Print this page

6.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Chevrolet Silverado 2500 Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 062007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2000 Chevrolet K2500. The vehicle has Firestone steeltex radial tires, size LT245/75R16. On August 6, 2007, a 24-inch long strip of tread separated from the rear passenger side tire. The tire blew out on August 8, 2007 and caused two rear windows to shatter and damaged the front passenger side of the vehicle. The contact has pictures of the tire and vehicle. The dot number and speed were unknown. The current and failure mileages were 20,500. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08 the consumer stated the speed was between 5 & 10 mph approaching a stop light. Updated 02/01/08

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #18

May 252007

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,400 miles
1- Firestone steeltex R4S II LT245 75R 16. Chevy Silverado 2500 was pulling traveler trailer northbound on I95 into nc on 90F day. 2- passenger rear tire of truck at complete tread separation but pressure remained in tire. 35,920 miles on failed tire. Damage occurred to tow vehicle as well as travel trailer. 3 - spare tire was installed. The tire is no longer available but have pictures, markings and all id numbers on the tire.

- Zebulon, NC, USA

problem #17

Jul 242005

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,400 miles
1) highway driving for 4 hours, 60 mph, normal loading of vehicle, 2 adults, 2 children 2) complete tread separation of tire, fortunately tire remained inflated, no accident, damage to rear wheel well, Firestone Wilderness AT, size P265/75R 16 114S M/S, tire was original from Chevrolet, truck had 53,400 miles 3) replaced all tires to Goodyear.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 012004

Silverado 2500

  • 35,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the quarter panel collapsed damaging the brake line, and the emergency brake line. Consumer had an air bag installed on the suspension. However that was damaged also. The tires delaminated. The tread separated from the sidewall of the tires. Firestone steeltex radio, R4F, LT245/75R16, 00-80-11 120/116R M/S, dot VN11-B1C.

- Eden, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 302004

Silverado 2500 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving, a loud noise was heard coming from the rear and the vehicle shook uncontrollably. Consumer was able to maintain control of the vehicle, and pulled over. Passenger's side right front tire tread separated from the vehicle, causing damage to under carriage and the door. Firestone steeltex radial, LT245/75R16, dot vn11B1C. The driver was able to change the tire, and will contact Firestone.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Aug 282004

Silverado 2500 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,600 miles
While driving at 70 mph left right rear tire tread separated, causing the tire to blow out, Firestone wilderness, sizeunknown, dot: Unknown.

- Troutville, VA, USA

problem #13

Nov 042003

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Thread separation on three of four original equipment LT245/75R16 steel tex A/T 10ply tires 2replaced 6-02 1 replaced 11-03 Firestone dealer recommended complaining as company fails to do anything for dealer or customer replaced 3 tires on 11-4-03, and mounted new spare on grd to get 4 new tires again consumers need help in getting this corrected immediately.

- Mapleton, IA, USA

problem #12

Oct 012001

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Have had three flat tires, due to gravel puncture in the tread at exactly the same in the tread of each tire.

- Keyser, WV, USA

problem #11

Nov 272001

Silverado 2500

  • miles
This tire failure is the 2nd on this vehicle. The outer tread separated from the tire and the steel belts came apart. Inspection by sears tire center in rocky mount, nc also found a third tire ready to separate. Had previous incident on 4/26/2001 and filed with NHTSA on 4/30/2001. Ref ODI#744753. I emailed Continental tire hq but they will not respond. Now removed all these tires from vehicle and purchased neww brand. Have all 5 generals in my possession for inspection. (tiresize: Lt24575R16)

- Hollywood, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 022001

(reported on)

Silverado 2500

  • miles
Left front tire developed a bubble while driving. Had developed a slow leak. Tread was separating due to bubble which was located in middle of tread. Contacted Goodyear, and Goodyear informed consumer there was tread separation on tires. Goodyear, Wrangler St with 18,000 miles, P235/75/R16.

- Floresville, TX, USA

problem #9

Oct 012001

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • Manual transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

All four Firestone tires, size: LT245/75R16, dot: Vn11bab399 on 2000, Chevrolet, Silverado 1500 have wavy/deformed areas in center of tread. There are approximately 19,000 miles on the tires, and they are original equipment.

- Dayton, VA, USA

problem #8

Jun 252001

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The tires on my 2000 Chevrolet Silverado P/U were found to have severe cracks in the tread are, the cracks were significant enough to warrent replacement by the tire dealer. The manufacturer agreed to prorate the tires, which was a significant expense on my part. The tread wear was minimal. I as the tire dealer if there was problem with these particular tires he said no. After having my tires replaced I personally inspected six 1999-2001 chev Silverado 2wd ext cab pickups with the same general tires, of the six, with milage from 7,500-42,000, I found that five of the six had the same cracking in the same area as did the tires on my truck. (tiresize: 255/70R/16)

- Oakwood, IL, USA

problem #7

Jun 252001

Silverado 2500

  • miles
The tires on my 2000 Chevrolet Silverado P/U were found to have severe cracks in the tread are, the cracks were significant enough to warrent replacement by the tire dealer. The manufacturer agreed to prorate the tires, which was a significant expense on my part. The tread wear was minimal. I as the tire dealer if there was problem with these particular tires he said no. After having my tires replaced I personally inspected six 1999-2001 chev Silverado 2wd ext cab pickups with the same general tires, of the six, with milage from 7,500-42,000, I found that five of the six had the same cracking in the same area as did the tires on my truck.

- Oakwood, IL, USA

problem #6

Jun 062000

Silverado 2500

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Original equipment on a 2000, Silverado, 0265/75R16 size. At 60 mph tread on right rear tire separated, causing a blowout. Firestone replaced tire.

- Dahlonega, GA, USA

problem #5

Sep 282000

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • miles
Tread has begun to separate from tire caseing. Hairline split is now visable where tread is bonded to tire cassing. Other tires still not affected. Dealer, and Chevrolet refuse to replace. Say this tire not affected by defect. GM claims there tires made to higher standard. Then those for Ford. I have small children, and feaar for there saftey in the vehicle. Please order a recall of these tires. (dot number: Bmo 5324-1 tiresize: LT245/16)

- Lansing, MI, USA

problem #4

Sep 072000

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • miles
Two of the four tires have tread separation. Tires have been replaced.( dot number: 2319 tire size: P265/75R16 )

- Chivington, CO, USA

problem #3

Sep 072000

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • miles
Two of the four tires have tread separation. Tires have been replaced.( dot number: 2319 tire size: P265/75R16 )

- Chivington, CO, USA

problem #2

Aug 222000

Silverado 2500

  • miles
PE00020;original equipment on Chevrolet, Silverado 2000. Consumer can fill little balls on all 4 tires. Consumer feels its related to heat.

- Des Moine, OH, USA

problem #1

Jun 102000

Silverado 2500 4WD

  • miles
No summary listed for above vehicle.( dot number: )

- Andover, MN, USA

Not what you are looking for?