9.0

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
28,750 miles
Total Complaints:
2 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (1 reports)
  2. replace coil, spark plugs, fuel injector (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2016 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Dodge Journey Owner Comments

problem #2

Jun 262018

Journey

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle, brand new, in April 2016. I didn't have problems with it until it was 2 years old. For the first year, I even commuted to work 3 hours daily. Now, I am afraid to drive it 3 miles.

The problems began in May 2018. The engine would simply turn off while driving. We researched it online and found it was most likely a camshaft or crankshaft sensor issue. Even after having both sensors replaced, the problem has continued. Mechanics are at a loss because the problem is intermittent. Sometimes, I can drive it a few days in a row without any issue.

I simply cannot believe that my particular VIN was NOT part of the recall to replace the sensors AND that there seems to be NO SOLUTION to this dangerous vehicle. I cannot drive my 2-year-old car anywhere for fear of an accident!

MOST recent event:

06-26-18 - During rush hour, I was on the way to pick up my daughter from day care. As I slowed down into the turning/merge lane at an intersection, my car just turned off without prior warning. I came to a stop and attempted a restart, but it would not allow a restart until the 6th try. My hazard lights would not turn on, so I had to wave angry drivers to go around me. It was very stressful because I was afraid of being rear-ended while waiting for it to restart so I could move out of harm's way.

- Angie S., Perry, GA, US

problem #1

Jul 232016

Journey 2.6L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,496 miles

This is the 4th incident that I have had to return my SUV to Bill Luke for a problem. I have had the SUV for only 3 months. On 7/23/16 we were driving home from California put the vehicle on cruise control the SUV began to stall/stutter it was having a hard time accelerating, we turn off the cruise control and the SUV still was having the issues.

On 7/25/16 dropped off the SUV to Bill Luke. On 7/26/16 the Tech(Cody) and Manager road test my SUV they felt my concern and started a STARCASE. On 7/28/16 received a call that the torque converter a part inside the transmission is not working correctly and will need to be repaired. On 8/1/16 I go pick up my SUV and notice on the vehicle work order invoice no parts were replace. I ask our Tech Cody where does it state the Turk Converter was replace he stated that they DID NOT replace any parts yet because they are waiting for a call back from the Dodge Corporate Office to see what they want them to do, either fix the part or the whole transmission and to also verify if any other 2016 Dodge Journey have been reported with the same issue.

Due to Bill Luke not having enough rentals I had to return the rental and I was given back my SUV until they hear back from the Dodge Corporate Office on what they should do. It has been a whole week and Bill Luke has not received a response from the Dodge Corporate office.

Update from Aug 5, 2016: 08/04/16 - Bill Luke requested to drop off my SUV for more testing. On 8/5/16 dropped off my SUV for Bill Luke Tech to do more testing per Dodge Corp. Office.

Update from Aug 16, 2016: On August 12, 2016 picked up my SUV from Bill Luke. Ticket/Invoice States " Tech found cylinder #1 Misfire, intermittent #1 Misfire. Install new coil and spark plug at CYL #1. Test drive condition still present. Replace #1 fuel injector and test drive. Tech did not feel the concern any longer. Management will also test drive. Once repairs were completed. DM Road test with shop Forman to confirm Journey is driving as designed.

Work order for repairs went from 1. Torque Converter 2., Transmission 3., Motor 4. FINAL RESULTS - Replacement of the following coil, spark plug and fuel injector.

- mariaaz, Phoenix, AZ, US

Not what you are looking for?