 miles
Battery was low and wouldn't start jump started the car and received a message that the seat belt restraint tensioner is bad. Has a seat belt with airbag symbol on the dash...plus the vehicle started showing a symbol with a steering wheel with arrows then the car won't start until I shake the steering wheel several times...was stranded for hours then finally it started. BMW has very low quality and problems. This is becoming very unsafe and not sure if I want my family in this unsafe vehicle.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #27

Jan 152013

325 6-cyl

  • 115,500 miles
The passenger seat belt/air bag light went on intermittently for months, finally the dealership was able to get the error code. It was confirmed that there is an issue with this and BMW has known about it since 2008. Per their website they were going to send out recall notices to owners, we never recieved anything. BMW needs to make this right and fix the problem at no cost to owners.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 032013

325 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Air bag and passenger seat belt indicator on center dash cluster lit up during normal driving. Took car to dealership for repair and was told the air bag seat mat was bad and needed to be replaced. Also told that repair would cost $900. Decided to eat cost as it is a major safety issue as air bags will not deploy during a crash. Total cost for repairs: Qty 1 part# 52-10-7-244-127 basic seat U 1 cost $385.10, qty 2 part# 52-20-1-964-201 clip 13 cost $3.84, qty 35 part# 52-10-945-543 clamp 134 cost $$22.40. Total parts=$411.34 ; total labor=$554.60, total bill for repair=$965.94. I would not mind if this would be the end of the issue, but it is not. I picked up the car from daniels BMW of allentown on June 14 2013, and today (June 21, 2013) the issue came back. 7 days after I had the car repaired for the issue, the exact same issue reappeared. This is a major concern of mine as the front passenger seat of my car is almost always in use by myself or my spouse. After doing a bit of reading on BMW online forums, I see that there is a recall for the exact sensor mat as installed in my car, for almost all other seats containing the exact seat mat, but not for my car, and others like me. I have gone onto the BMW na website and did a recall search for my car and found that the recall does not apply to my car. This is a major safety issue for BMW and they should stand behind their product and repair all seats affected without question. I will be taking my car back to daniels BMW of allentown for courtesy repair and hopefully they will replace...again....the broken mat for free. Hopefully this will not be the beginning of an ongoing recurring issue.

- Kempton, PA, USA

problem #25

Feb 042013

325

  • 80,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. My BMW dealer has told me this means the passenger airbags are deactivated and this is a common occurrence caused by a faulty sensor.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #24

May 012013

325 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The red passenger-side air bag and seat belt lights come on and stay on, whether or not anyone is sitting in the passenger seat. BMW has told me it will cost $1,300 to replace, yet it seems from other complaints here and from other online forums that the mat sensor causing this problem was defectively manufactured.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #23

Sep 132012

325 6-cyl

  • 43,560 miles
I was backing up at 4 mph and pressed the brake to stop. The airbag and seatbelt warning light went on. It continued to stay on and has not turned off since. There was no one in the car other than myself as the driver. I have had the car into the mechanic twice now to fix the issue and the lights and warnings still come on. I called the dealership and they say my VIN is not on the recall list. I have researched the issue and found that many owners of the same year, make, and model are having the same issues. Is there any way to get my car VIN added to the recall list?

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #22

Jan 022013

325 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
I'm getting this message "restraint system malfunction, fault in passenger restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner, or belt force limiter. Continue to wear the safety belt, have the system checked by the nearest BMW center." Usually I have this msg when I have a passenger, but now even with empty seat it pops up and together with the passenger airbag lights. I have contacted the bmwusa about this issue and the( NHTSA campaign id number: 08V384000) but they stated that my vehicle does not fall under that category according to the VIN #. hope someone can help, because I have found a lots of complaints about similar issues online. Thank you for your consideration..

- Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #21

Mar 252013

325 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
For no reason the passenger and rear driver side seatbelt and airbag light came on while driving and stayed on forever. My 2006 BMW 325I has standard seat.

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?