ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,668 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 530 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 530:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 530 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #91

Jul 022017

530

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have airbag light and most are recalls on same modem. My car didn’T get a recall

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #90

Aug 282017

530

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. While the contact was having the battery changed at the local dealer, the front passenger air bag warning indicator illuminated. The local dealer (East bay BMW, 4350 rosewood drive, pleasanton, ca 94588) diagnosed that the front seat occupant detection mat failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 17V428000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 150,000.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #89

Jul 182017

530

  • miles
Re: recall 17V-xxx front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat B65 10 17. Last July 2017 my passenger seat airbag/seatbelt warning light was on and cause was faulty passenger seat occupancy detection mat.. it was replaced at the charlottesville BMW dealer on July 18 2017 for $867.05. Yet this 2006 model is specifically the model with the defect and in the recall. My VIN is not showing that I am eligible for a recall, I do not understand this, as obviously it should have been covered, since this is the specific defect for which the recall has been issued, and this is the specific year and mode BMW which has the defect appearing. Please advise.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #88

Dec 032017

530

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Iżve been told by two european car repair companies that 2006 bmws are frequently needing the airbag control modular replaced. There is an internal error on the airbag control unit- code 93D7. This part has not been recalled, and because of the exorbitant price, I was told that many drivers choose to disconnect the airbags. This should not be happening! is BMW reporting this issue? I called the corporate office and they seemed completely uninterested and/or unwilling to document my complaint. My vehicle was stationary at the time the warning was displayed.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #87

Mar 012017

530

  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact stated that the passenger air bag seat map occupant indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to schomp BMW (1190 plum valley ln, highlands ranch, co 80129) where it was diagnosed that the passenger air bag seat map occupant light was not working. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Avon, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #86

Jun 182016

530

  • 137,594 miles
Takata recall, I contacted BMW of freeport I had an appointment on June at 9:00 am. When I took the car in for the recall, they indicated that they could not do anything at the time, the car was an old model and they did not have the parts in stock and they would order and get back to me. Your appointment time Saturday, June 18 at 9:00am repair services: Factory recall campaign note: Repair times and costs vary based upon the nature of the repair, parts availability, your warranty status, and other factors. Once your vehicle is in the shop, we will diagnose your problem and contact you as soon as we can to provide details and specific time and cost estimate. Diagnostic and/or repair fees may apply if work to be performed is not covered under warranty. Service agent any advisor services repairs factory recall campaign repair note: Refer to si B65 07 14 B61 14 12, battery cable connection 2006 BMW 530xi 137,594 miles BMW of freeport 100 cleveland ave freeport, New York 11520-4053 (516) 868-4554 no one got back to me, I called and left messages and sent and email on the service department to ybasantes@bmwoffreeport.com on Thursday Oct 13,2016 at 11:51 am hi, I am following up on this. I came in for service for recall on my 530X1 BMW passenger airbags. Recall 13V564000 you were unable to fix it at the time of service and someone from your office was supposed to contact me when the part was available. It's been months and I haven't heard from any one. Please let me know the status of this. Thanks still to this day have not heard from anyone regarding this recall.

- Elmont, NY, USA

problem #85

Oct 112017

530

  • 119,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The airbag light has been on in my vehicle since I bought it in November 2016. During my state inspection in October 2017, my mechanic told me that the operation of the airbag system is broken and it cannot tell when to deploy airbags in the event of an accident. I believe this problem has already been identified in a a recall applicable to the same make, model, and year as my vehicle (recall 17V-428) but my VIN is not showing up as one of the vehicles detected.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #84

Sep 012017

530

  • 64,000 miles
The car suffered a failure of the "front passenger seat occupancy sensor mat". a recall(13V-564:) was issued for this model beginning with car manufactured after Dec 1, 2005. My car was manufactured before this date, on 9/3/200, and therefore was not included in the recall. The issue I am having is the exact issue in the recall. Have any other owners of pre-Dec 1, 2005, manufacture cars reported similar issues? other recalls of the same issue are 17V-428 and 08V-384

- Elmhurst, IL, USA

problem #83

Sep 162017

530

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530xi. The contact took the vehicle to a local dealer (BMW of brooklyn, 622 2nd ave, brooklyn, NY 11220) to be repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 17V4728000 (air bags). The contact was informed that the parts were on backorder. The vehicle was inspected and the software was updated; however, due to dealer error, the air bags were disabled. The manufacturer was notified of the issue and advised the contact to call another dealer. No further assistance was offered. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #82

Jun 212017

530 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Front passenger seat occupancy detection mat had to be replaced as it was defective. Though not in previous recalls in similar bmws and similar years, the error presented a safety issue that would disable the front passenger air bags and increase the risk of injury during a crash. With this error, I was forced to repair the seat mat and expended $1.5K to remedy this safety issue. This seat mat issue is a known BMW problem that BMW and NHTSA have not addressed. VIN: [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #81

Jun 242017

530

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW 530I. While driving 40 mph, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the air bag control module needed replacement. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not mention any recalls for the air bag failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Washington, DE, USA

problem #80

Jul 182017

530

  • 136,000 miles
My front passenger seat airbag fault light went on. Thr dealer, BMW of charlottesville replaced the faulty passebger seat occupancy detection mat at a cost of $867.05. I have received a recall notice from you and yet my VIN number does not show up. Can you explain this to me? it looks like I should be coverd given the model year and given that my car clearly had the defect. It appears my vehicle should be covered and thst BMW should reimburde me.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #79

Jul 012014

530

  • 100,000 miles
My vehicle's passenger seat occupancy sensor mat has failed, likely from a crack, and has resulted in the passenger airbags being completely disabled. This intermittently started happening around 2014 but has since completely broken. There is an open recall for this (see: 13V564000) however BMW states that my particular VIN is not covered and is refusing to cover the repair. BMW is obviously aware of the issue and the life threatening risks it poses to front passengers but cannot be bothered to address the issue.

- Land O Lakes, FL, USA

problem #78

Mar 142017

530

  • 129,702 miles
While driving on a straightaway on the expressway with a passenger who was adjusting the seat, we heard a loud bang like a rock hitting the glass, but the noise was in the car and seemed to come from under the passenger seat. Almost immediately, my dashboard light suddenly indicated that my passenger air bag has malfunctioned.

- Hanover Park, IL, USA

problem #77

Feb 262014

530

  • 69,000 miles
The passenger seat airbag malfunctioned casing the seat to have to be removed and sensor replaced. There was a recall on this but my car, and 2 of my friends cars were not included on the recall, my friends were charged by the dealership. My engine leaks oil onto the exhaust manifold causing smoke in the cab and potential fire hazard. On every bm I have ever owned the radiator leaks fluid which is environmentally hazardous and should have been recalled.

- Huntington Station, NY, USA

problem #76

Oct 202016

530

  • miles
Fault in pass restrain system afecting airbag belt tensioner or belt force limiter

- Irvington, NJ, USA

problem #75

Sep 092016

530

  • 132,000 miles
When my front passenger seat is occupied, during startup the car chimes with an error "pass restraint system" "fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt force limiter" "continue to wear the safety belt" (vehicle was stationary) BMW has issued a recall for this problem but oddly my VIN is not part of the group included.

- Melville, NY, USA

problem #74

Jul 122016

530

  • miles
Insulation around the wiring in the headlights has completely crumbled off and bare wire is exposed, could possible touch and cause a fire. Passenger air bag sensor in the seat is faulty and I recieved a recall notice but BMW says there is no recall on my car and refuses to fix.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #73

Nov 032014

530 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 93,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 BMW 530xi. While driving approximately 25 to 30 mph, the vehicle had an abnormal odor. The contact pulled the vehicle over at a fuel station, opened the trunk, and noticed flames. The fire was extinguished by a patron. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V126000 (electrical system) and 08V384000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 11/02/16

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #72

Jun 052016

530

  • 141,000 miles
The passenger aig bag/seat belt restraint error air back will not deploy because it thinks there is no one in the passenger seat

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?