Print this page

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,530
Average Mileage:
105,950 miles
Total Complaints:
24 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (21 reports)
  2. add oil and change oil every 3,000 miles. or rebuild engine (1 reports)
  3. fix for excessive oil burn now with wrecked engine (1 reports)
  4. replaced engine (1 reports)
2015 Chevrolet Equinox engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chevrolet Equinox:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chevrolet Equinox Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Apr 012022

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

just think chevy should resolve this issue. this is a known issue with this engine and Chevy should fix it

- Bryan S., Ludlow, US

problem #23

Sep 132022

Equinox LT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

I purchased this vehicle December 2021, and it has been consuming oil over and over. I have to keep adding a quart to it every few days.

- Stephanie G., Aiken, US

problem #22

Mar 052022

Equinox 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

We're at a quart of oil/1,000 miles. On the way to engine failure.

- John F., Beresford, US

problem #21

Aug 012019

Equinox LT 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

WHY would a new car/suv use over 1 quart of oil in approximately 5,500 miles? In looking online, I found others who had the same problem.

IS THIS AN engine problem with EQUINOX'S??

I have used the spec oil - 5/30 synth. for each oil change. Any help out there?

Thanks, Gordie Z

- Gordie Z., Mount Joy, US

problem #20

Jun 172022

Equinox LT 2.5L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 168,236 miles

2015 Equinox. It's still a nice looking SUV - no wrecks or major body damage, the paint looks good. Has approximately 168,000 miles. It had an oil seal leak fixed a while back. Check engine light came on after fix and oil change. I took to our reputable mechanic and had approximately 2 quarts of oil in it. Runs okay but not as good of mileage as it should get. Wife ran it for a week and a half and had to add 2 quarts of oil.

This is not right!!!! We should get better service out of this engine. If it breaks down then it breaks down, it doesn't smoke or smell like burning oil, it just uses it and at $8 a quart that's going to be expensive.

GM and our Government need to make it right! They have known about this for years!

Update from Sep 20, 2022: Have been adding oil as needed but now it is beginning to burn oil and you can smell it as you walk up to the vehicle. Even when it is not running. Now it is running ruff and black smoke will puff out as the catalytic converter burns it off. Really should not be driven.

Spoke with my reputable mechanic and he suggest a rebuilt motor or used motor if I wish to fix the problem. He indicated that theses engines are dropping like flies and with the demand any replacement engine price is going through the roof. And hard to find He highly suggest trading it in, but what will I get for it with the condition it is in? NOT MUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!.

- jgj4455, Mansfield, US

problem #19

Jul 062022

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

Our 2015 Equinox is burning oil! It only has 106,000 miles! We spent over 20,000 grand for this vehicle and it is already acting like our '99 Yukon with 200,000 miles. This is not safe or worth the value of the vehicle. Today, 7-6-22, when we took it to get an oil change and found this all out, they advised us to keep a quart in our vehicle to fill up when it got too low so that we don't burn up our engine. This is something we do with our clunker! This is not something we should be dealing with in a 6 year old vehicle. If we had not caught it this it could have ruined our engine and/or left us on the side of road! AND be an expensive fix. This is a dangerous problem to have come up! Now we have to spend extra time and money to make sure our vehicle keeps running and keep us safe. Very disappointed and hope that Chevy makes it right.

- Amy S., Blanchard, OK, US

problem #18

Sep 302021

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Burned oil at least a quart a week, until the engine failed on a long trip.

- kiavictim2019, Lowellville, Oh, US

problem #17

Aug 182021

Equinox LT 2.4L Ecotec

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,000 miles

My Equinox burns too much oil and has been doing so since the day I bought used in August 2021. I bought it with approximately 130,500 miles on it and now it has about 135,000 miles. I have to add a quart of oil every 400-500 miles, which totals about 9-10 quarts since the middle of August when I bought it. I knew nothing about this problem when I bought it. No warning lights came on but I noticed the engine was ticking and getting louder so I checked the oil, it was down 2-1/2 quarts. Since then I check the oil every other time I get gas, and add oil as needed, typically between a half and a full quart. Does anyone know if GM is standing by their product, as this is an apparently known problem? I would like them to fix or replace the problem.

- Jason B., Milwaukee, US

problem #16

Jan 222022

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,436 miles

Mechanic explained why oil ran all under driver's side of car. PCV system had excessive moisture in it, causing rear main seal to leak. It is unbelievable that there was a Bulletin (14882) out for the years 2010-2014 on the Chevrolet Equinox, but they obviously did not fix the problem past those years. I have seen numerous post in regards to this. My mechanic actually said this was the second this month for him. GM needs to reimburse, this is ridiculous.

- Heidi B., Swanton, US

problem #15

Feb 052022

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,729 miles

Have been told by several mechanics that unfortunately I have one of those Chevy engines that burns oil faster than it should. Instead of being able to go 5-6,000 miles, I can only go 3,000 miles between oil changes. Most recently my engine began to “shake“ and the warning came on that there was low engine power. It was impossible to drive. I immediately had it towed to the mechanic where I was told the engine has zero compression. The end result is that with less than 93,000 miles my engine is DONE. Estimated cost of repairs is $8,000. I’ve called the dealership several times and just keep getting the run around because I don’t have the extended warranty.

- Kerry P., Newark, US

problem #14

Jul 142021

Equinox LL 2.4L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 126,505 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had to add a quart of oil every 1000-1400 miles. This is ongoing and I have added 1 quart after 1400 miles. I added another quart after 800 miles. I added another quart after 1100 miles. I added another quart after 1000 miles. Another quart after 1200 miles. Another quart after 1100 miles. The vehicle started to run very rough about 5 weeks after I purchased it. I took it to the mechanic and he informed me that the equinox is noted for burning oil. I saw online there was a class action suit against gm. Would this vehicle fall into that suit? If so, do you have information on how to connect with GM?

- kathleenspitzer31, Holloway, US

problem #13

Sep 012020

Equinox LT 2.4L Ecotech

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,010 miles

I complained to Newman Chevrolet about excessive oil consumption in November of 2020, within dates of warranty, and miles on car were under 100,000, still under warranty. Chelsea said I needed to do 2000 mile oil consumption test which, after completion, put me out of warranty for dates and miles. Tests proved engine was burning excessive oil. Chelsea quoted $3000 for repair. I waited until I could afford the repair, then drove my car to Newman in June of 2021. My car ran fine and had no issues with oil dripping or smoke coming from my exhaust, but I decided to get it repaired because of potential safety issues if my car seized up when I was driving.

At no time did Newman Chevrolet advise me of the ongoing issue and massive complaints due to excessive oil consumption in Chevrolet's 2.4L EcoTech engine which is the one I have. I found out after my repair that there was a class action lawsuit against Chevrolet regarding this engine burning oil. The lawsuits against GM allege that the 2.4-liter EcoTech engines found in model years 2010-2017 Chevy Equinox and GMC Terrain SUVs burn an excessive amount of oil. The safety risk posed by the apparent defect is substantial, given that an engine operating without sufficient oil could wear down and fail prematurely, even during the course of normal operation, due to friction.

According to the lawsuits, GM, for its part, actively concealed from consumers that its Equinox and Terrain vehicles suffered from an oil consumption defect. Worse, the suits say, GM allegedly failed to offer vehicle owners and lessees any help by way of repairs or recalls. GM did settle the lawsuit for some of the vehicle years, but did not cover my 2015 which had the same exact problems. Newman never told me about this. Instead of assisting me with getting the car repaired under warranty, they passed the buck and made me responsible for the repair. I paid $5335 out of pocket on 6/10/2021. Repairs included replacement of pistons, gaskets, sealant, coolant, rings, seals, timing chain, exhaust manifold, pump, spark plugs and brakes. Chelsea said there was a 2-year warranty on those engine and brake repairs. This story gets worse. See new complaint regarding engine failure after repair.

Update from Oct 4, 2021: On 9/20/21 my car had major engine failure with horrible shaking and no compression while I was driving on a highway. I had it towed to the Newman dealership. Newman has had my car for 2 weeks. The same mechanic who worked on my car in June is now diagnosing the new engine failure. Andy called last Friday 10/1 and said so far they found a hole in a valve, the catalytic converter (honeycomb) is chewed up, and the exhaust valve is bad. They would be removing the head on Monday 10/4/21 to find out if there are other problems. He told me nothing will be covered by the 2-year warranty. In the interim, I talked with other mechanics who say everything Newman touched in their first repair could cause the current problem with engine now. I don't know much about engines. I do know that when I brought my car to Newman in June, it ran fine. Now $5300 later, and many months of stress over my car not being safe, I am in a much worse position and Newman is not taking responsibility for anything.

- JoAnn O., Grafton, US

problem #12

Feb 152022

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

The engine is low on oil. It's almost not even registering on the dipstick.

Update from Jan 28, 2023: At 120,000 miles it’s getting worse and we had to add almost a quart of oil.

Update from Jan 28, 2023: Do not ever buy a Chevrolet Equinox or GMC Terrain. It’s not a matter of if but when. These cars are ticking time bombs waiting to destroy the engine by destroying the timing system of the engine which causes catastrophic engine failure. If you have one, change the oil every 3,000 miles and use full synthetic oil.

- James S., Cedar Creek, TX, US

problem #11

Jun 012021

Equinox LS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

My car has been burning an excessive amount of oil between oil changes that I had to check it weekly for a few months. There are NO LEAKS, this is burnt oil. Two weeks ago I added two quarts of oil to get to a normal level. Within two weeks my car burned through those quartz and seized the engine. When the oil pressure when in the car, the timing chain broke, pistons smacked up into the valves. I had to pay $5,000 for a remanufactured engine to be installed!

Update from Aug 30, 2022: Hello - I see there is a new class action lawsuit for the same engine I have that I had to replace due to an issue with the oil. I ultimately had to replace the engine. Can you please advise how I can be added to this lawsuit? I submitted a claim on this website but I was not contacted. There were no visible oil leaks with my engine, I assume it was burning oil but this leak that was included in the description of lawsuit caused from the pvc is definitely an explanation of what could have happened to my engine. Regardless, the amount of oil the car was losing was 100% caused by some defect.

- Jamie G., Vineland, NJ, US

problem #10

Aug 032021

Equinox LT 4.2

  • Automatic transmission
  • 207,000 miles

Leaking oil all over the bottom of car ..This is a huge problem leaking oil and burning it

Loud when started then quiets down

- grubb, Meadow Bridge, Wv, US

problem #9

Feb 012021

Equinox LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

I am really disappointed to find out my 2015 Equinox was not covered under any sort of warranty when I took my car to the dealership for the oil consumption issue. They acknowledged it was a problem but not MY equinox. How convenient for them!! My neighbor said he has heard of this issue and he does not even own a GM vehicle.

This is my 2nd Equinox. My first one started having issues and I just contributed it to approaching the 100,000 mile mark. My 2nd Equinox started having this issues while in the 60,000 mile range. As much as I truly want to support American made vehicles, I don't know that I will be purchasing another.

- Jill L., Winder, GA, US

problem #8

Jun 272020

Equinox LT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,500 miles

My car had an oil change at 83000 and not needs one and a half quart of oil added with an additional less than 3500 miles.

- David C., Durham, NC, US

problem #7

Apr 052020

Equinox LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 165,500 miles

It uses too much oil. I had my mechanic look at it, but no leaks. He had me drive it for a while. It used a quart every 700 miles.

- Willard T., Kent, US

problem #6

Aug 032019

Equinox LT 2,4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,008 miles

2015 Equinox uses a quart of oil every 300 miles of normal driving conditions. 2.4 engine with 39000 miles.

- Edward A., Edgewood, MD, US

problem #5

Feb 122021

Equinox

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

Apparently my warranty company will not fix my 2015 Equinox that is using oil. Roughly a quart every 1000 miles. Chevy - u suck. Apparently this is a known issue.

- Michaele N., Glencoe, US

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?