ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,668 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 530 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 530:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 530 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #71

May 252016

530

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I went to BMW of North haven and they told me they cvant do nothing for me concerning the passenger restraint system they tricked me into getting a diagnostic test and said if it was that they would help me replace it after the found out it was the mat the declined on fixing it this is a safety issue and effects mostly all BMW 530xi and it was replaced after the car was 4 years old now it has to be rplacved again and BMW of North haven is trying to charge me $1200 to fix and its a recall on that vehicle does anybody have any suggestion on how to go about this

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #70

Apr 202016

530

  • 94,000 miles
Front passenger seat occupant detection and airbag fault sensors have become activated. BMW claim my VIN is not covered by the existing recall issued for this acknowledged defect.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #69

Jan 122016

530

  • 80,000 miles
My passenger air bag warning light came on about a month ago for apparent reason and stay on ever since. I contacted the local BMW dealer and was told my VIN was not on the recall list. I was very disappointed and dont understand why some cars were on the recall and some were not. Apparently this is a common problem with all bmws and a very serious safety issue. This safety issue should be taken care of by the manufacture.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #68

Dec 182015

530

  • 78,875 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger seat sensor faulty, airbag disabled. Faults are showing, and warning lights are on. I have called the dealer and BMW usa, both acknowledge an issue but insist my car is not covered. The VIN is not on their roster. BMW recalled 200,000 cars for this problem, in the same year and model. I now have the issue, and it is a clear safety concern for any of my loved ones who might ride in the car.

- Triangle, VA, USA

problem #67

Aug 082015

530

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the front passenger side restraint system malfunction error message displayed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the seat occupation mat was fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Dublin, NH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #66

Jul 152015

530 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to have the passenger air bag mat replaced. The contact stated that after the vehicle was repaired, the air bag warning light illuminated when someone sat in the passenger seat. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 02/12/16; updated 04/30/18

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #65

Oct 162015

530

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased my 2006 530I. The airbag indicator showed a default so I took it my local dealership. I was told that there was a default in the mat sensor and it needs to be replaced at a cost of $781.72. I researched and found that there was a recall for this exact issue for my make, model and year. I contacted my local dealership as well as BMW North America customer service. I was told by both that my VIN was not included in the recall so the repair is on me. I also see that many other owners have had this same issue. Clearly there is a problem that BMW needs to correct.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #64

Oct 202015

530 6-cyl

  • 199,260 miles
I have a 2006 BMW 530I (make: 03/05). Two days back, while I was driving home from work (highway), suddenly the message, "passenger restraint malfunction" came up and when I researched about this, I found that there is a recall for the 2006 BMW 530I's for this issue (recall subject : front seat occupant protection mat, NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000). But, when I emailed BMW regarding the issue, they said my VIN is not included in the recall list. I am not sure why all the cars are not included when they are made in same year and same model. I am attaching the screenshot of the email that BMW customer care has sent me and also of the error message in the car. This has become a safety issue for my car now. So, could you please look into this issue and resolve this for me. Thank you in advance......updated 12/03/15 updated 05/21/18

- Hopkins, MN, USA

problem #63

Mar 122009

530

  • 9,827 miles
Ongoing problems with passenger airbag and seatbelt warning lights illuminating. When lit, those systems are deactivated. BMW dealer replaced OC3 mat [recall] apparently twice. Problem recoccurred. Dealer replaced positive battery cable [recall]. pass airbag and seatbelts have illuminated multiple times since. Dealer blamed low battery voltage, wanted to sell me a battery. I refused. They tested with a "good" battery. Dealer now states sgm module is defective due to code 93F9. If that is true I believe the sgm has been damaged due to problems with OC3 mat and battery cable causing fluctuating voltage and damage to sgm, probably the capacitor that stores electricity. If you search online for 93F9 fault code you will see it is a common problem with BMW.

- Cardiff, CA, USA

problem #62

Apr 042015

530

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that the air bag warning light flashed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #61

Mar 202015

530 6-cyl

  • 124,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got an error code saying - "fault in passenger restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt-force limiter." It seems there have been various recalls surrounding this problem, but when I called BMW of North haven ct they said there were no open recalls for this.

- New Haven, CT, USA

problem #60

Jan 102014

530

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. The contact stated that after the vehicle was started, the passenger's side SRS warning light illuminated continuously. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bag). The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #59

Feb 082015

530

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. The contact stated that while parked attempting to adjust the seat, the passenger airbag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer and was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #58

Dec 072014

530 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Car screen shows defective passenger restraint and airbags for several weeks. I contacted BMW usa and they said there is no recall on this car. The other BMW 2001 BMW 325I/[xxx] was sent a letter of recall this past summer but BMW has not told us what to do about having the defect corrected.can you help? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #57

Nov 182014

530 6-cyl

  • miles
My car is not on the airbag recall list but I have had this error for awhile now & it appears to be related to the airbag issue (not sure if my car has a tekata.) the message comes up on the screen- pass. Restraint system- fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt force limiter. Continue to wear the safety belt. I also have a picture of the error.

- Miami Springs, FL, USA

problem #56

May 012013

530 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
Upon starting engine passenger-side air bag fault lights appeared indicating air bags would not work in an accident. Passenger seat was unoccupied at the time and no items were on the seat. Dealer reset and reported diagnostic tests detected low voltage condition to that circuit. Dealer reset. Dealer recommended I purchase a new battery. I purchased a new battery 10 days later.during the interval between reset and new battery the lights did not reappear. 9/2014 I was driving at highway speeds when passenger side air bag fault lights appeared. Seat was unoccupied at the time and no objects were on the seat. Dealer diagnosed same as above. At time of this incident battery was 1.5 years old. No liquids have ever been spilled on seat. No moisture on seat. Mileage at time of incident was 23,900. Driver's side air bag fault warning did not appear during either incident. Presumably that circuit would be subjected to the same low voltage condition as the passenger side.

- Cardiff, CA, USA

problem #55

Jun 202014

530 6-cyl

  • 132,700 miles
Air bag and seat belt warning lights came and stayed on. Warning message on screen "malfunction restraint system -- air bag may not deploy seat belt tensioner not activated"

- Coralville, , IA, USA

problem #54

Jan 032014

530 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I received a safety recall stating the sensor mat for the front passenger airbag is defective in January 2014 and the airbags do not work. The expected date for repairs would be March 2014. Called in March and was told they did not have a solution and it would be May 2014. Called on may23rd and was insured they had a solution and recall for repairs were being sent out by May 31st, 2014. Called again on June 13, 2014 and am now told they still have no solution and are hoping for July or August of 2014. My airbag light has been on since January for a known defect with BMW and still no resolution. This is not a reasonable period of time and a safety issue that is not being corrected.

- Buffalo Grove, IN, USA

problem #53

Jun 072014

530 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
I was sent a letter from BMW in January 2014 concerning recall 13V564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat. The letter states that BMW does not have sufficient parts to conduct the recall and I would be notified when they are available. It is now 6 months later (June 2014) and I have not been notified; and I have called my dealer (BMW seattle) a few times only to be told they still do not have the parts. This is extremely concerning as the air bag warning lamp came on right after I received the letter concerning the recall. I appreciate the company notifying me of the recall but it is pointless if they cannot correct it and it makes them look like they've done their due diligence of notifying me but other then that they have no sense of urgency. I would think for a recall on safety equipment they would expedite securing the parts to correct the issue.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #52

Jul 172013

530 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
My vehicle meets the criteria for BMW recall 13V564 but because the vehicle production date is 2 months outside the VIN range BMW will not correct the defect. All other criteria apply - make, model, year, etc. The passenger side front seat occupancy detection mat may fail, resulting in resulting in a deactivation of the passenger side air bag system. A warning display and issue was verified by an authorized BMW repair center. The repair has not been made.

- Pass Christian, MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?