10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,948 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 BMW Z4 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 BMW Z4:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 BMW Z4 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 16)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #260

Jun 282015

Z4

  • 106,321 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering was noticed to be "notchy" while driving at highway speeds. Seems like steering is caught on something then breaks free. Initially thought is was low power steering fluid, but discovered this vehicle has electrical power steering. Further testing showed it happens at all speeds. The steering can become difficult to move and over-corrections occur when it breaks free. Fortunately no accidents occurred, although it is very possible that it could easily happen.

- Berne, TX, USA

problem #259

Jun 012014

Z4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. While driving approximately 45 mph in warm weather, the steering wheel became sticky and difficult to turn intermittently. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 09/14/15 updated 10/26/2017

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #258

Jun 152015

Z4

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. While driving 60 mph, the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was unable to be driven when the incident occurred. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 94,000.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #257

May 292015

Z4 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,352 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. The contact stated that the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel seized. The vehicle was unable to be driven. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 140,352. Updated 09/01/15 the consumer stated the entire steering column needed to be replaced. Updated 10/27/2015

- Valley Springs, CA, USA

problem #256

May 092015

Z4

  • 70,400 miles
My wife took the car for a drive and right in front of our house luckily with no warn the steering electic motor failed. The BMW dealer says the eps is bad but the only way to fix the problem is to replace the whole steering column at a low discounted price of 3750. Not sure why BMW can't just replace the defective part. My wife could have been in very bad accident if this event happened on the highway or even on the regular roads.

- East Lansing, MI, USA

problem #255

May 052015

Z4

  • 27,500 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. While driving at 55 mph, the steering wheel turned in both directions independently. The contact had to constantly maneuver the steering wheel in order to keep the vehicle in position. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the steering servo column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,500.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #254

Apr 132015

Z4

  • 130,048 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2004 BMW Z4 convertible 2 months ago. For the first month, the car drove perfectly. The last month, the car has become undriveable due to a "sticky steering wheel" and the steering wheel locking (the steering wheel will not move). I have taken it to 2 separate dealerships and they have told me that the steering column needs to be replaced. The car is quite dangerous to drive at the moment and after reading about this issue online, it appears to be an issue in which a factory recall was set to be released.

- Richmond, WA, USA

problem #253

Apr 182015

Z4 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
When driving the vehicle the steering constantly gets stuck on the left side and you have to straighten the car by pulling the wheel firmly to the right causing over correction. You have to constantly fight the steering wheel to keep the vehicle straight. Very dangerous and irritating.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #252

Dec 202014

Z4

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. The contact stated that the steering wheel was unstable while driving. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 125,000.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #251

Apr 022015

Z4 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Steering got sticky in a middle of a 90 degree turn nearly resulting in a crash as power steering motor failed temporarily. We understand this is a common problem for this particular BMW vehicle, especially on hot days. Today it was around 85 degrees F. we have owned the car for 5 months and this is the first time this problem occurred, likely because this is the hottest day since the day we bought it in September of last year. We understand that BMW has received almost 50,000 complaints related to this issue and we also understand that NHTSA has seen it fit to close their investigation. We are baffled by this decision as steering problems can be fatal and obviously the defect lies in the manufacturing process and should be corrected by BMW before fatalities start to occur.

- Forney, TX, USA

problem #250

Mar 212015

Z4

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Steering becomes tight and sticky, hard to make it track straight. Will not return to center after making a turn.

- Xenia Ohio, OH, USA

problem #249

Feb 022015

Z4 6-cyl

  • 87,280 miles
Steering is sticky, meaning extra energy is needed to steer the car at speeds above 35 mph. The vehicle will not track down the high way in a normal manner...

- Redmond, OR, USA

problem #248

Mar 172015

Z4

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW Z4. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the steering wheel locked without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician stated that the steering column should be replaced, however, the repairs should not be considered a permanent fix since the failure occurs during warm weather conditions. The failure recurred on various occasions. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000. The VIN was not available.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #247

Mar 142015

Z4 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Vehicle steering wheel locks. Driving on highway makes driving very stressful. Called BMW and they have no recall on this vehicle.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #246

May 012014

Z4 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
On warm days, vehicle steering is sticky, hard to turn. Feels like lose of power steering. Vehicle also pulls either right or left depending on last movement. Hard to steer back to center. Upon further research, problem has been found to be the steering wheel column, but no action or recall has been taken. It needs to be recalled.

- Pasco, WA, USA

problem #245

Feb 062015

Z4

  • 63,000 miles
On a warm day steering is sticky, needs a lot of effort and car feels unsafe to drive.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #244

Dec 102013

Z4

  • 59,188 miles
When turning steering, the steering stacks. Not all the time but it got worse recently so that it become very dangerous.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #243

Nov 222014

Z4 6-cyl

  • 87,620 miles
The vehicle steering developed a sticky area that was very hard to get past. The steering was very hard to turn to avoid an accident. It continued and I slowed so another accident does not occur. The problem has continued at low speeds, but not as bad. I just got the car and was driving home.

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #242

Sep 062014

Z4 6-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
The steering has a hesitation. I have noticed it this summer around town, thinking the steering is just very tight since it is a sports car. BMW did some rebuilding of the front end last fall and there was no issue in the steering at that time. On 9/06/14 I realized at highway speed I was pushing hard occasionally in a curve to activate the steering. BMW gave the diagnosis on 9/24/14 that the steering column/electric motor R&R program eps (steering unit) -all, for an estimated fee of $3551.63. So BMW tells me they are sorry this has happened to my car and they offer me no assistance through the BMW company. I am not ready to pay this expense at this point. If the problem gets worse or to the point I fear for my safety, then I will have a repair made, at least at this point, I know I need to be prepared for hard steering on occasion.

- West Burlington, IA, USA

problem #241

Apr 072014

Z4 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The steering on this vehicle seems to stick at times and you have to jerk it back to center to keep it in line on the road. Once it starts, it happens all the time. I am real concerned about the safety of driving since it is hard sometimes to jerk it back in line or straight. This has been happening for many months now and I am very concerned and don't drive it as much now.

- Naples,, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?