2013 Chrysler 200 transmission problems: thumping when shifting gears

Thumping When Shifting Gears

2013 Chrysler 200

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

6.8

fairly significant
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
14,600 miles
Total Complaints:
12 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. no change they are aware of the problem they just cant fix (6 reports)
  2. not sure (5 reports)
  3. no fix, want a new car adn not a chrysler (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2013 Chrysler 200 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments

problem #12

Nov 162016

200 LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,135 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was reading these and just wanted to add mine. I have the thumping noise that sounds like gears and stuff only when I am going slow, so slowing down or speeding up from a stop. It hasn't been a threat yet like jerking or making movements. But it is annoying and scary since I bought it less than a week ago ( a week as of tomorrow).

- monica1713, Sandy, UT, USA

problem #11

May 012014

200 Touring V6

  • CVT transmission
  • 16,000 miles

Same as a lot of 200 owners. Thumping and clunking sounds from transmission when driving, seems to be more at lower speeds. Notice especially when slowing down (not stopped) then accelerating again. Dealer tech says that is a normal thing for these cars. I DISAGREE

- Aaron K., Covington, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 012015

200 Touring 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,460 miles

Took my 200 in 3 different times, the last time my check engine light came on and there was a lot that was wrong with my car. my heater wasn't working no passenger side transmission cooler lines the valve/solenoid purge and radiator engine cooling . It's just to much with this car and it's still jerking

- byersoh, Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 122014

200 Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Been to Chrysler twice for same issue. Car is making a clunking sound which sounds like the gears are loose and when shifting you get a jerking feeling. Chrysler service manager in Fort Pierce kept car for a day and said he felt nothing. When I took car back and it did it when we drove it he told me this was normal and was a safety feature Chrysler installed in the car. BULLSHIT, no car should drive like that.

I bought this car brand new fully loaded and it sucks I have gap on it and I wish someone would steal it!!! I owe way more then it is worth and hate the damn thing! I will seek an independent service shop to see if they can find a problem, get a write up and take it back to Chrysler. I have a feeling they put it off until the warranty runs out, but I won't be taking it there to get it fixed if that does happen. Very poor customer service and car is horrible. We need to start a class action lawsuit!

Update from Jun 18, 2015: So still having clanking, thumping noise and now a check engine light. Brought car to Chrysler yesterday they kept it for the day and said they fixed it (PCV valve, and replace tire rod end front right and left, valve/solenoid purge test and replace) picked the car up after hours, got 10 minutes down the road and noise started again. On way home from work today noise was even louder. Called Chrysler left a message for the service tech and manager at 430 they close at 6 pm neither one of them called me back! I hate this car!!! And their service sucks!!

Update from Jun 18, 2015: Still having same problem. Chrysler had my car yesterday said they fixed it ( PCV valve replaced, tire rod end both front, and valve/solenoid purge test and replace) picked car up after hours got 10 mins down the road hear same clanking noise. On ride home today from work sound even louder. Called and left a message for the service tech and manager at 430 they close at 6 pm. Never got a phone call back!!!

Sucky service sucky car!!!

- Megan S., Port Saint Lucie, FL, US

problem #8

Mar 232015

200 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

Having the same issues with my 2013 Chrysler 200 as everyone else; while traveling at speeds under 30 miles per hour , the engine makes a clicking noise while shifting from 2nd to 3rd and back. Took it back to the dealership where I purchased it from and they said it was normal for this make and model. Told me it was a solenoid in front of the transmission producing the sound. Also, the SERVICE MANAGER told me that most people have their radios on or windows down so they don't notice the problem!!! REALLY, that's your answer!!!!!!

Should have researched this car better for I purchased it. If anyone files a lawsuit, let me know, be happy to be included.

- Robin B., Spokane Valley, USA

problem #7

Nov 182013

200 ES V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles

We need to get a lemon law filed on this car. I have sent them papers, they had 30 days for a new car or cash, no response. A lawyer's working on my case now.

Update from May 16, 2015: car has 18000 miles on it took to another dealer they drove it they don't hear the shifting because he drove the car I drive away it still does this on mothers day I have my brother in law in the car he fills this what is that so if my riders in the car can fill it then something is wrong .

- Timothy G., Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #6

Jun 012014

200 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had my 200 into service five times for the same problem. when driving, the car slips gears, and or shifts very hard. when turning and trying to accelerate, the car bogs out, the transmission shudders then drops into first gear, and takes off on me.

The dealership says I am imagining this, they say there is no problem, yet when i took the tech for a drive he witnessed it happening but said there was nothing they can do about it. Chrysler is aware of it with no solution to the problem.

- Lincoln W., Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #5

Nov 032013

200 ES V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11 miles

The dealer is requesting somebody to look at my car 2013 200 thumping when shifting 25/30 because I filed for the lemon law. A Chrysler tech from Chicago is going to look at my car. I'll keep in touch. Timothy l Greene

- Timothy G., Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #4

Oct 172013

200

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

5 months after buying the 200 S Touring model one day after work I felt a large thump when shifting into Drive. when i started to speed up the car did not want to shift into 2nd gear, just revved up. i had to wait til car slowed down in order for me to pull over and restart engine but this didn't help. so i drove it home in first gear a few miles. took car into shop and mechanics could not duplicate issue. It now has been 6 months since since 1st occurrence and it happened a second time. i called a tow truck and deliver to dealer but it was too late for a mechanic to look at it. so the next morning mechanic took a drive and saw nothing. so somehow the issue recovers by itself. the first time they upgraded my software. the 2nd time they said ;nothing can be done unless they see the issue. 6/8/14 I took car into dealer because I noticed that when i shifted gears there was a thump or jog ; gears where rough when shifting. Dealer said this is normal. Gears did not feel this way when i fist bought it. so I am stuck not knowing what to do next.any help from anyone will be greatly appreciated.

- Kay R., Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #3

Nov 112013

200 ES V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11 miles

I took it back to the dealer, they had someone come from Chicago to look at it. They said this is the way it's going to shift, bull crap. I did file for the lemon law. This problem has been going on way back to 2011, 2012/now 2013.

They know they have a problem, they just don't know how to fix it. I'm done, I want a new car. Four case managers, how many do you need? Four updates, one specialist for transmission from Chrysler. Now I will file lemon/lemon/ lawyer Timothy L Greene Fond Du Lac WI

- Timothy G., Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #2

Dec 032013

200 ES V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles

My 2013 Chrysler 200 is not shifting right between 25 to 30, it hesitates like a jog. It only has 400 miles on it so I took it in on 12/04/2013. They said they called Chrysler up and put new software in so you should be good to go. The problem didn't go away. They told me to drive it for 12000 miles to break it in. What should I do? I think I have a lemon, tire pressure light comes on when it gets cold too. Any body out there with this problem? I need help.

Update from Mar 30, 2014: IT HAS 1400 ON IT NOW, SAME PROBLEM, NOT ON HIGHWAY, JUST CITY 25 TO 30

Update from Apr 17, 2014: took it back it has 4200 miles on it now they did a up date last sat it worked for four days now its doing the same thing not happy with the out come timothy l Greene fond du lac Wi

Update from May 3, 2014: I filed for the lemon law ben back to the dealer four times he took it for a ride but could not duplicate it we drove home it was nice they washed the car that did not take care of my problem don't let them tell you have to put miles on to break it in that's bowl crap

Update from Aug 11, 2014: it has 9,500 miles on it still jerking 25/30 speed don't have no idea to get this car recalled

Update from Sep 20, 2014: my Chrysler 200 still jerking 25/ 30 speed has 11,400 miles on it now I was in a accident in the dells I was rear ended by a women looking for a bathroom 5000 damage to my car I herd there was a head restraint recall I did get whiplash out of the accident so I did get a lawyer to handle my case he also is going help me file for the lemon law also. is there any body have this same problem with this car timothy L Greene at cowdogwoods@yahoo.com now Chrysler comes out with a 9 speed transmission why if nothing was wrong wit the other why change it I think we are going to fight this in court .

Update from Oct 3, 2014: this car is still jerking at 12000 miles on it now

Update from Feb 21, 2015: my car has 16000 miles on it now its still doing the same crap we need to get this car recalled

Update from Apr 10, 2015: 17000 miles on chrysler2013 still shifting with jerking 25/30 speed I have all paper work sent to Chrysler on file also with my lawyer going to start lemon law hope every one having same problem pleas com forward so we can get a Lawsuit on this car

Update from Dec 3, 2016: just about 50,000 miles still jerks at low speeds 30/35 passenger door clicking sound from speaker when you start the car now recall on air bags its time for a class action suite.

Update from Sep 8, 2017: the car just about 60,000 miles drives good on the 70 miles per hour not slow speeds 25 to 30 jerking and shifting sucks you buy a brand new car that is what you should have not a clicking sound like a vent isn't opening up or start the car and it sounds like t wants to run then starts now we have a recall on the seat belts and air bags this car was in at 13 miles they said Chrysler guy came from Chicago said that's the way it drives .we need to get this car recalled soon

- Timothy G., Fond Du Lac, WI, USA

problem #1

Mar 012013

200 Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,400 miles

click to see larger images

thumping when shifting gears

I purchased the 200 Chrysler (2013) on December 11, 2012 drove to Alabama for the Christmas holidays and had no issues, but shortly thereafter - around 3300 miles on the car I started to notice a thump as the gears would shift while driving between (10 - 40 mph). The shifting thumpping would happen at random times with mild to a seriously noticable thump. I have taken the car to the deasler where the auto was purchased and had Chrysler Engeneer ride in the passenage seat to help them experience what i had a great concern of, and on three occations the transmission thumped as the gears shifted. Two of the Three thumps were mild, but the third thump was signifigant. The Chrysler Engeneer told me that this was a "normal experience for the Chrysler auto's"? I was livid as in time I am sure this thump will cause a Seriously financial problem and to ME the customer. I have taken the auto to the dealer on more than three occasions - got rudely denied service (to many complaints 4 at one time) from a Service Customer Rep. and When speaking to Chrysler - all I get is "if the issue occures again, bring the auto in to the dealer." Chrysler denies this issue as a problem and the dealer on the first visit with complaints told me they added an "Mopar Addetive" to help the gears shift smoother. I feel this addetive can cause problems down the road also - by blocking the lines and ....

Short of seeking Arbitration to hopefully get some resolve in this issue - I would like those who have this similar Transmission shifting issue contact me, I am sure this is a known problem with Chrysler and feel they are not owning up to correct this issue. I am seeking to give Chrysler a Class Action Law suit.

- Denise C., Miami, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?