ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
0 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1996 Cadillac SeVille engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1996 Cadillac SeVille:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1996 Cadillac SeVille Owner Comments

problem #15

Nov 012001

SeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car was purchased (leased) on 2/22/00. Car kept stalling while driving or wouldn't start at all. Had it towed to dealer on 2/29/00. They couldn't duplicate the problem on 6/8/00. They replaced the fuel pump and I had car towed to dealer. Dash board panel would read battery, no charge when it would rain had belt replaced. Had several stiff spots when turning steering wheel on 11/1/01. Rack and pinion and water pump had to be replaced with only 45654 miles. On 1/30/01 dealer performed "protect injector service" at 49481 miles. 2/20/02 returned car to dealer, gas pedal was sticking. They cleaned deposit is from throttle blades at 49533 miles. Car began stalling again. 10/29/01 egr valve replaced with 60324 miles. 12/12/01 spark plugs had to be replaced due to poor performance with 60324 miles. We have replaced the tires, front and back brakes. The air conditioning went out may, 2002. Had it repaired on 7/9/02 replaced R&R compressor assembly, expansion tube assembly, A/C recharge, freon, dye kit, A/C oil and orifice tube with an odometer reading of 69860!! ridiculous isn't it?? not done yet 7/11/02 - A/C is out again. This time had to replace the A/C sensor, A/C switch, acm module, R&R switch compressor cut-off, R&R sensor sunload (atc), R&R module climate control. Today, it still doesn't work. I'm tired of pumping $$ into something that is a lease. We contacted Cadillac on helping us get out of this lease and into a different GM lease, they wouldn't help. This car has been nothing but trouble since day 3. when parking the car and trying to remove keys is another problem. We have to hit the top of the shifter to get the keys to release. The shifter sticks and won't release the keys. Currently, the problem we have is the banging under the car, which we found are the struts. They don't even make after market ones yet! let us know if any of these things are "recalled". caddy crap!! thank you.

- Temperance, MI, USA

problem #14

Jul 222002

SeVille

  • miles
While driving 30mph on flat surface vehicle will shutoff.. dealer notified.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #13

Mar 072000

SeVille

  • miles
The vehicle began running rough and missing. The spark plugs and cables were replaced.

- San Clemente, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 022002

SeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I paid for a new engine I believe rhat mataga of stockton rebuild my old engine. My old engine had sugar in the oil. Had the same tapping noise. Would like for them to prove it. I was told the 2000 engine have the same problem. I want it fix or replace.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #11

Feb 122002

SeVille

  • miles
I had a oil cinsumption problem the car had been using 3 qts of oil every 1800 miles. We found out from a tech that work there at the dealership that there had been a notice sent out to all tech that there was a problem with this and had been for sometime with the northstar engine. And that there still is. The problem is with carbon built up in the rings they added a cleaner to take the carbon off. This is all at the cost of the customer. Which was $524.24 and has not taken care of the problem. I called Cadillac they told me I was not to get this information it was for teck use only.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #10

Sep 202001

SeVille

  • miles
I am very concerned about the oil consumption that is being used in my car. I have been told by Cadillac that it is normal for this engine to use 2-3 quarts of oil for every 3000 miles, with the many differents cars that we have owned I have never had this problem before. The warranty for the car expires at 70000 miles. What other action can I take.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #9

May 142001

SeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine service light came on, and we took vehicle to dealer. We were told we may need a new engine. With only 62,00 miles on an engine that is not needing serviced until 100,000 miles we are seeking outher consumers that may have had problems with this engine. North star.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #8

Dec 012000

SeVille

  • miles
Cadillac knows this is a problem. Please stop them from stiffing the owners of any year northstar engine with the bill of $1800 to fix the problem. I had a 76 Grand Prix 400 V8 engine with 245000miles on it that didnt leak oil like this engine. If I knew Cadillac had a design defect with northstar engines I would not have bought the car.

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #7

Nov 161998

SeVille

  • miles
1. engine over heat, the car has over 120 ticket repair, the water pump was replaced 3 times, engine was replaced two time, program control module replaced 3 time, ESC module replaced 3 times, rediator was flushed, hoses replaced at my cost., after replacing the fisrt engine, car heat up to 248F that broke time serts, cooling was coming as steam will driving from the engine made hard to see. Now enen after replacing the second engine still the engine will heat up quickly if driving at low spead or short idle or climimng a short hile. Dealer don't know how to handle the problem, car this year only was at the dealer over 60 bussines day alone, as for the engine oil consumtion, prior to replacing the engine, the engile will consum 1 qtr per 1000 mile, the car will give an indication of adding oil after 2000 miles before I get the chance to change oil. Currently have a new engine, don't know if the problem resolved yet. There was no leak of oil

- Fountian Valley, CA, USA

problem #6

Oct 151999

SeVille

  • miles
While driving the vehicle stalls unexpectedly with loss of steering control. May cause or be cause of accident. Have been to dlr 2X in past but unable to duplicate and find cause of problem.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 231999

SeVille

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving vehicle stalls unexpectedly which may cause a crash. Been to dlr 3 times, dealer cannot determine the cause.

- Pompton Lakes, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jun 041999

SeVille

  • miles
2nd time to experience loss of engine power while decelerating. Last time it occurred around 5/7/99 at 38,000 miles, automobile dealer had noticed on exact problem and mileage when serviced 5/21/99. The engine loses power and no acceleration experienced when step on gas. Auto slows down and must coast to stop, hard to steer, etc. When turned off engine, and restarted automobile the problem went away both in may and again in June.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #3

Oct 271997

(reported on)

SeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Engine surges continually.

- La Verne, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 151996

SeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
He car uses a large amount of oil.

- North Ridge, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 271996

SeVille

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Intermittent stalling.

- Claremont, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?