ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$240
Average Mileage:
37,100 miles
Total Complaints:
15 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (11 reports)
  2. pcm module (2 reports)
  3. defective cylinder head (1 reports)
  4. replace relay (1 reports)
2012 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments

problem #15

Jun 112017

200 S 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,044 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

CC of comments to FCA Canada on June 13, 2017:

Engine is misfiring in opposition to engine cycle causing the engine to stop cold. Many times, the car can be placed in neutral or park, and will restart immediately. However, other times, the engine will perpetually try to start with all lights illuminated on the dash. The car needs to be stopped, and left to rest for anywhere between a few minutes to a few hours before it can be restarted.

In April 2017, Champlain Dodge Chrysler attempted to remedy this by replacing a Cylinder head and all spark plugs. The problem reoccurred on June 11, where the vehicle stalled at a stop. It restarted immediately.

On Monday June 12th, on my way to the office, the vehicle engine stopped while on the highway traveling at 70 km/h. In this case, the engine restarted after a 1/2 second loss (0 RPM on Tachometer).

I have observed that when at a stop, if the vehicle is in Drive, the chance of a stall is higher than if the vehicle is in Neutral.

This a.m. on my way to the dealer service centre the vehicle stalled no less than 10 times, most while at a stop. Twice the stall was while in motion at ~30-50km/h. In one case, I was able to shift to Neutral and restart while in motion, coast to a stop safely and shift to drive.

In the other situation, the vehicle lost power, and after shifting to Neutral the starter would turn the engine, but the engine would not start. All lights were illuminated on the dash. I coasted to a parking spot, waited 5 minutes and it restarted. I then continued the remaining 5 blocks to the dealer safely and with no incident.

This problem has been well documented by many parties on the Internet on both the 2011 and 2012 model years for the 3.6l engine models. This is considered by some one of the top 6 most dangerous vehicle defects. Having experienced this problem first hand and under many conditions, I would concur with this assessment, and will state that I am fully confident that this issue will cause a loss of life. Hopefully not my own.

I have already had an issue with another vendors vehicle which had, due to a manufacturing issue, placed my life at grave risk. In this incident I had alerted Transport Canada of the issue, and they had immediately dispatched investigators to investigate the vehicle. I believe that due the prevalence of this issue that a similar action is warranted regarding the issues experienced with this vehicle.

Update from Jun 14, 2017: This problem had been monitored by Transport Canada, and it was suspected the TIPM might be the culprit. Oddly enough the TIPM was not the failed component in this case.

The dealer had consulted with FCA on the process to resolve this issue, and the problem was resolved by replacing the Auto-Shutoff relay. I was suspect of this diagnosis until I had opened the failed part, which I requested they keep for my inspection. What I had witnessed was that the live contact in the relay was heavily pitted, and it was highly probably that on more than one occasion the relay had arced, causing it to fuse in the closed position.

What concerns me is that if this happened on my car, there is a good chance that this will be occurring on other 2012 Chrysler 200's. The loss of engine power at a stop or while in motion can be very dangerous, and if this is a common issue, the replacement of this relay as part of scheduled maintenance should be required on all vehicles using this design.

The reason for the failure of this relay requires further analysis, but most relays will fail if the current across the contacts is above the specification of the part, or if the plating on the contacts is not to spec, or was not properly plated in the manufacturing process.

The reference for the Transport Canada file for this issue is 2017-1684

- Ryk E., Westmount, QC, Canada

problem #14

Mar 062017

200 4cylinder

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,483 miles

It is very dangerous to be driving and the car shut off with your kids in the car. After reading about a PCM issue no recall was done because Chrysler claimed to have fix this issue. The sad thing is that Chrysler is aware of the issue but waits for customer to contact them WTH.

- aknox331 , Tuscaloosa, Al, US

problem #13

Feb 242017

200 S V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,022 miles

Car dies when driving, passing or starting up. Leaves you stranded anywhere from 15 minutes to 3 hours. No engine lights come on and no codes are thrown when it dies. It's really dangerous when you go to pass a car on a two lane highway and it dies. I have tried changing the input and output sensors on the transmission and it didn't cure the problem. I need a car that is reliable, this car is not. Yes it has had the PCM flashed and still dies randomly. But have started to notice that the speed of the car is usually around 40 to 50 mph. I have been to 2 different dealers in different cities and they are both baffled by the issue. My car isn't the only one doing this. They need to fix this issue before someone dies!!!!!!! I am selling this car as soon as I can.

- Jason H., Atchison, KS, US

problem #12

Jan 202016

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,574 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is an ongoing issue right now and has yet to be resolved. Three warning lights went on the first time 01-20-2016.....the MIL, ETC, and the Electronic Stability Control icon meaning its in OFF. I went online the next day to look up further information. I watched a YouTube Video on the Electronic Control Throttle and something called Limp Mode. (new to me) The next night I was driving and the warning lights (two this time) the MIL and ETC. The car went into Limp Mode this time so barely went 20 mph till I reached the Library. The following day warning lights were off and the car drove fine, but I was white knuckling it the whole drive on the Freeway and in city driving. I drove it to to the dealership after my first destination and talked with a service advisor. The same routine as before ..... hooks the car up to the handheld device and no pending codes. Codes stored but he removed them. Bring it back when it does it again he tells me. Despite there being codes Advisor tells me its 130.00 dollars to diagnose. Can't do anything with out a diagnosis. The Mechanic will do the same hook the Car up to the Computer. I doubt there is actually any LOOKING AT THE ENGINE OR HANDS ON TROUBLESHOOTING. SIGH. I left and made one stop then got on the Freeway and it did it again, but this time I luckily got off at my exit and the car stalled at the first ;light. So I restarted it and stopped at the nearest gas station and drove no further. NEXT DAY Car warning lights were off and car drove normal. It seems like it codes when its night and the temperature drops. At first I thought there was some correlation but as of today (January 27th, 2016) it has proved my theory wrong. (kinda) I started the car up at 0800hrs and the Engine Warning Light was on but it drove normally to my appt. Afterwards the engine light and ETC warning light was on and blinking after another stop. I reached my destination and then the sane warning lights on and this time the engine was running rough and kinda lurching until it stalled out completely. SAD SAD SAD..... for a 2011 I don't think these things should keep happening. I agree that the parts are plastic and cheaply MADE or WORST MADE TO BREAK TO MAKE MONEY. PROBLEM WITH THAT IS THE PARTS ARE THREE TIMES THE MARKUP IN PRICE COMPARED TO AUTO PARTS STORES AND ONLY A MONTH GUARANTEE ON PARTS FROM THE DEALERSHIP. THE CAR HAS ONLY A LIMITED WARRANTY. Its not reliable and I am afraid to drive it on Freeways now. I am missing important appts now as a result. I fear I have bought a Lemon now. Its sad when Dealerships are more concerned with making a buck than Customer Safety and NOT Ripping off the CONSUMER!!!!!

- M R., Fountain, CO, USA

problem #11

Aug 282014

200 Touring 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

Driving down the road getting ready to stop for a red light and the car just lost all power without warning. Thankfully I was able to coast to the side of the road. Put car in park...breath...and restart. Hasn't happened since, however, today the car will not start. I had forgotten about the car stalling like that until today when I see so many others with the same issue and a recall for the 2011 Chrysler's....

Basically my 2012/200 is junk. I never ever would have purchased it had I not been between a rock and a hard place. Owned a 300 once..drove great..loved it until it prematurely began to systemically fall apart and ultimately blew the engine....Chrysler is crap. I cannot find a mechanic to say otherwise... this is s shame.

- imneeced, Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 212014

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,300 miles

I bought my Chrysler in May 2014 and here it is only September and my car has been back to Chrysler 3 times in the last 3 months. It idles low and continues to die and stall when pulling out. Goes up to 4 rpm before it even shifts gears, sounds like it doesn't shift properly. Took it back and they state they can't find a problem with the car.

There is definitely an issue and it sucks that you pay $16000 for a car and start having serious issues in couple of months. I feel violated and that I was sold a damn lemon. Wish I never bought the car cause now all I see is me sinking money into it. What is the damn problem with these cars. Get them recalled and fixed or stop making them. Someone going to get hurt.

- Cheryl C., Georgetown, KY, USA

problem #9

Jul 312013

200 LX 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I drive down the road and my car dies for no reason, I have taken it to Chrysler and they can't find any problems with it, all they can do is put a reader on my car for a couple of days to see if it does it again, but nothing happened in those couple of days so they just told me when my car does that put it in neutral and restart it, so about 3 weeks later my car did it again so I followed their advise but it didn't work, I had to wait until my car was fully stopped to put it in the stop position then it restarted with no problems. It does it like every month to two months, but I am worried about it, because my children are in my car with me most of the time.

- Nancy D., Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #8

May 092014

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

8 months ago I purchased a 2012 Chrysler 200 with 43,000 miles. Everything was fine until a couple of days ago when out of nowhere the Malfunction Indicator Light came on. I know that usually just means to check to make sure gas cap is on properly. I did that a couple of times and everything is good. I know something is wrong because ever since then, the car stalls and is hard to sometimes accelerate to proper speed just during city driving of miles under 50 mph. I see that there is a recall on engine for 2012 Chrysler but when I called to inquire about it; she said the recall was for VIN specific vehicles. HUH?

- kwebb99, Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #7

Oct 142013

200 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,100 miles

I bought this car new and it has stalled on me about 8 times. I've had it in to Chrysler 3 times and they Can't find anything wrong with it. It was stalling when driving slow or stopped at a light but now it stalled while driving on the highway. Brought it back and they said all they found was a loose battery terminal and that I should drive it to see if that fixes the problem.

- Lisa B., Bogota, NJ, USA

problem #6

Jun 232012

200 S 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

Chrysler 200 S purchased brand new 4-30-2012 with 156 miles. The car completely stalled while driving with no notice what so ever. Lost all control, steering, braking, everything. Came to a stop. some how without have a terrible accident, turned the key off, and back on. Started and ran just fine. Took the vehicle into a Chrysler dealership and they checked it over, not finding anything wrong with it. They did admit to the fact that Chrysler was aware of the stalling problem and that they did a software update to address that issue on the car. Do not buy a Chrysler 200 S otherwise I promise you it will cause you a loss of life, lots of money, and extreme grief. Read on....

- dunlaptaia, Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #5

Jul 012012

200 S 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalled again today, after it had been in the dealership for the exact same thing, They did the 'software' update to fix the stalling issue, but it didn't really fix the problem. Today going 65 on a 6 lane freeway in LA and the cad completely powered off with no warning whatsoever. Miracle that there are no deaths to report. Called the Iowa City dealership general manager at Deery Bros. and the sales person who was involved with the transaction, and of course they told us they could not do anything about the problem.

We will be checking into the Iowa Lemon Law, but in the meantime we have a vehicle that is unsafe to drive, and brand new. DO NOT BUY A CHRYSLER 200 S....you will be sorry. They stall in traffic with out notice and are very dangerous.

- dunlaptaia, Iowa City, IA, USA

problem #4

Jul 152013

200 LX 3.2L V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 18,200 miles

The MIL came on but the vehicle seemed to function fairly normal with a little bit of a rough idle. Took the vehicle in to be diagnosed and was told that there was a defective cylinder head and that it would take 2 days to repair once the part arrived. I asked for a rental and was denied. The dealership kept the car for 3 days once they had the part and changed out the cylinder head.

I picked up the 200 on a Wednesday night after work and it still ran kind of rough but the check engine and traction control lights were reset.

- Tracy V., Brighton, CO, USA

problem #3

Jun 162013

200 LX 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,500 miles

Bought the used car with 33,550 miles on it about two weeks ago from a reputed dealer in Tampa. Within 2 weeks the engine stalled twice. It cranks and doesn't start. Got it checked by a third party mechanic and he could not find any issue with the car. But it happened again and I have to get it towed. Now I need to take it to the dealer and its a pain. Don't expect such issues with relatively new car sold by reputed dealers.

- Rohit S., St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 172012

200 Touring W/ S Badge 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,592 miles

28 DAYS AFTER PURCHASE/ 1600 MILES DOWN THE ROAD, MY 200'S ENGINE SHUT DOWN/STALLED WHILE DOING 35MPH AND THE STEERING COLUMN LOCKED UP AS WELL. CHRYSLER CORP. AND LOCAL DEALER DENY THIS HAS EVER HAPPENED W/ ANY OTHER 200!! I ASKED TO BRING THE CAR IN ASAP AND WAS TOLD TO WAIT 5 DAYS BEFORE THEY COULD LOOK AT IT.

IN THE MEAN TIME, MY WIFE AND 2 CHILDREN ARE DRIVING A CAR THAT STALLS THAT LOSES HYDRAULIC BRAKES AND STEERING LOCKS SIMULTANEOUSLY WHILE CHRYSLER AND DEALERS KNOW THIS OCCURS BUT CANT RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

DOESN'T QUALIFY FOR LEMON LAW B/C THE COMPUTER SYSTEM DOESN'T STORE A FAULT CODE OF ANY KIND AND DEALERS CAN'T FIND A CAUSE!

I'M A SEVERELY WOUNDED VET WHO BUYS AMERICAN B/C FAMILY HAS LONG WORKING HISTORY W/ DODGE & CHRYSLER CORP BUT AM EXTREMELY LET DOWN BY HOW THE CORPORATION DOESN'T HONOR THEIR PRODUCTS THE WAY THEY SHOULD!

- bito_03, Converse, TX, USA

problem #1

Feb 282012

200 Touring 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 248 miles

Well I purchased a 2012 Chrysler 200 Touring with the 3.6 for the wife and had it a total of 13 days and a whopping 248 miles before she called and said the car is not running right. The car will not idle/ stalls in gear and there is also a burning smell. Taking it to dealer today at 7AM-after reviewing complaints guess its not an isolated thing. Angry as hell 248 miles-wife said I don't want it anymore LOL. Well I guess this counts as strike 1 for lemon law here in PA.

Update from Mar 4, 2012: Well the problem was the PCM module-they had to replace it-dealer and Chrysler were great-rental car, in shop total of two days-still concerned about long term reliability

- mrdcse, Philadelphia, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?