Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
14 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,844 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1997 Chevrolet Cavalier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Sep 092012

Cavalier

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bags deflated September 9, 2012 while in motion turning a 90 degree bend then braking into road bank on a the side of a country dirt road. An early inspection was handed down from the commonwealth state of Pennsylvania on July, 01, 2016. Shortly after the vehicle was involved in auto accident while parked stationary in a parking lot. The Chevrolet Cavalier failed the enhanced state inspection thence after due to air bag safety feature. The car is in fair condition appraised above blue book value and mechanically runs better than it did 4 or 5 years ago. There is a salvage title currently on the motor vehicle. All the vehicle needs is new air bags.

- Benton, PA, USA

problem #31

May 012012

Cavalier

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 1997 Chevrolet Cavalier. The contact was sitting at a traffic stop when her foot slipped off the brake and caused her to lightly crash into the rear of a preceding vehicle. The contact stated there was no damage to either vehicle but the air bags deployed erroneously, causing burns to the contact's hands and face. The contact inquired with the manufacturer regarding NHTSA campaign id number: 98V146000 (air bags) that was supposed to correct the calibration that would have prevented the air bag deployment. The manufacturer advised that the vehicle was repaired previously under the recall, but the repair failed. The failure and the current mileages were 98,000. The VIN was not available.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #30

Oct 232009

Cavalier

  • 135,000 miles
While driving at 55mph the passenger side airbag deployed. When the airbag deployed it ripped apart the dash and busted the windshield. Luckily my son was not injured and managed to keep the car under control to get it off the highway without having an accident. When GM was contacted they said sorry this car was not affected by the recall for the airbags.

- Sturgis, MI, USA

problem #29

Aug 222008

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1997 Chevrolet Cavalier air bags deployed for no reason. An inspection revealed no mechanical reason for the deployment of the air bag. Also, the sunroof was inoperative. The consumer was informed her vehicle identification number was not included in the recall for the air bag.

- Haslett, MI, USA

problem #28

Aug 012007

Cavalier

  • miles
1997 Chevrolet Cavalier airbag deployment in low impact accident. Customer states that the airbags deployed in a low impact accident. He believes the manufacturer should pay to have them replaced. The consumer sold this vehicle to his grandson who was involved in the accident. The consumer wrote in on behalf of his grandson. The consumer learned a recall had been issued for the same problem that his grandson experienced.

- Wells, ME, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Mar 162007

Cavalier 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 1997 Chevrolet Cavalier. While driving 10 mph, the vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. There was snow on the road. Despite the low impact of the crash, the air bags deployed. There is recall # 98V146000 (air bags) for this failure. The manufacturer stated that this vehicle was excluded from the recall. The contact felt his vehicle should be included in the recall. The current and failure mileages were 110,000. Updated 08/28/07.

- Wells, ME, USA

problem #26

Jul 292005

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dt recall 00V053000 was issued concerning the fuel system. This vehicle was not included due to VIN. Gasoline was leaking from the return and the feed line. The return line started leaking first and then a month later, the feed line started leaking. Noticed it on July 29, 2005 this is when the return metal fitting was leaking and the return started leaking on August 29, 2005. Contacted the dealer, the part that has to be replaced, including the whole unit, and with labor would cost $600 or $700. Also, ignition switch recall 02V070000. This vehicle failed to start. The vehicle would not turn over it completely. The dash warning lights would come on. The dealer has not looked at any of these problems. There was also a recall 98V146000 concerning air bags. Vehicle's air bag light was on. Did not have the dealer check this.

- Saugerties , NY, USA

problem #25

Jul 151999

Cavalier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles
Rack and pinion steering went out- was later a recall. Head gasket cracked leaking oil and antifreeze. Airbag recall.

- Lawrenceville, AL, USA

problem #24

May 011999

Cavalier

  • miles
Loss of steering and air bags deployed before vehicle came into contact with anything. Regarding jannie welch. Prior to the accident a recall was issued and was repair by the dealer on Oct. 7, 1998. The vehicle tape player sounded garbled and the speakers were not very loud. The horn wire inside the steering column broke. A leaking seal within the power steering shaft caused a whining sound. (bradley banks attorney for client).

- Valparaiso, IN, USA

problem #23

Oct 052002

Cavalier

  • miles
The consumers daughter was involved in an accident and the air bags did not deploy. Mr the shift gears may have been the cause, due to a recall. The gears locked up, while the consumer was downshifting at a red light. It was determined that the slave cylinder had gone out. Scc

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #22

Dec 032002

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After recall for the air bag was completed the remedy failed. The dealer and manuafacturer have been notified.

- Pempe, AZ, USA

problem #21

Jul 102000

Cavalier

  • miles
While driving, consumer began braking due to a water main break up ahead, another vehicle pulled in front of her, so she slammed on her brakes, both driver and passenger airbags violently deployed injurying both people, and it was after the airbag deployment when consumer hit the vehicle in front of her, consumer is still suffering from injuries, the day after accident the consumer received recall 98V146, however the manufacturer is denying any responsibility for what happened.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 102000

Cavalier

  • miles
The consumer slammed on the brake to avoid a collision and almost simultaneously the air bags violently deployed causing the driver to rear end the vehicle ahead of it, the deployment burned both of the drivers upper arms and forearms, cut and bruised the chin, broke one tooth and loosed porcelain bridge, damaged esophagus and damaged sternum, the passenger sustained burns to the face and damage to the right eardrum, the next day the consumer recieved recall 98V-146 for inadvertent air bag deployment. Nlm

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #19

Jan 302002

(reported on)

Cavalier

  • miles
I believe that they should have told me about these recalls when I bought the car. I travel 17 miles or more to and from work each day on the freeway. I would like to have this fixed asap. No safety defect listed.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #18

Jul 102000

Cavalier

  • miles
While driving, consumer began braking due to a water main break up ahead, another vehicle pulled in front of her, so she slammed on her brakes, both driver and passenger airbags violently deployed injurying both people, and it was after the airbag deployment when consumer hit the vehicle in front of her, consumer is still suffering from injuries, the day after accident the consumer received recall 98V146, however the manufacturer is denying any responsibility for what happened.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #17

Jul 102000

Cavalier

  • miles
The consumer slammed on the brake to avoid a collision and almost simultaneously the air bags violently deployed causing the driver to rear end the vehicle ahead of it, the deployment burned both of the drivers upper arms and forearms, cut and bruised the chin, broke one tooth and loosed porcelain bridge, damaged esophagus and damaged sternum, the passenger sustained burns to the face and damage to the right eardrum, the next day the consumer recieved recall 98V-146 for inadvertent air bag deployment. Nlm

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 242001

Cavalier

  • miles
Recall 98 V 146 000/air bag deployment: Vehicle was repaired in 1998 for this recall. At present, vehicle still experiences an inadvertent deployment while driving under 15 mph. Dealer/manufacturer notified. Feel free to provide any further details on this matter.

- Whitebear Lake, MO, USA

problem #15

Dec 202000

Cavalier

  • miles
Horn actived by itself at non stop until it did not work any more. Then, every night horn used to go off in middle of night. Presently, air bag is showing punctured problems.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #14

Aug 101998

Cavalier

  • miles
I have had this problem for two years. I had it fixed on 08/10/1998. I received the recall for the calibration in the air bags computer in Oct 98. I took my car to bay Chevrolet (6970 N. military hwy. Norfolk, va 23518)(757-855-2261) on 08/22/1998. The mileage at this time was 31,491. They reprogrammed the air bag SDM and replaced the horn assembly. The vehicle was still under warranty at this time. I called them back in Nov 99 when problem was reoccurring. Vehicle was no longer under warranty and to have it fixed would have cost me $600+ dollars. I feel it should be fixed for free, since problem keeps reoccurring. Problem is still not fixed at this time.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #13

Oct 241999

Cavalier

  • miles
The airbags on the vehicle in questions were supposed to be repaired due to a recall. They instead deployed under 5 M.P.H. when the car ahead was bumped. The only damage to either car was the damage caused by the airbag. It shattered the windshield and jammed the moon roof open. The airbag also slightly injured the driver ( scraping & bruising her chin ). Chevrolet initially provided kristen with a cost free rental car and promised to fix the vehicle. Overnight their position changed. They took back the rental car and have been " bouncing " the claim from department to department causing the car to be untouched for more than 9 days now. The car was purchased at voss but now sits in smedley's Chevrolet's - vandalia, Ohio - lot.

- Dayton, OH, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?